Re: Anyone else tired and fed up of Mispronunciations

Postby rossi » April 28th, 2011, 12:28 pm

but clerk IS pronounced as clark.

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » April 29th, 2011, 7:54 pm

Hook wrote:Was the visitor from the UK by chance?

because they pronounce "lieutenant" as "leFtenant" and "clerk" as "clArk"

I must tell yuh, is not the yanks that colonised us eh

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » April 29th, 2011, 9:33 pm

Rallyfignis wrote:
Hook wrote:Was the visitor from the UK by chance?

because they pronounce "lieutenant" as "leFtenant" and "clerk" as "clArk"

I must tell yuh, is not the yanks that colonised us eh

Very true.
Also, in addition to this thread, i am also tired of people typing and talking like small islanders or Jamaicans. I have no problem with people from the other islands, but as far as I remember, the people who I observe talking like that were born and raised in Trinidad.

Postby TRAE » April 30th, 2011, 12:06 am

guyanese people should talk english

ravstaar

Postby ravstaar » April 30th, 2011, 12:33 am

nervewrecker wrote:cutlash
scorpian
cee-jink
cyat
lanca

wa bout ....chwingum
....flexi glass ,as opposed to plexi-glass

partsman

Postby partsman » May 11th, 2011, 9:06 am

customers sometimes ask for a "felicity" joint and " perculator" filters.

partsman

Postby partsman » May 11th, 2011, 8:34 pm

Legendary proponents of malapropisms : Adesh Nanan's " para dig m" , Hazel Manning's " brekfusses" and last but not least , Fartin Joseph's " arresses " . Laters , ah goin an see ah flim .

Postby Trini Hookah » May 11th, 2011, 8:47 pm

Later

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » May 11th, 2011, 9:05 pm

rossi wrote:I tired of hearing ppl say KURMA like this >>> KOO-MA.

wazappp...

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » May 12th, 2011, 8:19 am

crazybalhead wrote:Heard news reporters say:

Eckelon (Echelon)
Flude (Flood)
Guaruhcurruh pork
DevelopmUHnt
GoverMUNT

etc. etc.

They actually teach you to say it that was in broadcasting school.. :?