..:: Nat Geo/Disc Channel/Hist Channel lovers Thread ::..

oxidation

Re: ..::Nat Geo/ Disc Channel/ Hist Channel lovers ched ::..

Postby oxidation » September 5th, 2010, 7:47 pm

ice road truckers FTW

Postby sharkman121 » September 5th, 2010, 7:52 pm

vrampersad14 wrote:Inside 9/11: War On America, right now on Nat Geo

Inside 9/11: Zero Hour @ 9pm!

I vex i missing this...i on wuk right now :?

bess almera

Postby bess almera » September 5th, 2010, 8:12 pm

sharkman121 wrote:

Yuh wah some nuts o wa?!?!?!?

Postby Trini Hookah » September 5th, 2010, 8:14 pm

^ doh worry they'll be showing it over and over this week

Just don't miss Giuliani's 9/11, tomorrow night on Nat Geo

Postby sharkman121 » September 5th, 2010, 8:25 pm

bess almera wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:

Yuh wah some nuts o wa?!?!?!?

ehh!!

Postby sharkman121 » September 6th, 2010, 11:05 pm

Interrogating Saddam Hussein..

now on Nat Geo.

Postby shogun » September 6th, 2010, 11:10 pm

^^gonna check that out.

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » September 7th, 2010, 9:22 pm

On Natgeo now........."Search for Amazon Headshrinkers". Repeat at 12am tonight

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » September 7th, 2010, 9:48 pm

like nobody does watch : AMERICAN PICKERS & PAWN STARS ...2 cool shows imo

also this daily new show : SWAMP PEOPLE does go rel good too how they catching d alligators & getting big $ for all their troubles

another new show is STAN LEE'S : SUPER HUMANS very interesting too ....

Postby cinco » September 8th, 2010, 6:55 am

(...Rovin...) wrote:like nobody does watch : AMERICAN PICKERS & [b]PAWN STARS

very interesting shite they pick and people try to pawn
i just watch american pickers mostly for all the ole car paraphernalia
pawn stars is hillarious but i would smack Chumlee upside the head every day all day

Postby Morpheus » September 9th, 2010, 11:19 pm

Ah yess. Man-Made on NGC:The Building Of The Bugatti Veyron

I've seen it before.....BUT I'll watch again! :mrgreen:

Humes

Postby Humes » September 10th, 2010, 7:32 am

I find Pawn Stars is the best new show on History Channel since Wild West Tech.

My favorite History Channel show is Modern Marvels.

I find the channel descending into too much non-history sheit like Ice Road Truckers and that race car show. I like shows that teach you about the past and put the present and future into some kind of context...most of the new shows doh do that one bit. What part of Axe Men and Ice Road Truckers, other than the Modern Marvels episodes that spawned them, have to do with history?

Rubbish.

Postby Morpheus » September 10th, 2010, 10:54 am

^^Yes agreed on Modern Marvels.

Yeah hoss dey moving like MTV and dem. No more music and no more history.Haha :lol: :|

angel_player

Postby angel_player » September 10th, 2010, 1:06 pm

Im a big fan of World War II History and that is how I started on these channels many years ago. However I don't see many WWII stuff on History Channel anymore. I used to like Undercover History with Arthur Kent as the host and many of the other Vietnam and Cold War History stuff.

However I do enjoy some of the new shows. Like Rovin said above Pawn Stars is real cool like. I learned a couple things on that show. I still don't get Ice Road Truckers though but I guess to each his own. But a bit too much "reality tv" creeping onto these channels though... rather a bit more documentaries to balance it off

rossi

Postby rossi » September 10th, 2010, 1:19 pm

(...Rovin...) wrote:like nobody does watch : AMERICAN PICKERS & PAWN STARS ...2 cool shows imo

also this daily new show : SWAMP PEOPLE does go rel good too how they catching d alligators & getting big $ for all their troubles

another new show is STAN LEE'S : SUPER HUMANS very interesting too ....

Pawn Stars is really good, I does get reall jones on the old guy and his son.
It's like "How much you want for it?"
"2000"
"no,no,no you're not gonna get that......I'll give you 600"
HA!! I take in that whenever I can.

American pickers, it aite, I can't stand those two fellas nah.

Stan Lee's Super humans ...boy, rem the 33 feet jump into 12 inches of water in a kiddie pool??? maddness.

Humes

Postby Humes » September 10th, 2010, 4:34 pm

Morpheus and angel, that is it self. Reality TV and pop culture appeal is what is driving most of these new shows.

I used to sit down and watch World War 2 documentaries on History for HOURS. Like morning to night, in a trance.

Yuh know what is the single worst show on History Channel now?

Monster Quest.

rossi

Postby rossi » September 10th, 2010, 7:14 pm

Humes wrote:Morpheus and angel, that is it self. Reality TV and pop culture appeal is what is driving most of these new shows.

I used to sit down and watch World War 2 documentaries on History for HOURS. Like morning to night, in a trance.

Monster Quest.

Damn right! the narrator's voice could be used in another show.

Postby Trini Hookah » September 10th, 2010, 8:59 pm

9/11 Conspiracies: Fact or Fiction, beginning now on History channel!

Postby SUPAstarr » September 10th, 2010, 9:23 pm

Nat Geo hav anaconda special on now, mentioned Trini specifically as having a population of Anacondas

Postby Morpheus » September 10th, 2010, 10:48 pm

Would you believe I never even watched Pawn Stars, Ice Road Truckers and dem thing just because of the "reality show" feel. I got that from just the previews eh. I just switch to another station. Even the SPEED channel fudging up (years now).

Maybe I'll check those shows and see what they're about :?

Postby Morpheus » September 11th, 2010, 12:26 am

WOW. I just saw a preview for "Great Migrations" on NatGeo. Coming in November. Seems to have epic footage(A la Planet Earth) :shock:

Stay Tuned

Postby sharkman121 » September 11th, 2010, 12:50 am

fuh reel...it look EPICC!!!

Noicee

Humes

Postby Humes » September 11th, 2010, 8:08 pm

Pawn Stars is a reality show but the main hook is the history you get behind every item that's brought into the store. Real informative, real interesting, and a fun, entertaining format. The haggling is addictive...I find myself guessing offers and final prices more and more accurately over time.

Some episodes have a small joke plot running throughout, like when they tief the store owner's vintage car to get it detailed in time for his birthday a few days later...but even those are usually punctuated with historical information.

American Pickers is very similar, except they go out and look for old items in people's attics, barns etc, instead of people coming in to sell stuff to them.

Ice Road Truckers, Ax Men, them other shows...not in the same league. They are just plain reality shows.

Postby redmanjp » September 11th, 2010, 8:19 pm

9/11 shows whole day today on History (well is d 9th anniversary)

Postby redmanjp » September 11th, 2010, 10:12 pm

^^ just showed someone filming just after one tower collapsed, complete darkness for several secs as the dust engulfed the area- damn

angel_player

Postby angel_player » September 11th, 2010, 10:41 pm

Humes wrote:Morpheus and angel, that is it self. Reality TV and pop culture appeal is what is driving most of these new shows.

Monster Quest.

OMGG Humes I used to watch WWII stuff day in and day out myself. I dunno, but they had documentaries assessing WWII from every possible angle!! After watching all those documentaries overtime I think I have a thorough understanding of WWII.

Somehow WWII and the Cold War seemed really "exciting", I think because either side (armies) was evenly matched, be it The Allies (US, British, Soviet) vs. The Axis (Japan, Nazis). Or whether it be cold war era US vs Soviet Union. All armies had aspects of them that made them formidable and unique.

I don't know if young people today would find the recent "conflicts" anywhere that intriguing. In my opinion the recent wars have been lopsided; The 1st Gulf War between US and Saddam's Iraq was not evenly matched and neither the 2nd US invasion of Iraq. The guerilla warfare in Afghanistan between Al Queda and the US in no way compares to the guerilla warfare between the US and the Vietcong in the Vietnam conflict.

I don't want anyone that not into these documentaries and visiting this thread to think Im excited about war only for my amusement. I know those of us who watch these stations understand my position. I am simply educationally stimulated when certain analysis can be done concerning these conflicts. Eg. Comparisions between commander temperaments, comparison between strategies, comparison between weapons deployed, developments that lead to the conflict... and many others.

Anyways for those interested my favourite armies from that era be the Soviets/Russians and the Nazis - and no I don't share the Nazi ideology :lol: I know one of allyuh smart allecks might come with some B.S about that.

Postby sharkman121 » September 11th, 2010, 11:49 pm

angel_player wrote:I don't want anyone that not into these documentaries and visiting this thread to think Im excited about war only for my amusement. I know those of us who watch these stations understand my position. I am simply educationally stimulated when certain analysis can be done concerning these conflicts. .

Correct, no one is here to judge yr preference. We all get a sense of satisfaction in some way or the other from watching these documentaries. Thats why this thread was created.
Personally the war documentaries are not really my preference but i understand where u coming from.

I personally am more inclined to nat geo documentaries of nature, mother earth, deep seas, astronomy etc.

Carry on bro..jus remember to pass on the word whenever a good documentary is on.
8-)

Postby DFC » September 11th, 2010, 11:56 pm

Alien Ancestry in History channel. i was stuck on a 24hr marathon of it.

was really good.

Postby Morpheus » September 18th, 2010, 12:10 pm

Ultimate Factories marathon on now. Most are reruns.

First time I'm seeing the Rolls-Royce episode from the beginning though.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » September 18th, 2010, 12:36 pm

DFC wrote:Alien Ancestry in History channel. i was stuck on a 24hr marathon of it.

was really good.

not ANCIENT ALIENS u mean ?

how did i forget to mention that show & i have tread on tuner somewhere about it - few mths ago at 1am while i was about to go to sleep i saw this show & remained waking to see it , needless to say i woke up late next morning for work ... :lol: .... :oops:

1st time i saw it was d 1 where they found golden item shaped exactly like a modern plain & it was a couple thousand yrs old where as ppl only started flying in planes like over d last 150yrs , i nearly fell off my couch when i saw that 1

another mind boggling episode was d 1 where they found some ancient ruins in Puma Punku in Tiahuanaco, in South America i think it was , where all d huge stones used were straight as if cut with some sort of diamond cutter or laser but no cut marks were visible & it was over 4000 yrs old & they asked modern stone cutters if they cud do something that precise using modern tools & they said it wud be near impossible that those ppl cud do that 1000's of yrs ago when they didnt even have electricity ... :shock: