you thoughts on "PH" drivers ?

Postby pugboy » March 18th, 2009, 7:38 pm

you missing the point,
with all humans there is a certain thrill about breaking the law and getting away with it, and even better when you can make a living off it against other taxpaying users of the same road.

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:ALL this??

the police are not saying "doh run taxi in all them back road" all they saying is if you are running PH then get a taxi badge!!!

so i dont see HOW this will prevent ppl from reaching home!!!
the SAME ph taxi that takes you home now just has to go and get a legal taxi badge and then all will be good!

0awg

Postby 0awg » March 18th, 2009, 8:26 pm

wagonrunner wrote:interesting, this evening on a talk show, quite a few drivers called in. both H and PH.
the H drivers claim they pay taxes via dues to their taxi association(s), but nobody was willing to give the figure how much.
think that figure could be a deterrent to the PH men. was once told, they estimate yuh past income and "tax" you accordingly.

anyone of us wiling to give up a 40+% just so?
if that was the case, wouldn't motorsport be happily chugging along with yuh know who at the helm?

yes, I think they pay some sorta tax that is to be filtered into maintaining the roadways & security at nights, nobody knows where the money goin. road eh fixing, police never to be found....

anyhow, I am trying to bring up a point here but someone must first define for me what qualifies as a ph driver??

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 18th, 2009, 8:29 pm

^ a PH driver is a taxi driver who does not pay dues for a legal taxi badge.

pugboy wrote:you missing the point,
with all humans there is a certain thrill about breaking the law and getting away with it, and even better when you can make a living off it against other taxpaying users of the same road.

the police are not saying "doh run taxi in all them back road" all they saying is if you are running PH then get a taxi badge!!!

the SAME ph taxi that takes you home now just has to go and get a legal taxi badge and then all will be good!

sorry sorry - how could I be so mindless [/sarcasm]
Last edited by Duane 3NE 2NR on March 18th, 2009, 8:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

equal2zero

Postby equal2zero » March 18th, 2009, 8:30 pm

Most of the PH drivers are not taxi drivers full time. They usually have day jobs and work the PH at night to make a lil extra change. Even some policemen does work PH :shock: :lol:. So not all of them would want to go through the process of getting taxi badges but there will be some who are willing.

Also, some of the PH men said that they will have problems getting a certificate of character and so won't attempt to get their taxi badge. I think forcing them to register alone will not eliminate the problem. The public transportation system needs to improve drastically so that the need for the PH drivers will be reduced thus forcing them to register if they want to work taxi.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 18th, 2009, 8:36 pm

equal2zero wrote:

Most of the PH drivers are not taxi drivers full time. They usually have day jobs and work the PH at night to make a lil extra change. Even some policemen does work PH :shock: :lol:. So not all of them would want to go through the process of getting taxi badges but there will be some who are willing.

Also, some of the PH men said that they will have problems getting a certificate of character and so won't attempt to get their taxi badge. I think forcing them to register alone will not eliminate the problem. The public transportation system needs to improve drastically so that the need for the PH drivers will be reduced thus forcing them to register if they want to work taxi.

how about enforcing the law and that would force them to register if they want to work taxi?
I mean for all you know if there is a proper and regulated private taxi service across the country then there would be less and less need for public transport!

Isnt that what the maxi taxi service did so very well in trinidad?
replace the need for as much public transport service

equal2zero

Postby equal2zero » March 18th, 2009, 8:54 pm

Yea you could look at it from that angle but the need for the PH drivers arose because the registered H drivers won't work certain routes at night through fear of being robbed, ent? So the PH drivers are filling that void, there is a demand for them. If the men working PH currently decide to register as H, they will run the same risk of getting robbed which may be a deterrent. This is why I think public transport needs to improve. If the service is not/cannot be provided privately (legally) then it is up to the government to provide it.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 18th, 2009, 9:05 pm

equal2zero wrote:Yea you could look at it from that angle but the need for the PH drivers arose because the registered H drivers won't work certain routes at night through fear of being robbed, ent? So the PH drivers are filling that void, there is a demand for them. If the men working PH currently decide to register as H, they will run the same risk of getting robbed which may be a deterrent.

if a man running PH in an area wont EVERYBODY know he runs taxi in there?
He would be there up and down every day dropping off pp and working on the stand.
You think him getting an H license will suddenly alert bandits that he might have cash? Not to mention its the PH drivers and not the taxi drivers who bling out and flams up their ride. I think that would alert bandits more!

I yet to see a strong argument FOR the ph drivers.
I still say its a matter of evading paying for H license and taxi badge and taxes - all illegal and needs to be stopped. If they want to run taxi then pay up like the rest of the taxi drivers.

Postby pugboy » March 18th, 2009, 9:17 pm

enforcement is the issue, once enforcement is slack they will take an inch and turn it into a mile
problem is enforcing will be seen as oppressing the small man and somebody in govt gonna be on their side

what we don't really see is the legit taxi drivers taking a strong stand against the ph

at the end of the day a ph driver is not any different than an illegal street vendor

equal2zero

Postby equal2zero » March 18th, 2009, 9:26 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:if a man running PH in an area wont EVERYBODY know he runs taxi in there?
He would be there up and down every day dropping off pp and working on the stand.
You think him getting an H license will suddenly alert bandits that he might have cash? Not to mention its the PH drivers and not the taxi drivers who bling out and flams up their ride. I think that would alert bandits more!

Well that was the reason given for H drivers refusing to work at night. So do the men working PH currently get robbed same speed as H drivers? :?

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I yet to see a strong argument FOR the ph drivers.
I still say its a matter of evading paying for H license and taxi badge and taxes - all illegal and needs to be stopped. If they want to run taxi then pay up like the rest of the taxi drivers.

Agree. That coupled with the fact that they know they can take advantage of the passengers and charge them exorbitant amounts as compared to the regular fares because they are the only ones willing to work the route. Also like I said earlier some of them wouldn't want to become full time taxi drivers and pay taxes etc. because they already have jobs.

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » March 19th, 2009, 7:31 am

.:PROZAC:.. wrote:Illegal yes but they are saviours. Travel with the ones you know.

...still doesnt mean its always safe eh. Check de 14 year old girl who de taximan murder. She and she friends travelling with de man for like 4 years..every morning.
..and it still happen.

Things riduculous yes..

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » March 19th, 2009, 7:41 am

Ok so for all of you who argue that after certain hours you do not see "H" drivers and you only see "PH" drivers.

If all of the "PH" drivers were to legally obtain taxi badges- will this mean that as they become legal that they will NOT work after hours again????

think before you argue nah man!

pato

Postby pato » March 19th, 2009, 2:12 pm

evo-STI-k wrote:Ok so for all of you who argue that after certain hours you do not see "H" drivers and you only see "PH" drivers.

If all of the "PH" drivers were to legally obtain taxi badges- will this mean that as they become legal that they will NOT work after hours again????

think before you argue nah man!
Nobody going to go throught all that drama to obtain taxi badge, certificate of good character,pay taxes, just to make ah extra $200 after work.

These guys have day jobs and to make ends meet they run ph. Thing to do first they want to do last, lets see the public transportation at an acceptable level before cracking down on the ph drivers.

It just happen that H taxis working whole day and d fellas who need ah lil extra change does come out in the night.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 19th, 2009, 5:04 pm

pato wrote:Nobody going to go throught all that drama to obtain taxi badge, certificate of good character,pay taxes, just to make ah extra $200 after work.

LOL then we all might as well just sell weed, it tax free and why go through all the trouble and stress of working hard everyday when you can make plenty plenty easy money selling drugs? Right?

six pages and still not even a half decent argument in favour of the PH drivers. In fact the more reasons ppl give in support of the PH drivers the worst you are making them look.

somebody come with a good reason nah!

Postby buzz » March 19th, 2009, 6:32 pm

now imbert makin sense

implement a system for PH drivers to convert

not just go willy nilly and clamp down w/o reason

must i say again that they should first FIX the system

Postby buzz » March 19th, 2009, 6:34 pm

six pages and still not even a half decent argument in favour of the PH drivers. In fact the more reasons ppl give in support of the PH drivers the worst you are making them look.

somebody come with a good reason nah!

erm in case you missed it MY arguement was putting PROPER measures in place as the current system is no longer practical :idea:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 20th, 2009, 8:03 am

^ dais not a reason to allow them!
the system is there - go and pay yuh $180 and get yuh H badge!

and another argument AGAINST PH taxis is that passengers have NO insurance if they get injured in an accident when traveling in a PH taxi. H cars are insured for their passengers.

Postby 16 cycles » March 20th, 2009, 8:12 am

^are passengers only insured after you pay in an "H" car or covered by insurance as soon as you sit in the car?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 20th, 2009, 8:14 am

^ a passenger is somebody sitting in a car AFAIK

Postby pugboy » March 20th, 2009, 8:16 am

The insurance issue is a valid point
but in truth and in fact 99.9999999% of taxis are insured with capital or motor one(duprey personal company)

that and no insurance is the same thing except you dont have to pay to get no insurance, lol

Postby 16 cycles » March 20th, 2009, 8:21 am

think there is a technicality somewhere abt insurance and payment...

Re:

Postby wagonrunner » August 27th, 2010, 12:15 pm

16 cycles wrote:^are passengers only insured after you pay in an "H" car or covered by insurance as soon as you sit in the car?
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ a passenger is somebody sitting in a car AFAIK

yes its an old bump from legalise PH..........................RUBISH
but a passenger is only covered after he pays the driver.
so if yuh was waiting till your destination to pay, and something happens, salt.

really a matter of picking

Re: you thoughts on "PH" drivers ?

Postby pete » August 27th, 2010, 2:10 pm

How do you prove that you paid the driver? Rather, how does he prove that you didn't pay?

minipresident

Re:

Postby minipresident » August 27th, 2010, 5:53 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ like 90% of T&T MISSED this point completely!!!

instead of spending money to buy 20" crims, drop low, 20lb of tint and sticker and hard pong spend a lil bit to pay for the legal taxi badge and ply your route
:idea:

the actual cost of a taxi badge is a mere $40.00! :? what is their problem? as a maxi owner if they moving to legalise PH, why the hell i have a $100,000 maxi rights red band on my bus dem for? better i sell the rights and buy bout ten white bus like them boys who 'hustling' the same Arima/POS with them white bus now.
Former govt encourage maxi owners to buy these new $600,000 maxis on which insurance policies are as much as $50,000.00. owners pay as much as $18,000.00 installments a month. PH is already an issue to these guys and if it becomes legal, what are bus owners to do???
Bottom line is these PH fellas are illegal!!!
If you so love the travelling public and want to provide a service,...follow the existing laws and procedures and turn your car H and big up!