Re: Pros and Cons Ipad2 vs bb playbook

Postby MG Man » February 22nd, 2012, 4:12 pm

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » February 22nd, 2012, 4:22 pm

And playbook still better at html5 than ios5...

As for peripherals in case you missed it I DONT NEED THEM AS I USE MY BLACKBERRY PHONE AS A KEYBOARD AND MOUSE.....

Btw until html5 is everywhere iPad is the one lacking... Playbook apps can be written in html5 also...
IMG_00000017.jpg
Html5 test for tablets

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » February 22nd, 2012, 4:34 pm

looked at that software and we stil lpalying with it.

will make a decision by month end. but so far it leaning towards ipad soley for sharepoint.

if MS had win 8 tablets we would use those eyes closed

Strauss

Postby Strauss » February 22nd, 2012, 4:40 pm

bigga514 wrote:And playbook still better at html5 than ios5...

As for peripherals in case you missed it I DONT NEED THEM AS I USE MY BLACKBERRY PHONE AS A KEYBOARD AND MOUSE.....

Btw until html5 is everywhere iPad is the one lacking... Playbook apps can be written in html5 also...

Okay. I'm afraid to ask... why use your tiny little plastic keyboard from your phone to type on your tablet, when you can just use a full-sized keyboard in landscape mode?

And why is the iPad LACKING because it doesn't have Flash? Seems RIM is the one moving backward here.

Apple, Google, Adobe have confirmed that there will be no more flash for mobile. Imagine GOOGLE who boasted Flash on Android is dropping Flash in Chrome for mobile. Even Microsoft confirmed they are dropping Silverlight in favor of HTML5.

The Playbook continuing to support Flash will do more harm than good. They are choosing to run down old technology than the industry is abandoning. No wonder they lost so much market share. No wonder the Playbook was a failure at launch.

C'mon guys, RIM licensed the Flash source code from Adobe for its Playbook. That means the entire cost of developing and maintaing Flash on the Playbook will have to be shelled out by RIM. Are they crazy? Adobe drops flash and they stay 'committed' to it?

Gesan ages. How can you have much faith in a company like that?

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » February 22nd, 2012, 6:35 pm

bigga514 wrote:
Strauss wrote:
bigga514 wrote:And playbook still better at html5 than ios5...

Okay. I'm afraid to ask... why use your tiny little plastic keyboard from your phone to type on your tablet, when you can just use a full-sized keyboard in landscape mode?

Cause at some point id like to put down my tablet (like doing presentations or simply watching a movie or game plugged up to my big screen via hdmi) not to mention its awkward to type on a tablet (PB on screen keys are still great) but in general holding up a tablet and typing on just not efficient...
And those tiny plastic keys are some of if not the best hand held keyboards period.
(which having a bb im already used to.... and my hands are big)

bigga514 wrote:
Strauss wrote:And why is the iPad LACKING because it doesn't have Flash? Seems RIM is the one moving backward here.

The Playbook continuing to support Flash will do more harm than good.

bigga514 wrote:
Strauss wrote:They are choosing to run down old technology than the industry is abandoning.
C'mon guys, RIM licensed the Flash source code from Adobe for its Playbook. That means the entire cost of developing and maintaing Flash on the Playbook will have to be shelled out by RIM.

HTML5 isn't ready yet to completely replace Flash. There are aspects of Flash usage that HTML5 still doesn't address. Like HTML5 lacks proper DRM support, they haven't given it device tags yet, HTML5 can't handle animation on its own and needs CSS and Javascript for those type of functions, HTML5 doesn't yet have something like Canvas to provide rich and complex content design, among other limitations they still have to overcome before HTML5 can be considered a true replacement for Flash.
And in the mean while we wait for the "whole industry" to drop flash and change their sites what do we do ? be glad we haz limited functionality apps to replace things site dont do on ios:lol:

Mobile Flash isn't dead, it's very much alive - it's just moved house. All you need to do is redirect its mail from a cramped flat in the back of a browser to a large mansion powered by AIR.

This isn't the death of Flash, just a new way of delivering it. After all Flash developers have already had a lot of success with AIR applications on iPad and iPhone, and there's a number of AIR apps at the top of the Android market. Even Adobe's own next generation tablet applications (like Photoshop Touch) have been written in AIR, with new features meaning there's no need to have a separate runtime from application code. While AIR may not be as obvious to Flash, it's the same ActionScript code running – it just looks like a native app rather a browser plug-in.

Developers working with AIR get access to the familiar ActionScript development and design environments, plus a whole raft of additional APIs that come from no longer being limited by the browser's sandbox and limitations. Take touch for example: Android is capable of multi-touch, but Google's given the browser only one touch point. Running outside in AIR the same code gets access to all the hardware capabilities, with full ten point touch on a Honeycomb tablet like the Galaxy Tab 10.1. Deeper hardware integration in the AIR run time also means it's easier for Adobe to manage battery life and memory usage, with support for true multi-tasking. Low level hardware integration also means that there's better GPU support in AIR than in in-browser Flash.

Adobe is still supporting flash on mobile they just not gonna release any new versions they still gonna bug fix etc plus flash still on desktop for a long time to come. the playbook can handle the modern standard as well as the future standard (i kno html5 already got thumbs up standard wise). makes sense to be backwards compatible instead of expecting or trying to force change upon ppl because of your weak hardware that even without flash still kills battery comparable to just about any other smartphone...

Flash Air Html5 Java All the standards are supported on the new bb os so basically any app written in one of those languages can be ported to a blackberry tablet and future bb phones... eg Native android apps on playbook.

how much apple pays adobe to use their servers to convert flash to ios compatible formats?? :lol:

*last post my "fanboy" starting to show :roll: *

TK!

Postby TK! » February 23rd, 2012, 1:08 am

bigga514 wrote:I swear fan boy logic is hilarious....
Flash wasn't killed they just going html5 for mobile, flash still on regular. Browsers for years to come. So you could stay there andwait till flash "dead" but until half the web converts most sites still run flash, (the Internet is for porn).

It is ok to support a brand of your choice but please do so based on facts.

1. Apple killed Flash:
"This one should be pretty apparent, but given the fragmentation of the mobile market, and the fact that one of the leading mobile platforms (Apple’s iOS) was not going to allow the Flash Player in the browser, the Flash Player was not on track to reach anywhere near the ubiquity of the Flash Player on desktops… Just to be very clear on this. No matter what we did, the Flash Player was not going to be available on Apple’s iOS anytime in the foreseeable future." - Mike Chambers, the Principal Product manager for the Flash Platform at Adobe.

Ref: http://www.ubergizmo.com/2011/11/adobe- ... sh-mobile/

2. Flash is dead on browsers:
Flash for mobile is dead, but Flash for the desktop lives on, right? Wrong!
"It’s pretty simple: Flash for the desktop cannot survive without mobile support. With PCs becoming a smaller and smaller share of Internet connected devices (see chart below), it’s only a matter of time before most web sites will be updated to not require Flash. It is hard to imagine many examples of web properties that would want to exclude the majority of the eyeballs on the internet by requiring Flash." - Francisco Kattan, Former Adobe Employee.

Ref: http://www.visionmobile.com/blog/2011/1 ... he-making/

Everyone knows that HTML5 is the way forward. Steve Jobs (Apple) knew that years before everyone else. Apple is head and shoulders above its rivals.

TK!

Postby TK! » February 23rd, 2012, 1:17 am

bigga514 Kindly support your points with references to expert opinion. Your i-say-so arguments do not hold water.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 23rd, 2012, 10:36 am

TriniTuner mobile stats for Jan 23rd 2012 to Feb 22nd 2012. These are stats for mobile devices only.
Total visits for the period was 430,096 Visits
Mobile devices accounted for 7% of our total traffic in that 30 day period, this is fairly normal nowadays (compare to 3% in the same period in 2011).

iOS accounts for 58.77% of total mobile traffic to trinituner, blackberry accounts for 18.31% and Android 19.9%

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » February 23rd, 2012, 4:24 pm

TK! wrote:
bigga514 wrote:I swear fan boy logic is hilarious....
you could stay there and wait till flash "dead" but until the web converts most sites still run flash, (the Internet is for porn).

It is ok to support a brand of your choice but please do so based on FACTS

1. Apple killed Flash:
"This one should be pretty apparent, but given the fragmentation of the mobile market, and the fact that one of the leading mobile platforms (Apple’s iOS) was not going to allow the Flash Player in the browser, the Flash Player was not on track to reach anywhere near the ubiquity of the Flash Player on desktops… Just to be very clear on this. No matter what we did, the Flash Player was not going to be available on Apple’s iOS anytime in the foreseeable future." - Mike Chambers, the Principal Product manager for the Flash Platform at Adobe.

Ref: http://www.ubergizmo.com/2011/11/adobe- ... sh-mobile/

Altho i still disagree that flash is dead, Even the person you Quoted below disagrees with you on apple killing flash... SAME ARTICLE! and by the way he is just speculating NOT STATING FACTS.
HTML5 did not kill Flash. Steve Jobs did not kill Flash. The death of Flash was caused by a time bomb planted inadvertently by Adobe many years ago.

TK! wrote:2. Flash is dead on browsers:
Flash for mobile is dead, but Flash for the desktop lives on, right? Wrong!
"It’s pretty simple: Flash for the desktop cannot survive without mobile support. With PCs becoming a smaller and smaller share of Internet connected devices (see chart below), it’s only a matter of time before most web sites will be updated to not require Flash. It is hard to imagine many examples of web properties that would want to exclude the majority of the eyeballs on the internet by requiring Flash." - Francisco Kattan, Former Adobe Employee.

Ref: http://www.visionmobile.com/blog/2011/1 ... he-making/

Everyone knows that HTML5 is the way forward. Steve Jobs (Apple) knew that years before everyone else. Apple is head and shoulders above its rivals.

LMAO

Now if you didn't actually read adobe statement let me quote a break down for you :
ADOBE wrote: Our future work with Flash on mobile devices will be focused on enabling Flash developers to package native apps with Adobe AIR for all the major app stores. We will no longer continue to develop Flash Player in the browser to work with new mobile device configurations (chipset, browser, OS version, etc.) following the upcoming release of Flash Player 11.1 for Android and BlackBerry PlayBook. We will of course continue to provide critical bug fixes and security updates for existing device configurations. We will also allow our source code licensees to continue working on and release their own implementations.http://blogs.adobe.com/conversations/2011/11/flash-focus.html

what they saying is the BROWSER will no longer be the container that holds flash/flash is no longer restricted by the capabilities of the browser. AIR the new container has way more built-in capabilities and less overhead usage (processing power/battery life/ram).. FACT

RIM(licensee) Can release their own versions of flash if they wanted too...FACT

APPs are no longer going to be a arguing point when it comes to os choices as with Air and html5 everything written will be cross platform (up to dev. to port but still cross platform) FACT.

HTML5 Still cant handle DRM FACT... http://html5readiness.com/
http://interfacethis.com/2012/one-year- ... native-no/

AND EVEN PUTTING FLAS ASIDE THE PLAYBOOK IS STILL A BETTER/FASTER HTML5 BROWSER...FACT! http://html5test.com/results-tablets.html

anything i forgot let me know....
we can back and forth all day but the only Valid facts are...
    No matter how you try to twist if, flash is relevant and HERE NOW so all talks of future is best left for when the future is here, like bragging about a 4g/lte phone in trini that is just dumb(anology) <yes the technology comming, but in the mean while???>

By the time html5 is wholesome iphone 6/ ipad 4 should be out?. :mrgreen: but till then your missing the better part of the web. Most mobile sites are piss poor anyways and usually lack all the feature. (more sites create mobile versions over upgrading to html5)

The author of the book Steve Jobs, Walter Issacson

Your being taken for a ride :lol:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 23rd, 2012, 4:46 pm

bigga514 wrote:RIM(licensee) Can release their own versions of flash if they wanted too...FACT

RIM is going downhill fast... FACT

Postby crazybalhead » February 23rd, 2012, 4:50 pm

I would buy this.

It working on Graphite 1.0

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 23rd, 2012, 4:54 pm

^ not me and that again - one shake or drop and all my data was lost :(

Postby nervewrecker » February 23rd, 2012, 5:02 pm

bigga514 wrote:RIM(licensee) Can release their own versions of flash if they wanted too...FACT

Imma hardcore apple fan... FACT

*fixed*

anyhow, real argument in here jed. :shock: you guys take this thing to a next level yes, I hearing about things I have never even considered. All I care about was:

size / portability
price
batt life
user interface
wifi
storage

The camera & bluetooth came as a plus.

All this picong about flash, apps etc couldnt bother me one bit. At the end of the day the playbook fit that criteria & beat the kindle fire (which was what I had in mind).
I few minutes I spent with the v2.0 upgrade seems nice, I like how all my messages come in one & how everything is synced on my calender. It easy to keep memos of due dates for class assignments, read & review work in the car park or in school while I wait for class to start (kill time on the net via wifi access meanwhile), no books so is less load & no need to walk with a bulky charger.
My only con so far, the few bugs here & there in the previous OS & im a kinda small person in size so the playbook cant fit in my back pocket.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 23rd, 2012, 7:13 pm

Imma hardcore apple fan... FACT

*fixed*

nuh really, I use PCs instead of Macs

If you say I follow tech trends and buy what's popular and follow market share, then yes I do. There is a good reason a product becomes and stays very popular throughout it's updates, because it's good.

Postby nervewrecker » February 23rd, 2012, 9:03 pm

I just pulling your legs duane :lol:

But I understand where you coming from, the iphone has come a long way from the first model & the ipad is a great device.

But just for the sake of instigating comess:
Not because something is popular it means its good eh, it all boils down to marketing (Take for example Bose). Apple is great at that, look in the movies, advertisements, teen videos, tv shows etc, you only see the iphone so everyone wants one. Its kinda like a must have to be in with a clique.
Im not disputing what you said above there but a lot of people have the devices solely for the purpose I mentioned here. It does not change the fact that it is a great device but good marketing = good sales & will allow for great R&D & for them to maintain a standard. It may be the reason why blackberry is loosing in the 'contest'....I mean common..its a blackberry, have you operated one? :lol:

Postby nervewrecker » February 23rd, 2012, 9:04 pm

oh, while we on apps....link us with a trinituner app nuh? :p

Strauss

Postby Strauss » February 24th, 2012, 7:35 am

As I said, the Playbook have a few good features doesn't make it a good device.... hence WHY it is failing and they need to have a fire sale to get rid of inventory (just as HP did).

40+ million iPad users proved that they are NOT MISSING any part of the internet. You fail to realise the differences between desktop and tablet markets. There are apps to access more sites and do most things. The browser is just for surfing sites and don't have an app. Even porn sites have apps now (usually a universal app to access multiple sites). That makes flash even more irrelevant. Even Google knows this.

RIM / Blackberry is failing as a company because they are making all the wrong decisions. The choice to throw so much money behind Flash proves this.

Apple in the past pushed USB, Firewire, Quicktime (MP4, AAC, H.264), OpenGL, Thunderbolt etc and basically anything that is a standard or is technology to last a long time. Notice how much of what we use were developed by Apple based on industry standards and OpenSource. Heck Google Chrome uses Apple's webkit (that came from and went back into KDE).

Apple is calling the shots. Recognize this. If people want to be successful they need to follow Apple and their tech. Look at Google, Samsung, Intel et al. Then look at RIM with their Playbook. See who's going up and who's failing.

casper

Postby casper » February 24th, 2012, 10:36 am

nervewrecker, posting in this topic is a lost cause with all the apple fan boys in here...i will reserve my comments on this from now yesss...everything u say u'll just get a reply like this >>> "yea well apple is the best...they call the shots"

Postby nervewrecker » February 24th, 2012, 11:55 am

Different peoples uses for tabs differ. I guess the ipad works for him & many others because of all the apps. Apps couldnt bother me so just about any tab could work as I have outlined the criteria a tab needs to have for me.
But the way some acting in here its like apple is the best thing on the earth. I personally dont like how you need to have the apple software thingy on the pc for your device to be compatible with it (I dont know if that has changed but it was like that awhile back), I prefer plug & play with a device that is universally accepetd my all pc's like a flashdrive is. I also dislike how every so often you need to dowload an upgrade, for heavens sake make something & make a final version that can stand for a few months proper. I what works for one does not work for all so if it works for them then fine, to each its own.

btw strauss, firewire ever got off the ground? I havent seen any in use.

Postby SR » February 24th, 2012, 12:26 pm

what you think of the latest software upgrade on the pb

i like the new keyboard layout

Postby nervewrecker » February 24th, 2012, 12:34 pm

I havent really dug into it yet, only last night I pick it up & realise thre is an autocomplete feature but I was getting pissed because everytime I let bit complete a word it ended the sentance (not sure if I can turn that off).
I like how word, excel & powerpoint incorporated in one & all my accounts incorporated in one as well (no need to open multiple inboxes).
The calender is nice & messages app to go straight to the messages or just tap the icon on the corner of the screen.
Probably this weekend I might spend some time with it. After reading some of what people talk about in here I may dig into this remote keyboard feature.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 24th, 2012, 1:41 pm

casper wrote:everything u say u'll just get a reply like this >>> "yea well apple is the best...they call the shots"
is not like they're lying

the iPhone business alone is larger than all of Microsoft and Apple has more money than the US Gov't

yuh don't get there on fanboism and deceptive advertising

Postby nervewrecker » February 24th, 2012, 1:51 pm

casper wrote:everything u say u'll just get a reply like this >>> "yea well apple is the best...they call the shots"

the iPhone business alone is larger than all of Microsoft and Apple has more money than the US Gov't

dayumn.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » February 24th, 2012, 2:03 pm

you know de more i use the ipad i like it more... however it has basic functionality issues that if implemented will make it a bigger player in the market.

one word... WIDGETS!!!!!!!!!!!!

plus the screen is not widescreen..... atleast when playing a top gear 1080i vid, it displays skewed

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » February 24th, 2012, 2:07 pm

th eipad to me is a like a mac computer... its really cool to own, it works flawlessly, it is a superior device.... but you always seem to go back to windows as it more practical and gives you everything you want... just like my samsung galaxy tab

having said that and since the office has given me one for work purposes, i hardly ever boot up the galaxy anymore as i have learnt to ignore the issues.

and having to pay for games on the ipad is a major gripe casue it freakign free on andriod :(

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » February 24th, 2012, 7:16 pm

Strauss wrote:As I said, the Playbook have a few good features doesn't make it a good device.... hence WHY it is failing and they need to have a fire sale to get rid of inventory (just as HP did).
HP exited web os period, killed it. not to be confused with what you fan boys trying to do with rim, but for all the talk down. They drop the price to get it into as many hands as possible before pb OS2.0 release date, playbook2 is coming and prices have raised since pb os2. So has market share of tablets FACT.
Play book is a great device, your just hating end of story... trolls gotta troll right.

40+ million iPad users proved that they are NOT MISSING any part of the internet. There are apps to access more sites and do most things(= Limited :lol: ). The browser is just for surfing sites and don't have an app.(huh?) Even porn sites have apps now (usually a universal app to access multiple sites).
Ok so you buy apps to make up for the lack of built-in tools, and they still don't give full access to the site its a different browsing experience. (Just do like crix and say your complacent and willing to over look the flaws...I'd respect that)

That makes flash even more irrelevant. Even Google knows this.
(google can do as they want with their flash license including develop. the fact they still working on and doing updates shows they supporting flash. post valid link or stfu n stop trolling with lies)

RIM / Blackberry is failing as a company because they are making all the wrong decisions. The choice to throw so much money behind Flash proves this.
what money? how much you think they spent? Any more than google? Do you know what flash is used for really i mean outside of ads and porn... why wouldn't they stick with a platform that has soo many developers already. and we been over this html5(QNX)/AIR (ADOBE)your just trolling

Apple in the past pushed USB, Firewire, Quicktime (MP4, AAC, H.264), OpenGL, Thunderbolt
:shock: :lol: :lol: :lol:

You wanna know how i know that your just a dumb troll?

1.) A group of seven companies began development on USB in 1994: Compaq, DEC, IBM, Intel, Microsoft, NEC and Nortel. (mac who what?)

2.) Firewire was NEVER commercially successful (EVEN WHEN IT WAS THE BEST/FASTEST METHOD)
3.)Quicktime is garbage even mac users use vlc and mp4 is the container they created to export .mov files cause NOBODY WANTS QUICKTIME .

4.)OpenGL like usb idk wtf you smoking on but has nothing at all to do with apple, wait Did you mean Core open GL? cause that is just a software for mac to be able to even use open gl(emulator of sorts...)

5.) Thunderbolt was developed by Intel. apple tried to steal it (trademark rights etc) from intel after agreeing to use it on the new macbooks. Lawyers got called out and all was settled before it went to court. FACT!

Notice how much of what we use were developed by OpenSource.
(fixed that for you, apple used open-source framework to build osx FACT NextStep>OpenStep>Darwin>Osx/ios)
Heck Google Chrome uses Apple's webkit (that came from and went back into KDE).
(yes being as it was open source loan they got they had to share. Fact, chrome firefox and playbook browsers are all faster than safari. Any platform.)

Apple is calling the shots. Recognize this. If people want to be successful they need to follow Apple and their tech.
Funny thing is that Rim is yet to lose money ( Despite all of its recent struggles, the company generated more than US$20-billion in revenue last year and continues to pull in nine-figure profits each quarter. Last year, RIM’s global user base shot up 44% to about 70 million, and the company continues to grow its presence in international markets.) even if ppl use android or iphone/windows phone Mobile Fusion Will be what ppl implement(check your IT dept...), they just don't make nearly as much as before in their prime. all while you watching their profits going down Rim has purchased http://tat.se/about/, http://www.qnx.com/news/pr_4854_1.html, http://www.newbay.com/, http://jaycut.com/, Not to mention almost a billion in patents from nortel, AND http://www.chalk.com/home.aspx p.s if rim was broke guess who would throw billions at them before letting them sell.
Prime Minister Stephen Harper's comments that he would like to see the BlackBerry maker remain a Canadian company, And would have to weigh in heavily on any buyout talks to ensure the bulk of profits and employment remains in CANADA
Look at Google, Samsung, Intel et al. Then look at RIM with their Playbook. See who's going up and who's failing.
Time will tell, is all we can say honestly because, apple was here before, so were so many other companies. Speculation with facts is one thing Your trolling is another. Apps are as relevant as what do you do on a tablet, and a playbook is better at what i need and more compared to any other tablet right now without having to wait for standards to be implemented and browsers to support and sites to re design, even when all that is done the pb is still better than ip/ip2 at that. bells and whistles there is an app for that lol :mrgreen: .

Glad for apple and its shareholders its making crazy money its their time.
How much is going into vs coming out your pocket?
(APPLE MARKETING : so good you pay them crazy money so you can brag about THEM)

Strauss

Postby Strauss » February 27th, 2012, 10:33 am

^^^ You don't know your history.

I said Apple PUSHED all those technologies. Those technologies would be DEAD. USE lay dormant for years - not even USB printers, drives... nothing. When Apple introduced the iMac in 1998, they took up USB and got other partners involved to make devices just for the iMac. Within a year, everything was USB.

"Firewire was NEVER commercially successful" ? Well maybe you as *consumers* were not using it as much but everyone else knows Firewire. Any professional had a firewire (aka iLink) video camera, RAID, dedicated burners etc. The industry ran on Firewire.

Thunderbolt was a join development by Apple and Intel (who designed it). The legal discussion was about the NAME : "Thunderbolt".

You just fail to realise how much of the tech you are using would not be around if Apple didn't drive everyone in that direction. I remember every keynote when these things were introduced. You been in ignorance for so long. You need to free your mind.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » February 27th, 2012, 10:52 am

how de hell to connect my ipad to the office printers!!! thats wah i wha know

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 27th, 2012, 10:55 am

dayumn.
yup, since July 2011

CNN reports
http://tech.fortune.cnn.com/2011/07/29/ ... apple-inc/

also in the news today
Bloomberg - 1 hour ago
"RIM Chief Counts on Europe Sales in Race to Debut New Blackberry Platform

Research In Motion Ltd. (RIM), whose U.S. sales plunged 45 percent last quarter, is counting on Europe to regain ground lost to Apple Inc. (AAPL) and Google Inc. (GOOG) as the BlackBerry maker races to introduce a new operating system.

... Worse for Browsing
Still, BBM wasn’t enough to keep users addicted to the BlackBerry in the U.S. as the larger screens and faster Web browsers of the iPhone and Android appealed to consumers. The competition is beating RIM on Web-browsing, Chavez says, even as she still plans to stick with her BlackBerry for messaging.
RIM’s U.S. smartphone market share dropped to 16 percent in the three months through December from 19 percent in the previous quarter, according to ComScore Inc. In that time Apple’s share rose to 30 percent from 27 percent and Android’s climbed to 47 percent from 45 percent."

http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2012-02-2 ... tform.html

Postby nervewrecker » February 27th, 2012, 10:58 am

Strauss wrote:"Firewire was NEVER commercially successful" ? Well maybe you as *consumers* were not using it as much but everyone else knows Firewire. Any professional had a firewire (aka iLink) video camera, RAID, dedicated burners etc. The industry ran on Firewire.

What ever happened to going along with the masses? USB.

Again, firewire users are restricted to pc's that have these firewire port thingies. Lets say I as a professional have some files on a firewire compatible device & attend an important meeting with other professionals. Something comes up & I have to share this info....what am I to do?
What percentage of devices manufactured come with firewire ports? I happen to have this firewire thingy on my home pc & have never even used it in the many years I have had it.

Which brings me back to my previous point, not everyone rolls around with the apple software on their pc's. supposed you need to connect to a pc now....on the other hand a device that is universally accepted can plug into any pc / device & be functional instantly.

I am not denying that the apple devices are great devices or bashing them but I am in here to hear the other side of this heated debate.
Nobody is denying the fact that info can be transmitted via email & online file sharing sites which is compatible & accessible by all devices but lets say one is in a position where there is no access to the internet. Is progress supposed to be held back in the name of having a flagship device?