Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby sMASH » July 31st, 2015, 11:49 am

Any benefits/advantages so far?

Review please.

Postby DVSTT » July 31st, 2015, 12:27 pm

Anyone have reviews on the netgear N750 router? Considering upgrading to one as the linksys routers I've had in the past are terrible.

http://www.amazon.com/NETGEAR-Wi-Fi-Gig ... words=n750

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » July 31st, 2015, 1:54 pm

sMASH wrote:Any benefits/advantages so far?

Review please.

Well the main area I was most concerned about, gaming performance, is basically unchanged. 3DMark scores are just a few percent higher, if that means anything.

Overall, navigation is much snappier than 8.1...love that new Start menu. (If MS had led with THIS for Win8, 10 would have been unnecessary)

All my apps work...no issues there.

The settings panel mixes up things, so it'll take a while to get used to where everything is.

Thus far I haven't come across any gotchas, or showstoppers.
I read of an issue with a mandatory Nvidia driver update being pushed through Windows Update, but I think that has since been resolved.

In my opinion, I think MS hit it out the park with this one.
(and this is from someone who had to endure a nightmarish 8.1 update).

SM-N910H | Dr Ketan's ROM v2.0 (KitKat 4.4.4) | SwiftKey | Tapatalk Pro

Postby sMASH » July 31st, 2015, 5:03 pm

I had 8.1 and liked it until the glitches started. Then went to 7.

U give me reassurance to try it :smile:

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » August 1st, 2015, 1:11 am

Been SO busy I haven't gotten a chance to try configuring the router as yet but once it works I shall report. Thanks again guys

Sent from my SM-G925I using Tapatalk

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » August 2nd, 2015, 7:14 pm

Looking for either used or brand new rack servers.
Preferably Dell along the lines of the R710.

Any help here will be appreciated. Need this server asap.

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » August 3rd, 2015, 11:01 pm

Kinda late with this but it still have a few hours to go.

Amazon Gold box deal of the day:
Transcend 256/512GB SSD - $72/$140 usd
EVGA supernova 1050W Fully Modular PSU - $120
AMD FX-9590 - $180

and some other stuff.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 4th, 2015, 6:45 am

fouljuice wrote:Kinda late with this but it still have a few hours to go.

Amazon Gold box deal of the day:
Transcend 256/512GB SSD - $72/$140 usd
EVGA supernova 1050W Fully Modular PSU - $120

and some other stuff.

These two worth the effort.

Postby DVSTT » August 4th, 2015, 7:58 am

Ended up ordering a TP link archer C7 router for home due to the recommendation of a few websites. I just hope it lives up to the hype.

Postby nervewrecker » August 4th, 2015, 9:34 pm

Anyone tried peltier cooling yet?

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 4th, 2015, 9:48 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Anyone tried peltier cooling yet?

Yeh. A powerseller by the name of 'firstchoicett' tried it years ago and was showing me the heatsink and peltier unit.

Don't think it worth the effort it that much since it requires quite a bit of wattage to run a separate cooler to cool the unit properly. The you hadda study insulation and ambient temps cuz down here humid etc. Would be good for short benchmarking runs and suicide processor/videocard overclocking, other than that, custom liquid cooling good enough.

Saw a boutique pc company made a very decent peltier setup but it super expensive.

Here it is:

http://www.digitalstorm.com/cryo-tec.asp

Postby nervewrecker » August 4th, 2015, 10:42 pm

HCCA wrote:

Yeh. A powerseller by the name of 'firstchoicett' tried it years ago and was showing me the heatsink and peltier unit.

Don't think it worth the effort it that much since it requires quite a bit of wattage to run a separate cooler to cool the unit properly. The you hadda study insulation and ambient temps cuz down here humid etc. Would be good for short benchmarking runs and suicide processor/videocard overclocking, other than that, custom liquid cooling good enough.

Saw a boutique pc company made a very decent peltier setup but it super expensive.

Here it is:

Any idea what voltage appropriate to run these at? They seem to not like 12V, the hot side overwhelmed the entire tile.
Tried it on 4.29V and the cold side remained sort of cold with a fan on the hot side. Wanna try it with some heat sinks and was wondering if there is a sweet spot voltage wise? The transformer in use can vary the output voltage with the turn of a screw and I not in a mood to experiment much.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 5th, 2015, 12:47 am

Did any condensation occur with the use of the peltier unit.
I honestly think that it is a waste of time now. ... decent coolers already exist at good prices that don't require this extra power usege to perform well

jm3

Postby jm3 » August 5th, 2015, 1:21 am

HCCA wrote:

Here it is:

Any idea what voltage appropriate to run these at? They seem to not like 12V, the hot side overwhelmed the entire tile.
Tried it on 4.29V and the cold side remained sort of cold with a fan on the hot side. Wanna try it with some heat sinks and was wondering if there is a sweet spot voltage wise? The transformer in use can vary the output voltage with the turn of a screw and I not in a mood to experiment much.

keep us updated really like the idea of peltier cooling although cant be bothered to do it myself lol, ill live through you.

Postby nervewrecker » August 5th, 2015, 8:32 am

kamakazi wrote:Did any condensation occur with the use of the peltier unit.
I honestly think that it is a waste of time now. ... decent coolers already exist at good prices that don't require this extra power usege to perform well

If you dont mind, can you enlighten me about other coolers? Im not so much a PC guy.

Looking to use these units for cooling my amps. Got a set of small fans that can fit in tight spaces and picked up some peltiers to see if I can use them to blow cold air.
Will have to get some heat sinks to experiment with and if there is any success, experiment with a homemade liquid cooling block, pump and radiators.

Time is my main constraint.

Got 5 of these:

5 of these:

and one of this:

so far:

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 5th, 2015, 9:16 am

kamakazi wrote:Did any condensation occur with the use of the peltier unit.

If you dont mind, can you enlighten me about other coolers? Im not so much a PC guy.

Looking to use these units for cooling my amps. Got a set of small fans that can fit in tight spaces and picked up some peltiers to see if I can use them to blow cold air.
Will have to get some heat sinks to experiment with and if there is any success, experiment with a homemade liquid cooling block, pump and radiators.

Time is my main constraint.

Got 5 of these:

5 of these:

and one of this:

so far:

Yeah u can be the guinea pig for that :lol:

I read abt them a couple ah years ago as an alternative cooling solution for pcs but they not so efficient for long term use unless u eh care abt ur TTEC bill.

Not sure abt the voltage range but you can register on this site and ask:

http://www.overclock.net/t/1549736/wate ... controller

Sample thread on a peltier build.

I doh really overclock again anyway so my liquid cooling stuff just using cuz i have them around.

Liquid cooling car audio possible but where u gonna put the radiators/heat exchangers? I woulda say put them where the a/c could put as much cold air as possible on dem but thas additional heat dumped inside the vehicle that kinda unecessary. Or maybe get an aftermarket oil cooler and use that as the radiator perhaps? Or ah intercooler! :lol:

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 5th, 2015, 11:17 pm

Now those peltier elements will get cool but only if you can effectively remove the heat generated on the hot side.
Had no idea you were going to use it to cool amps though. ...
On the computer side of things.
Noctua d15/d14/u14s/u12s
Thermalright true spirit 140/120, macho

There are also very powerful fans from delta and Sanyo denki

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 5th, 2015, 11:20 pm

kamakazi wrote:There are also very powerful fans from delta and Sanyo denki

Yeah but some of them painfully loud.

I seeing noctua fans recommended a lot for pc and home theatre cooling, may be a good match up for his needs.

Postby skylinechild » August 6th, 2015, 3:02 pm

got a little issue here with a work pc.

intel core 2 duo 3.0GHZ processor.
intel mainboard
4gb DDR2 ram
nvidia quadro video card

so the issue is the pc not even booting....not even passing post. no BIOS splash screen ...nada
removed video card HDD cd rom drive..still nothing

removed ram - gave the trouble beep for no ram..ok fine..put back in ram..still nothing.even reset the BIOS by removing the BIOS battery....still nada

removed motherboard from case..removed RAM and fans..cleaned out everything....new thermal paste.....still nothing....then boom - it booted up.

redid the BIOS with the correct setting however when i save and exit....it not rebooting.
when i do get to check the settings i noted the CPU fan spinning like 831 rpm or so..and temps rising to 70 deg.....could this be the cause of the no boot..??

i'm thinking the CPU is going into thermal shutdown to protect itself....i plan on replacing the fan with a new unit...will reply once done...

tuners what you do think.?? opinions welcome

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » August 6th, 2015, 4:07 pm

skylinechild wrote:got a little issue here with a work pc.

intel core 2 duo 3.0GHZ processor.
intel mainboard
4gb DDR2 ram
nvidia quadro video card

so the issue is the pc not even booting....not even passing post. no BIOS splash screen ...nada
removed video card HDD cd rom drive..still nothing

removed ram - gave the trouble beep for no ram..ok fine..put back in ram..still nothing.even reset the BIOS by removing the BIOS battery....still nada

removed motherboard from case..removed RAM and fans..cleaned out everything....new thermal paste.....still nothing....then boom - it booted up.

redid the BIOS with the correct setting however when i save and exit....it not rebooting.
when i do get to check the settings i noted the CPU fan spinning like 831 rpm or so..and temps rising to 70 deg.....could this be the cause of the no boot..??

i'm thinking the CPU is going into thermal shutdown to protect itself....i plan on replacing the fan with a new unit...will reply once done...

tuners what you do think.?? opinions welcome

Everything seated properly? If the ram and gpu not making proper connection, that could happen.

Postby nervewrecker » August 6th, 2015, 8:10 pm

Meanwhile, I was looking for something to split the signal out the flow box. The only place I could seem to find something was in radioshack, got a gigaware cat5e but not for hell it works. Only the line out of line one gets an internet connection while that from line 2 is dead. When you switch around the lines same thing, line 2 dead and line 1 gets connection.

Trying to get something to split the connection from the flow box to go to two separate routers.

Can someone help the I?

Postby skylinechild » August 6th, 2015, 8:10 pm

Cross Blood wrote:
Everything seated properly? If the ram and gpu not making proper connection, that could happen.

RAM and GPU making proper connections... the pc was brought to me for this exact same symptom i'm currently experiencing - you press the power button you see and hear the fans spin...nothing on screen

if the RAM wasnt seated properly it wud giv beep codes or at least boot up past post show the BIOS splash screen..then blue screen

GPU is no matter to me cause if its bad i can replace - plus the board has on board video - on board was not tested but it is working but disabled via bios as it cannot do what is required - hence the nvidia quadro video card.

what else....??

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » August 6th, 2015, 8:24 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Meanwhile, I was looking for something to split the signal out the flow box. The only place I could seem to find something was in radioshack, got a gigaware cat5e but not for hell it works. Only the line out of line one gets an internet connection while that from line 2 is dead. When you switch around the lines same thing, line 2 dead and line 1 gets connection.

Trying to get something to split the connection from the flow box to go to two separate routers.

Can someone help the I?

Buy another router and use it to split the connections.

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » August 6th, 2015, 8:27 pm

skylinechild wrote:
Cross Blood wrote:

RAM and GPU making proper connections... the pc was brought to me for this exact same symptom i'm currently experiencing - you press the power button you see and hear the fans spin...nothing on screen

if the RAM wasnt seated properly it wud giv beep codes or at least boot up past post show the BIOS splash screen..then blue screen

GPU is no matter to me cause if its bad i can replace - plus the board has on board video - on board was not tested but it is working but disabled via bios as it cannot do what is required - hence the nvidia quadro video card.

what else....??

Not always. Make sure you press in the ram with as much pressure as possible.

Postby nervewrecker » August 6th, 2015, 8:37 pm

Cross Blood wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:Meanwhile, I was looking for something to split the signal out the flow box. The only place I could seem to find something was in radioshack, got a gigaware cat5e but not for hell it works. Only the line out of line one gets an internet connection while that from line 2 is dead. When you switch around the lines same thing, line 2 dead and line 1 gets connection.

Can someone help the I?

Buy another router and use it to split the connections.

So this can't use?

Trying to avoid buying another router, we will have three routers now

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 6th, 2015, 8:56 pm

HCCA wrote:

I seeing noctua fans recommended a lot for pc and home theatre cooling, may be a good match up for his needs.

when he said cooling his amps....I automatically thought music above a certain volume level :)
Fan noise....what fan noise :lol:

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 6th, 2015, 9:13 pm

skylinechild wrote:
Cross Blood wrote:

what else....??

How do you know the onboard graphics is working if it wasn't tested?
I say if you ever get the chance to get back in the bios, turn the onboard graphics back on, and test without the quadro. (resetting the bios via jumper or battery removal might default to putting the onboard graphics back on)
If the machine runs on onboard ok...that quadro card might be on its way out

You can also look for swollen capacitors as the problem of swelling and leaking existed in this generation of motherboard as well

(I am only giving information based on what was provided; It would be helpful if you informed us of the model for the board, CPU, CPU heatsink, PSU, Graphics card)

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 6th, 2015, 9:21 pm

Can someone help the I?

I am not sure what you are asking for
Are you looking for something as simple as a network switch?
Or can you just run a network cable from one router to the other
I don't understand what you mean by "split the signal"

Postby nervewrecker » August 6th, 2015, 9:21 pm

kamakazi wrote:
HCCA wrote:

when he said cooling his amps....I automatically thought music above a certain volume level :)
Fan noise....what fan noise :lol:

Actually I don't really play music loud and drive....well not all the time.
I have a big ass fan here but can't fit it. It's usually a tight fit where the amps are.

Anyhow, with the router issue, traffic that is passing through a router, can it be intercepted by a computer connected to it? A pair of computers connected via cables to the router, can either be aware of what the other is doing? This is the main issue for have two routers. Need to know if we can use one.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

Postby nervewrecker » August 6th, 2015, 9:22 pm

What's a network switch now?

We looking to connect two routers to one internet connection. Looking for a way to do it.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk