Steel rods decapitate woman?

Re: Steel rods decapitate woman?

Postby desifemlove » November 15th, 2013, 2:58 pm

Kal-El Ward wrote:Driver should be charged, but who knows for sure if it takes was properly secured or not. A telephone interview, will not be proof. Was it recorded? How do we know it's the driver being interviewed. Only God knows what happened. Cause I highly doubt anyone saw how it was secured. Only now I seeing posts on trucks with unsecured goods. I am in no way picking up for the driver. But seriously, who knows the truth, and what really happened?

Well for manslaughter at the least, if not murder. but I ent know the mens rea for murder in Trini.

Even still, he had the means to check it was secure. so to say he ent culpable is silly.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 15th, 2013, 9:26 pm

darn...too late for the pics.....

Postby Morpheus » November 15th, 2013, 10:35 pm

Kal-El Ward wrote:Driver should be charged, but who knows for sure if it takes was properly secured or not. A telephone interview, will not be proof. Was it recorded? How do we know it's the driver being interviewed. Only God knows what happened. Cause I highly doubt anyone saw how it was secured. Only now I seeing posts on trucks with unsecured goods. I am in no way picking up for the driver. But seriously, who knows the truth, and what really happened?

I have seen many thing "fly off" from transport vehicles. From bricks, to lumber. Even a blasted light wooden table just resting, standing upright in the tray of a pickup. We just don't make threads for every single incident.
To say only now you seeing posts does not mean it wasn't happening all along eh.

Postby Morpheus » November 15th, 2013, 10:35 pm

:mrgreen::mrgreen::mrgreen:
Last edited by Morpheus on November 16th, 2013, 2:34 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 16th, 2013, 12:14 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Dri ... 98331.html

Driver cries for mother of five
‘...our families grew up together in tight-knit Santa Cruz’

By Gyasi Gonzales gyasi.gonzales@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Nov 14, 2013 at 10:14 PM ECT
Story Updated: Nov 15, 2013 at 11:36 PM ECT
THE driver of the truck that was loaded with steel which fell and killed mother of five Joycelyn Taylor said last night no amount of words have given him any comfort since the accident on Tues­day afternoon.
And as fate would have it, the driver knew the woman as their families grew up together in Santa Cruz.
The 45-year-old man, who did not want to be identified, said moments after the incident occurred, “I ran towards her car and I realise what take place...ah break down and from there, I start to beat my head on the van and roll on the ground.
“A woman tried to comfort meh, eh, and she told me that she saw what happened and she told me...don’t take it on son, don’t take it on, and I told her that woman have family, you know...that woman have family!”
Speaking to the Express at his Santa Cruz home, the driver, along with his relatives, insi­sted his name not be used, nor his exact address.
A female relative, who also did not want to be named, said since Tuesday, they and their neighbourhood were upset, not only over the tragedy but the comments on the radio talk shows about the driver of the van, who they say had absolutely no intention of causing what happened.
“They are talking about him like he inten­ded to do this,” she said.
The relative said their family and the Taylors “grew up” with each oth­er, in what she described as a tight-knit Santa Cruz community.
During the 20-minute interview, the driver’s voice began cracking several times as he recalled what happened that fateful afternoon on Saddle Road.
The driver said he went with his son to Bhagwan­singh’s Hardware in Sea Lots where he collected then secured the load of steel aboard his small truck.
He said he did it around midday as he was sure there would not be too many vehicles on the road. There was still a lot of traffic despite his attempts to avoid it, the man said.
“I tried my best to pass in places with no traffic, and I tried to be as safe as possible.”
He said the journey began as a happy one as he and his son chatted about his (the dri­ver’s) birthday that recently passed and his son wanted to buy him an “iPad and a jersey” but because he was not yet of working age, he promised his father he would get the gifts for him at some point in time.
He said as he headed into Saddle Road, Santa Cruz, the area where the incident occurred, he found the steel was bouncing in the tray.
“I stopped and pull aside and I secured the load.”
He continued: “As I reach up the hill and near by the Ramesh & Leela Supermarket, there was no vehicle behind me and none in front, and I when I came up, I saw the lady’s (Taylor) car coming towards me, and as she reach on me (alongside his van), the steel end up colliding.”
“I thought I hit she back glass and I stopped after La­ventille Road, and I done come out expecting to hear how yuh mash up my car because I done know I wrong already and I would have fixed her car...
“But then I realise I not seeing her coming out, so I ran to the car and then I realise what take place.
“You see what happen there, I don’t want that to hap­pen to nobody at all because as I close my eyes, the horror keep replaying and replaying and flashing again and again, and I say to myself the steel could have fallen off before or after I pass this lady, but as she pass my vehicle, this happen,” he lamented.
The police are continuing investigations into the incident and are still in consultation with the Director of Public Prosecutions with regard to what charge can be laid against the truck driver.
The accident occurred around 2.30 p.m. when Taylor was driving her Nissan AD Wagon, heading south along Saddle Road.
As the car passed the truck, some of the rods fell off and onto the car’s bonnet, then pierced the car’s windscreen, killing Taylor instantly.
Taylor’s funeral is sche­duled for 1 p.m. tomorrow at The Holy Cross RC Church in Santa Cruz, near to the Santa Cruz Fire Station.

Postby Bizzare » November 16th, 2013, 12:27 am

desifemlove wrote:Well for manslaughter at the least, if not murder. but I ent know the mens rea for murder in Trini.

You don't have to know that to know that it's not murder. :? :? :?

Postby wagonrunner » November 16th, 2013, 12:58 am

read that and remembered this classic.

On March 23, 1994, a medical examiner viewed the body of Ronald Opus and concluded that he died from a gunshot wound of the head caused by a shotgun. Investigation to that point had revealed that the decedent had jumped from the top of a ten-story building with the intent to commit suicide. (He left a note indicating his despondency.) As he passed the 9th floor on the way down, his life was interrupted by a shotgun blast through a window, killing him instantly. Neither the shooter nor the decedent was aware that a safety net had been erected at the 8th floor level to protect some window washers, and that the decedent would most likely not have been able to complete his intent to commit suicide because of this.
Ordinarily, a person who starts into motion the events with a suicide intent ultimately commits suicide even though the mechanism might be not what he intended. That he was shot on the way to certain death nine stories below probably would not change his mode of death from suicide to homicide, but the fact that his suicide intent would not have been achieved under any circumstance caused the medical examiner to feel that he had homicide on his hands.
Further investigation led to the discovery that the room on the 9th floor from whence the shotgun blast emanated was occupied by an elderly man and his wife. He was threatening her with the shotgun because of an interspousal spat and became so upset that he could not hold the shotgun straight. Therefore, when he pulled the trigger, he completely missed his wife, and the pellets went through the window, striking the decedent.
When one intends to kill subject A but kills subject B in the attempt, one is guilty of the murder of subject B. The old man was confronted with this conclusion, but both he and his wife were adamant in stating that neither knew that the shotgun was loaded. It was the longtime habit of the old man to threaten his wife with an unloaded shotgun. He had no intent to murder her; therefore, the killing of the decedent appeared then to be accident. That is, the gun had been accidentally loaded.
But further investigation turned up a witness that their son was seen loading the shotgun approximately six weeks prior to the fatal accident. That investigation showed that the mother (the old lady) had cut off her son's financial support, and her son, knowing the propensity of his father to use the shotgun threateningly, loaded the gun with the expectation that the father would shoot his mother. The case now becomes one of murder on the part of the son for the death of Ronald Opus.
Now comes the exquisite twist. Further investigation revealed that the son, one Ronald Opus, had become increasingly despondent over the failure of his attempt to get his mother murdered. This led him to jump off the ten-story building on March 23, only to be killed by a shotgun blast through a 9th story window.
The medical examiner closed the case as a suicide.

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » November 16th, 2013, 1:37 am

An officer from the San Juan Municipal Police sustained injuries and was taken to the Eric Williams Medical Science Complex, Mt Hope, after a steel pole on a truck belonging to T&TEC pierced the front windscreen of the police vehicle he was driving.

The accident happened on the westbound lane of the Churchill-Roosevelt Highway (next to the entrance to Grand Bazaar), Valsayn, yesterday.

https://www.facebook.com/AKBelle/posts/ ... 8443982517

Police man lucky to be alive .

Postby Team Loco » November 16th, 2013, 6:47 am

Wow seriously? Damn

I dunno if anyone noticed the type and brand of vehicle the guy was driving. Its one of those chinese trucks. Even before this accident I always noticed how these trucks are quite suspension stiff and seems to be very "bouncy" on the road. Its easy to notice. So with an over firm suspension plus heavy steel rods tied with old rope. Recipe for a forever lose cargo

Postby desifemlove » November 16th, 2013, 7:41 am

Bizzare wrote:
desifemlove wrote:Well for manslaughter at the least, if not murder. but I ent know the mens rea for murder in Trini.

You don't have to know that to know that it's not murder. :? :? :?

There's a legal rule called causation.

the fact he could have forseen dat happening means it could be murder. I ent no criminal lawyer though, so don't know the in and outs exactly.

Postby desifemlove » November 16th, 2013, 7:43 am

ruffrider27 wrote:An officer from the San Juan Municipal Police sustained injuries and was taken to the Eric Williams Medical Science Complex, Mt Hope, after a steel pole on a truck belonging to T&TEC pierced the front windscreen of the police vehicle he was driving.

The accident happened on the westbound lane of the Churchill-Roosevelt Highway (next to the entrance to Grand Bazaar), Valsayn, yesterday.

https://www.facebook.com/AKBelle/posts/ ... 8443982517

Police man lucky to be alive .

again?!! :shock: :(

Dis country is bedevilled or what?

Postby Chimera » November 16th, 2013, 7:55 am

wagonrunner wrote:^^
read that and remembered this classic.

On March 23, 1994, a medical examiner viewed the body of Ronald Opus and concluded that he died from a gunshot wound of the head caused by a shotgun. Investigation to that point had revealed that the decedent had jumped from the top of a ten-story building with the intent to commit suicide. (He left a note indicating his despondency.) As he passed the 9th floor on the way down, his life was interrupted by a shotgun blast through a window, killing him instantly. Neither the shooter nor the decedent was aware that a safety net had been erected at the 8th floor level to protect some window washers, and that the decedent would most likely not have been able to complete his intent to commit suicide because of this.
Ordinarily, a person who starts into motion the events with a suicide intent ultimately commits suicide even though the mechanism might be not what he intended. That he was shot on the way to certain death nine stories below probably would not change his mode of death from suicide to homicide, but the fact that his suicide intent would not have been achieved under any circumstance caused the medical examiner to feel that he had homicide on his hands.
Further investigation led to the discovery that the room on the 9th floor from whence the shotgun blast emanated was occupied by an elderly man and his wife. He was threatening her with the shotgun because of an interspousal spat and became so upset that he could not hold the shotgun straight. Therefore, when he pulled the trigger, he completely missed his wife, and the pellets went through the window, striking the decedent.
When one intends to kill subject A but kills subject B in the attempt, one is guilty of the murder of subject B. The old man was confronted with this conclusion, but both he and his wife were adamant in stating that neither knew that the shotgun was loaded. It was the longtime habit of the old man to threaten his wife with an unloaded shotgun. He had no intent to murder her; therefore, the killing of the decedent appeared then to be accident. That is, the gun had been accidentally loaded.
But further investigation turned up a witness that their son was seen loading the shotgun approximately six weeks prior to the fatal accident. That investigation showed that the mother (the old lady) had cut off her son's financial support, and her son, knowing the propensity of his father to use the shotgun threateningly, loaded the gun with the expectation that the father would shoot his mother. The case now becomes one of murder on the part of the son for the death of Ronald Opus.
Now comes the exquisite twist. Further investigation revealed that the son, one Ronald Opus, had become increasingly despondent over the failure of his attempt to get his mother murdered. This led him to jump off the ten-story building on March 23, only to be killed by a shotgun blast through a 9th story window.
The medical examiner closed the case as a suicide.

you know that's not a true story right?

Postby K74T » November 16th, 2013, 8:16 am

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1384604175.952492.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1384604175.952492.jpg (38.41 KiB) Viewed 3144 times

Edit: Was an incident that happened at the beginning of this year.
Last edited by K74T on November 16th, 2013, 8:43 am, edited 1 time in total.

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » November 16th, 2013, 8:24 am

i heard that was old news that ppl tlkin bout again. i dont think that entrance even looks like that anymore

Postby ismithx » November 16th, 2013, 12:50 pm

all i will say is 'this country' needs a lot less propaganda and bachanal on tv and more educational stuff so people know even things like how to secure a load properly and what not... just my 2c

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » November 19th, 2013, 7:23 am

Postby Morpheus » November 19th, 2013, 8:47 am

Hmmmm..... food for thought.

Condolences to those guys.

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » November 20th, 2013, 5:00 pm

I had to avoid a wreckless 400g Tuff Tank the other day on Pierre Rd Chaguanas. Like it didn't know bout right of way an ting...

Postby pioneer » November 20th, 2013, 7:04 pm

Ironic some months back all these bigwig media houses were saying all a journalist has is their integrity...

Yet not many of them display any integrity

Typical thirdworld media with a bunch of 5 cxc "journalists" playin queen of england

Postby pioneer » January 6th, 2014, 6:27 pm

Took this some weeks back...just a rat iron gate being transported in an open tray van with no harness or anything...no big deal...that can't really crush anyone...it light

This morning...

Shovel looks pretty secure, that eh go move...how does it come out?...oh jus basic human strength

There were 3 of those trucks travelling together, I guess safety is of utmost importance to those guys.

All ah dem had shovel chook up jusso

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 6th, 2014, 6:47 pm

buh ent de clath ha tuh be red?

Postby ismithx » January 6th, 2014, 6:51 pm

yeah.... i guess plenty ppl does miss that fact

Postby pioneer » January 6th, 2014, 6:53 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:buh ent de clath ha tuh be red?

E own clear, sky clear clath clear an all

Postby pioneer » January 6th, 2014, 6:57 pm

Oh yeah the guy with the gate drove past ah police xtrail...dem eh take e on

Who is we

Postby Rory Phoulorie » January 6th, 2014, 8:27 pm

pioneer wrote:Took this some weeks back...just a rat iron gate being transported in an open tray van with no harness or anything...no big deal...that can't really crush anyone...it light. . .

Rat iron gates are actually light as you said. Wrought iron gates on the other hand. . .

Postby javishm » January 6th, 2014, 11:33 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:Rat iron gates are actually light as you said. Wrought iron gates on the other hand. . .

:roll: :roll:

Postby ismithx » January 7th, 2014, 7:33 am

it doh matter how light it is....

according to physics force = mass x acceleration.

so if a light thing like that fly off and hit you with a speed..... yuh still screwed

Postby pioneer » January 7th, 2014, 9:00 am

Reactive society we live in.

Postby Sky » January 7th, 2014, 9:53 am

I don't understand why people still using ropes when ratchet slings so cheap now.

Postby zoom rader » January 7th, 2014, 12:45 pm

Sky wrote:I don't understand why people still using ropes when ratchet slings so cheap now.

Same as when ppl still using red PNM jerseys as warning for protruding objects on pickups and trucks