Glory Glory Manchester United....

Racers Edge

Re: Glory Glory Manchester United....

Postby Racers Edge » June 8th, 2011, 9:55 am

Young is a good buy.... Nasri not too sure about..comments?

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » June 8th, 2011, 6:58 pm

I'd say Nasri would be a great buy...Young not so much...

Looks like the top 5 or 6 clubs bid for Phil Jones and he chose us...good buy for a very good prospect...future english centreback partnership with Smalling maybe?

Also Sunderland have bid for Gibson, Brown and O'Shea...think we should sell the first two, but hope Sheasy stays...his versatility is invaluable...

hondaman

Postby hondaman » June 8th, 2011, 8:24 pm

Aight Edge, here is my comments:

Young - i eh sure bout. he has his moments.

Sell Gibson, Brown and throw in dat shithound Evans with them and doh forget Carrick; let him leave for free!!! Keep O'Shea (he doh have a problem with the Audi seats) and he versatile.

Nasri - good buy

Sneijder - real good buy to help put back a midfield in United so Rooney can go back to striking instead of doing Carrick and Fletcher wuk.

Jack Rodwell - this boy have real potential....

Keep Berbatov - all the time he scoring nobody had negative comments now men saying SAF should sell him, stupes. He single-handledly destroyed LFC and BBurn. If we could keep Owen we could damn well keep Berbatov.

and finally ( i know men go get vex but) keep Chicharito for 1 more year and sell if he don't can learn to time his runs. Pep figured him out easily and so will every side in the premeirship now. In the CL final dem Barca defenders was only pushing up and he only getting the offside call.
He was "weighed and measured and he was found wanting" (think that was from some movie...)

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » June 8th, 2011, 8:35 pm

Evans was brilliant last two seasons..this one he faltered after injury..had a good end to the season...don't give up on young players so easily, they all go through their problems...

Carrick had been quite good trying to cover Fletcher's role for the last few months..had some excellent games..certainly not world class though, but good squad player for the prem...

Agreed about Gibson and Brown..Gibbo just isn't good enough for Utd, and Brown's injuries have taken him out of the running for a starting spot..

Chicha, like Valencia, are relatively young and inexperienced...the stage got to them...give them a chance to grow and gain experience...

AD Solutions

Postby AD Solutions » June 8th, 2011, 10:34 pm

Young would be a good buy because of the long season an extra option on the wing would help as giggs retiring next season but i more looking forward to seeing the likes of Wesley Sneijder or nasri to be a paul scholes replacement,i say get the rid of brown,hargreaves and gibson, rooney, berba and chica who still has lots to proove is enough up front especially with welbeck and kiko returning, never doubth SAF d man is a boss

Racers Edge

Postby Racers Edge » June 10th, 2011, 9:48 am

Macheda returning.... right right ...forgot that
btw I hear real/barca offering 40m for guissepi rossi ... a former utd player... its a pity SAF chose to sell him...I hear he's awesome, never saw him play doh..

searchingone

Postby searchingone » June 10th, 2011, 2:11 pm

Sir Alex Ferguson vs Eric Cantona

Paul Scholes' testimonial will pit Manchester United against the New York Cosmos at Old Trafford on Friday 5 August, 2011.

Cantona will be coaching NYC.

http://www.manutd.com/en/News-And-Featu ... unced.aspx

Postby Mark! » June 13th, 2011, 5:21 pm

Wesley Sneijder wrote: The Inter fans have always treated me very well. They were wonderful and I want to simply thank them. Then, only God will decide where my future lies. I can be certain of one thing: if I remain at Inter, then I will give my all to win everything again. When you have had the greatest and most surprising year of your life, it’s only natural that the next will be less rewarding. Not everything can be perfect. Having said that, I had fun in my second year with Inter and was satisfied, even if we didn’t win everything. At least this way we still have a few more objectives to reach. I love Inter with all my heart.

*OUTSIDER*

Postby *OUTSIDER* » June 13th, 2011, 8:20 pm

The Sun

United wrap up Jones deal

PHIL JONES has completed his £16.5million move from Blackburn to Manchester United after signing a five-year deal.

United thought they had secured Jones' services last week, only for the transfer to hit an unforeseen snag.

Blackburn had been holding out for more cash after Liverpool had jumped in with a cheeky £22million offer.

But Jones, who featured for England Under-21's in their opening European Championship match against Spain in Denmark last night, told Rovers he did not wish to join any other club than United.

And with the Red Devils refusing to budge beyond the amount that triggered the buyout clause in the 19-year-old's contract, Blackburn have been forced to agree a sale.

A United statement said: "Manchester United is delighted to announce it has signed an agreement with Blackburn Rovers for the transfer of Phil Jones.

"The player passed a medical in Manchester last week and has agreed a five-year contract.

"The deal will be completed once the player returns from international duty."

Rovers boss Steve Kean added: "The offer we made him was staggering for a 19-year-old, but it wasn't the money. Phil wants to play Champions League football now and we're not at that level.

"I'm sure we will be in the coming years, and we gave it a real good try and made him a fantastic offer, but I understand why he wants to go now.

"He goes with our blessing and it's an opportunity for us to invest in other young players across other areas of the pitch.

"We were hoping he was going to be captain of our club and captain of England, he's a fantastic prospect and I'm sure he'll be an England regular very soon.

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/sp ... -deal.html

lancer_man

Postby lancer_man » June 14th, 2011, 4:48 am

hondaman wrote:and finally ( i know men go get vex but) keep Chicharito for 1 more year and sell if he don't can learn to time his runs. Pep figured him out easily and so will every side in the premeirship now. In the CL final dem Barca defenders was only pushing up and he only getting the offside call.
He was "weighed and measured and he was found wanting" (think that was from some movie...)

Give the man a chance nah. Nobody thought that after buying him, he'd have such a successful season. If not performing in the final is the benchmark you're using for selling players, then the entire squad bar Rooney should be sold!

With regards to central midfield, Nasri might be the best option as he would go for the least since he has only a year left on his contract. Spurs always make us pay over the odds for their players and Modric would be no different. The problem with Sneijder is that his best position is in the "hole" which Rooney now occupies. He also seems reluctant to leave Inter.

Carrick's performances at the end of last season mean that he should be given a chance. I think he'll do well with a creative central midfield partner, as he is very good at screening the back for and intercepting passes.

lancer_man

Postby lancer_man » June 14th, 2011, 4:51 am

Racers Edge wrote:Macheda returning.... right right ...forgot that
btw I hear real/barca offering 40m for guissepi rossi ... a former utd player... its a pity SAF chose to sell him...I hear he's awesome, never saw him play doh..

When he played for united, he was technically gifted, but was very small. The Spanish league suits him more, since it's not as physical as the PL. We do have first option on a buy back, but 40 million is a lot to spend on a player we don't need.

hondaman

Postby hondaman » June 14th, 2011, 4:54 pm

Lancer_man,

agreed on giving chances hence the "keep for a year", but i beg to differ on your last comment about Carrick being able to intercept passes....Negative on that. Sell Carrick; Flecther could handle once fit and buy another REAL midfielder.

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » June 14th, 2011, 5:00 pm

Carrick = waste of time

midfield of modric and fletcher would be bess. Anderson can fill in when needs be.

lancer_man

Postby lancer_man » June 14th, 2011, 7:02 pm

hondaman wrote:Lancer_man,

agreed on giving chances hence the "keep for a year", but i beg to differ on your last comment about Carrick being able to intercept passes....Negative on that. Sell Carrick; Flecther could handle once fit and buy another REAL midfielder.

These two stats illustrate the effectiveness of Carrick as a defensive midfielder. They were correct as of May 11:

"Michael Carrick has completed 830 out of 959 attempted passes this season for Man Utd at a success rate of 86.5%. This success rate is highest of the season for a premiership midfielder starting over 50% of his club’s games."

"Michael Carrick has the most amount of interceptions for a midfielder in the premiership, averaging 4.38 a game This success rate is highest of the season for a premiership midfielder starting over 50% of his club’s games."

Not everyone understands the quiet efficiency that he has about his game. I admit that we do need to strengthen midfield, but selling Carrick would be a mistake imho.

Everyone who thinks he's crap and should be sold should read this article:
http://natterfootball.wordpress.com/2011/05/11/michael-carrick/

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » June 14th, 2011, 8:16 pm

stats only tell so much of the story...

I wonder how many of those passes were backward and sideways?

whats his tackle amt like and success rate?

Carrick is neither a true defensive midfielder nor an attacking force. in the midfield of united to need to be one or the other. Carrick is Keane-lite.

Wh would you rather do a man marking job on Xavi or iniesta between Carrick or Fletcher?

lancer_man

Postby lancer_man » June 14th, 2011, 9:44 pm

Don't get me wrong, I think that a fit Darren Fletcher together with a creative midfielder would be a great pairing, however, I am against Carrick being sold. His partnership with a younger Paul Scholes brought the PL trophy back to Old Trafford, and helped to win the CL in 2008. I think he would thrive in a midfield with another creative midfielder.

With the number of games we play each season, we'll need to mix it up and he offers an alternative that none of our other midfielders do.

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » June 14th, 2011, 9:51 pm

Scene I hear ya. Maybe Gibson can show he can do more than shoot every time he gets the ball and become that box to box midfielder they haven't had since Keane.

lancer_man

Postby lancer_man » June 15th, 2011, 7:27 am

Doesn't look like Gibson is staying this season, as he appears to have agreed terms with Sunderland. He should be a good player for them, but he'd be nothing more than a squad player for us. He's turning 24 this year and not really where he should be in terms of development if he wants to start games for united. In fact, he probably digressed this year as his best attribute, shooting, seems to have deserted him with all those shots into Row Z.

If you've ever read Keane's autobiography, it showed why players like him are increasingly hard to find nowadays. His philosophies and intelligence, which made him the player he was, are so hard to come by in players nowadays.

hondaman

Postby hondaman » June 15th, 2011, 10:42 am

Good article dey Lancer_man, I real like Ian’s comment. lol .
But with this evolving game called football and with teams changing their formations just to stifle United, Carrick HAVE to step up ALL THE TIME not just sometimes when he will give some excellent performances (like against Chelsea in UCL).
Like that article said, Carrick is not a box to box midfielder which is EXACTLY what we need at United (to my other fellow United fans, please don’t tell me bout Rooney playing deep enough) and someone to tackle hard. When men start to pressure him he does buckle and dat is what does get me vex and why I like Scholes (you want to play ruff I go gee yuh in yuh…lol)
United haven’t had a real midfielder since daddy Roy left. Roy was a boss on and off the field (ask Arsenal!!!).
SAF is apparently planning for a very long 2011-2012 season with his purchases….

*OUTSIDER*

Postby *OUTSIDER* » June 15th, 2011, 10:13 pm

Ashley Young joins Manchester United
(ESPN STAR)

Manchester United have splashed £20 million to bring Ashley Young from Aston Villa to Old Trafford.

According to reports in the Sun,the 25-year-old Englishman, has passed a medical at United's Carrington Training Ground and put pen to paper on a four-year contract.

This takes the Sir Alex Ferguson's expected spending this summer to an astonishing £55 million so far.

In comparison, title-challengers Arsenal, Chelsea and Manchester City have not made any big purchases so far, with only Arsene Wenger spending an underwhelming £1 million for Charlton defender Carl Jenkinson.

But that's not all the spending that Ferguson is planning on, with the Scot planning to snap up Spanish goalkeeper David De Gea from Atletico Madrid for £18.5million.

United already nabbed Phil Jones from Blackburn on Wednesday in a £16.5m transfer.

The move may have even prompted Young to cancel his own wedding.

The Englishman was due to marry sweetheart Nicky Pike on Saturday, but guests invited to their lavish wedding were told not to bother showing up, according to further reports.

Asked at the doorstep of his home as to why he cancelled his wedding, Young said: "No comment."

Pike confirmed the nuptials were cancelled, saying: "Yes, we have cancelled our wedding."

She apparently forced a smile, and said:"Do I look upset?"

The two have been dating for about a decade, and have two children together.

Young is, however, still expected to fly out to Las Vegas on Sunday. He is expected to complete his deal to join the Red Devils upon his return.

http://www.espnstar.com/football/premie ... er-United/

*OUTSIDER*

Postby *OUTSIDER* » June 17th, 2011, 5:31 am

Manchester United 2011/12 Fixtures: Provisional dates

Sat 13 Aug - West Bromwich Albion (A)
Sat 20 Aug - Tottenham Hotspur (H)
Sat 27 Aug - Arsenal (H)

Sat 10 Sep - Bolton Wanderers (A)
Sat 17 Sep - Chelsea (H)
Sat 24 Sep - Stoke City (A)

Sat 1 Oct - Norwich City (H)
Sat 15 Oct - Liverpool (A)
Sat 22 Oct - Manchester City (H)
Sat 29 Oct - Everton (A)

Sat 5 Nov - Sunderland (H)
Sat 19 Nov - Swansea City (A)
Sat 26 Nov - Newcastle United (H)

Sat 3 Dec - Aston Villa (A)
Sat 10 Dec - Wolves (H)
Sat 17 Dec - QPR (A)
Wed 21 Dec - Fulham (A)
Mon 26 Dec - Wigan Athletic (H)
Sat 31 Dec - Blackburn Rovers (H)

Mon 2 Jan - Newcastle (A)
Sat 14 Jan - Bolton Wanderers (H)
Sat 21 Jan - Arsenal (A)
Tue 31 Jan - Stoke City (H)

Sat 4 Feb - Chelsea (A)
Sat 11 Feb - Liverpool (H)
Sat 25 Feb - Norwich City (A)

Sat 3 Mar - Tottenham Hotspur (A)
Sat 10 Mar - West Bromwich Albion (H)
Sat 17 Mar - Wolves (A)
Sat 24 Mar - Fulham (H)
Sat 31 Mar - Blackburn Rovers (A)

Sat 7 Apr - QPR (H)
Mon 9 Apr - Wigan Athletic (A)
Sat 14 Apr - Aston Villa (H)
Sat 21 Apr - Everton (H)
Sat 28 Apr - Manchester City (A)

Sat 5 May - Swansea City (H)
Sun 13 May - Sunderland (A)

Key league clashes
Provisional dates:

Sat 27 Aug Arsenal (H)
Sat 17 Sep Chelsea (H)
Sat 15 Oct Liverpool (A)
Sat 22 Oct Man City (H)
Sat 21 Jan Arsenal (A)
Sat 4 Feb Chelsea (A)
Sat 11 Feb Liverpool (H)
Sat 28 Apr Man City (A)

Cup dates (provisional)

Wed 21 Sep Carling Cup 3
Wed 26 Oct Carling Cup 4
Wed 30 Nov Carling Cup 5
Sat 7 Jan FA Cup 3
Wed 11 Jan Carling Cup semi-final (1)
Wed 25 Jan Carling Cup semi-final (2)
Sat 28 Jan FA Cup 4
Sat 18 Feb FA Cup 5
Sun 26 Feb Carling Cup final
Sat 17 Mar FA Cup 6
Sat 14 Apr FA Cup semi-final
Sat 5 May FA Cup final

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » June 22nd, 2011, 6:55 pm

So we all know Phil Jones is a done deal...looking like a good singing given that he's English (fits nicely into Uefa's rules) and has alot of potential, esp being paired with Smalling at both club and international level...

Ashley Young reportedly had his medical today...good singing EPL wise but i have my concerns about his ability in Europe against world class teams...his only 'world-beating' significant asset is his pace, but he's still fairly young so time will tell...

The 'inside scoop' from the few trusted sources on twitter are saying Sanchez refuses to talk to Man City, and is torn between going to ManUtd and Barca (initially reports were he wanted to go to Utd), however Utd arent willing to bid anywhere near the amount Barca are paying as they dont think he's worth it...looks like he'll be going to Barca then...

De Gea seems sure to come when the world cup is finished...he's repeatedly talking about Van Der Sar and before he left for the world cup said goodbye madrid, hello Manchester...or something to that effect...

Modric - seems like he's staying at Spurs as they refuse to sell him and the interview where he said he wanted to leave is apparently false/misintepreted...
Sneijder initially said he wanted to stay at Inter, then said he may leave but will always love inter...when asked on holiday if he's going to Utd, he said "ah we'll see"...duno if that's any indication or just him getting them off his back...reality with Utd is most of their transfer are done very quietly anyway, so its impossible to say where that's going...

Only other major news is Morrison (from the reserve team) seems likely to be offered a senior contract, and Welbeck and Cleverley are set to be recalled...

Brown and Gibson seem on their way out...Gibbo to sunderland and brown to either sunderland or aston villa...no word on O'Shea...

There's your update...that will be all lol

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » June 23rd, 2011, 12:14 pm

Young confirmed

AD Solutions

Postby AD Solutions » June 23rd, 2011, 3:45 pm

de gea next :D

*OUTSIDER*

Postby *OUTSIDER* » June 23rd, 2011, 10:25 pm

Welcome

De Gea is next as Manchester United's Alex Ferguson lands £20m Ashley Young

United will today rubber-stamp the arrival of Ashley Young as their second signing of the summer.

The Aston Villa and England forward was in Manchester yesterday having his medical at the Reds’ Carrington training HQ and a private hospital.

The 25-year-old’s personal terms are being tied up and a fee of around £20m has been agreed with Villa.

Young has been on holiday in Las Vegas since the deal was all but sealed last month, but is now set to officially join the champions.

Young will join England Under-21 centre-back Phil Jones as Sir Alex Ferguson’s second recruit of the summer.

The United manager is putting his faith in English talent as he begins the revamp of his record-breaking title-winners. But he will quickly turn to foreign talent with Atletico Madrid’s

20-year-old goalkeeper David de Gea set to move to Old Trafford once his new agent officially takes over his affairs on July 1. The Spaniard is Fergie’s choice to replace Edwin Van der Sar as the Reds’ No 1.

Ferguson revealed at the end of the season he had two or three newcomers planned but it looks like that will now become at least four with a replacement needed for the retiring Paul Scholes.

United have sounded out Arsenal’s French midfielder Samir Nasri, who is still set for contract talks with Arsene Wenger, and have had interest in Tottenham’s Luka Modric rebuffed.

United are resigned to losing out in their pursuit of 18-year-old Lens defender Raphael Varane to Real Madrid. “It’s not done officially with Real Madrid but talks are on track,” said Lens president Gervais Martel.

http://menmedia.co.uk/manchesterevening ... hley-young

Postby Mark! » June 23rd, 2011, 10:30 pm

yeh i'm pleased with the Young signing, especially with Giggers leavin next year and all

Postby Mark! » June 24th, 2011, 10:01 pm

but i wonder what number he'll get.. thinking the no. 4

*OUTSIDER*

Postby *OUTSIDER* » June 29th, 2011, 5:03 pm

De Gea signs on

United have confirmed a third new signing of the summer after reaching agreement with Atlético Madrid for the transfer of David de Gea.

The 20-year-old goalkeeper passed a medical this week and has agreed a five-year deal with the club.

“I feel very proud and I can’t wait to start playing here,” said De Gea in an exclusive interview with MUTV, to be shown on the channel at 18:30 BST today.

“When a club the size of Manchester United comes in for you it obviously makes you very, very happy.

"I saw their interest as an extra motivation to work even harder to show off my ability.

"It’s a great privilege to be part of a club like United and I'm keen to do my best and show what I can do.”

De Gea follows Phil Jones and Ashley Young in signing for the Reds and will join up with his new team-mates next month.

The young stopper, who was part of Spain’s victorious squad at the UEFA European Under-21 Championships last weekend,

http://www.manutd.com/en/News-And-Featu ... ns-on.aspx

Postby Mark! » June 29th, 2011, 5:07 pm

De Gea inside!

hehe i see u beyonce

lancer_man

Postby lancer_man » June 29th, 2011, 10:30 pm

worksux101 wrote:So we all know Phil Jones is a done deal...looking like a good singing given that he's English (fits nicely into Uefa's rules) and has alot of potential, esp being paired with Smalling at both club and international level...

Ashley Young reportedly had his medical today...good singing EPL wise but i have my concerns about his ability in Europe against world class teams...his only 'world-beating' significant asset is his pace, but he's still fairly young so time will tell...

The 'inside scoop' from the few trusted sources on twitter are saying Sanchez refuses to talk to Man City, and is torn between going to ManUtd and Barca (initially reports were he wanted to go to Utd), however Utd arent willing to bid anywhere near the amount Barca are paying as they dont think he's worth it...looks like he'll be going to Barca then...

De Gea seems sure to come when the world cup is finished...he's repeatedly talking about Van Der Sar and before he left for the world cup said goodbye madrid, hello Manchester...or something to that effect...

Modric - seems like he's staying at Spurs as they refuse to sell him and the interview where he said he wanted to leave is apparently false/misintepreted...
Sneijder initially said he wanted to stay at Inter, then said he may leave but will always love inter...when asked on holiday if he's going to Utd, he said "ah we'll see"...duno if that's any indication or just him getting them off his back...reality with Utd is most of their transfer are done very quietly anyway, so its impossible to say where that's going...

Only other major news is Morrison (from the reserve team) seems likely to be offered a senior contract, and Welbeck and Cleverley are set to be recalled...

Brown and Gibson seem on their way out...Gibbo to sunderland and brown to either sunderland or aston villa...no word on O'Shea...

There's your update...that will be all lol

Barcelona won't pay anywhere near what city are willing to pay for Sanchez. Despite winning almost every trophy for the past few years, Barca seemed to have racked up a good bit of debt, so the only way they can get Sanchez is to offer a cash + player deal. However, none of their players want to go the other way.

I can't see the Sanchez deal going through if they intend to get Fabregas this summer. Arsene will also ask for the highest price possible for his top midfielder, so they have a difficult window ahead, to say the least.