matr1x wrote:You would be surprised how many rpo lands have people attempting the make a separate deed for house and sell the house alone
matr1x wrote:People doh check and when time to sell they find out is rpo land and their deed invalid. If the sale goes through correct channels, this scam is discovered
Read above op u go see the infofrancis1979 wrote:Can you provide guidance on purchasing pre-approved land?
Things that can be checked to minimize risk
we in 2018 . i see no difference in price. sigh . i hate this placefallen_angel wrote:land prices will go down soon, people generally not spending again, so in time sellers will have to drop their prices
trinis too lazy to farmEagle wrote:This was the same misconception that partly lead to the housing bubble in America in 2008.They said property prices will never go down and in fact it did.
I being a property owner will hate hearing the price of my property depreciates but that will be the reality 3mths ,6mths and 1 year and beyond from now.
Trinidad financial crisis with respect to lol oil prices may be a new normal .Multinational companies are actually packing up for good because they cannot make a decent return on their investment, remember they were here to make a profit and they dont see prices going up in the near future .Foreign investment have stop and foreign exchange saving are being depleted .
Real tough times are ahead but we have to see the sliver lining behind the dark cloud.We as an economy have failed to diversify away from oil and gas,we have failed to expand on our down stream industry ,
But the economy has to reset itself. The hike in forex will make import more expensive thereby pushing up the prices of foreign goods making local product cheaper ...
Farming may be a good business venture because the price of local produce will be in greater demand.
same thing i does be telling all my friends .. they always coasting n say nah that land too far although it cheap .. i say 10yrs from now when u kid is an adult . all over will be populated n that land value will reach the sky . n u would vex u aint get pieceurbandilema wrote:Well we all understand and how our economy is shaping we our children become adults pressure for them.my dad paid 150k where we live in the heart of sando on the late 90s and the same every area where he grow up goes to 500k.so imagine the rate wen our kids and he future have build their homes and family.i rather take the pain of the bank than let the future generation be in fear.
me too .. i now start to see some money n land price in fairly busy areas . d price out of my reach . i need a time machine. lolurbandilema wrote:rspann wrote:There are still deals if you really look. The thing is most people want land in the already built up areas, which is mostly expensive. Look just outside the built up areas and often you get some cheap deals. A village or town grows from its outskirts, so any land you buy now is sure to be valuable in the next few years.
I bought land for peanuts years ago that can be sold for top dollar today. It just takes a little patience. Good examples are Aranguez and Joyce Rd, Chandanergore and Penal.. A few years ago land was $20g to $40g per acre ,now it's almost a million in Aranguez per lot, and $500g per lot in the other two areas. Men who bought five to ten years ago, rolling in cash now.
Hmm still wished it was me who invested those years ago..wen I finished school I end up changing fields during that time and most of my cash end up in exams as well being unknown of how dark the future had become.i was young and foolish.how u say the outside village to a town will be increasing in growth and eventually on time become built up..
Great advice u said though wish I had time travel
Always remember Trinidad is a very corrupt place and lastly "supply vs demand"blitzer wrote:I think some people are charging very ridiculous prices for their land. I think in this country there should be some measure of price regularising and control with regards to goods and services. Honest and hard working people are being left at the mercy of these unscrupulous persons. We ALL realistically deserve to be able to own property without having to pay for it for the rest of our lives. It should not be an entitlement to select individuals, whom in most instances boast that they have acquired it through hard work. We all work hard in our respective endeavours and fields. What really differentiates us as human beings in terms of success in my simple view is LUCK.
blitzer wrote:I think some people are charging very ridiculous prices for their land. I think in this country there should be some measure of price regularising and control with regards to goods and services. Honest and hard working people are being left at the mercy of these unscrupulous persons. We ALL realistically deserve to be able to own property without having to pay for it for the rest of our lives. It should not be an entitlement to select individuals, whom in most instances boast that they have acquired it through hard work. We all work hard in our respective endeavours and fields. What really differentiates us as human beings in terms of success in my simple view is LUCK.
I like how u use finite..reminded me of a great movie which came out recent where the main villain snapped the whole universe to dustProtonPowder wrote:blitzer wrote:I think some people are charging very ridiculous prices for their land. I think in this country there should be some measure of price regularising and control with regards to goods and services. Honest and hard working people are being left at the mercy of these unscrupulous persons. We ALL realistically deserve to be able to own property without having to pay for it for the rest of our lives. It should not be an entitlement to select individuals, whom in most instances boast that they have acquired it through hard work. We all work hard in our respective endeavours and fields. What really differentiates us as human beings in terms of success in my simple view is LUCK.
Things to note:
Trinidad is a tiny country, not much land, small finite supply in places you actually want to live.
Land/real estate is a fantastic way to launder money. You could take a 1 lot with a 140sqm house and charge 2M for it in the middle of rural nowhere. Stamp duty go realise something wrong, send it to valuations in ministry of finance but charge you stamp duty on the 2m anyway, no criminal investigations.
People can ask for anything they like. Cost, value and price are 3 very different things when dealing with sales, and extremely true for house/land.
Local mortgage lenders nowhere near as reckless as american ones. People get foreclosed on sometimes, but that nonsense about subprime lending and reselling debts dont really happen here as overtly. Property bubbles wont collapse.
Finally: and my favourite: Stamp duty/valuations not that smart. They using very inflated comparables for their reports, and just driving up "accepted" land prices by the month. They dont do this intentionally, they just dont think very mathematically at all.
blitzer wrote:I think some people are charging very ridiculous prices for their land. I think in this country there should be some measure of price regularising and control with regards to goods and services. Honest and hard working people are being left at the mercy of these unscrupulous persons. We ALL realistically deserve to be able to own property without having to pay for it for the rest of our lives. It should not be an entitlement to select individuals, whom in most instances boast that they have acquired it through hard work. We all work hard in our respective endeavours and fields. What really differentiates us as human beings in terms of success in my simple view is LUCK.