Any snake experts here can identify?

Postby nervewrecker » November 12th, 2007, 9:13 am

plz let the snake go man.

a snake that size will feel threathened by a human bcuz of the size and most likely flee. the snake wouldnt attack jus so, you eva provike a snake to see how long it will take to bite, they only do so in self defense or to catch food ( a small snake like dat wouldnt watch something as big as a person to attack as food).....................

live & let live!

G-T

Postby G-T » November 12th, 2007, 9:31 am

the snake is small, did u check to see if there are any more... :|

noobie

Postby noobie » November 12th, 2007, 11:49 am

What the f*** did you catch it for, and furthermore why are you feeding it in a damned bucket?

What sort of moronic move is that?

And if it *is* poisonous and bites you?

tizik 2nr

Postby tizik 2nr » November 12th, 2007, 12:52 pm

Mail it to Manning, then check the papers t find out if it poisonous...

Postby joker » November 12th, 2007, 12:54 pm

tiziktimes, SO REAL NAME IS MISS PIGGY? :lol: :lol: :lol:

tizik 2nr

Postby tizik 2nr » November 12th, 2007, 12:57 pm

joker wrote:

tiziktimes, SO REAL NAME IS MISS PIGGY? :lol: :lol: :lol:

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

no....

sensiman

Postby sensiman » November 12th, 2007, 1:07 pm

Okay peoples, it is free. And it was a water coral and venomous. Couldn't get the steroids so no experimenting.

noobie wrote:
What the f*** did you catch it for, and furthermore why are you feeding it in a damned bucket?

What sort of moronic move is that?

And if it *is* poisonous and bites you?

So I should just left it to crawl freely around or into my house? :roll:

Postby joker » November 12th, 2007, 1:10 pm

water coral

:?

noobie

Postby noobie » November 12th, 2007, 1:12 pm

Your post implied that you kept the snake in a bucket and tried to feed it. Further implying it was there for a while.

The intelligent thing to have done after having the skill/luck to capture the snake in a bucket, was to go as far from houses as possible and release it.

It isn't wise to keep a potentially deadly snake and try to feed it, when you are clearly not a herpetologist and you live in a back-a-yard third world country.

Keeping it in the bucket and trying to feed it was dumb. And if that was just a trini exaggeration, well you still deserve people thinking it was a dumb move ^_^.

Also, I've never heard of a water coral. Do you have any more info on that type of coral snake?
Last edited by noobie on November 12th, 2007, 1:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

tizik 2nr

Postby tizik 2nr » November 12th, 2007, 1:14 pm

[quote="noobie"]
It isn't wise to keep a potentially deadly snake and try to feed it, when you are clearly not a herpetologist and you live in a back-a-yard third world country.
[quote]

I sorry, but who this man think he is???

Postby nervewrecker » November 12th, 2007, 1:18 pm

where you located man ? you want tuh bring it down by me & set it free in the forest reserve.

dat snake may very well consume some mice and roaches from around your house, you kno the rate at which those 2 species of household pests reproduce - by eating even 2 - 3 of those that one snake may very well prevent hundreds of mice from ever bieng born or probably even thousands of roaches.
the mice and the roaches pose a bigger threat to you and your family than that one humble snake (you kno how much diseases rats and roaches carry).

I'd be more than happy to have the snake roaming around by me........

Postby noshownogo » November 12th, 2007, 1:20 pm

tiziktimes wrote:
noobie wrote:It isn't wise to keep a potentially deadly snake and try to feed it, when you are clearly not a herpetologist and you live in a back-a-yard third world country.

I sorry, but who this man think he is???

^^dat is yuh fadda :lol:

noobie

Postby noobie » November 12th, 2007, 1:21 pm

I'm a trini.

And we back-a-yard and third world when it comes to general healthcare infrastructure in comparison to first world nations.

You don't want to get seriously ill sick over here and end up in a general hospital.

You especially don't want to get bitten by some obscure poisonous snake in Trinidad.

Correct me with some reasoning when you think I'm going wrong on those points :)

Slackerjack...what about a cat? Some annoyances such as them bringing the mice and rats INTO the house...but they not poisonous. Also, I'm sure there are NON poisonous snakes that would kill the rats and mice as well! :)

Man..that is a recipe for disaster...imagine one crawl inside the house and finds a nice warm..BED to curl up in!!

Postby nervewrecker » November 12th, 2007, 1:45 pm

naw man, once yuh place properly fenced around and house sealed off yuh eh really hav tuh worry.

It hav a lot of dogs in the area where I live so there isnt much chance for a cat to survive. every now and then yuh see a small snake crossin the road or around the area but dem uneducated lil chiren dem does kill the poor harmless things. you kno we only hav three types of snakes in t'dad with venom though ? the fre-d-lance, coral and I cant remeber the next off hand (i think its the rat snake but im not sure if that falls into the same category as the fer-d-lance).
the children dont try to tackle the 5ft and longer snakes.
I dont beleiev in upsetting the food chain in any way

noobie

Postby noobie » November 12th, 2007, 1:51 pm

Man...the food chain is one thing.

Defending oneself against potentially deadly animals is another.

I put the latter as higher priority than protecting the food chain. If the animal can be SAFELY relocated then fine. But we don't have anything like animal rescue etc. in Trinidad like they do in the US, Canada, Britain etc. where you can make a phone call and have trained professionals come to your home for a catch and release.

Depending on the type of snake even getting close enough for a Cutlass chop may be dangerous!

Postby nervewrecker » November 12th, 2007, 1:58 pm

where I live rats and roaches are more of a problem than snakes, its probably different by you.
why chop the poor reptiles? the only vicious snake i see that can prove a threat to pple is the fer-d-lance..............

Postby joker » November 12th, 2007, 2:52 pm

where I live rats and roaches are more of a problem than snakes,

basement of a latrine? :lol: :lol:

j/k :|

noobie

Postby noobie » November 12th, 2007, 3:23 pm

slacker_jack wrote:where I live rats and roaches are more of a problem than snakes, its probably different by you.
why chop the poor reptiles? the only vicious snake i see that can prove a threat to pple is the fer-d-lance..............

Listen. A snake will bite when it feels threatened.

A snake in your bed and you lie down next to it could feel threatened, you could be bitten.
You casually walking bare foot across your living room step too close to one that you don't see, you could get bitten.

Your son or daughter see a pretty snake and want to play with it..they could get bitten.

A venemous snake, just like a venomous spider or scorpion is dangerous,life threatening and life altering dangerous. Some people suffer necrosis from simple spider bites, you would never think the cute little harmless spider could cause that. Those are life changing encounters for these people, highly negative encounters where their flesh literally rots off. Limbs have been lost, lives have been lost.

You don't play the arse with dangerous animals. Get them away from you, and kill them if you don't have any other choice.

More so if you *know* the thing is dangerous to your life/health.
No way am I protecting nature or the food chain at the risk of my life/health.

I'm at the top of the food chain, so killing a dangerous Predator (many venomous creatures don't have venom for self defence, they use it to kill other creatures) is fully in keeping with the food chain, actually.

G-T

Postby G-T » November 12th, 2007, 4:15 pm

:popcorn:

Postby r3iXmann » November 12th, 2007, 4:32 pm

Hydrops triangularis neglectus Water Coral

Taken from:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_sn ... and_Tobago

Furthermore:

Hydrops triangularis, the Water Coral, is a water-snake found in western Venezuela and Trinidad and Tobago. It reaches a maximum size of about 78 cm and feeds on eels and fish.

the pics i found on google dont look like that one..so i doubt its the same thing

Postby SMc » November 12th, 2007, 4:44 pm

^^^dat looking nothing like the previos pic

noobie

Postby noobie » November 12th, 2007, 5:02 pm

I actually didn't see a picture of the snake. When I followed the link there was just an information stub and a generic image.

Postby r3iXmann » November 12th, 2007, 5:06 pm

noobie

Postby noobie » November 12th, 2007, 5:16 pm

That's not the snake in the picture at the start of this thread.
So whatever it was, it wasn't that. :)

The mystery deepens.

TUM TA TUM TUM!!!

EDIT:
Actually, I managed to get a blown up image.
That could be it yes.

*steups*
I say we petition the original poster to take a closeup picture of the snake so we could see the thing better!
^_^

Postby X_Factor » November 12th, 2007, 8:49 pm

^^ doh worry..remember trincity mall used to flood out..and it still could even though they build the banks higher ....and the name of the nake is Water coral...
WATCH OUT!!! it could be coming soon!!

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » November 12th, 2007, 9:27 pm

ey ppl dat is not no water coral . dat is called a bushmaster or as we in trini call it a mapipiere zanana which is very venomous it does break down ur muscle tissues when it bite u ...i woulda be sure if the pic was clearer

Postby r3iXmann » November 12th, 2007, 9:30 pm

nicholas1771 wrote:ey ppl dat is not no water coral . dat is called a bushmaster or as we in trini call it a mapipiere zanana which is very venomous it does break down ur muscle tissues when it bite u ...i woulda be sure if the pic was clearer

:? that is NOT a mapipiere!

they dont come red..unless that is the 2007 RORO model

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » November 12th, 2007, 9:36 pm

i not arguing but i see those snakes in d bush already i work in d forest for a while so i mite kno

Postby r3iXmann » November 12th, 2007, 9:42 pm

Lachesis is a genus of venomous pit vipers found in the remote, forested areas in Central America, South America and the island of Trinidad (where it is known as the Mapepire zanana). The generic name refers to one of the Three Fates in Greek mythology; goddesses who determined the length of the thread of life.[2] Three species are currently recognized.[3]

yep..striking resemblance

Kneegrow69

Postby Kneegrow69 » November 12th, 2007, 9:44 pm

HONESTLY! WHY THE FVCK IS THIS THREAD STILL GOIN?