The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 14th, 2012, 10:42 am

Parvin wrote:I get nothing from FB app unless I manually check.
some would see this a a blessing :lol:

seriously though I wasnt getting push notifications from the facebook app and then i upgraded to 5.1 and now I'm getting FB notifications galore!

-------------------------------------------------------------
in other news
New iPad gets benchmarked: 1GB RAM confirmed, no boost in CPU speed

Not only did some lucky gents in Vietnam get their hands on the new iPad while most people are still refreshing their delivery status page, they were also kind enough to run some benchmark tests. The results confirm that the RAM has been upped to 1GB, with the Geekbench score settling at 756. The processor remains at 1GHz, again, which is what we expected, but puts the kibosh on any speculation that there might have been a slight bump in clock speeds. If you want to see the full breakdown, hit the source for the goods.

http://www.engadget.com/2012/03/13/new- ... in-cpu-sp/

------------------------------------------------------

iPad's screen resolution exceeds any current tablet or laptop

CNET -- The iPad's new screen is a stunner. That's really all you need to know about the new iPad (yes, that's the name). That, and a reminder that pricing still starts at US$499 for a 16GB Wi-Fi model, with 4G starting at US$629.

Forget all of the minor tweaks and incremental updates Apple has made to its third-generation tablet. The faster processor, the upgrade to 4G data, the improved camera--it's all housekeeping. It's the stuff it had to do. It's the stuff any manufacturer could have done.

Now, increasing the iPad's screen resolution to 2,048 x 1,536 pixels that exceeds any current tablet or laptop--that's a move only Apple has the scale and industry muscle to pull off. At this point, if Apple decides that the next iPad will be made from unicorn tears, we wouldn't bet against it.

-------------------------------------------------------------

Quad core graphics, NOT Quad Core main processor

Apple's new A5X chip may be for iPad only, analysts say

Macworld -- Apple delivered a performance breakthrough Wednesday with its new A5X processor for the iPad, but it’s possible that this chip won’t make its way into the next iPhone, analysts say.

The chips used in the first two iPads, the A4 and A5, both made their way into a new iPhone soon after. But the A5X, with its heavy focus on graphics, may not be ideal for smartphone use, and Apple may wait for a more power-efficient chip built with a new manufacturing process.

The A5X has two CPU cores, just like the A5, and it was the superior graphics performance of the A5X that Apple played up at its launch event for the new iPad in San Francisco. The new chip has four graphics cores, which should boost multimedia performance and allow for smooth operation of the iPad’s higher-resolution, 2048-by-1536-pixel display.

Postby M_2NR » March 14th, 2012, 11:21 am

got a scare of my life yesterday... 5.1 started downloading for itself :shock:

Parvin wrote:I get nothing from FB app unless I manually check.
some would see this a a blessing :lol:

seriously though I wasnt getting push notifications from the facebook app and then i upgraded to 5.1 and now I'm getting FB notifications galore!

ent! that off long time...
and how u so opposite boy? :|
btw for a few weeks ago messenger fb app notifications were sticking for me and it resolved for itself...

mojosodope

The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby mojosodope » March 14th, 2012, 12:12 pm

I changed the notification type on my fb app from banners to alerts and I'm getting sporadic notifications compared to none with banners.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » March 14th, 2012, 5:31 pm

Yeah but I just noticed that when ther is an incoming call, the light for the camera flashes. IPhone 4.
Anyone else noticed that new change?
Last edited by PapaC on March 14th, 2012, 5:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 14th, 2012, 5:35 pm

There is a setting for that under accessibility. Was always there

SRASC

Postby SRASC » March 14th, 2012, 7:23 pm

Mac|Life has done an article comparing 3 iOS browsers. Which is best? Also 4 Ways to get your photos onto iPhoto for iOS

------

One of the great new features in OS X Mountain Lion is the ability to edit filenames from the file open dialog.

Previously you needed to open a new Finder window to make changes to filenames; however, with OS X Mountain Lion you can simply click the file twice or click it and press return to edit its name.

(about damn time)

------

On Monday, we asked iPhone 4S readers how Apple’s latest iOS 5.1 software has impacted their battery life. The new handset is notoriously poor at staying alive for a whole day, but those pesky bugs affecting its battery life were, according to Apple, quashed in the recent software update.

Nearly 6,000 readers voted in our poll, and here are the results.

Just under 50% of you said iOS 5.1 has improved your battery life. 13% of you said that your battery life lasts twice as long as it did under iOS 5.0.1, while 20% said that it’s better, but that your iPhone 4S still needs charging at least once a day. 17% of you said that battery life is only a little better, and that it’s still not good enough.

16% of voters said that battery life was just the same as it was before updating to iOS 5.1, and surprisingly, a quarter of your hadn’t noticed whether it was better or worse.

Only 9% of you said that your battery life had deteriorated under iOS 5.1.

With around half of voters reporting that iOS 5.1 improves battery life on their iPhone 4S, it’s clear that Apple has at least taken some steps towards fixing those bugs. And if you haven’t already updated your device, you should do so.

------

Rumors of a larger 15-inch MacBook Air continue to surface, with the latest claim suggesting Apple is gearing up to launch a larger ultraportable notebook in April.

A Mac accessory maker who spoke with Electricpig at the CU Exposed show this week indicated that Apple is "likely" to launch its 15-inch MacBook Air in April. The anonymous source said the thin-and-light notebook would be similar to current MacBook Air models, with ports on both sides and no optical drive or Ethernet port.

The vendor reportedly speculated that the new 15-inch MacBook Air would "effectively (kill) the (MacBook) Pro for the average consumer." They suggested that the new MacBook Air could even replace the 15-inch MacBook Pro, leaving the "Pro" moniker only to Apple's high-end 17-inch model.

AppleInsider reported in February that Apple is gearing up to introduce radically redesigned MacBook Pro models this year, borrowing the super-thin design the company has pioneered with its MacBook Air. One person familiar with the new MacBook Pro designs said "they're all going to look like MacBook Airs."

Wednesday's report lines up with what AppleInsider relayed in February: The higher-volume 15-inch notebook would be the first to see a revamp, and a 17-inch model is expected to be introduced shortly thereafter. Apple used the same approach in late 2008 and early 2009, when the 15- and 17-inch MacBook Pro redesigns were spaced about three months apart.

Whether Apple's new 15-inch ultra-thin notebook is known as a "Pro" or an Air," the model has been rumored since last year. While it will lack an optical drive, as Apple continues its push for digital distribution of software through the Mac App Store, the new notebooks will be powered by Intel's next-generation Ivy Bridge processors, which are scheduled to go on sale in the coming months.

An illustration of Apple's notebook lineup planned for the 2012 calendar year.

Wednesday's claim of a 15-inch MacBook Air launch next month comes on the heels of a separate rumor that claimed Apple was forced to drop Nvidia's next-generation "Kepler" graphics processors from its next low- and mid-range MacBook upgrades, leaving the systems to rely on Intel's integrated graphics solutions. Currently, Apple's 13-inch MacBook Pro models use Intel HD Graphics 3000, but the company's higher-end 15- and 17-inch MacBook Pros feature dedicated graphics processors from AMD.

A thinner and lighter 15-inch MacBook Pro without a dedicated graphics card could be difficult to differentiate from a 15-inch MacBook Air, which is why the anonymous accessory maker sees Apple "effectively killing the Pro" model. In anticipation of an upcoming MacBook refresh, their company's manufacturers are reportedly prepared to build and ship a new product in less than 90 days.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » March 15th, 2012, 12:44 pm

Good day Tunerzs,

Here is the problem I am getting After I upgrade to 5.1 OS on my iPhone 4S my MIC was working great on 5.01, Since I upgrade it drop to about half.

Anyone have a solution to the problem?

rookie

Postby rookie » March 16th, 2012, 10:00 am

I trading in black devices going all white in 2012 they say white is the new black iPhone 5 & iPad 3 all white

DTAC

Postby DTAC » March 16th, 2012, 10:54 am

rookie wrote:I trading in black devices going all white in 2012 they say white is the new black iPhone 5 & iPad 3 all white

iPhone 5 you say there pal.

You able to take passengers in this time machine? :lol:

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 16th, 2012, 5:03 pm

got bit by the apple bug again....bought a macbook pro today

DTAC

Postby DTAC » March 16th, 2012, 5:25 pm

My tv died yesterday so no iPad 3 now. :cry:

1disappoint

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 16th, 2012, 6:54 pm

oh snap
iPad 2 on 5.1 does not have the voice dictation icon, apparently this is only available on the new iPad (aka iPad 3)

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » March 16th, 2012, 8:57 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:got bit by the apple bug again....bought a macbook pro today

if its brand new I would return it if I were you...

Postby M_2NR » March 16th, 2012, 8:59 pm

rookie

Postby rookie » March 17th, 2012, 2:27 am

When it comes on in June @ dtac

Postby pioneer » March 17th, 2012, 11:47 pm

Anyone, convince me on why i should buy an iPad.

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » March 18th, 2012, 1:15 am

pioneer wrote:Anyone, convince me on why i should buy an iPad.

I duno where to start , what you mainly use a computer for ?

It does everything except burn CDs , over 10 hours battery life if you using it for every minute of the day , if you use it like once or twice it could last up to 2 weeks of battery life without charge!

With 3G you could have Internet access basically anywhere in the world.You could be down Cedros on a boat and browsing tuner !

With APPLE you get what you pay for , with WINDOWS they break easily on that note it has iCloud jus watch the video below you will never look at your WINDOWS again!

Rel pressure my iPhone 4s on 5.1 dies faster I have to put screen brightness down to 0

SRASC

Postby SRASC » March 18th, 2012, 10:41 am

I initially wasn't really bothering with an iPad cause I was happy with my iPhone & MacBook Pro but, if only for the reason of having an extra iOS device to store more iOS apps, I am looking into getting one now, whether it be the iPad 2 or 2012 iPad.

Postby M_2NR » March 18th, 2012, 2:31 pm

i honestly can't justify me spending 499$ or around that figure for another tablet though. i get whatever i need done on the touchpad and if push comes to shove ill just boot up android side of things. but for someone who has never had a tablet... iPad all the way. Apple smacked it out of the field with that screen. how ever useful it is is another thing but certainly its something to look at and be amazed at the clarity

SRASC

Postby SRASC » March 19th, 2012, 10:45 pm

AAPL closes above $600 for the 1st time in history

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » March 19th, 2012, 10:58 pm

pioneer wrote:Anyone, convince me on why i should buy an iPad.

i'm stocking the new iPad

16GB - Wifi only - Black

Postby pioneer » March 19th, 2012, 11:00 pm

M_2NR wrote:http://buyersguide.macrumors.com/

yup what he said.

Looking at that link...most apple products are "end of line" or sumn so...so what sense it make buying?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 19th, 2012, 11:01 pm

^ not much right now
wait till the new model comes out

Apple usually sells their new model at the same price and drops the price of the outgoing model.
So it makes sense to wait.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 19th, 2012, 11:32 pm

hmmm Apple Tv with Navi X - recently here about 90% of the content doesnt work :(
Just says "Loading", then "working" and then it stops - tried many times, same thing.
A few of them get to buffering but never pass 0%

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » March 19th, 2012, 11:37 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:hmmm Apple Tv with Navi X - recently here about 90% of the content doesnt work :(
Just says "Loading", then "working" and then it stops - tried many times, same thing.
A few of them get to buffering but never pass 0%

Yea I stopped using it for movies ad tv shows , just to stream cable on /off ... Rite now I'm using Netflix an thinking about paying for an icefilms account where I could stream the latest content from my apple tv

----------

Is there any mail server setting from TriniTuner that I could use on iOS ?

Postby Team Loco » March 19th, 2012, 11:42 pm

anyone got a first generation ipad for sale? wife's birthday is comming up soon, she wants an ipad but we never owned an apple. wanna get something cheaper before making a large investment in the 3rd gen

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » March 19th, 2012, 11:57 pm

Team Loco wrote:anyone got a first generation ipad for sale? wife's birthday is comming up soon, she wants an ipad but we never owned an apple. wanna get something cheaper before making a large investment in the 3rd gen

Get the 3, you won't regret it

Forget buying 1st gen

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 20th, 2012, 12:31 am

^ yup

you are wasting time and money getting the iPad 1st gen unless it's for a child like a toddler. And I'm being serious. Anyone over 5yrs old can appreciate the faster iPad 2 and front facing camera for video chat, games etc.

The iPad 3 is the same price that the 2 sold for and it's a higher res screen

Postby Team Loco » March 20th, 2012, 1:03 am

Cool, thanks for the reality check

Strauss

Postby Strauss » March 20th, 2012, 9:10 am

Team Loco wrote:anyone got a first generation ipad for sale? wife's birthday is comming up soon, she wants an ipad but we never owned an apple. wanna get something cheaper before making a large investment in the 3rd gen

I understand your concern, but really you should get an iPad 2 if you don't want to invest in the iPad 3.

She WILL fall in love.

(plus she will leave your blasted iMac alone even though she has her own friggin mac sitting in the other bedroom and her iPhone and a frigging PS3 in the living room connected to a Samsung plasma complete with 5.1 receiver /w altec satellites & dual 8" subwoofer to watch dem muddaazz estrogen movies on Netflix yet only wants to friggin check her blasted email even though she can pull it from anywhere from the cloud and Facebook and only taking away your precious World of Warcraft and Starcraft time... b!tch.)