IB CHED MOVE...

rocknrolla

Re: Kepler 22-b: Earth-like planet confirmed

Postby rocknrolla » April 22nd, 2013, 4:58 pm

turbotusty wrote:
stev wrote:
Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:Well said, but humankind isnt ready mentally for it..
The inability to think out of the box or even accept that there might be a realistic possibility of extraordinary concepts, is beyond the mental ability of many.

for real....u could imagine what impact an extra terrestrial would have on different religious societies....all hell would break loose.

it sucks that because the majority of the class is slow that those ahead and prepared have to wait for them to catch up. si remember that argument about aliens causing chaos among the religions but i never agreed. so what if the bible only refers to humans on earth. it's the earth's bible. on kepler they may have the kepler bible and it is fine tuned for their race. as far as im concerned, God is still creator of the entire universe and all its planets. so why would aliens be a problem?

when the earth was flat. it was told ud fall off if u wandered to far. and i believe that this was just a method of the ruling class and the church to control their flock and keep them from straying to different lands and meeting different cultures. and today we see no other concern than that. maybe they fraid we all go with the aliens to their planet and leave them to rule the
do you believe in the creation story in the Bible?

turbotusty wrote:when the earth was flat
when was that?

lmao u know exactly what i mean. when general consensus and scientifiv word swore to the ppl that the earth was flat. and made everyone believe it. when scientists used to sit and discuss the high aptitude of their intellect and shun those who attempted to present that the world was actually round.

if u look at it symbolically then yes it is 100% true. it's about the message.. not the story.

and quit sidetracking the ppl ched. lol

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 22nd, 2013, 5:01 pm

turbotusty wrote:
stev wrote:
The inability to think out of the box or even accept that there might be a realistic possibility of extraordinary concepts, is beyond the mental ability of many.

for real....u could imagine what impact an extra terrestrial would have on different religious societies....all hell would break loose.

it sucks that because the majority of the class is slow that those ahead and prepared have to wait for them to catch up. si remember that argument about aliens causing chaos among the religions but i never agreed. so what if the bible only refers to humans on earth. it's the earth's bible. on kepler they may have the kepler bible and it is fine tuned for their race. as far as im concerned, God is still creator of the entire universe and all its planets. so why would aliens be a problem?

when the earth was flat. it was told ud fall off if u wandered to far. and i believe that this was just a method of the ruling class and the church to control their flock and keep them from straying to different lands and meeting different cultures. and today we see no other concern than that. maybe they fraid we all go with the aliens to their planet and leave them to rule the

when was that?

lmao u know exactly what i mean. when general consensus and scientifiv word swore to the ppl that the earth was flat. and made everyone believe it. when scientists used to sit and discuss the high aptitude of their intellect and shun those who attempted to present that the world was actually round.
science made everyone believe it? :?

Those who carried out testing and observation to deduce that the earth is round were carrying out the scientific method!

I think you're confusing science with something else.

zorced

Postby zorced » April 22nd, 2013, 5:50 pm

Let's say the planets are uninhabited, can you imagine how the claim for resources will play out?
First come first serve?
Then the habitation?
and the outcome of Earth?

Mind blowing, yet dark possibilities............

Postby stev » April 22nd, 2013, 7:14 pm

zorced wrote:Let's say the planets are uninhabited, can you imagine how the claim for resources will play out?
First come first serve?
Then the habitation?
and the outcome of Earth?

Mind blowing, yet dark possibilities............

inhabited or not....man gonna take what he wants unless he is faced with a more powerful opponent.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » April 22nd, 2013, 7:30 pm

turbotusty wrote:
stev wrote:

when was that?

science made everyone believe it? :?

Those who carried out testing and observation to deduce that the earth is round were carrying out the scientific method!

I think you're confusing science with something else.

science itself took multiple forms before it became as 'refined' as it is today. but back then it was still called 'science'. there is alchemy for instance, which gave birth to chemistry, but before it was so refined it was a mixture of trial and error and philosophy.

so science itself has had to evolve and reinvent itself when world changing discoveries are made. it doesnt know everything. and is hardly something to place all ur heart and soul into as supreme. u can be a scientist and believer at the same time u know. and history has its fair share of the majority of God believing religious scientists bringing forth history's most startling discoveries for their period. why is it that so many scientists that acknowledge and seek a higher intelligence make the most gripping discoveries.. while most of the atheist mathematicians who reach for such outlandish goals end up spending their last years in a mental assylum?

Postby stev » April 22nd, 2013, 9:14 pm

and in recent news :shock:

Suits of goo help insects survive space conditions

A suit a thousand times thinner than a human hair or more can help microscopic animals survive a harsh vacuum, such as would be the case in outer space, researchers say.
These newly developed "nano-suits" could help biologists investigate creatures in exquisite detail in a vacuum that would normally kill the animals. The discovery might even suggest alien life could survive journeys through space, researchers speculated.
Moreover, the scientists note the level of vacuum they experimented with is nearly the same level of vacuum experienced by the International Space Station. "We want to send animals wearing nano-suits to space," biologist Takahiko Hariyama at the Hamamatsu University School of Medicine in Japan told LiveScience.

full story here:

http://science.nbcnews.com/_news/2013/0 ... tions?lite

Postby sliderz1 » April 22nd, 2013, 9:43 pm

thread has progressed nicely

great points i say

Postby X2 » April 22nd, 2013, 11:00 pm

I wouldn't go so far as saying that nuh...

Why are you all calling Aliens, aliens, aliens ? Man vs Aliens ? WHo's to say that any other life on another planet isn't human as well... better hope they don't have a bunch of religions like we do... otherwise we arses DaRk !

Postby stev » April 22nd, 2013, 11:13 pm

X2 wrote:I wouldn't go so far as saying that nuh...

WHo's to say that any other life on another planet isn't human as well

i mentioned this earlier....the chances of humans evolving on another planet is higher than the average person would think.

mentioned in googolplex and repetition of atoms.

life may not have even started here on earth....some little frozen bacteria probably survive a long trip on a rock that crashed on earth....then kick started the evolution process. :lol: this rock may have originated from another planet or somewhere else.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 22nd, 2013, 11:21 pm

^ that is very possible

interestingly though earth is a closed system with regards to the amount of matter that enters and leaves it. The water on earth now is the same water that was here millions of years ago. Like everything, it just gets recycled.

You may be drinking water now that was horse pee not too long ago. You have molecules in your body that may have been in Bethoven's toe nail. We are made of star dust.

Postby sliderz1 » April 22nd, 2013, 11:26 pm

conditions will have alot to play, chances of exact conditions to earth will have a low probability in distribution of elements and compounds.....think of theory of evolution. I highly doubt any foreign being would have exact characteristics as we humans and may have variations and a high distribution of 'beings' just as earth

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 22nd, 2013, 11:38 pm

turbotusty wrote:science itself took multiple forms before it became as 'refined' as it is today. but back then it was still called 'science'. there is alchemy for instance, which gave birth to chemistry, but before it was so refined it was a mixture of trial and error and philosophy.

so science itself has had to evolve and reinvent itself when world changing discoveries are made. it doesnt know everything.
Science is and always has been based on the scientific method of testing and observation.

that's the great thing about science!
It doesn't stay fixed to one belief. It changes its view when new evidence it presented. It tests itself and does not deny when it is wrong or when it needs to change.

Can't say the same for religion though.

turbotusty wrote:and is hardly something to place all ur heart and soul into as supreme. u can be a scientist and believer at the same time u know. and history has its fair share of the majority of God believing religious scientists bringing forth history's most startling discoveries for their period. why is it that so many scientists that acknowledge and seek a higher intelligence make the most gripping discoveries.. while most of the atheist mathematicians who reach for such outlandish goals end up spending their last years in a mental assylum?
those statements have no proof because there are equally people of many religious backgrounds and atheists and agnostics who have discovered and invented the greatest things known to humanity.

many major discoveries, scientific breakthroughs and some of the greatest minds of our time have been agnostic or atheist. Einstein himself was agnostic. Hawkings, Sagan even Zuckerberg are all atheists.

Religion was far more entrenched in society the further back we go. Many people who would have been agnostic, even in secret, 50-100 years ago, would be openly atheist today.

don't make blanket statements - it takes all kinds 8-)

Postby stev » April 22nd, 2013, 11:51 pm

sigh....i just remembered the sad truth that we are still unaware if there is life (simple or complex) in our OWN solar system. we only begun to explore mars...

NASA and ESA has some promising missions though.

http://www.nasa.gov/missions/index.html

http://www.esa.int/ESA/Our_Missions

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 23rd, 2013, 1:01 am

^ I was going to calculate it but someone already did:

The fastest rocket built to date has traveled 25,000 miles per hour, which is roughly almost 7 miles per second.

In 1 second, light travels about 186,282.3960 miles.
In a minute (60 seconds), that's 11,176,943.76 miles
In an hour (60 minutes), that's 670,616,625.6 miles
In a day (24 hours) that's 16,094,799,014.4 miles
and, in a year (365.25 days) that's 5,878,625,340,009.6 miles

So you have to Multiply a light year by 600 so that equals = 3,527,175,204,005,760 many miles.
now you need to Multiply 25,000 miles, which is our fastest rocket ship per hour X 24 hours in a day which is 600,000. we can travel in one day. you multiply that by 1 earth year which is 365 days. 219,000,000 miles we can travel in 1 year. So now we will divide The 600 light year distance by the amount of distance we can travel in one year. AND THE ANSWER IS..... IT WILL TAKE 16,105,822.84 ---- a little more then 16 million years traveling at our fastest known rocket ship every built to get to the planet KEPLER - 22B... So unless we start living forever, or create a really fast rocket ship soon we will never see that planet.

Postby sliderz1 » April 23rd, 2013, 1:24 am

discovery willl become much easier when we can use warm-holes to its full extent

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 23rd, 2013, 1:44 am

sliderz1 wrote:discovery willl become much easier when we can use warm-holes to its full extent
those are already in use!

It's WORM holes that we need to figure out how to use!!!

geodude

Postby geodude » April 23rd, 2013, 4:35 am

sliderz1 wrote:discovery willl become much easier when we can use warm-holes to its full extent

hehehe ...................hehe

duane win, game done :) :P :lol: 0X 0X

Postby stev » April 23rd, 2013, 6:15 am

ROFL @ Warm / Worm holes!!!

this is a nice video...a lot of points we mentioned in here is also mentioned in the video.

Postby shogun » April 23rd, 2013, 6:26 am

Postby sliderz1 » April 23rd, 2013, 10:25 am

oh...error on my part
sorry

Postby sliderz1 » April 23rd, 2013, 10:50 am

Quantum Leap

Albert Einstein's relativity theory set the speed of light as the universal speed limit and showed that distance and time are not absolute but instead are affected by one's motion.

A clock in motion will always appear to run slowly compared with one at rest, because time is relative to the speed at which a body is moving. That fact would, in theory, allow for time travel—at least if you have a very fast spaceship.

Consider this: If an astronaut travels into space for six months at a substantial fraction of light speed and takes another six months to return to Earth, he would land in the future.

While a year will have elapsed on the astronaut's clock, tens of thousands of years may have gone by on Earth, depending on how close to light speed the astronaut traveled.

"The bottom line is that time travel is allowed by the laws of physics," said Brian Greene, a Colombia University physics professor and the author of The Fabric of the Cosmos: Space, Time, and the Texture of Reality.

But the laws of space and time as Einstein laid them out may be revised by the quirky rules of quantum theory. Quantum theory describes the microscopic randomness that fills the universe.

so with the calculation Duane posted and the highlighted above, living 'forever' is then relative. So can it work out? :idea:

Postby stev » April 23rd, 2013, 10:50 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ I was going to calculate it but someone already did:

The fastest rocket built to date has traveled 25,000 miles per hour, which is roughly almost 7 miles per second.

In 1 second, light travels about 186,282.3960 miles.
In a minute (60 seconds), that's 11,176,943.76 miles
In an hour (60 minutes), that's 670,616,625.6 miles
In a day (24 hours) that's 16,094,799,014.4 miles
and, in a year (365.25 days) that's 5,878,625,340,009.6 miles

So you have to Multiply a light year by 600 so that equals = 3,527,175,204,005,760 many miles.
now you need to Multiply 25,000 miles, which is our fastest rocket ship per hour X 24 hours in a day which is 600,000. we can travel in one day. you multiply that by 1 earth year which is 365 days. 219,000,000 miles we can travel in 1 year. So now we will divide The 600 light year distance by the amount of distance we can travel in one year. AND THE ANSWER IS..... IT WILL TAKE 16,105,822.84 ---- a little more then 16 million years traveling at our fastest known rocket ship every built to get to the planet KEPLER - 22B... So unless we start living forever, or create a really fast rocket ship soon we will never see that planet.

many people see these figures as just 'large numbers', but if u really take the time and try to visualize the distance....u might get a headache. lol

even the top astrophysics of today admit to having problems wrapping their head around these immense distances.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » April 23rd, 2013, 12:49 pm

i know a particular idiot who claims he knows a thing or 2 about wormholes. he said u dont need any form of technology to use them. that some invisible man in the sky gave man the ability to create wormholes to travel anywhere. what a quack.

Postby stev » April 25th, 2013, 12:08 am

Apollo mission re-creation with original audio and in stages. very nice:

http://www.wechoosethemoon.org/

and a nice gigapixel panorama of mars...cool to look at the surface of another planet.

http://www.360cities.net/image/mars-gig ... 45.07,47.5

Postby stev » April 26th, 2013, 10:36 am

what you guys think about the monolith on Phobos (Mar's moon)?

seems to be rather tall and well formed. i think its just a big piece of rock. lol

but then another one was discovered on the surface of Mars.

i have to do some research later. lol

http://news.yahoo.com/photos/mars-photo-1334239209.html

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » April 26th, 2013, 10:44 am

looksr really out of place.. like when astornauts from america placed a flag on the moon. but whoever did this knew a flag wouldnt last long. maybe there's even writing on. any volunteers to go to phobos? lol

Postby stev » May 17th, 2013, 11:29 am

Kepler space telescope 'isn't down-and-out just yet' – Nasa

The Kepler space telescope, Nasa's iconic mission to find a new Earth outside our solar system, has a problem. A crucial component used to help it orient in space has stopped working and, with little chance of getting it fixed, it looks as though the satellite will have to retire from active duty.

However, on Thursday Nasa tried to remain upbeat. "I wouldn't call Kepler down-and-out just yet," said Nasa associate administrator for space science John Grunsfeld, who as a former astronaut undertook several spacewalks to repair and upgrade the Hubble Space Telescope. Similar in-flight repairs are not an option for the $600m Kepler observatory, since it is in an orbit 40 million miles (60 million kilometres) from Earth.

In a recent regular communication with the telescope, Nasa scientists found that Kepler had put itself into "safe mode" – meaning one of its systems was not working properly. An investigation by Kepler scientists discovered that one of the observatory's stabilising wheels had malfunctioned. Kepler needs three of these wheels to orient itself in space and point in the precise directions to find candidate planets.

The spacecraft launched in 2009 with four wheels but one of the original three stabilising wheels broke in July 2012. With the latest malfunction, Kepler only has two stabilising wheels left and therefore cannot operate properly.

Kepler's mission was to work out what portion of the stars in our galaxy might have Earth-like planets orbiting them, using the "transit method" to detect them. This involves watching a star for several years and looking for tell-tale dips in the amount of light it seems to emit as a planet passes in front of it.

In more than three years surveying 150,000 stars in the constellations of Cygnus and Lyra, Kepler has located 132 planets and more than 2,700 further candidate planets, which will need independent corroboration from other telescopes before they are confirmed hits.

The observatory was designed to find Earth-like worlds in "habitable" orbits around stars, where planets are at a distance that means they could have liquid water on their surface and, possibly, the environmental conditions to support life.

In April, Nasa announced the latest results from Kepler, the smallest planets found so far that are in the habitable zone of their parent star. The Kepler-62 system has five planets, three of which are super-Earth-sized. At the time of that announcement, Grunsfeld called Kepler "a rock star of science" and said it was only "a matter of time before we know if the galaxy is home to a multitude of planets like Earth, or if we are a rarity".

Kepler was designed to operate for four years from its launch, but Nasa recently approved a three-year extension to 2016, to allow the mission to collect more data. For the next few months, scientists will explore different ways of trying to keep Kepler running but, if it cannot be fixed and stops taking data, it will be the end for discoveries from the observatory.

There are at least two years' worth of observations that still need to be pored over and these will contain plenty of new planetary candidates and, perhaps, even a faraway Earth.

The search for more habitable planets will not die with Kepler. The European Space Agency announced last year that it would launch the Characterising Exoplanets Satellite (Cheops) in 2017 to study bright stars with known planets orbiting them. Nasa's successor to Kepler will be the Transiting Exoplanet Survey Satellite (Tess), which will conduct a survey of planets around more than two million stars over the course of two years.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/science/2013/ ... scope-nasa

Postby stev » February 26th, 2014, 9:47 pm

Update for those who are interested....a long but good read.

NASA's Kepler Mission Announces a Planet Bonanza, 715 New Worlds

NASA's Kepler mission announced Wednesday the discovery of 715 new planets. These newly-verified worlds orbit 305 stars, revealing multiple-planet systems much like our own solar system.
Nearly 95 percent of these planets are smaller than Neptune, which is almost four times the size of Earth. This discovery marks a significant increase in the number of known small-sized planets more akin to Earth than previously identified exoplanets, which are planets outside our solar system.
"The Kepler team continues to amaze and excite us with their planet hunting results," said John Grunsfeld, associate administrator for NASA's Science Mission Directorate in Washington. "That these new planets and solar systems look somewhat like our own, portends a great future when we have the James Webb Space Telescope in space to characterize the new worlds.”
Since the discovery of the first planets outside our solar system roughly two decades ago, verification has been a laborious planet-by-planet process. Now, scientists have a statistical technique that can be applied to many planets at once when they are found in systems that harbor more than one planet around the same star.
To verify this bounty of planets, a research team co-led by Jack Lissauer, planetary scientist at NASA's Ames Research Center in Moffett Field, Calif., analyzed stars with more than one potential planet, all of which were detected in the first two years of Kepler's observations -- May 2009 to March 2011.
The research team used a technique called verification by multiplicity, which relies in part on the logic of probability. Kepler observes 150,000 stars, and has found a few thousand of those to have planet candidates. If the candidates were randomly distributed among Kepler's stars, only a handful would have more than one planet candidate. However, Kepler observed hundreds of stars that have multiple planet candidates. Through a careful study of this sample, these 715 new planets were verified.
This method can be likened to the behavior we know of lions and lionesses. In our imaginary savannah, the lions are the Kepler stars and the lionesses are the planet candidates. The lionesses would sometimes be observed grouped together whereas lions tend to roam on their own. If you see two lions it could be a lion and a lioness or it could be two lions. But if more than two large felines are gathered, then it is very likely to be a lion and his pride. Thus, through multiplicity the lioness can be reliably identified in much the same way multiple planet candidates can be found around the same star.
"Four years ago, Kepler began a string of announcements of first hundreds, then thousands, of planet candidates --but they were only candidate worlds," said Lissauer. "We've now developed a process to verify multiple planet candidates in bulk to deliver planets wholesale, and have used it to unveil a veritable bonanza of new worlds."
These multiple-planet systems are fertile grounds for studying individual planets and the configuration of planetary neighborhoods. This provides clues to planet formation.
Four of these new planets are less than 2.5 times the size of Earth and orbit in their sun's habitable zone, defined as the range of distance from a star where the surface temperature of an orbiting planet may be suitable for life-giving liquid water.
One of these new habitable zone planets, called Kepler-296f, orbits a star half the size and 5 percent as bright as our sun. Kepler-296f is twice the size of Earth, but scientists do not know whether the planet is a gaseous world, with a thick hydrogen-helium envelope, or it is a water world surrounded by a deep ocean.
"From this study we learn planets in these multi-systems are small and their orbits are flat and circular -- resembling pancakes -- not your classical view of an atom," said Jason Rowe, research scientist at the SETI Institute in Mountain View, Calif., and co-leader of the research. "The more we explore the more we find familiar traces of ourselves amongst the stars that remind us of home."
This latest discovery brings the confirmed count of planets outside our solar system to nearly 1,700. As we continue to reach toward the stars, each discovery brings us one step closer to a more accurate understanding of our place in the galaxy.
Launched in March 2009, Kepler is the first NASA mission to find potentially habitable Earth-size planets. Discoveries include more than 3,600 planet candidates, of which 961 have been verified as bona-fide worlds.

The findings papers will be published March 10 in The Astrophysical Journal and are available for download at:
http://www.nasa.gov/ames/kepler/digital ... et-bonanza

Ames is responsible for the Kepler mission concept, ground system development, mission operations and science data analysis. NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena, Calif., managed Kepler mission development. Ball Aerospace & Technologies Corp. in Boulder, Colo., developed the Kepler flight system and supports mission operations with the Laboratory for Atmospheric and Space Physics at the University of Colorado in Boulder. The Space Telescope Science Institute in Baltimore archives, hosts and distributes Kepler science data. Kepler is NASA's 10th Discovery Mission and was funded by the agency's Science Mission Directorate.

http://www.nasa.gov/ames/kepler/nasas-k ... w6ZG_ldU3l

Postby janfar » April 17th, 2014, 2:16 pm

Using NASA's Kepler Space Telescope, astronomers have discovered the first Earth-size planet orbiting a star in the "habitable zone" -- the range of distance from a star where liquid water might pool on the surface of an orbiting planet. The discovery of Kepler-186f confirms that planets the size of Earth exist in the habitable zone of stars other than our sun.

While planets have previously been found in the habitable zone, they are all at least 40 percent larger in size than Earth and understanding their makeup is challenging. Kepler-186f is more reminiscent of Earth.

"The discovery of Kepler-186f is a significant step toward finding worlds like our planet Earth," said Paul Hertz, NASA's Astrophysics Division director at the agency's headquarters in Washington. "Future NASA missions, like the Transiting Exoplanet Survey Satellite and the James Webb Space Telescope, will discover the nearest rocky exoplanets and determine their composition and atmospheric conditions, continuing humankind's quest to find truly Earth-like worlds."

Although the size of Kepler-186f is known, its mass and composition are not. Previous research, however, suggests that a planet the size of Kepler-186f is likely to be rocky.

"We know of just one planet where life exists -- Earth. When we search for life outside our solar system we focus on finding planets with characteristics that mimic that of Earth," said Elisa Quintana, research scientist at the SETI Institute at NASA's Ames Research Center in Moffett Field, Calif., and lead author of the paper published today in the journal Science. "Finding a habitable zone planet comparable to Earth in size is a major step forward."

Kepler-186f resides in the Kepler-186 system, about 500 light-years from Earth in the constellation Cygnus. The system is also home to four companion planets, which orbit a star half the size and mass of our sun. The star is classified as an M dwarf, or red dwarf, a class of stars that makes up 70 percent of the stars in the Milky Way galaxy.

"M dwarfs are the most numerous stars," said Quintana. "The first signs of other life in the galaxy may well come from planets orbiting an M dwarf."

Kepler-186f orbits its star once every 130-days and receives one-third the energy from its star that Earth gets from the sun, placing it nearer the outer edge of the habitable zone. On the surface of Kepler-186f, the brightness of its star at high noon is only as bright as our sun appears to us about an hour before sunset.

"Being in the habitable zone does not mean we know this planet is habitable. The temperature on the planet is strongly dependent on what kind of atmosphere the planet has," said Thomas Barclay, research scientist at the Bay Area Environmental Research Institute at Ames, and co-author of the paper. "Kepler-186f can be thought of as an Earth-cousin rather than an Earth-twin. It has many properties that resemble Earth."

The four companion planets, Kepler-186b, Kepler-186c, Kepler-186d, and Kepler-186e, whiz around their sun every four, seven, 13, and 22 days, respectively, making them too hot for life as we know it. These four inner planets all measure less than 1.5 times the size of Earth.

The next steps in the search for distant life include looking for true Earth-twins -- Earth-size planets orbiting within the habitable zone of a sun-like star -- and measuring the their chemical compositions. The Kepler Space Telescope, which simultaneously and continuously measured the brightness of more than 150,000 stars, is NASA's first mission capable of detecting Earth-size planets around stars like our sun.

Ames is responsible for Kepler's ground system development, mission operations, and science data analysis. NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena, Calif., managed Kepler mission development. Ball Aerospace & Technologies Corp. in Boulder, Colo., developed the Kepler flight system and supports mission operations with the Laboratory for Atmospheric and Space Physics at the University of Colorado in Boulder. The Space Telescope Science Institute in Baltimore archives, hosts and distributes Kepler science data. Kepler is NASA's 10th Discovery Mission and was funded by the agency's Science Mission Directorate.

The SETI Institute is a private, nonprofit organization dedicated to scientific research, education and public outreach.  The mission of the SETI Institute is to explore, understand and explain the origin, nature and prevalence of life in the universe.

For more information about the Kepler mission, visit:

http://www.nasa.gov/kepler

http://www.nasa.gov/ames/kepler/nasas-k ... 1AaaXPD_qA