Discussion: LCD/LED/OLED 4k 8K UHD HDR TV Tech

ziggy_dappa

Re: Discussion: LCD/LED/4k Ultra TV Tech

Postby ziggy_dappa » January 6th, 2015, 4:02 pm

The project is still in progress. Hoping to get a sheet of 8'x5' mdf this week to make the screen. So far I have just tested it on the wall and even then the picture quality is great at 1080p. My media would be from different sources either netflix through a chromecast, plex for downloaded media, blu ray and am considering getting an android box for xbmc..
As for the audio I haven't bought speakers yet so will be using some from a pioneer htib on the denon until I buy the good stuff..
I will try to post a vid later of how it looks on a crappy plastered wall.

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » April 1st, 2015, 6:15 am

Looking again at a new TV BUT opting for between 65 - 75 inch screen. Brands considered now are Toshiba first option , Samsung 2nd and Sharp Aquos 3rd ( not a sony fan )

Undecided between bigger screen and or better quality ( 4k ) because we only get 480i cable feed locally which would limit my 4k experience to movies on dvd / blu ray player ONLY ?

Should I opt for the Samsung 75 smart with and or without 4k, Toshiba smart 4k ( personally love this brand ) or the Aquos 70 smart 4k ? LG has a magic remote which seems interesting but not a fan of their brand.

Saw the Samsung 75 inch at courts megastore and.......WOW

What are your views regarding same ?

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » April 11th, 2015, 10:57 pm

guys.. for the 46-55inch tv. viewing distance about 6-10feet max. what you all think is best?.. an OLED screen or 4K screen? (can't afford both OLED AND 4K together :lol:)

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 11th, 2015, 11:15 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:guys.. for the 46-55inch tv. viewing distance about 6-10feet max. what you all think is best?.. an OLED screen or 4K screen? (can't afford both OLED AND 4K together :lol:)
firstly OLED is a panel technology and 4K is a resolution. OLED will give deeper blacks and better colours. 4K will give better resolution and pixel density. Almost every 1080p OLED TV will show fantastic, but you can find many 4K Tv's that have terrible washed out images and A LOT of them run at only 30Hz.

THX suggests the viewing distance for 1080p is .84 times the size of your screen, so a 65" TV divided by .84 equals a 77-inch viewing distance (6.5 feet).

4K however suggests that a seating distance of around 1.5x screen height is optimal for viewing 4k and even 8k content. So a 60" 4K TV should be viewed 6 feet away and if you are viewing from 10 feet away then you should have a 100" 4K TV or projector.

scotty_buttons

Discussion: LCD/LED/4k Ultra TV Tech

Postby scotty_buttons » April 11th, 2015, 11:34 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:guys.. for the 46-55inch tv. viewing distance about 6-10feet max. what you all think is best?.. an OLED screen or 4K screen? (can't afford both OLED AND 4K together :lol:)
firstly OLED is a panel technology and 4K is a resolution. OLED will give deeper blacks and better colours. 4K will give better resolution and pixel density. Almost every 1080p OLED TV will show fantastic, but you can find many 4K Tv's that have terrible washed out images and A LOT of them run at only 30Hz.

THX suggests the viewing distance for 1080p is .84 times the size of your screen, so a 65" TV divided by .84 equals a 77-inch viewing distance (6.5 feet).

4K however suggests that a seating distance of around 1.5x screen height is optimal for viewing 4k and even 8k content. So a 60" 4K TV should be viewed 6 feet away and if you are viewing from 10 feet away then you should have a 100" 4K TV or projector.

I'm familiar with the difference between 4K and OLED tech though.. But realized my phrasing of the question was misleading.. My bad.
Thing is..
You won't see the difference of a 55inch OLED 1080p vs an LED 4K at 6ft anyway. You need to have at least a 60inch 4K tv to appreciate that resolution at 6 feet as you said that thx recommended. And thinking of it, don't really need 4K to be honest.

I used these recommendations for 1080p

THX
Screen Size Recommended Range
35" 3.5' – 5.0' (1.0 – 1.5 m)
40" 4.0' – 6.0' (1.2 – 1.8 m)
50" 5' – 7.5' (1.5 – 2.2 m)
60" 6.0' – 9.0' (1.8 – 2.7 m)

So given the screen is 55inches, I was just wondering which would look better at 6feet (most times)...
But I'm leaning towards the OLED 1080p rather than a LED 4K.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 11th, 2015, 11:43 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:I'm familiar with the difference between 4K and OLED tech though..
from your posts it still doesn't seem so! :P

at 6 feet the one with the better picture quality would look better!

what I'm saying is that you can have 4K but crappy picture quality, and you can have OLED and crappy resolution - both can look crappy 6 feet away!

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » April 11th, 2015, 11:59 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:I'm familiar with the difference between 4K and OLED tech though..

what I'm saying is that you can have 4K but crappy picture quality, and you can have OLED and crappy resolution - both can look crappy 6 feet away!

Well that doesn't help much..
I'm not sure what u mean by 'picture quality' though.. In terms of the source of viewing content? (All source content used would be HD) Or you mean quality as in individual "performance" of the tv that varies with different brands and models? I actually was looking at the LG 55inch OLED ec9300. Dunno if you know of it. But I don't really fancy them curved screen business.

And I don't know what posts u speak of eh. -_-
Or at least to make u think Iz ah TV tech bobolee

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 12th, 2015, 12:21 am

scotty_buttons wrote:

I'm not sure what u mean by 'picture quality' though.. In terms of the source of viewing content? (All source content used would be HD) Or you mean quality as in individual "performance" of the tv that varies with different brands and models? I actually was looking at the LG 55inch OLED ec9300. Dunno if you know of it. But I don't really fancy them curved screen business.

HD is a resolution of 720p or 1080p. 4K is a resolution of 2160p. So using HD content on a 4K screen will require an upscaler.

Picture quality: lets say you go out and buy a 4K screen, yes it is 2160p but it's LED edge lit with a cheap panel runs at only 30Hz. The picture quality will look washed out, black levels will not be as deep, resulting in poor contrast ratios, whites and lighted areas will wash out into the darker areas. And to top it off unless you are watching content at 24fps, pans and action will appear to judder at 30Hz.

an OLED TV would have great colour, great contrast ratios, deep black levels because those things do not affect plasma and OLED the way it does LED and TFT. However 55" 1080p at 6 feet you may still see the pixels and may need to move further back. Plus it will not be as good as the higher pixel density of 2160p / 4K.

Cliff notes: You are comparing apples to oranges.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » April 12th, 2015, 12:34 am

scotty_buttons wrote:

HD is a resolution of 720p or 1080p. 4K is a resolution of 2160p. So using HD content on a 4K screen will require an upscaler.

Picture quality: lets say you go out and buy a 4K screen, yes it is 2160p but it's LED edge lit with a cheap panel runs at only 30Hz. The picture quality will look washed out, black levels will not be as deep, resulting in poor contrast ratios, whites and lighted areas will wash out into the darker areas. And to top it off unless you are watching content at 24fps, pans and action will appear to judder at 30Hz.

an OLED TV would have great colour, great contrast ratios, deep black levels because those things do not affect plasma and OLED the way it does LED and TFT. However 55" 1080p at 6 feet you may still see the pixels and may need to move further back. Plus it will not be as good as the higher pixel density of 2160p / 4K.

Cliff notes: You are comparing apples to oranges.

Ahhh... Well makes some more sense now.. I was always of the notion that the 4K resolution of a normal LED (being up scaled or not and at the recommended viewing distance) would have somehow 'balanced' out the quality benefits or more specifically, contrast and colour benefits of an OLED or plasma, at the same distance. But they are in fact two totally different things and can't be compared in that way. That's what I was doing wrong. And totally forgot the importance of refresh rates in terms of watching fast paced stuff! Heh

Thanks!

Think I've made up my mind on an OLED 1080p TV. Just to decide on which one now..

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 12th, 2015, 12:37 am

simp/licity

Postby simp/licity » April 12th, 2015, 3:18 am

To b honest in terms of cable it is crap cause it cant provide for the tv the required mega pixles neither from cable it cant suport the streaming is to slow even with 10mbps it still freezes up on net flixs in bluray its very amazing picture ! Hope u find this help full and dont make my mistake and every time u watchin tv yuh just want ah hammer ot ah old tv to watch cause trinidad to dam backeards in tech. Its nice but ah waste at this time.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 12th, 2015, 11:38 am

simp/licity wrote:To b honest in terms of cable it is crap cause it cant provide for the tv the required mega pixles neither from cable it cant suport the streaming is to slow even with 10mbps it still freezes up on net flixs in bluray its very amazing picture ! Hope u find this help full and dont make my mistake and every time u watchin tv yuh just want ah hammer ot ah old tv to watch cause trinidad to dam backeards in tech. Its nice but ah waste at this time.
are you talking about owning a 4K TV?

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » April 13th, 2015, 5:15 am

2 questions ppl

1. Does it make sense owing a 4k TV locally ( unless you have direct TV HD or cable HD or watch a lot of Blu Ray movies )

2. Anyone owns a Samsung 75 inch here like the one in courts mega store ? Reviews on quality and overall performance ?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 13th, 2015, 9:21 am

Premchand1976 wrote:2 questions ppl

1. Does it make sense owing a 4k TV locally ( unless you have direct TV HD or cable HD or watch a lot of Blu Ray movies )

2. Anyone owns a Samsung 75 inch here like the one in courts mega store ? Reviews on quality and overall performance ?
the proper setup should route everything through a receiver with an upscaler to match your TV. If you have a 4K TV then get a receiver with a good 4K upscaler. This will upscale 480, 720 or 1080 content to 2160 which is 4K. TVs usually have upscalers in them but they are usually no where near as good as the ones in the receivers.

Remember though: garbage in garbage out. If the picture going into the receiver is crap then you will get 4k crap on the other side.

Advent

Postby Advent » April 13th, 2015, 11:38 am

the proper setup should route everything through a receiver with an upscaler to match your TV. If you have a 4K TV then get a receiver with a good 4K upscaler. This will upscale 480, 720 or 1080 content to 2160 which is 4K. TVs usually have upscalers in them but they are usually no where near as good as the ones in the receivers.

Remember though: garbage in garbage out. If the picture going into the receiver is crap then you will get 4k crap on the other side.

good info, just that all tv's have upscalers

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 13th, 2015, 12:13 pm

Advent wrote:

yes they do, however the upconverting processors in some receivers and bluray players are far superior to those that come in TVs

Take Marvell QDEO processors in Onkyo and many other newer receivers
http://www.marvell.com/digital-entertainment/qdeo/

Or Pioneer receivers that use Anchor Bay upscaling processors or the Oppo bluray players that use the SI VRS ClearView processor which can output 4K video at a 50Hz or 60Hz over HDMI 1.4a using the new YCbCr 4:2:0 color space used in HDMI 2.0, this will make 4K upscaling better for content that's not originated from a 24Hz film (most movies are done at 24fps)

Advent

Postby Advent » April 13th, 2015, 12:36 pm

Advent wrote:

yes they do, however the upconverting processors in some receivers and bluray players are far superior to those that come in TVs

Take Marvell QDEO processors in Onkyo and many other newer receivers
http://www.marvell.com/digital-entertainment/qdeo/

Or Pioneer receivers that use Anchor Bay upscaling processors or the Oppo bluray players that use the SI VRS ClearView processor which can output 4K video at a 50Hz or 60Hz over HDMI 1.4a using the new YCbCr 4:2:0 color space used in HDMI 2.0, this will make 4K upscaling better for content that's not originated from a 24Hz film (most movies are done at 24fps)

definitely, i think sony tvs have great upscalers built in as well, but i would not jump to 4k right now though

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 13th, 2015, 1:35 pm

Advent wrote:definitely, i think sony tvs have great upscalers built in as well, but i would not jump to 4k right now though
yup the same as in their receivers

The XBR-X900B has fantastic picture quality but it's very expensive and the speakers on the side are tacky

I have a 5K monitor on my main computer and it is awesome. I find it super useful and definitely worth it for what I do and even for a simple task as reading. I cannot go back to anything lower.

On the Tv side though i can appreciate the picture improvement on a 4K screen but my biggest concern is not the content availability as a lot of people claim, but rather the built in technology supporting devices. 4K TV's and 4K players that use HDMI 1.4 can only support 4096×2160 at 24 Hz at 8 bit colour, no higher. The TV may be able to use tricks to show faster frame rates but it won't look as smooth.
Newer devices and TV's should have HDMI 2.0a to support 4096×2160 at 60 frames and high dynamic range colour depths of 10 bit and up. A lot of devices have "HDMI 2.0 Compatible" but when you check it's a HDMI 1.4 processor with the expectation that you can upgrade via firmware for the device.

There is also the issue of HDCP 2.2. This will be required in future devices (TV's, receivers and players) to support un-pirated 4K content the same way HDCP does it for bluray and 1080p now. If you buy a device now without HDCP 2.2, a few years from now you try to play a 4K bluray and it won't let you. Silly yes, but it's an issue.

Advent

Postby Advent » April 13th, 2015, 1:42 pm

Advent wrote:definitely, i think sony tvs have great upscalers built in as well, but i would not jump to 4k right now though

The XBR-X900B has fantastic picture quality but it's very expensive and the speakers on the side are tacky

I have a 5K monitor on my main computer and it is awesome. I find it super useful and definitely worth it for what I do and even for a simple task as reading. I cannot go back to anything lower.

On the Tv side though i can appreciate the picture improvement on a 4K screen but my biggest concern is not the content availability as a lot of people claim, but rather the built in technology supporting devices. 4K TV's and 4K players that use HDMI 1.4 can only support 4096×2160 at 24 Hz at 8 bit colour, no higher. The TV may be able to use tricks to show faster frame rates but it won't look as smooth.
Newer devices and TV's should have HDMI 2.0a to support 4096×2160 at 60 frames and high dynamic range colour depths of 10 bit and up. A lot of devices have "HDMI 2.0 Compatible" but when you check it's a HDMI 1.4 processor with the expectation that you can upgrade via firmware for the device.

There is also the issue of HDCP 2.2. This will be required in future devices (TV's, receivers and players) to support un-pirated 4K content the same way HDCP does it for bluray and 1080p now. If you buy a device now without HDCP 2.2, a few years from now you try to play a 4K bluray and it won't let you. Silly yes, but it's an issue.

i does advise people, if yuh going 4k go 60fps or buy a projector and cool it till oled 4k tvs come out and drop in price, and given that next gen blu rays are not backward commpatible, i would just settle with a oled 1080p panel.

You bring up a good point with the new color system as well.
im still rocking a 720p theater projector, but blu rays are my source and its awesome, people forget sound is a huge part of tvs as well, add a 1000watt htib and be blown away with the higher bit rate dts or dolby track, or get a new reciever and enjoy master audio :D

Postby sMASH » April 13th, 2015, 2:15 pm

Nice info thus far.

But brahmin, what if one were to use a pc as the video source unit? I am seeing 4k tv's getting cheaper by the month. They say 120Hz refresh rate (btw, is hat the same as fps), and my pc can generate a high fps.
I am thinking of its suitability for gaming.
If it is actually hdmi2 as they adverise, am I right to presume I can get 120hz video using my pc as a source unit.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » April 13th, 2015, 7:56 pm

Advent wrote:

i does advise people, if yuh going 4k go 60fps or buy a projector and cool it till oled 4k tvs come out and drop in price, and given that next gen blu rays are not backward commpatible, i would just settle with a oled 1080p panel.

You bring up a good point with the new color system as well.
im still rocking a 720p theater projector, but blu rays are my source and its awesome, people forget sound is a huge part of tvs as well, add a 1000watt htib and be blown away with the higher bit rate dts or dolby track, or get a new reciever and enjoy master audio :D

ahhh.. great minds thinks alike :D

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 13th, 2015, 8:14 pm

sMASH wrote:Nice info thus far.

But brahmin, what if one were to use a pc as the video source unit? I am seeing 4k tv's getting cheaper by the month. They say 120Hz refresh rate (btw, is hat the same as fps), and my pc can generate a high fps.
I am thinking of its suitability for gaming.
If it is actually hdmi2 as they adverise, am I right to presume I can get 120hz video using my pc as a source unit.
60 Fps is frames per second sent to your screen.
60 hz (hertz) is how many times your screen refreshes the picture per second.

Most movies are done at 24fps. That is set and you cannot adjust that. A 120Hz TV however can go down to 24Hz or 60Hz or run at 120Hz adjustable by the user. If the refresh is more than the number of frames being put out, then the video processor on the TV will have to create frames in between to make up for it. that is why watching movies at 120Hz gives that "soap opera" effect as it is making up the frames in between to compensate.

Your computer can put out high frame rates since the game you are playing is creating the content at that frame rate. What you have to find is a video card with DisplayPort 1.3 that can output 3840 x 2160 at 120fps.

HDMI 1.4 standard only has bandwidth for 4K at 30hz. HDMI 2.0 will add support for 4K at 60Hz. DisplayPort 1.2 can also only support 4K @ 60Hz using Multi-Stream Transport(MST).

Even the GeForce GTX TITAN Z still only has DisplayPort 1.2 and HDMI 2.0, so it can only support 4K at 60Hz.
You got one of those in your rig?

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » April 13th, 2015, 8:51 pm

wow guys....good info, lots of info....I forgot that I looking to buy ah tv and these makes a bit more difficult.

Question, since 120hz and 240hz refresh rates differ in price up to as much as US $ 500, is it really worth it buying a 240hz refresh rate tv ?

Also, I am thinking, I should buy a 65 instead of the 75, but with 4k capability, smart ( no 3d ) etc OR

should I buy a 65 or 75, NON -SMART, led or oled, 120 or 240hz, and get a updated receiver and a roku or other streaming device and sound system ( got a cinemate 2 and a nakamichi already )

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » April 13th, 2015, 8:55 pm

kinda loving this one from Tiger Direct for $ 1600.00

Toshiba 65" Class 2160P 240Hz 4K UHD LED Smart TV - 3840 x 2160, 240Hz, 4x HDMI Ports, 16:9 - 65L9400U

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 13th, 2015, 8:56 pm

Premchand1976 wrote:wow guys....good info, lots of info....I forgot that I looking to buy ah tv and these makes a bit more difficult.

Question, since 120hz and 240hz refresh rates differ in price up to as much as US $ 500, is it really worth it buying a 240hz refresh rate tv ?

Also, I am thinking, I should buy a 65 instead of the 75, but with 4k capability, smart ( no 3d ) etc OR

should I buy a 65 or 75, NON -SMART, led or oled, 120 or 240hz, and get a updated receiver and a roku or other streaming device and sound system ( got a cinemate 2 and a nakamichi already )
why do you think you need 120Hz or 240Hz?

IMO a receiver and speaker system is a must in any home theater.
IMO a new Roku 2 or 3 is better than the smart part of any TV

Can you get a 65 or 75 inch TV that is not smart these days?

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » April 14th, 2015, 12:39 am

Roku is a million times better than any 'smart' TV capabilities.
I also agree with Duane. Anything above 120hz is overkill. Especially if you don't plan on gaming with it. Most games at 60fps hardly ever reach full 60fps. So technically a 60hz is probably sufficient at 99% of the times.
And almost all tvs that claim more than 120hz using some fakery to simulate a higher refresh rate. Don't be fooled.

Fadakartel

Postby Fadakartel » April 14th, 2015, 7:36 am

Hey guys,

I am looking to buy a 4k oled tv for gaming on my pc the tv that I currently have in mind is the:

http://www.amazon.com/LG-Electronics-65 ... 4k+oled+tv

My main concern is warranty I do not want to have to ship the tv back to LG when something goes wrong are their any service centres in Trinidad that repairs LG tvs?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 14th, 2015, 8:58 am

Fadakartel wrote:Hey guys,

I am looking to buy a 4k oled tv for gaming on my pc the tv that I currently have in mind is the:

http://www.amazon.com/LG-Electronics-65 ... 4k+oled+tv

My main concern is warranty I do not want to have to ship the tv back to LG when something goes wrong are their any service centres in Trinidad that repairs LG tvs?
before you consider warranty, can your video card in your PC run your games at 4K at 60fps?

Advent

Postby Advent » April 14th, 2015, 9:14 am

Premchand1976 wrote:wow guys....good info, lots of info....I forgot that I looking to buy ah tv and these makes a bit more difficult.

why do you think you need 120Hz or 240Hz?

IMO a receiver and speaker system is a must in any home theater.
IMO a new Roku 2 or 3 is better than the smart part of any TV

Can you get a 65 or 75 inch TV that is not smart these days?

Duane , what you think about the soap opera effect ?

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » April 14th, 2015, 9:53 am

'The cost for 4K UHD TV is going way down. Thanks to Vizio.'

http://www.engadget.com/2015/04/13/vizi ... d=rss_full