Tim says vacation cut for students & teachers

Re: Tim says vacation cut for students & teachers

Postby pioneer » January 7th, 2014, 10:31 pm

If is one thing public servants play out to death is the sick role.

That or their child sick.

People sick in their minds to be calling sickness on their child. Especially when they have zero proof of it.

Doctors are always willing to give sick leave to patients yet these people fail to provide any.

I see it every day.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » January 7th, 2014, 10:36 pm

pioneer wrote:Extensive sick leave - do they provide proof of their condition?

Or jus say - "I de sick so I de stay home *cough cough*"

They are very strict about this, you have to get a letter from a DMO etc. exceeded my sickleave when I was in an accident... people generally don't exceed this leave unless something MAJOR happens, -cancer, heart attack, surgery, accident etc.

The people that exceed the casual leave (1 in 33 teachers) are real slack, and deserve disciplinary action.

As for risking your life... if you teach in a "high-risk" school (most government schools) you are at risk practically every day, danger is all around you, every term we have a few stabbings etc. Sadly i expect that this year we will see a school shooting somewhere in Trinidad.

Postby pioneer » January 7th, 2014, 10:42 pm

Teachers agreed to those conditions the moment they applied to teach.

Same with police, next ting police say dem eh gonna patrol nelson st cuz it dangerous to their health.

People need to man up in this country.

If you think your life under threat, resign and find a next job.

Dunno bout tha DMO ting, we usually accept a note from a GP or hospital.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » January 7th, 2014, 10:46 pm

pioneer wrote:Teachers agreed to those conditions the moment they applied to teach.

Same with police, next ting police say dem eh gonna patrol nelson st cuz it dangerous to their health.

I knew the risk (well didn't think it was this bad) when I took the job.

I only pointed it out because a tuner bump his gum and said we don't have a risky job

Note from a GP? Your employers born yesterday?

Postby pioneer » January 7th, 2014, 10:48 pm

Public servants...yuh can't push em too hard...dey run to union demandin jostiss

I usually call the GP to verify doh

ingalook

Postby ingalook » January 7th, 2014, 10:51 pm

I wonder if the minister is really serious about education, 6 weeks into last term there were 10+ schools that had not opened yet because the MOE was sluggish with repairs... apparently the vacation not currently long enough for them to do basic upkeep...

ingalook

Postby ingalook » January 7th, 2014, 10:59 pm

Practically ever tuner must know a GP who can "verify" for them.

The DMO on the other hand, seem real dread- de man watching me like I trying to pull one over on him even though my foot swell up big big form surgery when I hand him the note from my specialist.

Postby De Dragon » January 7th, 2014, 11:03 pm

ingalook wrote:
pioneer wrote:Teachers agreed to those conditions the moment they applied to teach.

I only pointed it out because a tuner bump his gum and said we don't have a risky job

And exactly how many teachers were stabbed/shot last year? Boy go up de road wit yuh short sleeve wearing, 5 CXC having cyah find no odder wuk, low risk arse nuh!

Postby pioneer » January 7th, 2014, 11:16 pm

lol hahahahaha oh goar!

TOYOTAGirlz

Postby TOYOTAGirlz » January 8th, 2014, 1:56 am

Redman wrote:More time in school for teachers to get paid and not show up.

Lets fix what we have first before we start throwing ideas at a problem.

If I send my child to school how is the Ministry guaranteeing me that my child will be taught for the agreed to time??

lest talk about the vast populous in schools all across trinidad and tobago the children cannot read or write. they carry knives, assault teachers throw parties in empty classes.

There are teachers all over who are nothing but glorified babysitters, if u took those teachers and out them in classes with students who are of a secondary school level then yea your child would more than get agreed face to face with teacher.

This is the cancer eating away at our society and no one even realises, my wife is a teacher at a school that has all its students from high crime areas, out of 1200 students 80% CANNOT READ OR WRITE.

They write rubbish that makes zero sense, i have seen her papers where a child wrote home as PLONE trinidad has failed its youth so badly.

TOYOTAGirlz

Postby TOYOTAGirlz » January 8th, 2014, 2:00 am

ingalook wrote:
pioneer wrote:Extensive sick leave - do they provide proof of their condition?

Or jus say - "I de sick so I de stay home *cough cough*"

They are very strict about this, you have to get a letter from a DMO etc. exceeded my sickleave when I was in an accident... people generally don't exceed this leave unless something MAJOR happens, -cancer, heart attack, surgery, accident etc.

The people that exceed the casual leave (1 in 33 teachers) are real slack, and deserve disciplinary action.

As for risking your life... if you teach in a "high-risk" school (most government schools) you are at risk practically every day, danger is all around you, every term we have a few stabbings etc. Sadly i expect that this year we will see a school shooting somewhere in Trinidad.

its a stats games for the goverment like any other they play with eg crime

a buncha sheit talk about every child has a education, they get no education. So what is to become to tnt when in 10 years the school system has churned out a population who have zero skills and even further down the line when oil runs out and there is no money to trickle down.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » January 8th, 2014, 2:03 am

ingalook wrote:

And exactly how many teachers were stabbed/shot last year? Boy go up de road wit yuh short sleeve wearing, 5 CXC having cyah find no odder wuk, low risk arse nuh!

You will not most likely not hear about instances of assault against teachers by students, its just the way things are... keeping up appearances and all that, in the last week of school last term our VP got a HARD slap from a FORM 3 student, knock off de man glasses and swell up he face... had to take it or loss he wuk...

I myself have been cut parting a fight, I eh call TV6... that is just they way things have become, and what we have to deal with...

We have had to watch students get stabbed right outside our staff-room door, 2 terms ago a student ran into the staff-room bleeding from a stab-wound and was pursued by a gang of students armed to the teeth, God alone knows how no-one was more seriously injured in that altercation... a staff member was told later by one of the "not-so-bad" ones that indeed we were really lucky because a suspicious bag that one of the gang seemed very attached to -concealed a gun.

You seem very angry that no teachers were killed last year, I am not sure what teachers did to you in the past, but I would encourage you to make a report about said teacher/s... perhaps it will give you the closure you so desperately need

But until you get that over with - feel free to bump your gums :roll:

Postby De Dragon » January 8th, 2014, 2:37 am

ingalook wrote:

You will not most likely not hear about instances of assault against teachers by students, its just the way things are... keeping up appearances and all that, in the last week of school last term our VP got a HARD slap from a FORM 3 student, knock off de man glasses and swell up he face... had to take it or loss he wuk...

I myself have been cut parting a fight, I eh call TV6... that is just they way things have become, and what we have to deal with...

We have had to watch students get stabbed right outside our staff-room door, 2 terms ago a student ran into the staff-room bleeding from a stab-wound and was pursued by a gang of students armed to the teeth, God alone knows how no-one was more seriously injured in that altercation... a staff member was told later by one of the "not-so-bad" ones that indeed we were really lucky because a suspicious bag that one of the gang seemed very attached to -concealed a gun.

You seem very angry that no teachers were killed last year, I am not sure what teachers did to you in the past, but I would encourage you to make a report about said teacher/s... perhaps it will give you the closure you so desperately need

Now how in de name ah fack almighty yuh come up wit' dat conclusion? The simple fact is that not one teacher died in the performance of their job, so by the very definition, your job is LOW RISK!. You and bluefete seem intent on portraying your job as uber stressful/risky to justify apathy and abuse of time off/sick leave by some of your colleagues. Just today NIOSH released the top 10 most stressful jobs in America and guess what?

"Give the man a prize Johnny!" teaching eh dey! :lol: So again, relax wit' yuh low risk, holiday filled wuk and go work on ah syllabus or summin.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » January 8th, 2014, 3:13 am

ingalook wrote:

Now how in de name ah fack almighty yuh come up wit' dat conclusion? The simple fact is that not one teacher died in the performance of their job, so by the very definition, your job is LOW RISK!. You and bluefete seem intent on portraying your job as uber stressful/risky to justify apathy and abuse of time off/sick leave by some of your colleagues. Just today NIOSH released the top 10 most stressful jobs in America and guess what?

"Give the man a prize Johnny!" teaching eh dey! :lol: So again, relax wit' yuh low risk, holiday filled wuk and go work on ah syllabus or summin.

No teacher died in performance of their job? Again you sound quite upset... Show us on the doll where Sir touched you :shock:

Postby De Dragon » January 8th, 2014, 5:42 am

ingalook wrote:

No teacher died in performance of their job? Again you sound quite upset... Show us on the doll where Sir touched you :shock:

Anyhoo, laterz, lemme go and get ready for meh high risk job while you iron yuh Van Heusens..............

Postby pete » January 8th, 2014, 7:31 am

^^ In your "high risk job" how many people died in Trinidad last year?

Postby X_Factor » January 8th, 2014, 7:46 am

thats the thing, i dont see teaching as a high risk job, there might be a few schools with serious problems but generally teaching is more of a stressful job than high risk (As in to loose your life or become seriously incapacitated)

Postby pugboy » January 8th, 2014, 8:03 am

high risk doesn't necessarily mean risk of murder etc

I have a friend who is a teacher in Diego Martin north, previously junior sec I think.

Students passing near a classroom and throwing scratch bombs in whilst class going on with a teacher present is a normal thing
that is a typical example of what a teacher there is exposed to on a daily basis

TOYOTAGirlz

Postby TOYOTAGirlz » January 8th, 2014, 8:48 am

are u stupid just cause no one has died dosent mean the risk isnt high. The teachers are out numbered alot come from none violent areas or are women my wife has been sexually assaulted 3 times, what job in the world u can have another person out there hand down your crotch and not sue them.

She has been assaulted with pens bruised with balled up foil so its heavy and hard like rock, a hitman from laventille came and threatened her to leave his son alone and dont tell him anything, they have found knives cutlass every illegal drug, there is prostitution and even some children have aids and are sexuaLLY ACTIVE within the school.

If u are within the police force u are equiped with tools for your trade, guns weapons to defend yourself, same goes with firemen or any HIGH risk job, what does a teacher have 2 MTS security by a booth and a safety officer.

I am highly disgusted by the state of affairs in our country and school system especially cause my wife has to brave these little animals on a daily basis and i know 3/4 of the time she holds back stuff from me.

A teacher is not supposed to fear for his or her life, it makes the job impossible that and the fact so many CANNOT READ OR WRITE, what is a teacher to do, but be objectified insulted injured when all she thought was maby she could teach and help kids ?

Postby zoom rader » January 8th, 2014, 9:19 am

pugboy wrote:high risk doesn't necessarily mean risk of murder etc

I have a friend who is a teacher in Diego Martin north, previously junior sec I think.

Students passing near a classroom and throwing scratch bombs in whilst class going on with a teacher present is a normal thing
that is a typical example of what a teacher there is exposed to on a daily basis

Well just look at the area, you have to expect this.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » January 8th, 2014, 10:55 am

How many firemen died on the job last year? How many in the last 10 years??? Watch them and tell them their job isn't high-risk nah!

Certainly we are not always directly in harm's way like those in these protective services, but if an officer is assaulted (even by a minor) they are allowed/expected to retaliate... if a teacher is slapped/hit with a piece of wood/felt-up/spit upon they CANNOT retaliate - WE WILL LOSE OUR JOBS!

If you have the misfortune to be placed in a "high-risk" school as identified by the ministry you receive no more than your colleagues in those considered "low-risk" that is just a hard-luck.

As mentioned before, we are without the means to protect ourselves, how did we get here? Didn't all these ministers reach where they are today because teachers instilled discipline in them... I am sure nearly all of them get a good cut-tail at some point in their school career and it set them straight.

However, "black people children" don't deserve the same level of education they were exposed to, they move children like cattle through the system, with little regard for quality of education - so they can beat their collective chests and say from the mountain tops: "EDUCATION FOR ALL!!!"

Postby pete » January 8th, 2014, 11:07 am

So what is your union doing about this? Surely THAT is the kinda crap they should be dealing with, meeting with ministry officials about etc etc. The amount of holidays has nothing to do with unsafe working conditions, it doesn't make it better.

You say that you can't do anything, if that does happen what is the procedure? Do you go to the Dean/principal/whoever and write a report? What happens after that, they don't have things like detention, suspension and expulsion any more?

ingalook

Postby ingalook » January 8th, 2014, 12:10 pm

All those things are well "after the fact", if you know a bit about psychology you would know that the punishment must follow the wrongful act, not after there is a 2 week long investigation asking the student crap like "so what Miss was wearing that made you want to feel her up?"

Postby pete » January 8th, 2014, 12:25 pm

No detention in public schools either? Honestly I've been out of secondary school for 14 years and I didn't go to a "Sec" so I don't know how things are in there now. I could see how without those minor disciplinary actions we had things could spiral out of control.

Sorta things we had (not counting corporal punishment)

Talking during class and disturbing people around you - 2 page essay on some random sheit, had to be done during lunch hour and made you go research in the library. Learned valuable methods of finding the appropriate information and writing fast.
Detention was either go and sweep up an area of the school and finish in an hour or sit down in silence for two hours.

I'm not sure if teachers would give essays. Usually was the Deans who passed around from time to time checking on the classes.

Postby pioneer » January 8th, 2014, 1:48 pm

So what's the consensus...high risk or no risk?

LOL@ van heusens...dressing teachers since 1970

Anna J

Postby Anna J » January 8th, 2014, 1:58 pm

I am not defending all teachers because while there are the hard working ones, I have already been exposed to the fücking lazy ones who always reach late and leave early, missing half of the time, always claiming to be busy, not even aiming to finish syllabus on time, making other teachers do their work for them, filling their lunch bag with 'box-lunch' to feed their 'dogs' and still collecting their normal salary.

With regards to the crime in schools, an effective solution would be to put ALL the current police officers in all secondary schools ('no vehicle' excuse would be void since they will already be at the scene) and bring in foreigners to replace them.

Kill 2 birds with one stone.
Last edited by Anna J on January 8th, 2014, 2:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » January 8th, 2014, 2:05 pm

TOYOTAGirlz wrote:are u stupid just cause no one has died dosent mean the risk isnt high. The teachers are out numbered alot come from none violent areas or are women my wife has been sexually assaulted 3 times, what job in the world u can have another person out there hand down your crotch and not sue them.

She has been assaulted with pens bruised with balled up foil so its heavy and hard like rock, a hitman from laventille came and threatened her to leave his son alone and dont tell him anything, they have found knives cutlass every illegal drug, there is prostitution and even some children have aids and are sexuaLLY ACTIVE within the school.

If u are within the police force u are equiped with tools for your trade, guns weapons to defend yourself, same goes with firemen or any HIGH risk job, what does a teacher have 2 MTS security by a booth and a safety officer.

I am highly disgusted by the state of affairs in our country and school system especially cause my wife has to brave these little animals on a daily basis and i know 3/4 of the time she holds back stuff from me.

A teacher is not supposed to fear for his or her life, it makes the job impossible that and the fact so many CANNOT READ OR WRITE, what is a teacher to do, but be objectified insulted injured when all she thought was maby she could teach and help kids ?

THIS!!! People out there don't understand that a teacher has nothing in their arsenal to deal with delinquent/violent students. Just "TALK" and that's it. The students and their parents know this and take full advantage of it. Teachers enter the system to help children and the system does not cater for this, in a matter of fact I strongly believe that our education system is designed to minimize those who do well and can move on to tertiary and maximize those who don't. This is just another failed minister trying to "make a change" before he gets out. Sadly the teachers are the scapegoat and ppl accept that............the system is perfect.

Postby pioneer » January 8th, 2014, 2:17 pm

I find teachers does scrunt more than civil servants, doh mind their salary is almost double.

Why is that?

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » January 8th, 2014, 4:21 pm

pioneer wrote:I find teachers does scrunt more than civil servants, doh mind their salary is almost double.

Why is that?

Seems like you running away from the topic you started.
A little A.D.D. kicking in!

Postby S_2NR » January 8th, 2014, 4:31 pm

WOW. didnt know all that went on in secondary schools.
when i was in high school, we was more afraid of teachers and dean than anything. nobody wanted to get their parents called in or suspended. because you know when you go home you in sheit and we actually cared about our record. a tainted record would affect you when applying for college.
but that is a prestige school. maybe allyu should leave all these "high risk" 5 year schools to teach and run themselves if its that bad.

i know when i was that age, even i couldnt stand unruly junior sec children in lessons. they had no behaviour or respect.