Police shoot at civilian car yesterday (video)

redman24

Re: Police shoot at civilian car yesterday (video)

Postby redman24 » January 28th, 2015, 8:16 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
star scream wrote:Most likely the escort would have been MOPS

officers who did the shooting were not MOPS...that's not their uniform...I'm very sure MOPS men were in the black vans.

You are correct they were not MOPS. but the GEB special escort team

Postby DVSTT » January 28th, 2015, 8:32 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:he feel he get superpowers and cud take bullets?

Could you imagine the headlines if he had gotten shot? Media would have had a field day.

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » January 28th, 2015, 8:43 pm

redman24 wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
star scream wrote:Most likely the escort would have been MOPS

officers who did the shooting were not MOPS...that's not their uniform...I'm very sure MOPS men were in the black vans.

You are correct they were not MOPS. but the GEB special escort team

what is MOPS?

star scream

Postby star scream » January 28th, 2015, 8:46 pm

Multi operational police squad, it's the tactical unit for special branch.

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » January 28th, 2015, 8:47 pm

thanx

konartis

Postby konartis » January 28th, 2015, 9:00 pm

star scream wrote:Multi operational police squad, it's the tactical unit for special branch.

its the most elite unit in the police service, if you see a fat police there...somthing wrong....

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » January 28th, 2015, 9:10 pm

redman24 wrote:
Soul Collector wrote:
redman24 wrote:
streetbeastINC. wrote:You all actually supporting the action of the ttps here...we are slowly becoming a police state....we cannot encourage officers to be behaving in such a manner.....

This is standard protocol for ALL official high risk/delegate escorts. In the event of a breach of the security formation or the acknowledgement of a threat/contact the offucers/operators are cleared by law to engage. The convoy must not be impeded for any reason. The driver in the car with the videographer was clearly up to something with the convoy prior to him deciding to tape, as it can be clearly seen in the vid that the engaging police vehicle dropped back from the convoy formation to firstly warn and then engage if ill intent or threat to the subject of the convoy has been percieved.

The police officers conducting these escorts are not regular 'protect & serve' or Task Force divisional police, they are from a special unit within the elite Guard & Emergency Branch (GEB) that are trained specifically as special operators by the FBI and NCIS special operations group based on US shiprider agreements with T&T for this function. They know nothing about 'arrest' and 'subdue', the only two words they know are 'engage' and 'nuetralize' any and ALL threats.

Good to know we got capable officers in that regard. I wish though that some of the others can receive training anywhere close to what these elite officers receive. Things would be a a lot different rather than sending out these untrained (although they call that "training" in the academy) into the country.

The service needs to set a standard of the type of individuals it accepts and not just take every gunta or security guard who wanna feel badup enough to slap ppl up on a wheel chair etc. The service could become a well respected one by the citizenry IMO as they too have a part to play in the picture as well, not just the police. But the officers need proper training first and foremost.

you are correct to a point, there are a lot of highly trained and motivated police officers in the service, however nepotism and the fact that senior officers create initiatives in the service to 'pull in" their unqualified friends and family to the detriment of the service and which serves to demoralize those of us who are loyal to the cause of integrity and performance.

two examples were the
1. The project 1000 SRP initiative and
2. The practice of 'ASORBTION' within the service,
this entailed the absorption and subsequent regularization of full and part time SRP's who although not having had the required educational requirements and aptitude for advanced training were still made 'regular police' because of their years of service and the need to address manpower shortage issues, this coupled with the project 1000 which saw the hiring of persons who did not have as much as a trade or school leaving certificate into the service, most of them were friends and family of high ranking officers, ministers etc. most of the instances of police impropriety involved and still involves these officers as most of them who still cant read or write properly ( apart from those who value personal development) are involved in duties which requires that they interact with the public serve tickets write charges etc.
it must be noted that the 'police' issues are not exclusive to only Trinidad, take a look at YouTube and you will see the number of instances in so called developed countries involving police officers, Police officers are simply persons with issues like everyone else, but a uniform and authority mixed with an already existing personal problem is a dangerous concoction and not to mention that the police in Trinidad engage in more direct action activities and firefights (shootouts) than soldiers, there is the possibility of PTSD (post traumatic stress syndrome) which is not being addressed for most officers by the government.
There are a myriad of other contributing factors which will make this post too long, however, these are some of my views as a serviceman.

this is in no way meant to bash or demoralize ALL SRP's. its just a statement of facts as I know it. just saying.

desire+education+willpower+planning(through gods will)=success

redman24 those are some valid points and I hear you on that. Taking what you said and sort of generalizing it a bit, you can say that's why the whole damn country is the way it is today.

Why bother wasting time and resources on the officers who have to interact with the citizenry on a daily basis when you have properly and professionally trained officers who can just drive you around all day and stand guard only for a few? Why they don't utilize those same SRPs and regular officers to serve and protect them? Hah... The type of officers you have to deal with within the service is downright disgusting to the core. I stopped doing my part-time duties years ago because it was too sickening an environment to be in.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 28th, 2015, 9:33 pm

konartis wrote:
star scream wrote:Multi operational police squad, it's the tactical unit for special branch.

its the most elite unit in the police service, if you see a fat police there...somthing wrong....

if have some big men in there...but them nigggggaz different...

imo...nuf respect for SB men...

redman24

Postby redman24 » January 28th, 2015, 9:33 pm

Sadly it is demoralizing. As a serviceman myself i have grown to despise some of my coleages and not be trusting of most.

I deal with facts. No BS in my corner

Postby rollingstock » January 28th, 2015, 10:02 pm

All police is bullas

Postby eliteauto » January 28th, 2015, 10:22 pm

ALL!!!!!!!

Postby rollingstock » January 28th, 2015, 10:23 pm

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » January 29th, 2015, 12:05 am

rollingstock wrote:All police is bullas

Did u b u l l dem all ?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 29th, 2015, 1:27 am

well done !!!!

doom on naysayers!!!!

Postby SR » January 29th, 2015, 1:08 pm

So police shoots at soca artist........... well done well done

Postby RBphoto » January 29th, 2015, 1:33 pm

rollingstock wrote:S.O.P.

I searched the thread to read this comment from this man... Fackway wid the ressahallyuh.

M@nnie

Postby M@nnie » January 29th, 2015, 1:51 pm

I love tuner ha ha :grin: never ah dull moment

Postby zoom rader » January 29th, 2015, 2:23 pm

Who care about some soca upstart, it's just noise he promotes that leads to more crime. Cops right to put shots on him.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 29th, 2015, 2:24 pm

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Ben ... lmob=y&c=n

Benjai lucky to be alive, should be charged

The Trinidad and Tobago Police Ser­vice Social and Welfare Associa­tion (TTPSSWA) is of the opinion soca artiste Benjai (Rodney Le Blanc) should be charged for his role in allegedly breaching a police escort along the Churchill-Roosevelt Highway on Sunday. According to police sources, a vehicle breached a police escort which was transporting President Anthony Carmona. As a result, offi­cers in one of the police vehicles in the escort were said to have fired shots at the vehicle, in order to bring it to a stop. Association officials, in an inter­view yesterday on i95.5fm, said based on information from enquiries they made, Le Blanc was allegedly tailing the escort service from Port of Spain, and upon reaching Aranjuez, the officers shot at the tyre of the car. According to TTPSSWA president Anand Ramesar, the officers were well within their rights to do so, and he was of the opinion an inves­tiga­tion must be launched and Le Blanc should be charged. “The association, from the onset, has been approaching this investi­gation with a lot of caution.

And from enquiries we made with our membership on what happened that particular day, we are sufficiently clear in our minds that the police would have acted correctly and would have also acted with restraint, actually, and we have taken the position that a full investigation should be conducted in this matter, with a view to laying criminal charges against those responsible...those who would have breached the secu­rity escort on that particular day,” Ramesar said. General secretary Michael Seales said the persons in the car were lucky to be alive as in other countries, those persons may have been killed for their actions. “The President of this country was being escorted at that point in time and these officers, the ones who are escorting him, are trained to shoot into the car at a chest level, in order to neutralise any targets who could potentially be a threat to the dignitary who is being escorted at that point in time,” said Seales. “So hats off to them (the police escort), I mean, these officers did breach their training protocol, but at the same time, today, the persons who may have suffered in that regard are now alive to tell the story. In other countries, in those same cir­cumstances, those persons would have been dead men. But it is fortunate that the officers did not take the hard-line approach to their training as it would have been a devastating blow to the soca industry.” At the time, Le Blanc was coming from the Soca Monarch qualifying competition at the Queen’s Park Savanna in Port of Spain. The incident was captured by a passenger in his car and uploaded to social media where it has since gone viral. At the police news briefing yesterday, public information officer Supt Joanne Archie indicated an investigation had been initiated on the report.

Postby zoom rader » January 29th, 2015, 2:27 pm

These soca men are pests

Postby dougla_boy » January 29th, 2015, 2:50 pm

u izza pest

eyeballz

Postby eyeballz » January 29th, 2015, 3:08 pm

zoom rader wrote:Who care about some soca upstart, it's just noise he promotes that leads to more crime. Cops right to put shots on him.

what song he sang that leads to more crime?

TRD12

Postby TRD12 » January 29th, 2015, 3:15 pm

What i fail to understand is, why were they video recording in the 1st place? Were they expecting to be shot at?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 29th, 2015, 3:40 pm

Lol men upset because men were recording?

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » January 29th, 2015, 3:44 pm

hope dey charge him & since he wanna move like a terrorist, all foreign embassies should revoke whatever visas he may hold.

Postby pioneer » January 29th, 2015, 3:48 pm

Agreed, he is an agent of ISIS.

Check out his muslim beard too.

Postby cinco » January 29th, 2015, 4:45 pm

Hell of a good shot to hit a Tyre at speed clap clap clap

Postby Redman » January 29th, 2015, 4:47 pm

I think it's poor judgement on everybody's part..

Stupid really

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 30th, 2015, 12:49 am

wah everybody? babylon did what they were trained to do....good judgement.

VII

Postby VII » January 30th, 2015, 1:21 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:he means that what if your pregnant wife was hit with a stray bullet OUTSIDE of the targeted vehicle though, not IN the targeted vehicle

its a fair concern, if i was driving a 50 feet behind the idiots who run up on the convoy, i could have been hit by a stray bullet as the reporter says that 2 out of 3 bullets did not hit the targeted vehicle (idk if thats true)

That was a set tri-burst,more than likely all hit the same area a few inches apart....

Serious man that..trained to the max,got some really well trained elite squads around..

Plenty 'SAUTT' men in grey still rolling in white/grey,black/champagne Fortuners,always in fours and armed to the teeth. There is also a silver Pathfinder in the same configuration that just buzzes by the PM's offices and residences whole day.
Last edited by VII on January 30th, 2015, 7:13 am, edited 1 time in total.