Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Re: RBC FIRES ALL THEIR STAFF??

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » March 20th, 2013, 10:08 pm

At the end of the day, with the different variations of "dismissals",
whether applicable or not...RBC is in fact sending Staff home, Admin
Officers have to re-apply - or out the door, Operations Officers - same thing,
Security Officers - hours of work to be cut from 48 hrs to 40 hrs...etc, etc, etc...

kaylex

Postby kaylex » March 21st, 2013, 8:11 am

RBC SENDS HOME STAFF
Posted on March 20, 2013 by Roget
15 employees fired, more to go

Weekend Issue, 17th, March, fornt page reads: RBC SENDS HOME STAFF

ROYAL Bank of Canada (RBC) has begun downsizing, five years after buying out RBTT, causing great unease among employees.Sources at the bank confirmed that 15 employees were axed in RBC’s re-structuring or down sizing process with minimal settlement.One employee retired due to the stress of being dismissed.
Sources say RBC has a model that they want to implement in Trinidad and Tobago.
“This means that individual banks will no longer have their own administrative department and bank staff will generally decrease,” said a source.TnT Mirror learnt that employees are now waking up to the new meaning of RBC’s slogan from good to great.
“It should really be from good to bad.
“They want to institute the operation structure of Canada in Trinidad and Tobago.
“What the employer is doing to us is heartbreaking and devastating.
“They must realise that is two different countries they are dealing with,” an employee said.Sources say more than 80 percent of the employees are dissatisfied.
“But we don’t have any redress since we are not unionised and there is no one to look out for us,” said a disturbed employee.
Employees, who have 25-30 years service, are in line to be affected by the restructuring.Sources say employees are being advised to look at RBC’s internal advertisement and apply for positions that are available.
The employees claimed that they are being told that they must apply within three months or they will be sent home.
“The requirements of the positions indicate that university degrees are necessary and many of the employees have training and experience only.
“We spent all our lives here dedicated to RBTT and this is how we are paid,” an official of the bank said.
Employees say they are also facing salary cut. They claimed that senior members are also affected by the across the board increase that they were accustomed receiving annually.
RBC, Canada’s largest bank, completed its acquisition of the RBTT Financial Group (RBTT) for a purchase price of approximately TT$13.7 billion (US$2.2 billion) in June 2008.The acquisition marked RBC’s return to Trinidad and Tobago, where it had maintained operations from 1902 to 1987. The employees claimed that they did not receive any payment during the initial buy-out.
“We lack motivation due to this situation and it is spilling over to the customers since the work morale is very low at this time,” said an employee said. Since the take-over by RBC Mirror was reliably informed that long standing customers are also encountering problems to get loans.

http://tntmirror.com/tnt-new3/?p=2642#more-2642
Last edited by kaylex on March 22nd, 2013, 7:22 am, edited 1 time in total.

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » March 21st, 2013, 10:11 pm

Last post "x 2"...

Certainly summarizes & compounds what I mentioned in my previous comments...

So, Canadians...you can very well pay up what is rightfully owed to RBTT STAFF,
accept our Culture & Traditions...(talkin' bout Traditions - Do you know, for all off our various Ethnic Celebrations, RBC Branches CANNOT be decorated in any which way AT ALL? No masks for Carnival,
no Deyas for Divali, no moon & star for EId...they could only decorate for Christmas, such ypocrisy!!!), or they can simply stop raping our Caribbean man-power and way of life & get back to where they belong - right back in Canada...

Postby nemisis » March 21st, 2013, 10:19 pm

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts wrote:Last post "x 2"...

accept our Culture & Traditions...(talkin' bout Traditions - Do you know, for all off our various Ethnic Celebrations, RBC Branches CANNOT be decorated in any which way AT ALL? No masks for Carnival,
no Deyas for Divali, no moon & star for EId...they could only decorate for Christmas, such ypocrisy!!!), or they can simply stop raping our Caribbean man-power and way of life & get back to where they belong - right back in Canada...

stop ranting, They owe you nothing, you want to say something then organize for customers to close and move their account... take out an add in the daily papers.

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » March 21st, 2013, 10:22 pm

Waiz yuh point Nemesis?

Are you an RBC Employee, do you have Family members or Relatives working there
for a number of years???

Yuh soundin' "now come" kinda way...
Go get some experience and real facts, then come back to this topic couple years
down d road...
Last edited by Twin Isle Cars n' Parts on March 21st, 2013, 10:26 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby pioneer » March 21st, 2013, 10:23 pm

kaylex wrote:RBC SENDS HOME STAFF
Posted on March 20, 2013 by Roget
15 employees fired, more to go

Weekend Issue, 17th, March, fornt page reads: RBC SENDS HOME STAFF

ROYAL Bank of Canada (RBC) has begun downsizing, five years after buying out RBTT, causing great unease among employees.Sources at the bank confirmed that 15 employees were axed in RBC’s re-structuring or down sizing process with minimal settlement.One employee retired due to the stress of being dismissed.
Sources say RBC has a model that they want to implement in Trinidad and Tobago.
“This means that individual banks will no longer have their own administrative department and bank staff will generally decrease,” said a source.TnT Mirror learnt that employees are now waking up to the new meaning of RBC’s slogan from good to great.
“It should really be from good to bad.
“They want to institute the operation structure of Canada in Trinidad and Tobago.
“What the employer is doing to us is heartbreaking and devastating.
“They must realise that is two different countries they are dealing with,” an employee said.Sources say more than 80 percent of the employees are dissatisfied.
“But we don’t have any redress since we are not unionised and there is no one to look out for us,” said a disturbed employee.
Employees, who have 25-30 years service, are in line to be affected by the restructuring.Sources say employees are being advised to look at RBC’s internal advertisement and apply for positions that are available.
The employees claimed that they are being told that they must apply within three months or they will be sent home.
“The requirements of the positions indicate that university degrees are necessary and many of the employees have training and experience only.
“We spent all our lives here dedicated to RBTT and this is how we are paid,” an official of the bank said.
Employees say they are also facing salary cut. They claimed that senior members are also affected by the across the board increase that they were accustomed receiving annually.
RBC, Canada’s largest bank, completed its acquisition of the RBTT Financial Group (RBTT) for a purchase price of approximately TT$13.7 billion (US$2.2 billion) in June 2008.The acquisition marked RBC’s return to Trinidad and Tobago, where it had maintained operations from 1902 to 1987. The employees claimed that they did not receive any payment during the initial buy-out.
“We lack motivation due to this situation and it is spilling over to the customers since the work morale is very low at this time,” said an employee said. Since the take-over by RBC Mirror was reliably informed that long standing customers are also encountering problems to get loans.

Great way to post an article with no sauce.

Postby nemisis » March 21st, 2013, 10:37 pm

@ Twin Isle Cars n' Parts , what is the point you trying to make? what purpose carnival masks or eid moon or deya have to do with running a bank? as for telling them stop raping Caribbean man power, a shitty job better than no job as a lot of them will soon see.

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » March 21st, 2013, 10:58 pm

I see you don't come out much...

Doh fret you have a lot to learn still, we all don't go through life
oblivious to the many facts...just some take longer to learn than
others - too bad you seem to be 1 to mature later in life...

Your name and avatar depicts what your mind is made up of. Yuh
knw a cartoon is just merely ink on paper with no substance, right?

Postby Stephon. » March 22nd, 2013, 12:49 am

Then I ran in this thread to see the drama unfold, I didn't grab my shoes or nothing Jesus!

Postby pioneer » March 27th, 2013, 6:26 pm

Is there any other bank that offers the cirrus service?

I'm sick to my stomach with RBC, every month end is always a battle with them for salary. I need to close that account quick.

Good riddance when they fire all those losers.

Postby RASC » March 28th, 2013, 4:51 am

This is possibly the best news we've been having all week.
WOW who knew Canadians were good for something :D

Postby RASC » March 28th, 2013, 4:53 am

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts wrote:Last post "x 2"...

HUSH YUH KUNUMUNU :!: :arrow:

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » March 28th, 2013, 5:28 am

Funny how this Post brings out the illiteracy in many...
like the very previous post...

Postby RASC » March 28th, 2013, 6:01 am

Our Banking Culture and Tradition is one of the worst I have EVER experienced...and what I am gathering from you is that-you want to preserve this ill equipped, ill advised, inefficient, slow, backward way of doing things...because of your "IS WE TING" attitude?

I'm just trying to understand where you're coming from Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Postby Chimera » March 28th, 2013, 6:54 am

pioneer wrote:Is there any other bank that offers the cirrus service?

I'm sick to my stomach with RBC, every month end is always a battle with them for salary. I need to close that account quick.

Good riddance when they fire all those losers.

Scotia bank. But dem is a next headache

Postby zoom rader » March 28th, 2013, 7:15 am

RASC wrote:Our Banking Culture and Tradition is one of the worst I have EVER experienced...and what I am gathering from you is that-you want to preserve this ill equipped, ill advised, inefficient, slow, backward way of doing things...because of your "IS WE TING" attitude?

I'm just trying to understand where you're coming from Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Yep u right bro.

I get pissed off when they ask you for two IDs.
I always tell them I only have an ID card, they will then ask for a drivers permit I reply i cant drive.
Then they will ask for a Passport, my reply is i dont need one as i have no plans of travel and cant afford it.

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » March 28th, 2013, 8:13 am

"I'm just trying to understand where you're coming from Twin Isle Cars n' Parts" RASC says...

Maybe this thread has lingered 4 too long, so that we seem 2
have deviated from the real topic at hand...

Leave it Fellas...

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » March 28th, 2013, 8:22 am

now u all making me glad to be banking in Republic in UWI yes...

kaylex

Postby kaylex » March 28th, 2013, 10:18 am

You know pound for pound I rate Scotia Bank the best experience I had. RBC and FCB slow.. FCB has low service charges though.. So I use them for Savings.. their online banking pretty ok also..

Republic is probably the most efficient and their fast service machines are the most available.. their service charges are the highest however...

Scotia I willing to trade off the smaller service charges for lesser available atms
Last edited by kaylex on March 28th, 2013, 10:34 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sharkman121 » March 28th, 2013, 10:29 am

kaylex wrote:You know pound for pound i rate Scotia Bank the Best experience I had.

THIS!

DevilZ

Postby DevilZ » April 8th, 2013, 10:19 am

Postby nemisis » April 8th, 2013, 11:05 am

^^^ how they got away with it I wanna know

Postby zoom rader » April 8th, 2013, 11:14 am

DevilZ wrote:RBC Canada fired their staff and bringin in indian IT guys

http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/british-columbia/story/2013/04/05/bc-rbc-foreign-workers.html

So we getting the calcutta ship after all then?

Postby Country_Bookie » April 8th, 2013, 4:23 pm

In February, RBC told Moreau and his colleagues 45 of their jobs with the regulatory and financial applications team would be terminated at the end of April.

"There are a lot of angry people," Moreau told Go Public. "A lot those people are in their late 50s or early 60s. They are not quite ready for retirement yet, but it may be very difficult to employ them."

These fcukers nasty minded. How you gonna fire 60 year olds who have worked for the company for donkey years? Nobody else is gonna hire them at that age. Why not just let dem retire with full pension?

The iGATE employees don’t appear to have any special skills Canadians don’t, the RBC workers told Go Public.

“That’s why we are training them,” Moreau said. “The person who is replacing me has asked a lot of questions and doesn’t know a major portion of the type of systems that we are working with."

Dave Moreau and his co-workers at RBC are being replaced by temporary foreign contractors. He can't understand how or why those workers got visas to come into Canada and take his job. (CBC )“If they had the knowledge [to do the jobs] it would be easier to swallow,” said the unnamed employee, who predicted client service will suffer.

Bank is looking to reduce its wage bill by bringing in indentured labourers who gonna do the work at half the salary of Canadians. More profit for the bank, and more millions in executive bonuses to be paid out.

Postby sharkman121 » April 8th, 2013, 4:40 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:
In February, RBC told Moreau and his colleagues 45 of their jobs with the regulatory and financial applications team would be terminated at the end of April.

"There are a lot of angry people," Moreau told Go Public. "A lot those people are in their late 50s or early 60s. They are not quite ready for retirement yet, but it may be very difficult to employ them."

These fcukers nasty minded. How you gonna fire 60 year olds who have worked for the company for donkey years? Nobody else is gonna hire them at that age. Why not just let dem retire with full pension?

bredz at the end of the day business is business, the company doesnt owe you a livelihood, what they owe you though is severance benefits, and if you have tenure, that wont come cheap.

Postby Country_Bookie » April 8th, 2013, 5:09 pm

^ I disagree. Organizations have a responsibility to all their stakeholders; i.e. employees, customers, community etc not just their shareholders. They have a responsibility to treat them fairly and equitably. Some of these ppl probably gave 20-30 years of their life to the bank and maybe still paying off mortgages etc. And this is what they get in return?

I could understand this kind of drastic action if ur company was close to bankruptcy, but RBC made CAD$7.5 BILLION in profit last year. That's almost as much as TnT spends in our entire budget for the year.

Postby zoom rader » April 9th, 2013, 1:59 am

Country_Bookie wrote:These fcukers nasty minded. How you gonna fire 60 year olds who have worked for the company for donkey years? Nobody else is gonna hire them at that age. Why not just let dem retire with full pension?

No dude In this day and age the workers failed to adapt to change. Gone are the days when one was employed for life. Employers no longer expect you to work for them any longer that 5 years plus.
What has happen is that workers have become lazy rather that upgrade themselfs, this is why employers always aks at interviews "where to do see yourself in 5 yrs time".
In trini we have the same problem, too many lazy workers who do nothing to upgrade themselfs and expect the employers to spoon feed them with doing less work. Eg Public Servants.
Times have changed and employers will always seek the best for their money. The worker also needs to seek the best for him/herselfs. Staying in a one job is a dead end, workers need to move around and seek whats best for them. Being loyal to an employer holds no water, I learnt this in trini and I am far better off that working for one company

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » April 9th, 2013, 7:06 pm

like man read this thread and gorn and rough up de arima branch.....

Mizaf

Postby Mizaf » April 9th, 2013, 8:01 pm

racy lady

Postby racy lady » April 9th, 2013, 8:16 pm

DevilZ wrote:RBC Canada fired their staff and bringin in indian IT guys

http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/british-columbia/story/2013/04/05/bc-rbc-foreign-workers.html

So we getting the calcutta ship after all then?

well even though the article is for a Canadian bank its possible that it may happen here too...I know someone with many years at the bank take an early retirement when the buyout happened...think it was the only option they had