Riot in town, port of spain streets blocked off ,DAY 2

Re: Riot in town, port of spain streets blocked off

Postby Spitfir3 » October 22nd, 2012, 7:49 pm

pioneer wrote:That's the attitudes the youths share, why take school seriously assuming the government has to take care of you forever?

Most of them believe school is "not for dem" and that they go "jus get ah gauvament wukk" when they leave school@ form 5 some even earlier with zero cxc passes....

Dem eh workin for "no small morney" while dem big boys makin so much...guess what...big boys are big because they are smart/educated/qualified.

Then it gets worse when they are employed in the public sector, they come to work @ 9:30am don't mind they live 15 mins away from work. Eat till 10am, take 2 hours for lunch, by 3pm they "done wukk" and ready to go home. Minute they get pulled up for it is one setta gunta/guntress steupsin and we enno who dem is etc etc etc an how we fightin dem dong :roll:

These people are destined to fail, good side is we will always need people to shovel chit and pick up garbage.

lmao

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » October 22nd, 2012, 7:53 pm

pioneer wrote:That's the attitudes the youths share, why take school seriously assuming the government has to take care of you forever?

Most of them believe school is "not for dem" and that they go "jus get ah gauvament wukk" when they leave school@ form 5 some even earlier with zero cxc passes....

Dem eh workin for "no small morney" while dem big boys makin so much...guess what...big boys are big because they are smart/educated/qualified.

Then it gets worse when they are employed in the public sector, they come to work @ 9:30am don't mind they live 15 mins away from work. Eat till 10am, take 2 hours for lunch, by 3pm they "done wukk" and ready to go home. Minute they get pulled up for it is one setta gunta/guntress steupsin and we enno who dem is etc etc etc an how we fightin dem dong :roll:

These people are destined to fail, good side is we will always need people to shovel chit and pick up garbage.

i see it everyday since i started work at ncrha. I am fed-up of being around this type of mentality. They come to work and if not on facebook, talking, doing their nails, fixing their weave. They do if so much, 30 minutes of actual work a day.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » October 22nd, 2012, 7:53 pm

EA you have earned my respect tonight.

Even though it has been asked already I must ask again: how much would be an acceptable amount for these people?

So here we have a group of unskilled, uneducated individuals who are demanding that they be paid more than they are worth. Why among these people there is always a sense of entitlement?
While they protest and demand we the hard working citizens have to brave the traffic and pay bills to make ends meet.

No surprise that we haven't heard from Keith Rowley, Marlene MacDonald, Donna Cox, Nileung Hypolite.

Legacy of the PNM in progress.

:evilbat:

Postby DVSTT » October 22nd, 2012, 7:55 pm

As harsh as this is.... it is the reality of the situation....sadly...

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » October 22nd, 2012, 7:55 pm

pioneer wrote:Word on the ground is they demanding $500 ah day :rofl:

WTF is better i did play the ass in school, i woulda earn more
money

Postby rfari » October 22nd, 2012, 7:55 pm

rfari wrote:
SR wrote:long enought to know that most in that are generations of gimme gimme gimme culture whose origins are really from up the islands who came to trinidad looking for a better future but got sucked in to the "freenesss" given to them in the 60's and 70's from the politcal party jsut to keep votes inside

now you have 3rd and 4th generations of that culture who only know the gimme gimme culture and have no interest in getting an education to better themsleves and move up in life

why when generations upon generations enjoy free housing maintained by the government

And what's the solution?

Not ah damn dog go bark with that hovering overhead.

These people are terrorists, treat them as such. They have ZERO right to hold law-biding society to ransom.

/ched. Simple. Why do we have anti gang legislation and not use it? Why the government playing dollyhouse with these people?

adriano7910 wrote:
rfari wrote:
adriano7910 wrote:
rfari wrote:
MG Man wrote:[quote="pioneer"]Guntas again, while rest of society took free education seriously these people breed like cockroach and now demand the state GIVE them jobs and basketball scholarships.

why not?
if the ruling party can take my tax dollars and squander it on choppers, entourages, rum, cheap business suits, poorly written speeches, ill conceived business trips etc, why can't I get a lil bligh for my 7 pickney?

Truth!

that hadda be the chupidist reasoning i've heard in a while. and of course rfari hadda defend the sure pnm supporters. :|

Not as stupid as a racing harness on a civic :evilbat:

says the man who try to race said civic and get tap up all how and almost mash up he b14 engine :lol:[/quote]
:rofl: ohhhgoooaaar dan

pyung99

Postby pyung99 » October 22nd, 2012, 7:59 pm

d pnmites eh wah hear nun about dat nuh. dem eh studyin d history of this situation.

they jes troll slap yuh with d question: what being done to solve it?

my gyul marlene say if a people get pushed so far, wen yuh make dem promises and yuh disappoint, den is kankatang.

put a hand yes lord.

Postby shogun » October 22nd, 2012, 8:02 pm

The lulz in here = Epic

Have to agree with some though. Seems these people need to be taught the concept of personal responsibility.

Postby rfari » October 22nd, 2012, 8:05 pm

How u can teach groon people responsibility and they roaming the streets normal?

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » October 22nd, 2012, 8:08 pm

Wasn't there a UNC senator who had a very innovative solution for the crime and people of those areas? Well before his appointment was revoked.

Postby nervewrecker » October 22nd, 2012, 8:13 pm

Sky wrote:
I was in a convo today and I mentioned Rakesh, the man who cuts our yard. The last time he cut the yard I pay him the usual 300 (big yard yo). He ask for a cigg and I offer him a stag one time. He say nah, he have 5 more yards. And I didn't know how many he did before.
I then realized that with less education and the same amount of time working as me, Rakesh making more than me :(

Anyways. the point of the cool story is WHY THEY CAN'T DO THE SAME?!?!?!

I realise this awhile now, it dont pay to go to school. :lol:

My uncle rake in a cool $3k over the last long weekend, his son raking in same salary as me and that was even before he get his cxc results. :lol:

I agree with pios though, cant work with these people anymore nah. Sent a meme for a signature a week ago, still begging for it, guess who ass gonna be in fire when it eh sign? Is best I start going to work 10:00am too yes. :roll:

pyung99

Postby pyung99 » October 22nd, 2012, 8:21 pm

and d more kankatang they ghee, d more marginalized they get, d less marketable they get.

and givin afrikaaans a bad rep also. faq man. come nah meng, you always have sumn to lose. wheres d self respect?! i mean, this same sort of behaviour in usa, london, trinidad N-S-E-W

my darkie does not get on so.

Postby toyolink » October 22nd, 2012, 8:25 pm

The problems which define the culture of this area are real difficult to resolve.
To transform behaviour learned over generations to what we define as acceptable aint going and happen in the short term.
Where these citizens have reached today is part of a journey which started quite sometime ago.
What is sad is that there are good people and children who deserve an opportunity to have dreams and goals and to work towards same, buried in this mess.
The fact of the matter is that,the situation must be addressed .How do we achieve transformation may mean getting proper non-partisan institutions with capability directly involved.
I certainly don't have a recommendation other than seek proper help.

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 22nd, 2012, 8:25 pm

Gotta condo round my neck

#unaffected

Postby rfari » October 22nd, 2012, 8:28 pm

pyung99 wrote:and d more kankatang they ghee, d more marginalized they get, d less marketable they get.

and givin afrikaaans a bad rep also. faq man. come nah meng, you always have sumn to lose. wheres d self respect?! i mean, this same sort of behaviour in usa, london, trinidad N-S-E-W

U eh making sense there hoss

Postby noshownogo » October 22nd, 2012, 8:33 pm

Something not making sense in tonight's news report. They being offered $69 per working day right. If I multiply that by 20 for the working month we get $1380. One woman shouting at the camera "dem coulda at least offer ah $1500 or $1000 self". Someone should have shouted deal right then and there.

pyung99

Postby pyung99 » October 22nd, 2012, 8:41 pm

69 a day, when a day is worth how many hours in this initiative? take care them end up makin more than me yes.

pyung99

Postby pyung99 » October 22nd, 2012, 8:49 pm

rfari wrote:
pyung99 wrote:and d more kankatang they ghee, d more marginalized they get, d less marketable they get.

U eh making sense there hoss

well my point is there is always something to lose. they should not think they can just blatantly cause mayhem and feel they WINNING. they certainly are not. just further highlighting to employers to stay d faq away from them.

their main pleas (from hearin discussion on radio etc) is that no one will employ them cause of where they are from.

wonder why that is?

Postby rspann » October 22nd, 2012, 9:04 pm

$69 for two hours that not so bad.But pioneer you preach in this thread boy.

Postby brams112 » October 22nd, 2012, 9:04 pm

These people play follow the leader,when one person starts to burn tyres the others just follow because that is how it works.They feel tax payers should mind their bastard off spring.

Postby rfari » October 22nd, 2012, 9:08 pm

brams112 wrote:These people play follow the leader,when one person starts to burn tyres the others just follow because that is how it works.They feel tax payers should mind their bastard off spring.

And we doing it?

Postby brams112 » October 22nd, 2012, 9:14 pm

Yeah because they too afraid to say it in the open,they, meaning all politicians,votes count at the expense of tax payers.PP feel these very said crowd will vote for them,can't understand how they did not learn from panday's experience,they will always vote along tribal lines.

Postby pioneer » October 22nd, 2012, 9:21 pm

I have a solution, in order to become eligible to vote you must posses some level of tertiary education.

Watch how quick things change.

Postby brams112 » October 22nd, 2012, 9:25 pm

pioneer wrote:I have a solution, in order to become eligible to vote you must posses some level of tertiary education.

Ur mean eliminate the picture voters then?Or the logo voters :lol: :lol:

Postby pioneer » October 22nd, 2012, 9:32 pm

rspann wrote:$69 for two hours that not so bad.But pioneer you preach in this thread boy.

I do try.

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » October 22nd, 2012, 10:30 pm

brams112 wrote:
pioneer wrote:I have a solution, in order to become eligible to vote you must posses some level of tertiary education.

Ur mean eliminate the picture voters then?Or the logo voters :lol: :lol:

too high doh. your eliminating many successful businessmen with that.

Postby rfari » October 22nd, 2012, 10:35 pm

Just pass thu piccadilly street and lvl police out. Tyres unburnt on roadside and some sweet birds liming in the park. Lowr down just before besson street has a steel cage across half the road. Lime look like it later

Postby pioneer » October 22nd, 2012, 11:41 pm

Not only does marlene macdonald speak for everyone, she eats for everyone.

Postby DFC » October 22nd, 2012, 11:45 pm

pioneer wrote:Not only does marlene macdonald speak for everyone, she eats for everyone.

You is real tears eh.

I real dreading to go up POS tmw.
:(

Postby maj. tom » October 23rd, 2012, 12:13 am

‘$69 not good enough’

By Newsday Staff Tuesday, October 23 2012

Miscommunication over the hours of work for which $69 per day would be paid under the People and Projects for Progress Programme (PPPP), led to roving protests and roadblocks in east Port-of-Spain yesterday afternoon.

Debris, including pieces of wood, bamboo, tyres, an old refrigerator and even a large plastic garbage bin, complete with wheels, were used to block St Pauls Street, then Piccadilly Street and finally Nelson Street, by the corner of Independence Square North, between 1 pm and 2.15 pm yesterday. The angry residents of St Pauls Street and Mango Rose then marched back to the St Paul Street Community Centre where, a couple hours earlier, they were informed of the $69 wage for eight hours of work while participating in day one of a two-day orientation session for PPPP. They had already begun work, cleaning the streets and apartment buildings of east Port-of-Spain when the protests began.

In response, Local Government Minister Dr Suruj Rambachan said the residents were to receive $69 for working four hours as is the case for persons employed under the Unemployment Relief Programme (URP) of his ministry. Administration of PPPP falls under the URP and therefore the Local Government Ministry, however project execution is being handled by the National Security Ministry. The programme was launched at St Paul Street Community Centre by National Security Minister, Jack Warner, last Wednesday.

However, the residents deemed the pay an insult.

“Sixty-nine dollars a day is not enough,” a woman who identified herself as “Warrior Princess” told Newsday while observing police officers from the Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF) and firefighters remove debris from the corner of Nelson Street and Independence Square North. “They want to pay everyone the same money, from supervisors to labourers. That’s not right. We expected better salaries under this PPPP,” she said.

So incensed was “Warrior Princess” by the salary being offered, she told Newsday, “I would rather somebody pimp me out on Murray Street (PoS) than work eight hours for $69. You hear me? I would rather sell my body on the street, and make more money while I at it, than earn less than the average URP worker does.”

A male resident expressed a similar aversion to the salary being offered, telling the media, “I would rather do the crime than work for $69 a day.” PPPP participant and east PoS youth activist, Kingsley McMoharne recalled what led to yesterday’s roadblocks.

“The orientation session was supposed to start 8 am but they had us waiting at the centre until 11 am. That’s when they said it was a URP project and the pay would be $69. People were real vex to hear that. Some of them tear up their application papers before marching outside, where they blocked St Paul Street.

“Then the group moved on to Piccadilly Street where they set up another roadblock. After that some people used bamboo to block Nelson Street but nobody stayed there. We headed back to the community centre on St Paul Street,” McMoharne told Newsday.

He added that “a fair wage for labourers would be around $150 a day. If you comparing it to the private sector. Minister Warner spoke about employment opportunities but this don’t make sense, not at $69 a day.” Not true at all, said Rambachan when Newsday asked him about the apparent discrepancy.

“They are being paid $69/day for four hours of work, not eight. I don’t know who told them that but it’s not true. They were told at last week’s launch they would be paid for four hours of good work. We are trying to get maximum value for money because it cost the Government $389 million a year to run URP in 2011 and 2012,” Rambachan stated. “Two hundred and fifty-three million dollars of that money went to wages alone while $48 million went to administrative costs and salaries, so Government must expect value for money and prepare those in URP to eventually find permanent employment, be it on their own or via the private sector,” he said.

Rambachan also said he did not expect that yesterday’s protests would delay the conclusion of orientation today or tomorrow’s scheduled start of refurbishment work in the St Paul Street and Mango Rose communities. Before the protests, residents were hard at work on George and Nelson Streets cutting grass, getting rid of garbage and conducting general maintenance around the apartments. Some said they were glad to finally start working to receive a decent salary. One resident was part of the “Colour Me Orange” programme, a cleaning and beautification initiative of the Housing Development Corporation, and stated that PPPP is doing more work than they did in “Colour Me Orange”. “We are not just cleaning and beautifying the areas, but we would also be doing renovation of the apartments and other infrastructures,” he said. “Drainage was a problem here on George Street, which was to be dealt with in the “Colour Me Orange” programme, but it wasn’t done. We are currently dealing with the drainage problems, so you can see that we are doing a lot more for the area this time.”

Angela Harrison, a resident of Nelson Street, said she was happy for the job, but her major concern was whether or not it will be a permanent one. Harrison was a past worker with “Colour Me Orange” but did not get permanent employment. “I am working very hard because I have three children to take care of, so my hope for this (PPPP) programme is to receive a permanent job and training in a skill. I want my children to have financial security at the end of the day,” said Harrison.

Akil Gail, a resident of Nelson Street, expressed his hopes of getting a permanent job. He stated he was excited to learn a skill with the PPPP so he can have a better life. “Even though I don’t have children to take care of, I have the responsibility of taking care of my sick mother,” he said.

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,168148.html
Copyright © Daily News Limited 2012

Xplode wrote:had a lil sub-contract to get some bamboo for a construction site around town,them take all and 3 pallets to block up the road ,could do nothing when mob was approaching,about 50 guntas and guntress ,a throw meh frame

Xplode, looks like your bamboo make papers boy.