Earthquake!!!! (10, 13 Feb 2013)

Re: Earthquake!!!! (10 Feb 2013)

Postby ismithx » February 10th, 2013, 8:09 am

was felt strongly in the valsayn area.... oh ah'm late....

Yorkshirelass
CARS Member

Postby Yorkshirelass » February 10th, 2013, 8:33 am

Felt it on a boat in Turtle bay! Never thought you would have felt earthquakes on a boat!!

Postby pioneer » February 10th, 2013, 11:16 am

As with everything serious, trinis must attribute it to something to do with carnival or "bouncing".

When those people house fall flat, burn dong, wash wey by flood, or ah hill come and flatten it killin dey famalee...they better not come on TV beggin for gauvament assistunce

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » February 10th, 2013, 11:41 am

I can't remember.

Postby BrotherHood » February 10th, 2013, 12:45 pm

Da earthquake shake me out ah sleep yes, waz rel heavy on the beetham.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » February 10th, 2013, 1:09 pm

well not to alarm anyone but i knew this was coming. for the past 4 days the santa cruz islands woke up right after 4 volcanoes in Russia, hundreds of miles apart, erupted at the same time. santa cruz woke up with an 8.0 earthquake sending a tsunami of 1 metre into the mainland. since then santa cruz haz been experiencing earthquakes in 5.0/6.0+ range every 30 minutes or so. it's the longest earthquake swarm ive ever heard about lasting 4 going on 5 days.

with the repeated earthquakes in santa cruz islands, the northen mid-atlantic ridge was pulled into the dance 3 days ago, letting off regular earthquakes as high as 7.0.. a relatively dormant area. it was only a matter of time before trinidad felt one stemming from the atlantic ridge.

whatever is rocking santa cruz, is rocking the whole planet. down to this morning santa cruz islands is still experiencing repeated earthquakes.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » February 10th, 2013, 1:18 pm

THE END IS HERE!!!!!!!!!!!

Time to give up your daughters!

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » February 10th, 2013, 2:05 pm

way sah! now seeing dis ched boidan, I was sleeping schong boy jed, din feel ah ting

caliw

Postby caliw » February 10th, 2013, 2:07 pm

felt the room shake, but didn't realise it was an earthquake.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 10th, 2013, 2:24 pm

felt nothing.....not sure

jm3

Postby jm3 » February 10th, 2013, 3:08 pm

caliw wrote:felt the room shake, but didn't realise it was an earthquake.

that was close you could have ended up cutting to deep with your razot blades :scrambleup: :scrambleup:

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » February 10th, 2013, 3:38 pm

in arima we felt barely anything because we're further inland. the western coast areas like sando and POS wouldve felt it significantly stronger as the fault line passes right between venezuela and TnT. santa cruz islands just had another 6.3. i dont know for sure but i wouldnt be surprised if we felt another one in coming days if santa cruz keeps at it. in arima it felt like a 1.9 or even less. but i know what it is. they tryin to breakoff the west from trinidad so they could form they own country with all dey money lol

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 10th, 2013, 3:47 pm

^ I felt it pretty strong in chaguanas

Postby tr1ad » February 10th, 2013, 5:27 pm

logic defies many

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 10th, 2013, 5:33 pm

My bed was rocking but that was all me......

what earthquake?!?!?

Postby pioneer » February 10th, 2013, 5:34 pm

pablo_tt wrote:
pioneer wrote:What's the earthquake app pablott posted?

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1360491622.328567.jpg

not finding this one per se

Monster 101

Postby Monster 101 » February 10th, 2013, 5:38 pm

An earth tremor was felt in large sections of Jamaica on Sunday morning, cutting across southern, northern and western parishes. It started about 6:09 and lasted for 3 seconds.

The tremor was felt in the parishes of St. Elizabeth, Manchester, St. Ann, Westmoreland, St. James and St. Mary.

via ccn tv6 facebook

Monster 101

Postby Monster 101 » February 10th, 2013, 5:41 pm

‎"@NewEarthquake: 5.7 earthquake, 24km NW of Cartagena, Chile. Feb 10 16:54 at epicenter (19m ago, depth 35km).

via ccn tv6 facebook

Monster 101

Postby Monster 101 » February 10th, 2013, 5:42 pm

"@NewEarthquake: 4.9 earthquake, 128km WSW of Lata, Solomon Islands. Feb 11 07:43 at epicenter (17m ago, depth 42km).

via ccn tv6 facebook

is this a sign that the wrold is coming to an end?????

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 10th, 2013, 5:45 pm

^ yup earthquakes are constantly happening all the time - that is normal

take look at the USGS live map
http://earthquake.usgs.gov/earthquakes/map/

that is in the past 7 days - nothing terribly unusual there

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » February 10th, 2013, 5:57 pm

Hey do you think the same seismic activity that caused the waves was a precursor or even responsible for the quakes you guys have been experiencing?

Postby pioneer » February 10th, 2013, 6:06 pm

precursor?...lol trinis dunno wha da means

de bonxin start fadda

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » February 10th, 2013, 8:09 pm

chile has earthquakes pretty much every day in the 5.0+ range it's pretty normal for them. solomon islands/santa cruz islands i believe are the same report and the swarm is still going.

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » February 10th, 2013, 9:53 pm

what so you're saying we shouldn't take it on because it's normal in other parts of the world lol

Are you a politician turbotusty? :0

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 10th, 2013, 10:08 pm

we should always take on earthquakes
however they are almost impossible to predict and frequency in other areas is no sure sign that we will get one.

on the other hand a large enough earthquake in Yellowstone can cause an eruption that can put the planet into an ice age.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » February 10th, 2013, 10:10 pm

LOL.. well i think it's worthy of observing which is why i am. but the thing is news doesnt report every earthquake that happen around the world. the majority in the thousands dont reach regular ppl who dont keep up with seismic data. only when something catastrophic happens in when it gets media attention. so for the most part it is nothing to worry about. but this development at Santa Cruz islands is something new. at least to me.

Postby joker » February 10th, 2013, 10:24 pm

.. areas in fault zones have lots of quakes meng ...the plates are under constant pressure

zoelikescheese

Postby zoelikescheese » February 10th, 2013, 11:26 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:My bed was rocking but that was all me......

what earthquake?!?!?

like yuh had a helping hand

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » February 13th, 2013, 1:02 am

looks like nevada and california were pulled into the dance today. repeated earthquakes and aftershocks. we have alot of anomalous shaking going on. these sites have been asleep for a while

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 13th, 2013, 1:04 am

cjsplayboy wrote:
*$kїđž!™ wrote:My bed was rocking but that was all me......

what earthquake?!?!?

like yuh had a helping hand

no HOG..you and I are not alike.....