Re: Wedding Cost

Postby teems1 » October 12th, 2010, 12:36 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
DRAGULA wrote:
crazybalhead wrote:
DRAGULA wrote:dred do d smart ting. take dat money yuh was planning to spend on d wedding and spend it on a nice honeymoon for u & ur wife or on yuh house etc. All dat money yuh spendin is for all dem other people who not as important. d way I see it, is if people vex if yuh doh have ah wedding or doh invite dem to a small wedding, den dey not worth it in d first place....... You & yuh madam is d 2 most important people....... start yuh life off right

Selfish and small minded. When you have a child, you will be happy if they tell you, "Aye daddy, fack you eh, I going in the red house to get marrid and go on a bessss honeymoon. me en care if you raise me and would have liked to be there!!!"

Yuh gettin marrid for yuh mudder an fadda or fuh yuh an yuh wife? Parents will understan.... especially if yuh usin d money to buy a piece of land or start buildin yuh house etc.... I also suggested to have a smaller wedding with only immediates. If people cyar understan dat yuh tryin to save money to start yuh life off right then dem ent care bout you

Has it ever occured to you that some individuals already have a home of their own before getting hitched? Or that a couple can save for the wedding a few years in advance knowing fully well the expense of it all?

Some of us can actually afford both large wedding and house or two or three. And it doesn't take a rich or wealthy man to have both. Just a smart man, and, of course, behind every smart man is a smart woman. :wink:

the dynamic is different for the wealthy, which clearly i am not

since almost everyone I knew who got married moved in to their parent's downstairs, house extension etc.

Postby RBphoto » October 12th, 2010, 1:00 pm

DRAGULA, I tort you marid two years now?

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » October 12th, 2010, 1:02 pm

hai lola!

Postby SR » October 12th, 2010, 1:09 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
SR wrote:are you?

So you didn't get the memo? With the amount of macomere boys/men on this forum minding other people's business, I thought you already knew.

SR wrote:stop trying to make this out to be in your favour to suit your needs
it goes both ways so deal with it

the higher the pedestal you sit on the harder you fall in the end

Far from it. Being a husband and father also comes with its challenges. I was not trying to devalue that fact.

But, of course, you would have to be a father and husband to fully understand what such challenges (and responsibilities) entail. Let me know when you've reached that stage in your life.

you dont have to be a father or a husband to understand responsabilities

suggest you dont assume what i know or my experinces are

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » October 12th, 2010, 1:20 pm

lola.38 wrote:Hai AP!!!! we missed you
you have a point there but I just lil cheap. I thinking about all the things we hadda get after feeding them backstabbers is all

Hello, my dear. I hope you have wisely chosen (or will wisely choose) who you decide on feeding. Make sure you being fed too eh. :lol: :lol: :lol:

SR wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:
SR wrote:are you?

So you didn't get the memo? With the amount of macomere boys/men on this forum minding other people's business, I thought you already knew.

SR wrote:stop trying to make this out to be in your favour to suit your needs
it goes both ways so deal with it

the higher the pedestal you sit on the harder you fall in the end

Far from it. Being a husband and father also comes with its challenges. I was not trying to devalue that fact.

But, of course, you would have to be a father and husband to fully understand what such challenges (and responsibilities) entail. Let me know when you've reached that stage in your life.

you dont have to be a father or a husband to understand responsabilities

suggest you dont assume what i know or my experinces are

SR,

The key word here is SUCH.

Here is the sentence again:

you would have to be a father and husband to fully understand what such challenges (and responsibilities) entail

"SUCH...responsibilities" is made in reference to being both father and husband. I am neither challenging nor attempting to assume your understanding of responsibilities outside the context of being a father and husband.

Please learn to comprehend before challenging me.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » October 12th, 2010, 1:22 pm

teems1 wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:
DRAGULA wrote:
crazybalhead wrote:
DRAGULA wrote:dred do d smart ting. take dat money yuh was planning to spend on d wedding and spend it on a nice honeymoon for u & ur wife or on yuh house etc. All dat money yuh spendin is for all dem other people who not as important. d way I see it, is if people vex if yuh doh have ah wedding or doh invite dem to a small wedding, den dey not worth it in d first place....... You & yuh madam is d 2 most important people....... start yuh life off right

Selfish and small minded. When you have a child, you will be happy if they tell you, "Aye daddy, fack you eh, I going in the red house to get marrid and go on a bessss honeymoon. me en care if you raise me and would have liked to be there!!!"

Yuh gettin marrid for yuh mudder an fadda or fuh yuh an yuh wife? Parents will understan.... especially if yuh usin d money to buy a piece of land or start buildin yuh house etc.... I also suggested to have a smaller wedding with only immediates. If people cyar understan dat yuh tryin to save money to start yuh life off right then dem ent care bout you

Has it ever occured to you that some individuals already have a home of their own before getting hitched? Or that a couple can save for the wedding a few years in advance knowing fully well the expense of it all?

Some of us can actually afford both large wedding and house or two or three. And it doesn't take a rich or wealthy man to have both. Just a smart man, and, of course, behind every smart man is a smart woman. :wink:

the dynamic is different for the wealthy, which clearly i am not

since almost everyone I knew who got married moved in to their parent's downstairs, house extension etc.

That is just slackness and improper planning. Jumping broom without planning ahead.

If that works for them, wonderful, but it certainly does not work for me.

Postby SR » October 12th, 2010, 1:23 pm

why would i stooop to your level

when you return to real trinidad life then we can debate

DRAGULA

Postby DRAGULA » October 12th, 2010, 1:35 pm

crossdrilled wrote:DRAGULA, I tort you marid two years now?

yeah........... and i talkin from experience..... i still ent have meh own house yet

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » October 12th, 2010, 1:36 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Agreed with AP. There are lot's of ways to save money on a wedding.

Cooler-fete themed wedding, and rent a doubles man on that sacred day.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » October 12th, 2010, 1:42 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Agreed with AP. There are lot's of ways to save money on a wedding.

Let the woman pay for it.

DRAGULA

Postby DRAGULA » October 12th, 2010, 1:47 pm

So AP, my interpretation of what you are saying is that a couple should not get married unless they can afford to have a good wedding and have enough money for a good start to their life together.
My opinion is that not everyone can afford to have both. And sometimes waiting until you can afford both is unrealistic. So in that vein, I suggested that the wedding can be sacrificed to give priority to a good start to married life. Not everyone have wealthy parents to pay for a wedding. And I may be wrong, but I don't think the thread would have been started if money wasn't a concern. My point is to prioritize

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » October 12th, 2010, 1:53 pm

Money and material things make some people happy apparently.

Postby SR » October 12th, 2010, 1:55 pm

dont forget the ring ap want to bling to she friends

Postby wagonrunner » October 12th, 2010, 2:04 pm

silent_riot wrote:Money and material things make some people happy apparently.

quoted for the shallow truth.

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » October 12th, 2010, 2:20 pm

lola.308 wrote:hello nismo!

wrt to the whole wedding thing, if you have the cash then by all means spend your money but be weary of taking loans to splurge. (save that borrowing to get your divorce)

yea girl all that running up and down to the banks does really get yuh weary :drinking:

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » October 12th, 2010, 2:22 pm

DRAGULA wrote:So AP, my interpretation of what you are saying is that a couple should not get married unless they can afford to have a good wedding and have enough money for a good start to their life together.

I am not in a position to suggest on how any couple should live their life. That is up to them. As for me, I refuse to marry any man who is not in the financial position to provide for a family. If he is still at home with mommy and daddy then he needs to get his finances together to move out into a home of his own BEFORE he puts a ring on my finger. He dare not ask for my hand in marriage if he does not have certain things in place. I am more than happy to buy a home TOGETHER, however, I am not investing in any home with a man who is not financially prepared to take out a mortgage.

DRAGULA wrote:My opinion is that not everyone can afford to have both. And sometimes waiting until you can afford both is unrealistic. So in that vein, I suggested that the wedding can be sacrificed to give priority to a good start to married life. Not everyone have wealthy parents to pay for a wedding.

Once again, one does NOT have to have wealthy parents to afford a nice wedding AND a home. It is ALL about money management and budgeting for such expenses. There are just far too many couples marrying who are not financially prepared to take care of themselves, let alone a household. In my opinion, if you have to run back to live with mom and dad after the wedding you have no business marrying in the first place.

DRAGULA wrote:And I may be wrong, but I don't think the thread would have been started if money wasn't a concern. My point is to prioritize

The original poster wanted opinions on how much a wedding might cost him. He is asking in advance so he himself can budget accordingly. That's not to suggest he is looking to prioritize to buy land or a home. He may very well already have a home.
Last edited by AbstractPoetic on October 12th, 2010, 2:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » October 12th, 2010, 2:30 pm

Not necessarily but it sure beats being broke and living hand to mouth.

Plan your business accordingly from young and you will help mitigate your chances of experiencing financial woes. And by planning I mean working towards having little to no debt, having at least one year of your salary saved in a high-yield account, an emergency fund of at least 6 months worth your salary, a diversified investment portfolio for both growth and income purposes and, most importantly, establishing excellent creditworthiness with your bank(s).

This is what separates the haves from the have nots.

Postby Damien » October 12th, 2010, 2:34 pm

AllTrac wrote:
Damien wrote:I still paying for my wedding that was three yrs ago, hopefully it would finish soon

yuh getting ah divorce? 8-)

Nah is the loan I talking bout boidanboidawgboi

For my wedding I spent bout 60k normel normel and that didn't get much, in laws spent bout three times the amount and I not checking donations the family give, however I had two weddings one hindu and one muslim a week after

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » October 12th, 2010, 2:34 pm

lola.308 wrote:hello nismo!

wrt to the whole wedding thing, if you have the cash then by all means spend your money but be weary of taking loans to splurge. (save that borrowing to get your divorce)

LOL. Attorney fees can definitely be expensive. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Country_Bookie » October 12th, 2010, 3:29 pm

If ur a hindu then u can check out Divali Nagar. Their price is kinda reasonable I think <$10k.
Anyone knows what's the cost of using a hall at Centre of Excellence?

AlliDr

Postby AlliDr » October 12th, 2010, 3:45 pm

^^pm Jack

Postby pugboy » October 12th, 2010, 3:52 pm

yes, the harry winston ring to show coworkers

SR wrote:dont forget the ring ap want to bling to she friends

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » October 12th, 2010, 4:28 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:

Not necessarily but it sure beats being broke and living hand to mouth.

Plan your business accordingly from young and you will help mitigate your chances of experiencing financial woes. And by planning I mean working towards having little to no debt, having at least one year of your salary saved in a high-yield account, an emergency fund of at least 6 months worth your salary, a diversified investment portfolio for both growth and income purposes and, most importantly, establishing excellent creditworthiness with your bank(s).

This is what separates the haves from the have nots.

But you're making it seem that a lavish wedding is required as proof of this.

I'm sure many tuners consider themselves in that financial position, but I don't think of myself as a "have", nor do I think lavish weddings are necessary. As with many other things today, like cars, jewellery and fancy clothes, I think lavish weddings are something which one will use to consider themselves a "have", as you put it. I'd value humble gatherings with the people who'd have been there for me when it counted.

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » October 12th, 2010, 6:09 pm

francis fashion have van milano italian suit for 400 dollahs eh... forget dem armani and gucci hoyty toyty crap n dem

load up a 6 hour playlist in m edia player.. doh need no dj.. jus rent a pa system and and pause d damn pc for speech time if yuh voice soft

make sure n marry a girl who familybig and could cook and she like to cook... dey go start cooking for d wedding brsk brisk

cut a lil bamboo and buy some tarpaulin.... we want a place we could wine down low normal normal and yuh could buss d extra bamboo for entertainment

take all the nighbour and family table and chair and have yuh lil eating section for yuh roti and granny to sit down n ting

the only real expense is RUM RUM RUM

and yuh could build yuh extension to d house in d back or yuh could build or buy yuh house

u could save a dollah everyday.. doh ever say tuner eh help yuh

P.S all who getting married pm mih the information invite location direction etc nuh

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » October 12th, 2010, 7:04 pm

and after all these 4 pages what have we gained?

this is why AP is not married, and why she will more that likely always be single , unless she "tricks" some Rich dunce!

good luck !

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » October 12th, 2010, 7:16 pm

my wedding was planned a yr in advance .. clothes was bought here in francis fashion for $900 and money well spent

location was under a bamboo tent which me and my brothers cut and put up 2-3 weeks before the wedding .. cost of that was free and housed close to 1500 pple the sat night

band was anil bheem who charged me $12k because i booked him a whole yr b4 so he had no previous bookings

dj was a friend of mines who happened to provide a 40ft trailer for the sunday as well charged me $4500

food was cooked by family and neighbours and there are many tuners who were there and can attest to the taste... sr an triad yuh missed out

was a hindu wedding so no alco .. cost crossed the 200k easily but we planned for it and the family chipped in

best advice is to call in all favours as the cost will escalate easily ... we did more than 500 invitations plus phone invis and stormers ..its you and your wife's day , just dont play stingy and decide u gonna save for the house and rember ur wedding as a boring day but one u and everyone u invited enjoyed themselves. what i suggest is to talk to your future wife and listen to what she wants .. maybe she wants a quiet wedding or a big wedding look at what u have and then u can decide how much u can and is willing to spend .

oct 18th will make 3 months i have been married and i have no regret .. everyday is a blessed day...
doh worry sr she say nex yr i could compete:D

Postby pugboy » October 12th, 2010, 7:29 pm

AP,

you are somewhat correct in that its better to not marry somebody who is broke, assuming one is not either
that system has been in place a long time now,
the Indians call it the Caste system

Postby teems1 » October 12th, 2010, 8:40 pm

MonsterPower wrote:my wedding was planned a yr in advance .. clothes was bought here in francis fashion for $900 and money well spent

location was under a bamboo tent which me and my brothers cut and put up 2-3 weeks before the wedding .. cost of that was free and housed close to 1500 pple the sat night

band was anil bheem who charged me $12k because i booked him a whole yr b4 so he had no previous bookings

dj was a friend of mines who happened to provide a 40ft trailer for the sunday as well charged me $4500

food was cooked by family and neighbours and there are many tuners who were there and can attest to the taste... sr an triad yuh missed out

was a hindu wedding so no alco .. cost crossed the 200k easily but we planned for it and the family chipped in

best advice is to call in all favours as the cost will escalate easily ... we did more than 500 invitations plus phone invis and stormers ..its you and your wife's day , just dont play stingy and decide u gonna save for the house and rember ur wedding as a boring day but one u and everyone u invited enjoyed themselves. what i suggest is to talk to your future wife and listen to what she wants .. maybe she wants a quiet wedding or a big wedding look at what u have and then u can decide how much u can and is willing to spend .

oct 18th will make 3 months i have been married and i have no regret .. everyday is a blessed day...
doh worry sr she say nex yr i could compete:D

lawd, 200K+ for a wedding, and a $900 suit.

to quote some chick flick i saw...

if u goin to be a bear, be grizzly

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » October 13th, 2010, 8:38 am

up tuh now all yuh aint realize that Ap looking for a rich dummy tuh marrid!

she ent want no luv, shes the typical Gimme Gimme Gimme mentality oman of today, that sounds just like those > > > supporters!

OMG!

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 13th, 2010, 8:44 am

evo-STI-k wrote:up tuh now all yuh aint realize that Ap looking for a rich dummy tuh marrid!

she ent want no luv, shes the typical Gimme Gimme Gimme mentality oman of today, that sounds just like those > > > supporters!

OMG!

Ehhe?

PM sent