Any SCUBA Divers?

Re: Any SCUBA Divers?

Postby DFC » July 28th, 2014, 11:40 am

URGENT>

Guys, i'm looking to get some snorkel equipment is South/Central.

Not the sports and games toys.

Looking for the goodstuff.

Need it for this weekend.

BTW Hondab20b, u using a go pro?
U using any filters?

IvanTerrors

Postby IvanTerrors » July 28th, 2014, 8:37 pm

Same question I asking what kinds camera are you using. In the market for one.

kstt

Postby kstt » July 29th, 2014, 8:55 pm

Divers if you can catch a lionfish alive. I will buy it from you.

Jonathan

Postby Jonathan » July 30th, 2014, 12:47 pm

kstt wrote:Divers if you can catch a lionfish alive. I will buy it from you.

For what purpose? I thought there was a ban on this trade now?

kstt

Postby kstt » July 30th, 2014, 3:50 pm

Jonathan wrote:
kstt wrote:Divers if you can catch a lionfish alive. I will buy it from you.

For what purpose? I thought there was a ban on this trade now?

the ban is on importation. If i catch it what can they do?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 31st, 2014, 6:51 pm

DFC wrote:URGENT>

Guys, i'm looking to get some snorkel equipment is South/Central.

Not the sports and games toys.

Looking for the goodstuff.

Need it for this weekend.

BTW Hondab20b, u using a go pro?
U using any filters?

I'm using a sony cybershot DSC W330 (14.1 megapixel) and then i bought the underwater housing for that model. works great. Those pics were with no flash or strobe. That's natural light. I will invest in a gopro soon.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 24th, 2014, 10:19 pm

Bump.........................

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » April 6th, 2015, 9:51 pm

bumping THIS THREAD

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » April 6th, 2015, 11:13 pm

Didn't even know this thread existed lol Nice thread though... Great pics there Honda.
I also dive, currently PADI Rescue Certified looking to start dive master next year. Been diving about 8 years or so
Did most of my training in speyside Tobago, excellent clarity and beautiful reefs.
Also dove ddi cayman islands and Mexico.
Still need to invest in a camera :/

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » April 6th, 2015, 11:32 pm

Yeah.................. did mine over 20 yrs ago.
Supposed to be hitting a grenada next mth and I still want to hit Bonaire this year.
Also want to buy back a regulator and bcd soon. Saw some latest regs that works great. Bought full wetsuit, booties and mask last year in Atlanta. Still have my fins from way before.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » April 7th, 2015, 12:59 am

I bought my mask and fins while doing open water, normally rent everything else but before starting dive master I'll get my own reg and bcd.. probably wet suit as well.
Was supposed to go galapagos islands with a group last June but had to miss it. I heard it's probably one of the best diving locations around that time of year yet to experience it :-(

Postby Redman » April 7th, 2015, 7:54 am

HondaB20B wrote:Yeah.................. did mine over 20 yrs ago.
Supposed to be hitting a grenada next mth and I still want to hit Bonaire this year.
Also want to buy back a regulator and bcd soon. Saw some latest regs that works great. Bought full wetsuit, booties and mask last year in Atlanta. Still have my fins from way before.

no knife???
no real diver will be without a knife :stalk:

just saying :D

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » April 7th, 2015, 6:12 pm

Redman wrote:

no knife???

:fist: :fist: :fist: ......................LOL
I had a real boss divers knife that I LENT a good friend :roll: of mine and I never get it back. All he tell me is that it at the bottom of d sea at point fortin petrotrin jettyhead. I don't know where these friends does come from nah. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

IvanTerrors

Postby IvanTerrors » April 7th, 2015, 6:31 pm

Finally got my underwater camera Nikon aw 120 GONNA test it out soon thinking maceripee

Postby Redman » April 7th, 2015, 9:04 pm

HondaB20B wrote:
Redman wrote:

no knife???

:fist: :fist: :fist: ......................LOL
I had a real boss divers knife that I LENT a good friend :roll: of mine and I never get it back. All he tell me is that it at the bottom of d sea at point fortin petrotrin jettyhead. I don't know where these friends does come from nah. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Next to the second to last pile on the left hand Side.
Ask de cokee eye power fuh it.

Next tuh de YZ carburetor... :drinking:

sandfly

Postby sandfly » April 8th, 2015, 8:55 am

Thought I might share this with you all. Taken at Store Bay a few weeks ago at about 10ft deep.
Image[/URL]

IvanTerrors

Postby IvanTerrors » April 11th, 2015, 4:12 pm

Eel?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » April 11th, 2015, 4:23 pm

small moray eel

IvanTerrors

Postby IvanTerrors » April 11th, 2015, 4:31 pm

Dangerous or not?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » April 11th, 2015, 5:29 pm

its not poisonous but their bite is bad. They have many rows of small sharp teeth that are angled slightly backwards. When the grab prey, the more the fish pulls the deeper the teeth go into the flesh. These eels don't let go

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » April 11th, 2015, 5:30 pm

I have seen some down the islands 3" dia and 4-5' long.

IvanTerrors

Postby IvanTerrors » April 11th, 2015, 5:53 pm

nice info

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » April 11th, 2015, 6:03 pm

Don't mess with them. They pretty shy though. When diving and you know you holding on to rocks looking for game, be carful where you place your hands to move about the rock work

IvanTerrors

Postby IvanTerrors » April 11th, 2015, 6:39 pm

Wanna try out diving in speyside next time i go bago. Never did it before though, but i do some snorkelling, is and certification needed to do dives?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » April 11th, 2015, 6:50 pm

Yes you must be certified to do tank dives. PADI openwater is up to 60ft and advanced is up to 120ft. Why don't you do the course in trini first so when you go over its easy. Don't know the price for openwater now but since you do snorkel, it will be easy

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » April 11th, 2015, 8:25 pm

Okay
IvanTerrors wrote:Wanna try out diving in speyside next time i go bago. Never did it before though, but i do some snorkelling, is and certification needed to do dives?

I recommend Tobago Dive Experience located in Manta Lodge Speyside. I did all my certs with them, very friendly and knowledgeable divers and a dive master with experience from all regions of the world.

If you're looking just to get a feel for it rather than going all out and spending about 2000 to start your Open Water certification, ask them about the "Discover PADI Scuba" course.
It'll take a couple hours to complete, they'll take you in the pool for an hour or so to get you familiar with the equipment and just give you a brief overview of what to expect in the open waters. They'll then take you on a shallow dive around 20' - 30' a few km off the coast and depending on how comfortable you are they'll let you swim around and explore a bit... of course under their supervision

The reefs in Speyside are really nice and the conditions make it easy for learning. Never had a dive in Tobago with visibility less than 50'

Since you snorkel you'll be at a fair advantage in terms of water skills and general comfort in open water, ive actually seen grown men and children who absolutely cannot swim earn there open water cert and dive regularly.

Postby meccalli » April 11th, 2015, 9:39 pm

IvanTerrors wrote:Dangerous or not?

Depends, dangerously lethal or dangerously lovable, your choice lol.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » April 11th, 2015, 10:40 pm

Greenlime,

Hows speyside. Want to go do the Manta lodge stay for about a week.
Want to go see the largest brain coral.
Dive in Tobago but never did the speyside

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » April 11th, 2015, 11:16 pm

Speyside is definitely my personal favorite location to dive in both trinidad and tobago. The area has so many reefs there I didn't even dive them all. Angel reef is really nice, round table is another reef, there's a wreck dive, a cave, a decent drift, can't recall the name of the reef with the brain coral. The best time to go is for easter when the mantas come for about a week or so.... Its just crazy to see them I was literally in awe the first time I saw about 5 of them just playing around above us. I've seen whale sharks there and every now and then hammer heads and nurse sharks. Speyside is just my favourite spot to dive...ddi and macqueripe are still good but the visibility and water quality cannot be compared to Speyside.

Personally manta lodge itself as in the hotel experience isn't all that great the amenities are good and for me it's good for a weekend or even a week...90% of the stay there you'll be outdoors anyway. The staff is really helpful and the restaurant has good food. The dive shop is probably the first thing you'll see when you drive up. Great divers and dive masters lots of experience and they always have some crazy stories to share

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » April 12th, 2015, 12:38 am

Ok thanks. I dive Tobago already just never speyside. Then again everyone has their likes.......... wether it be game, corals or both. Best visibility I ever got was @ weathers bite and that was +100ft. We were doing our decompression stop at 20 feet and we were watching 2 divers clearly. We actually left them past 100ft. It was a drift dive.