*$kїđž![TRADE MARK SIGN] wrote:
tr1ad wrote:yet to cross 400 with dryer, washer, 2 ac units, etc

Nah that's impossible.....

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1451023277.670529.jpg

Re: T&TEC, water rate increase coming in 2016

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 25th, 2015, 2:11 am

contrary to popular belief a dryer don't use any kind of current. You don't dry clothes all day everyday you don't wash clothes all day everyday. That 3000 watts only run briefly.

He also probably uses the AC in the night time alone, and clearly does not run it 24/7.

I pay $300 just to run 1 AC unit 24/7. Also the charge per KWH changes depending on the units you rack up. I think under a certain one is 24 cents and highest is 36 cents so not actually abusing the current can result in a dramatic decrease in cost. So many people don't realize the cost of 1 KWH increases after a certain amount of units and this is the issue. You feel you go pay $600 but is over $800

Postby De Dragon » December 25th, 2015, 8:59 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:contrary to popular belief a dryer don't use any kind of current. You don't dry clothes all day everyday you don't wash clothes all day everyday. That 3000 watts only run briefly.

He also probably uses the AC in the night time alone, and clearly does not run it 24/7.

I pay $300 just to run 1 AC unit 24/7. Also the charge per KWH changes depending on the units you rack up. I think under a certain one is 24 cents and highest is 36 cents so not actually abusing the current can result in a dramatic decrease in cost. So many people don't realize the cost of 1 KWH increases after a certain amount of units and this is the issue. You feel you go pay $600 but is over $800

But ent you does wuk fuh $150 ah week?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 25th, 2015, 9:05 am

tr1ad wrote:
*$kїđž![TRADE MARK SIGN] wrote:
tr1ad wrote:yet to cross 400 with dryer, washer, 2 ac units, etc

Nah that's impossible.....

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1451023277.670529.jpg

showing the bill does not justify the amount of appliances you have etc etc

you could have all that,is just how often you actually use it

Postby tr1ad » December 25th, 2015, 1:33 pm

One AC on for at least 16 hrs at 24 deg C. The other one for at least 8 hrs, same temp during the day.
Washer and dryer used twice a week.
Tv on for what I would say to be 6 hrs total. About 4 hrs for stereo give or take average day.

Water pump at least 2 full days a week.
As for PS3/4 well my wife would complain about that usage on the second tv every night for a couple hours well

The bill wasn't to verify what I pay, but to show kW consumption

Postby rspann » December 25th, 2015, 2:07 pm

You paying bill and you wife complaining,next thing she will start beating yuh. (that is if she don't do it already).

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 25th, 2015, 2:40 pm

tr1ad wrote:One AC on for at least 16 hrs at 24 deg C. The other one for at least 8 hrs, same temp during the day.
Tv on for what I would say to be 6 hrs total. About 4 hrs for stereo give or take average day.

As for PS3/4 well my wife would complain about that usage on the second tv every night for a couple hours well

In that case you're lucky....

Postby zoom rader » December 25th, 2015, 6:35 pm

The reality ent hit citizens yet, wait till the increases come.

But it ok cause mis guided ppl voted for dat

Postby De Dragon » December 26th, 2015, 10:54 am

People have to understand and realize that the reality is we need to reduce our consumption of electricity and water and a price increase would hopefully serve to nudge citizens in that direction. You want to pay less? Use less. Simple.

Postby Morpheus » December 26th, 2015, 1:46 pm

De Dragon wrote:People have to understand and realize that the reality is we need to reduce our consumption of electricity and water and a price increase would hopefully serve to nudge citizens in that direction. You want to pay less? Use less. Simple.

^^Simple.....

We Trinis crying foul but carts full with HDTV and sheit. We changing rims every 3 months. Spending min $1500 by the Liquor Mart on Christmas Day etc. Really?

Postby zoom rader » December 27th, 2015, 10:27 am

De Dragon wrote:People have to understand and realize that the reality is we need to reduce our consumption of electricity and water and a price increase would hopefully serve to nudge citizens in that direction. You want to pay less? Use less. Simple.

That not going to work here.
If citizens save on utilities then those companies not going to make any money to cover their inefficiency.

Weather you use waste or conserve those companies will still justify their increases for their inefficiency.

These companies need to start to becoming efficient by running a lean company.

But then again is this government we dealing with so expect the worst.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » December 27th, 2015, 11:28 am

dont know what you talkin about. my whole house running on 3-7w led bulbs for years now. also have led tvs with etremely low power consumption. we already use energy conservatively.

i just find it funny yes. price of energy going down worldwide, but we who own the fkin energy going to have to pay more for it.

i fkin vex. not because of the minor additional expense. but because of the bullshyt that allow this to become justified. ah real vex. dey doh wah meh use dey electricity.. solar panel in deh mc.

i cannot accept these conspiracy to defraud the public.

Postby DVSTT » December 27th, 2015, 11:43 am

bluesclues wrote:

dont know what you talkin about. my whole house running on 3-7w led bulbs for years now. also have led tvs with etremely low power consumption. we already use energy conservatively.

i just find it funny yes. price of energy going down worldwide, but we who own the fkin energy going to have to pay more for it.

i fkin vex. not because of the minor additional expense. but because of the bullshyt that allow this to become justified. ah real vex. dey doh wah meh use dey electricity.. solar panel in deh mc.

What would a solar panel and battery set up cost locally?

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » December 27th, 2015, 12:11 pm

DVSTT wrote:
bluesclues wrote:

What would a solar panel and battery set up cost locally?

last i checked... 3-5k will run my house. i dont use much electricity here at all. the computer is the only thing that always on. another 5k or so and i could power an a/c but things real cool these days so that is not a priority.

when they privatise ttec i will collect meh rebate from the government and sell electricity back to allyuh. no scene.

i even have solar powered christmas string lights. next year i will link allyuh with the imports. for now i testing the tech.
Last edited by bluesclues on December 27th, 2015, 12:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby zoom rader » December 27th, 2015, 12:18 pm

Flambo in dey MC if rates up go

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » December 27th, 2015, 12:24 pm

rspann wrote:You paying bill and you wife complaining,next thing she will start beating yuh. (that is if she don't do it already).

Less money spent on bills increases 'her' disposable income. :mrgreen:

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » December 27th, 2015, 12:55 pm

quietdevil wrote:Yeah privatize TTEC then they will hire the cheapest labor to service an industry that every house in Trinidad has. Also private companies operate to make a profit. TTEC and other government run companies run to provide essential services at set prices whether it covers their overhead or not. It simply must be cost efficient to the public. Right now most utility companies are facing cost increases to update aging infrastructure which can only be funded by Government funding or increased rates. TTEC Public Lighting Department is run by TTEC managers with contract labor. End result is infrastructure being sold to the public, lines being constructed to unsafe standards and materials being mismanaged. So let's privatize and have no influence over electricity rates, every week the company being sold till we would eventually have to go to flambeau and solar panels

and this is what im not happy about. isnt it clear that there are ppl with alot of money in and around this country who would just love to buy out our state enterprises? it is gross mismanagement that lead ttec into this kinda financial situation. look not even the former unc government did anything to address the debt ttec endured to keep running. not a payment made. so yes if u ask me, this was allowed to happen so that ttec will become privatised. ttec owing the equivalent of 2% the national budget. that means 2% of the national budget can go into one man pocket easy easy. shifting the balance of political and corporate power and then who better to buy it considering the massive amount owed to them?

this is happening with other state enterprises too and needs to be curtailed before we have nothing. we must protect our state institutions from the privatisation strategy that bleeds country's sovereignty dry. can u imagine a privatized prison and police service? it will come. and that means the police will funtion under corporate policy and not democratic policy. i dont want to have to explain what that means to those who cant see it. but its something that you dont want.

being real honest tho... ttec going private will erase some debt off our books. and considering the independent avenues for sustaining an energy supply, the mass public supply energy grid will eventually become defunct. meaning we wont NEED a central body to supply energy to the country. we'd need it to keep that sector of the economy churning. this is what will force government to create policies that enforce the use of the grid, provide rebates for independent energy suppliers with solar power etc. that contribute to the central energy supplier. in this case.. ttec.

so a privatized ttec will lobby for those legislations that will protect it in a fading necessity for a central energy supply grid. its really 1+1=2

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 27th, 2015, 1:01 pm

tr1ad wrote:One AC on for at least 16 hrs at 24 deg C. The other one for at least 8 hrs, same temp during the day.

24 Degrees may explain why since the AC compressor won't be running most of the time. How big is the room? it sealed very well? cause the room will have to be relatively small and very well sealed. And this is also something some people don't know you can reduce your AC bill a lot by proper insulation.

Postby nervewrecker » December 30th, 2015, 10:32 am

I see Saudi raising fuel prices, plane tickets, taxes etc also

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 1st, 2016, 5:42 am

Higher water, light rates?
By SEAN DOUGLAS Tuesday, March 1 2016

PUBLIC Utilities Minister, Ancil Antoine, said higher charges for water and electricity supplies could be in the works due to the need to repay an Inter American Development Bank (IDB) loan and due to the country in his view having “very, very low” rates at present. Rates are to be mulled by the Regulated Industries Commission (RIC), whose new board, headed by Dr Hyacinth Guy, he met yesterday at his St Clair office. He also repeated his previous support for the introduction of water-metering.

The RIC board is Dr Guy (chairman); Shalini Campbell, Clayton Blackman, Dr Arielle John and Vinodatt Lutchman. They received their instruments of appointment last Wednesday. Asked what he hopes to get out of the board, Antoine said the RIC sets rates and tariffs for utilities namely water and electricity. Asked about a possible review of these rates, he replied, “Yes, WASA rates are likely to be reviewed and electrical rates. The board would make recommendations to the Government as to the way forward in terms of any new rates or any new tariffs as the case may be.” He confirmed that the public “could expect some changes” to charges/tariffs. “Given the present economic situation, the Government will have to review its entire policy of subsidies as the case may be and look for a way forward.” He said the RIC board will mull the recommendations of the Government’s Energy and Economics Committees.

He said the water and electricity rates are not raised periodically according to a set formula or by set incremental rates.

“In a sense, it has been a knee-jerk reaction, depending on the economic situation and the political situation at the time”.

Asked his gut-feeling about a possible rate-hike, he replied, “Well the cost of electricity and the cost of water in TT is very, very low”. He quickly interjected that the Ministry has subsidies for the disadvantaged, such as pensioners, the funding of which he did not think would hurt WASA’s commercial and industrial clients.

Asked about metering, he said WASA will mull it for residential and commercial properties. “Yes, they will have to implement some form of metering, so people will not waste water but use their water intelligently.” He said that several dry spells in the hemisphere now, calls for a review of water use locally. Will TT nationals accept water- metering? He said at over 50 years old as a nation, the country must mature to realise the costs to supply water and electricity.

“As a citizen you have to carry your weight, and the Government would help those less fortunate.

He referred Newsday to WASA to ask about water-metering, and did not reply to Newsday’s query as to whether a recession is the right time to roll out a metering scheme, to be ultimately paid for by consumers.

Newsday invited the board to reply, but Dr Guy likewise offered no opinion. Antoine said the board is settling in and needs some time, so wouldn’t reply.

Postby 1UZFE » March 1st, 2016, 6:27 am

#iswetimenow
#welikeitso

PapaC

Postby PapaC » March 1st, 2016, 6:28 am

Nothing wrong for paying for your use. A lot of people waste too much.
Along with this the utilities must cut out wastage. Can't be spending months to fix a pipe and doing it over repeatedly.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » March 1st, 2016, 7:59 am

Well this will be a further blow to local businesses, especially those who consume a lot of those resources.

Postby 1UZFE » March 1st, 2016, 9:57 am

BRZ wrote:Well this will be a further blow to customers, especially those who consume a lot of those resources/products.

Fixed.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » March 1st, 2016, 10:04 am

Water metering should be something we implement a long time now..all for that
Electrical increases will push efficiency efforts

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 1st, 2016, 10:30 am

all them increases coupled with an increasing unemployment rate leads to more robberies and by extension an increase in crime...vision 20-20 in yuh mc

Postby Habit7 » March 1st, 2016, 11:54 am

Trinis have been enjoying a lifestyle that has been becoming more and more unsustainable. The drop in the price of oil ensures that we deal with these issues now rather than later.

If the prices raised when we thought we had money, ppl would have found it unjustified as govt could pay for it. Now prices are rising when we know we don't have money, ppl find in unjustified because we poor. Good time done, free paper bun, time to pay back loans.

Postby zoom rader » March 1st, 2016, 11:54 am

Black man under pressure again with this regime

Postby Morpheus » March 1st, 2016, 1:09 pm

So why you worried if black man under pressure? You safe then. Stop whining....