***The Official Rapid Rail Thread***

Re: ***The Official Rapid Rail Thread***

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 7th, 2015, 3:31 pm

A car is 24 hrs, racket rail may be operating within certain hours just like the bus services. Men still have to take taxi

^ And that is exactly what the rail need to do, operate at peak hours, the maxi taxi will operate normal because not everybody going direct from Arima to POS on mornings. So everybody go still eat ah food..

But the important thing is the days of people being stranded on mornings or evenings is coming to an end and the days of maxi taxi men illegally charging $21 to go to Pos from Arima when the fare is $7 will now come to an end.

Nobody ever complained about paying the going legal rate of a maxi or taxi. Not a single person has complained, people complain about the serious lack of transport in peak hours. Even with all the current available transport there is nowhere near enough maxi and taxi on mornings.

Then there is the HUGE issue of TRAFFIC in yuh neh nen. The rail operating free of traffic and a set of useless dotish maxi drivers stopping every 3 minutes to drop off and pick up, you have any idea what kind of dog sheit experience is that for someone traveling Arima to POS?

17 minutes to reach POS from Arima vs 3 hours in a car or maxi.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on October 7th, 2015, 3:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pete » October 7th, 2015, 3:32 pm

How they get ya to pay that $21 from Arima to POS tho?

Just curious cause if it was me when they kick me out each time I'm not paying a cent til I get to POS.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 7th, 2015, 3:36 pm

pete wrote:How they get ya to pay that $21 from Arima to POS tho?

Just curious cause if it was me when they kick me out each time I'm not paying a cent til I get to POS.

They make you pay first from Arima or if leaving POS. I guess if a maxi driver make you pay first then its a hint of what they intend to do. But most do have a pay first sign stick up.

Nobody enforces this, police turn a blind eye them fellas would do this infront the police when they reach curepe from Arima and not one word from the motorcycle cops directing traffic. But then again i saw with my own eyes men breaking red light normal infront police and they do nothing.

Since nobody can force the police to do their jobs we must solve this issue another way with a rail.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 7th, 2015, 3:37 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
A car is 24 hrs, racket rail may be operating within certain hours just like the bus services. Men still have to take taxi

^ And that is exactly what the rail need to do, operate at peak hours, the maxi taxi will operate normal because not everybody going direct from Arima to POS on mornings. So everybody go still eat ah food..

But the important thing is the days of people being stranded on mornings or evenings is coming to an end and the days of maxi taxi men illegally charging $21 to go to Pos from Arima when the fare is $7 will now come to an end.

Nobody ever complained about paying the going legal rate of a maxi or taxi. Not a single person has complained, people complain about the serious lack of transport in peak hours. Even with all the current available transport there is nowhere near enough maxi and taxi on mornings.

Then there is the HUGE issue of TRAFFIC in yuh neh nen. The rail operating free of traffic and a set of useless dotish maxi drivers stopping every 3 minutes to drop off and pick up, you have any idea what kind of dog sheit experience is that for someone traveling Arima to POS?

so how much you expecting a train ride to be?
the average train ride is Miami is $2usd which is about $12.something tt
you comfortable paying $12 from Arima to P.O.S?
you really feel you going and pay the same $6-$7?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 7th, 2015, 3:40 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

Hell yeah, $12 to get from pos to arima in 17 minutes top? vs $21 with dishonesty maxi men and 3 hours in traffic via maxi and a million stops?

Hell firetruck yeah.

PS: Its going to be cheaper than $12 because they removing the fuel subsidy and passing it onto tickets for the rail. Might be about $8, the rail would be subsidized like CAL tobago flights as Rowley has also made note he wants to remove the subsidy on the tobago flights aswell, all this will be re directed to the rail.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 7th, 2015, 4:00 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

Hell yeah, $12 to get from pos to arima in 17 minutes top? vs $21 with dishonesty maxi men and 3 hours in traffic via maxi and a million stops?

Hell firetruck yeah.

PS: Its going to be cheaper than $12 because they removing the fuel subsidy and passing it onto tickets for the rail. Might be about $8, the rail would be subsidized like CAL tobago flights as Rowley has also made note he wants to remove the subsidy on the tobago flights aswell, all this will be re directed to the rail.

you do know that there will be frequent stops from Arima to P.O.S right...........
or is there going to one particular train which goes direct? I think not

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 7th, 2015, 4:04 pm

^ if there are any stops it will be limited stop just like the current Arima Limited Stop Bus service.

There is also the all stop Arima bus where you only pay $2.50 for a ticket.

There won't be many stops at all on a train. At most it will have a stop sanjuan, Curepe, Arouca then Arima. 4 Stops is nothing to talk about on a fast rail like this. Its still 17 minutes vs 3 hours via car.

Postby Habit7 » October 7th, 2015, 4:10 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:you do know that there will be frequent stops from Arima to P.O.S right...........
or is there going to one particular train which goes direct? I think not

Please inform yourself before you criticise, you ever take a POS maxi from Arima and it only stop 4 times?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 7th, 2015, 4:15 pm

^ well look at that, only about 4 stops between POS and Arima, my guess was about right. And it stopping Trincity my goodness. Easy access for me since I in Piarco, Trincity and Piarco is kinda the same area.

People who want to drop short could just take the bus or maxi, there will be lots of room now and less traffic aswell thanks to the rail. The rapid rail should operate similar fashion to the Arima Limited Stop Bus. People who want to drop off to each point direct can just take what is called the Arima all stop or just use ah Maxi.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 7th, 2015, 4:21 pm

in retrospect..........you all know a system of this magnitude would never finish by the next election.

then you all speak of removing gas subsidies.......wouldn't that be unfair to those who have to commute where the train does not run..for instance

Grande-Toco
Grade-Manzan
Manzan -Mayaro

and the list continues..

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 7th, 2015, 4:24 pm

^ the rail is going as far as Toco and possibly beyond, Dr Rowley spoke of this during the election regarding the port in Toco and the Rail.

They intend to cover as much of Trinidad as possible with the rail, this rail is the solution to what needs to be addressed first which is efficient public transport. A vehicle should be luxury not a necessity, to do that you need proper high speed public transport otherwise a car remains a necessity.

And how long you expect the government to subsidize our gasoline now? I swear we trinis love freeness.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on October 7th, 2015, 4:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 7th, 2015, 4:25 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:in retrospect..........you all know a system of this magnitude would never finish by the next election.

then you all speak of removing gas subsidies.......wouldn't that be unfair to those who have to commute where the train does not run..for instance

Grande-Toco
Grade-Manzan
Manzan -Mayaro

and the list continues..

But a subsidy is not a right..its a perk which can be removed at any time. Once there is no subsidy then everyone who drives is on a fair footing. Those who living far away can exercise choice to move to areas where transport is easier.

Postby Habit7 » October 7th, 2015, 4:30 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:in retrospect..........you all know a system of this magnitude would never finish by the next election.

Grande-Toco
Grade-Manzan
Manzan -Mayaro

and the list continues..

Well Pt Fortin hway started under the PNM, continued under the UNC and will be completed by the PNM. Who cares that it wouldn't finish in 5 years? When in years to come we are paying 5,6,7 B$ in fuel subsidy and our roads are gridlocked, the cry would be why we didnt do it sooner.

For rural areas there is always bus transport as there is now. But for the large transport corridors, mass transit is the way to go.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 7th, 2015, 4:32 pm

But a subsidy is not a right..its a perk which can be removed at any time. Once there is no subsidy then everyone who drives is on a fair footing. Those who living far away can exercise choice to move to areas where transport is easier.

Well said, and I think diverting fuel subsidy onto the railway is the better choice as Imbert said, I think the fuel subsidy for the most part benefits only people who owns a vehicle. The railway subsidy benefits every single person in the country as anyone can legally use the rail since its public.

We have too much money in this country to continue down this path of 3rd world transport. Its been a long time coming that Trini needs a rapid rail. Its a 4000 square KM country with more than a million people. Removing fuel subsidy will also encourage people to use the rail and avoid using their car. Therefore reducing traffic significantly.

When man have to pay the correct price for fuel especially when oil prices go back up they will be more likely to utilize the rail more often.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 7th, 2015, 4:35 pm

Habit7 wrote:Well Pt Fortin hway started under the PNM, continued under the UNC and will be completed by the PNM. Who cares that it wouldn't finish in 5 years? When in years to come we are paying 5,6,7 B$ in fuel subsidy and our roads are gridlocked, the cry would be why we didnt do it sooner.

For rural areas there is always bus transport as there is now. But for the large transport corridors, mass transit is the way to go.

People act like railways are built overnight as if thats even possible anywhere in the world. Countries spend many years building a railway, the benefits are long term.

The good thing about the rail is it will ease up pressure on the bus service, now they would actually have available buses to send to rural areas. Look how many broken down Volvo buses in City Gate abandoned now, they are overworked, the Engineers have said so for a long time now. We need mass transit.

Postby mero » October 7th, 2015, 5:03 pm

ED, up to now you eh explain how a maxi from arima to POS is $21 one way especially during rush hour. Furthermore getting a known cheapskate like yourself to pay it.

Stop lying please.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 7th, 2015, 5:25 pm

fck...wham to sando-mayaro????steups

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 7th, 2015, 5:32 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:fck...wham to sando-mayaro????steups

you're gona make the drive while paying about $500 to fill ur gas tank

Postby The_Honourable » October 7th, 2015, 6:22 pm

Look at what i've found :)
25722_105312769510470_7794697_n.jpg
25722_105312769510470_7794697_n.jpg (42.46 KiB) Viewed 3606 times
25722_105313296177084_7770277_n.jpg
25722_105313296177084_7770277_n.jpg (37.95 KiB) Viewed 3606 times
jb-trinitrain-1-1.jpg
jb-trinitrain-2.jpg
jb-trinitrain-3.jpg
jb-trinitrain-4.jpg
jb-trinitrain-5.jpg
jb-trinitrain-6.jpg

Postby The_Honourable » October 7th, 2015, 6:23 pm

More 8-)
jb-trinitrain-7.jpg
jb-trinitrain-8.jpg
jb-trinitrain-9.jpg
jb-trinitrain-10.jpg
jb-trinitrain-11.jpg
jb-trinitrain-12.jpg
jb-trinitrain-13.jpg
Trinitrain_Floating_Logo.jpg

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 7th, 2015, 6:23 pm

wonder if kublalsingh might try to block the progress of that.....lol

~Vēġó~ wrote:fck...wham to sando-mayaro????steups

you're gona make the drive while paying about $500 to fill ur gas tank

I doh care about gas price....I care about the quality of the road and de time wasted in blasted gridlocked traffic miles upon miles before reaching p'town...build a highway and start a toll for use...maybe at every town or every 20km or so....

in fact throw up some toll booth on the north south and at strategic entry points onto the highway...plenty money to be made there...lol

Postby cinco » October 7th, 2015, 6:42 pm

When effectic find its a Good idea it generally is a horrible one

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 7th, 2015, 6:45 pm

mero wrote:ED, up to now you eh explain how a maxi from arima to POS is $21 one way especially during rush hour. Furthermore getting a known cheapskate like yourself to pay it.

Stop lying please.

If you only getting maxi taxi that dropping short, Arima to Curepe, Curepe to San juan, San juan to POS. How much do you think it costing from Arima to POS?

Its long been an issue with maxi drivers taking your money and only dropping you short or saying they going short upfront and you cannot get a maxi in rush hour and forcing yourself to just bite the bullet because you late for work etc.

Offcourse it don't happen all the time but you get the point. No one said you paying $21 everyday, but this dishonest practice by maxi drivers is on the rise and as far as I understand its illegal I witnessed this happen with police turning a blind eye already.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 7th, 2015, 6:45 pm

cinco wrote:When effectic find its a Good idea it generally is a horrible one

I only going by what the dear leader says.

Postby desifemlove » October 7th, 2015, 7:02 pm

Richard Marshall wrote:How is it this will be effective in such a small country? Where will the railway be laid? With a massive influx of cars on the road, how much people are going to use it at the expense of their comfort? What if it derails after seeing many derail worldwide? This isn't Japan.

I really don't see the sense in this. The problem we are facing is the importation of cars over the years, and households owning more than one car per person. Also, no one wants to carpool. Everyone is focused on their own comfort.

While it is a good idea, I still can't see it work within this little Island.

cos cultural change is baaaad......derailments? yep, ban railways everywhere, cos planes never crash, cars never crash..there's no such thing as risk in life, eh? #UNCnevergraduatedprimaryschoolmentality

src1983

Postby src1983 » October 7th, 2015, 7:07 pm

Hoping the train station has multi storey parking

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 7th, 2015, 7:08 pm

Dunno why people keep saying Trini is small, since when is Trinidad small? we really hadda stop that ridiculous talk.

This country is over 4000 square KM. Barbados etc is a fraction of our size. 430 km square to be exact.

Ah guess we small compared to Russia? no sheit, so is everyone else.

Postby The_Honourable » October 7th, 2015, 7:25 pm

Rapid Rail Project

Trinitrain – Joint venture comprised of Bouygues Travaux Publics, Alstom Transport and RATP Dev, Trinidad and Tobago

Scope Of Work - Studies and design for a 92-km high-speed rail line in Trinidad and Tobago.

Trinitrain retained the services of Dessau’s multidisciplinary teams to carry out environmental and geotechnical studies, planning, data collection, and basic and definitive engineering for this double-track high-speed train on the Island of Trinidad.

To facilitate the studies and subsequent construction works, Dessau built an exhaustive geographic information system (GIS) database.

Challenges

- Design and plan the project while respecting several constraints: a major geological fault, high risk of flooding on a large portion of the route, passing through a densely populated area.

- Absence of adequate local construction materials for the 18 kilometres of bridges and open air structures required to be built.

Source: http://www.dessau.com/en/projects/rapid-rail-project

NIDCO needs to make public the feasibility report and any other past reports that deals with the Rapid Rail.
rapidrail_trinite1.jpg
rapidrail_trinite1.jpg (13.75 KiB) Viewed 3579 times
rapidrail_trinite2_0.png
rapidrail_trinite2_0.png (103.25 KiB) Viewed 3579 times
rapidrail_trinite3.jpg
rapidrail_trinite3.jpg (19.14 KiB) Viewed 3579 times

RAJIE

Postby RAJIE » October 7th, 2015, 7:41 pm

Rapid rail
Last edited by RAJIE on October 7th, 2015, 7:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

RAJIE

Postby RAJIE » October 7th, 2015, 7:45 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

where do you guys get these facts that maxi drivers charges 21$ from arima to POS?

rapid rail could be a positive thing.. however it would affect alot negatively especially maxi taxi drivers..
same way alot of $ was invested into the bus service.. ever went city gate and saw how much ptsc buses just pack up.. ever wondered how much ptsc buses break down on the roads daily?

only time would tell...
i wonder what price would be for a ticket to go on the rapidrail from POS to arima especially when people does done feel hard to pay a $7 from pos to arima