Caribbean Airline aircraft crashes in Guyana!

Re: Caribbean Airline aircraft crashes in Guyana!

Postby M_2NR » July 30th, 2011, 2:05 pm

Ent just last month the PM of Guyana was complaining about Piarco?

Thankfully no lives were lost. norstar2k and others do keep us informed :)

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 30th, 2011, 2:55 pm

so was this the new Boeing 737 which was received a couple days ago?

Postby De Dragon » July 30th, 2011, 3:08 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:so was this the new Boeing 737 which was received a couple days ago?

Someone posted it was a leased jet.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 30th, 2011, 3:10 pm

http://www.sflcn.com/story.php?id=10582

Caribbean Airlines Welcomes Newest Fleet Additions

Port-of-Spain, Trinidad – Caribbean Airlines welcomed a new addition to its fleet on Thursday 28 July 2011. Caribbean Airlines’ ninth Boeing 737-800 landed at Piarco International Airport and parked near to the airport’s domestic terminal at Gate 14.

On hand to witness the arrival was the Minister of Transport Mr. Devant Maharaj and Caribbean Airlines Chairman George M. Nicholas III. The aircraft registered as 9Y-SXM came directly from the Boeing factory in Seattle, Washington.

The aircraft’s landing was commemorated with a water salute which was followed by a ribbon cutting ceremony officiated by the Transport Minister. Passengers in the Domestic Terminal of the airport were also part of the festivities as they were treated to a customer appreciation event also held at the same time to commemorate the induction of the new aircraft.

On the same day, the airline’s second brand Air Jamaica, also celebrated the arrival of its fifth Boeing 737 with 9Y-JMF arriving at Piarco International Airport some time later. 9Y-JMF is expected to be in service by the first week of August. This means that just one more aircraft will be needed to complete the transition from Airbus to Boeing for the Air Jamaica brand.

Caribbean Airlines new Boeing 737-800 is welcomed by a traditional water salute at Piarco International Airport in Trinidad.

Operating as 2 brands under one airline, the airline also has 5 Boeing aircraft operating under the Air Jamaica brand bringing the total number of Boeing aircraft to 14 system wide.

Caribbean Airlines Chief Executive Officer (Ag) Mr. Robert Corbie descends the aircraft upon arrival of the new Boeing 737-800 at Piarco International Airport in Trinidad.

Chief Executive Officer (Ag) Mr. Robert Corbie greets Caribbean Airlines Chairman Mr. George M. Nicholas III, whilst Vice-President Maintenance and Engineering Mr, Colville Carrington greets the Minister of Transport the Honourable Devant Maharaj. Looking on from the top of the aircraft is Caribbean Airlines’ Executive Manager Quality & Air Safety Mr. Mark Garcia.

Minister of Transport the Honourable Devant Maharaj descends the new Caribbean Airlines Boeing 737-800 Next General aircraft in the company of Chairman of Caribbean Airlines Mr. George M. Nicholas III. In the background is the airline’s Vice-Chairman Mr. Mohan Jaikaran.

Board Member Ms. Gizelle Russel cuts a cake together with Caribbean Airlines Vice-President Operations Captain Thomas Lawrence. Looking on are the airline’s Chairman Mr. George M. Nicholas III and Vice-Chairman Mr. Mohan Jaikaran.

Caribbean Airlines executives pose between the latest aircraft arrivals for the airline Caribbean Airlines 9YSXM and Air Jamaica’s 9YJMF which arrived on Thursday 29 July. (From left to right are: Executive Manager Airports Ms. Nirmala Ramai, Vice-President Maintenance and Engineering Mr. Colville Carrington, Chief Executive Officer (Ag) Mr. Robert Corbie, Deputy Chief Financial Officer Mr. Andre Mills, Executive Manager In-Flight Mrs. Pat Ramsey and Vice-President Operations Captain Thomas Lawrence.

Postby M_2NR » July 30th, 2011, 3:22 pm

anyone who wants to go to guyana... ignis, tr1ad et al,
this is CAL new schedule for the time being:
http://www.caribbean-airlines.com/index ... r/?nid=133

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » July 30th, 2011, 3:28 pm

I am not disturbed one bit by the event of this morning. Something is telling me it was pilot error and nothing to do with the aircraft. The 737-800 NG is actually one of the best commercial jetaircrafts in the sky coupled with the CFM56 turbofan engines, it is a reliable combination.

I am not prepared to use Redjet's leased MD-82 aircrafts that are 32 years old and can no longer be a part of AA's fleet. There is a reason why besides economics that AA doesn't use them anymore (hint: safety). So if Redjet inherits such, that is their problem.

CAL FTW!!!! Awaits a concluded investigation by NTSB and Boeing.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 30th, 2011, 3:37 pm

my friend was onboard that flight

homie counldnt even talk, his GF saying he just sitting at home spaced out completely.

that is a wake up call yes

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » July 30th, 2011, 3:46 pm

Damn, there goes our safety record......glad no one died though.

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » July 30th, 2011, 3:47 pm

Chiney wrote:my friend was onboard that flight

homie counldnt even talk, his GF saying he just sitting at home spaced out completely.

that is a wake up call yes

Some people just can't handle the excitement.....
Last edited by playerskrew on July 30th, 2011, 3:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 30th, 2011, 3:48 pm

acesinghit wrote:I am not disturbed one bit by the event of this morning. Something is telling me it was pilot error and nothing to do with the aircraft. The 737-800 NG is actually one of the best commercial jetaircrafts in the sky coupled with the CFM56 turbofan engines, it is a reliable combination.

I am not prepared to use Redjet's leased MD-82 aircrafts that are 32 years old and can no longer be a part of AA's fleet. There is a reason why besides economics that AA doesn't use them anymore (hint: safety). So if Redjet inherits such, that is their problem.

CAL FTW!!!! Awaits a concluded investigation by NTSB and Boeing.

:roll: :roll: :roll:

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 30th, 2011, 4:11 pm

excitement??

what is exciting about a plane crash?

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » July 30th, 2011, 4:17 pm

norstar2k wrote:
bluefete wrote:
real_d20 wrote:Nah boi, they pilots should probably be thanks for no loss of life!

I agree. And that is a good thing. But this was not a bird strike. And the plane did not land in the Hudson River.

But remember - one plane written off and I am really hoping that it is NOT the brand new one they got on Thursday.

Nah, its a leased aircraft.

Its a dry lease not so?

Then CAL would have to cover the cost of it?

Postby Team Loco » July 30th, 2011, 4:17 pm

pioneer wrote:Was a muslim the pilot?

you may be right if it was sadiq baksh's son......dunno if he's muslim

Postby De Dragon » July 30th, 2011, 4:21 pm

Chiney wrote:excitement??

You assume excitement is used in a negative connotation here.

Postby bluefete » July 30th, 2011, 4:23 pm

Team Loco wrote:

Pios: What de ar..e the pilot's religion has to do with the crash??? It sounds like all you are interested in is who was a Muslim on this flight. I know you like to chook t'ing but this is really out of place in any accident and in p[oor taste as well.

How would it look if I came here and asked : "Was a Christian / Hindu the pilot?" Tuners would take a turn in my skin. And they would be absolutely right to do so.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 30th, 2011, 4:27 pm

r u trying to imply that it was a muslim pilot name saoud who tried to crash the plane on purpose in the name of allah?

Postby Team Loco » July 30th, 2011, 4:31 pm

it was i..dis madinga right here.......in the name of Kamala though

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 30th, 2011, 4:34 pm

Chiney wrote:excitement??

You assume excitement is used in a negative connotation here.

dats right, i ASSumed..

did i ASSume wrong? if so, i apologize....

Postby bluefete » July 30th, 2011, 4:41 pm

Team Loco wrote:

To the people above getting all emo, THIS is why i was asking :roll:

Yes, there are local pilots who fly this route, idiots.

So why yuh didn't simply ask if Sadiq Baksh son was flying??????

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » July 30th, 2011, 4:44 pm

What Dash 8 Pilots have to do departing out of E.T. Joshua Airport

So you'd think no jet aircraft can operate out of here right? WRONG! AmeriJet does, and to further step it up a notch, they are the only aircraft that takes off towards the mountains. Not even the LIAT pilots risking that move!

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 30th, 2011, 4:47 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:

r u trying to imply that it was a muslim pilot name saoud who tried to crash the plane on purpose in the name of allah?

yes pioneer dumbass.

Postby equipped2ripp » July 30th, 2011, 4:48 pm

No, don't think it was the new aircraft.

Saw it was 9Y-PXM in the pics, that's a newish aircraft though. If I can remember well, I flew in it from GEO already, it's newish inside, brown leather interior... really nice.

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » July 30th, 2011, 4:54 pm

9Y-PBM

Postby Habit7 » July 30th, 2011, 4:58 pm

pablo_tt wrote:So you'd think no jet aircraft can operate out of here right? WRONG! AmeriJet does, and to further step it up a notch, they are the only aircraft that takes off towards the mountains. Not even the LIAT pilots risking that move!

You seem not to know much about Amerijet's 727 aircraft. The reason why they still operate that nearly 30 year old jet is because it is designed to land and take off on short runways. With three engines and flaps that probably have the surface area of the Dash 8's wing, it is one of the few jet aircraft that can land in SVD. Therefore, there is a need to build a better airport which we expect by 2012.

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » July 30th, 2011, 5:01 pm

Cid wrote:
mediahouse wrote:

at 4:16 d lady say " she foot bussway " lol

hahahahaha somebody do ah remix ah dis nah hoss........it go be epic.....lol lol

if ah had video editing skillz ah woulda give it ah try eh but ah go fail...

Remix that sheit with a chutney beat :lol:

Postby Habit7 » July 30th, 2011, 5:05 pm

The most glaring pilot error I'm seeing from the photos is that the flaps and slats are retracted.

Postby equipped2ripp » July 30th, 2011, 5:40 pm

pablo_tt wrote:9Y-PBM

Haha yeah, I meant PBM :|

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » July 30th, 2011, 5:40 pm

Habit7 wrote:The most glaring pilot error I'm seeing from the photos is that the flaps and slats are retracted.

AFIK spoilers are supposed to deploy on touchdown once armed.
But landing with 0 degrees flaps? Makes no sense.

Highly doubt they would have had time to retract them while skidding down the runway :|

EDIT:

Way bluefete? It reach dailymail :lol:

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2020504/Caribbean-Airlines-crash-Guyana-163-escape-plane-snapped-2.html

zcarz

Postby zcarz » July 30th, 2011, 5:57 pm

rule of thumb: whenever going to guyana, do NOT go on the early morning flight, there is always fog and mist, choose another flight time and you will be fine

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » July 30th, 2011, 6:08 pm

Would confirm what passengers were saying regarding the late touchdown; no flaps/ slats would have em coming in too fast...