Child marriage in Trinidad & Tobago

racedriverpro

Re: RE: Re: Child marriage in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby racedriverpro » June 8th, 2016, 12:49 pm

2WNBoost wrote:Really people?
A 22 year old man taking home a 14 year old girl.
Anyway you slice it, it's just wrong.

Nahhh....dr habit7 could spin this.

Postby zoom rader » June 8th, 2016, 2:10 pm

racedriverpro wrote:

Habit7 will only spin where PNM is concerned.
He's on the bandwagon of attacking hindus and sub clause injuns. Seems he's taking instructions from PNM once again

Re: Child marriage in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby bluefete » January 14th, 2017, 9:45 pm

Seems that the man the Maha Sabha put in Parliament to talk in favour of the Act lied and said that the Hindu Women's Organisation had changed its mind and was now in favour of the Act.

HWO had to put out a notice saying that the man lied, yes.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 15th, 2017, 11:03 am

^ source?

Postby streetbeastINC. » January 15th, 2017, 12:47 pm

SM has a childbride? why the fk he fighting this down so much?????? sicko

Postby The_Honourable » January 15th, 2017, 12:57 pm

Postby Ronaldo95163 » January 15th, 2017, 1:14 pm

Ent sat say this is a Hindu affair and other ppl should stay out?
I find it should stay so...when they lil girls get molested/abused leave them. Izza Hindu affair let them deal with it. Not affecting me

Postby Dizzy28 » January 16th, 2017, 10:16 am

I find the Independent Senator appointed by the UNC to have given an even worse reason than Sat for keeping Child marriages.....
(Its from one of those Facebook news pages)
Capture.JPG

Postby K74T » January 16th, 2017, 10:32 am

This inga mad yes.

bluesclues

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: Child marriage in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby bluesclues » January 16th, 2017, 1:33 pm

racedriverpro wrote:

I would spin it. Habit7 probably not so much.

Nuttn wrong. He love she, she love he, he financially able to provide for she.. get marrid if allyuh want.

The only issue that ever made this an issue of any issue, is in the downside of arranged and forced marriages to abusive husbands. But once everything normal, i cool, God cool too.

They cant interfere with marriage from a democratic perspective legally. But they can deal with population control if we reproducing too fast for our economy. Likewise... countries which wish to reproduce at a faster rate, lower the age of consent as low as 13 in some countries.

See why muslim population growing, they reproducing from a faster cascade, italians.. any country proud of it's heritage, it's people and can afford it, encourages sexual activity from the 'naturally' and theologically accepted age of puberty.

If u sexually attracted to girls under the age of puberty.. THEN i would say u sick for sure.

But here in trini we have an epidemic of irresponsible parents, unwanted children(mistakes), and single parent social welfare assistance burdens on the state so u must expect the government to attempt to tweak things. But it have nothing they can tweak here again really. Kamla already carried age of consent to the maximum it can be... 18. Legislating further is nt only a waste of time but a further detriment to our society.

Postby Slartibartfast » January 16th, 2017, 4:43 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:I find the Independent Senator appointed by the UNC to have given an even worse reason than Sat for keeping Child marriages.....
(Its from one of those Facebook news pages)
Capture.JPG

Can someone tell me what he means by cause hardships?

If your 12 year old daughter causing you so much hardships that you have to marry her off then I think there may be other problems present.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 19th, 2017, 7:21 pm

FEELING HOT HOT HOT
Published:
Wednesday, January 18, 2017

Last week, temporary Senator Maulana Waffie Mohammed, who was appointed by the Opposition United National Congress to defend the Muslim Marriage Act, was widely criticised for asserting that climate determines the age of puberty.

One letter-writer even went so far as to ask the Muslim cleric to provide scientific proof for this claim.

I found this challenge quite unreasonable. Does anyone ask Pentecostal pastor Winston Cuffie to provide scientific proof that the Earth is 6,000 years old? Does anybody ask Maha Sabha head Sat Maharaj to prove that Brahmins are the highest form of life? Does anyone ask MSJ leader David Abdulah to prove that socialism can produce a reliable supply of toilet paper? No, no, and Hell no.

In any case, Maulana Waffie isn’t the first man to posit this connection between Trinidad’s tropical climate and puberty.

Way back in 1806, the prosecutor in a court trial asserted that “In that hot country the puberty of females is much accelerated, and they become mothers frequently when they are only 12 years old.”

That case involved the torture of a 15-year-old girl named Louisa Calderon, but Louisa was only tortured to get her to confess that she had robbed a man who she had been living with as a concubine since she was 11.

Then, in 1889, an ordinance was proposed to lower the age of consent from 16 to 13 years, and members of the Trinidad Legislative Council argued that this was necessary because “girls developed more rapidly in the tropical climate.”

And these were respectable white Christian men, so Maulana Waffie was only following a historical precedent.

Even the English language makes a link between climate and sexuality. Thus, sexy women are described as “hot”; an attractive woman is called a “hotty”; and, in Trinidadian dialect, we describe promiscuous females as “hot up”.

Also, if TV footage of the fiery protests that erupt whenever police kill a young black boy is any indicator, hotspots have a higher ratio of women in hot pants with Hottentot genes.

In this context, it seems rather odd that the UNC would have put a maulana, a pundit and a pastor in the hot seat to deal with such a hot potato.

There may be political reasons for so doing but, on the other hand, it may just be hot flashes.

So Maulana Waffie explained to the Senate that “Muslims believe that the marriageable age of a female begins with puberty”; Maha Sabha pundit Bhadase Seetahal-Maraj assured senators that all marriages involving 14-year-old Hindu girls were based on “sincerity of heart, purity of purpose and nobility of intentions”; and Pastor Rodger Samuel said Blah blah blah.

The religious spokespersons who want to retain their right to marry 12- and 14-year-old girls also argue that fornication and pornography in schools prove that young people have the hots for each other, and hold that this is the root cause of more widespread ills in Trinidad and Tobago, such as murder, rape, and bad grammar.

I myself believe the obverse—that high levels of religiosity in a society correlate with violence and sexism and boring newspaper columns—but I admit I believe this only because of evidence: which, of course, is irrelevant to any debate based on religion.

So, basically, all the religious spokesmen had only one argument: that when 12- and 14-year-old girls have sex with males, it is a form of social disorder; but when 12- and 14-year-old girls have sex with males they are married to, it is what God wants.

Maulana Waffie even argued that the legislation which needed to be repealed wasn’t the Marriage Act but the Children’s Act 2012, since, he said: “In this Act, we see that boys as young as ten years old can lawfully have sex with girls of ten years.”

He did not specify, however, if the law should be changed to allow ten-year-olds who want to have sex to marry, or if ten-year-olds who have sex should be jailed.

Indeed, Maulana Waffie became very hot under the collar, asserting that Attorney General Faris al-Rawi was not “doing anything to solve the problem of unrestricted sexual activity”; and I myself do in fact feel that Mr Al-Rawi should stop wearing those fitted T-shirts.

Pundit Bhadase, showing the senators that he wasn’t full of hot air, said that the debate had “marginalised key voices and given greater volume and velocity to voices of lesser importance”; although I myself was under the delusion that the members of the Hindu Women’s Organisation were Hindus.

Pastor Rodger said Blah blah blah; but I took this to mean blah blah blah.

Still: let me stop defending girl children before I get into hot water with these people who can send me to the hot place.

Email: kevin.baldeosingh@zoho.com

Kevin Baldeosingh is a professional writer, author of three novels, and co-author of a Caribbean history textbook.
http://www.guardian.co.tt/columnist/2017-01-18/feeling-hot-hot-hot

Postby meccalli » January 19th, 2017, 8:01 pm

Lol, it certainly isn't climate but i'm willing to bet it's diet.
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3433562/

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » January 19th, 2017, 10:40 pm

I am confused why people are defending child marriage..

can OP make this thread a poll? Let's see how may people support it... I'm not judging.

It could be a case of Hillary/Trump where I was dead wrong when the poll read in favour of Trump

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 19th, 2017, 11:57 pm

uncle sam wrote:I am confused why people are defending child marriage..

can OP make this thread a poll? Let's see how may people support it... I'm not judging.

It could be a case of Hillary/Trump where I was dead wrong when the poll read in favour of Trump

One reason i support it is because i think teens will succumb to the call of nature both male and female and many will be criminalized because of it and i think that is unfair. The option for them to get married to aviod criminal charges should remain.

In all wisdom this could be any one of your sons or daughters. U have no control over the choices they make when they are away and unsupervised.

Postby maj. tom » January 20th, 2017, 8:07 am

People who support it are obviously very cultural and see the wisdom of thousands of years of religious culture that supported and built mankind and our concept of structured civilization, law and order, traditional gender roles, successful close knitted families, proper duties of males and females, being usurped within 1 generation. They see it as just another nail in the coffin of the cause of our present decadence and problems in society. And they're not wrong.

If these people follow a code of law that is prescribed by their religion that has worked for centuries, and you're suddenly coming and telling them it's wrong, to follow your ways that you just made up in the last century due to western feminist policies, I don't see how they can be considered "all the bad things you have to say about them."
But the catch, these people don't follow the laws of their religion, they live in western society with all the amenities of western laws wrt to human rights and justice.

Not so simple an issue now is it?

Postby teems1 » January 20th, 2017, 8:50 am

bluesclues wrote:

One reason i support it is because i think teens will succumb to the call of nature both male and female and many will be criminalized because of it and i think that is unfair. The option for them to get married to aviod criminal charges should remain.

In all wisdom this could be any one of your sons or daughters. U have no control over the choices they make when they are away and unsupervised.

You are talking about Romeo and Juliet laws, whereby both persons are young/under age of consent, but still within a reasonable age of each other, they would not be charged with felony crime.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Statutory ... uliet_laws

The child marriage act allows big hardback 50 year old men to marry 12 year old girls. If you can't see how that is reprehensible, you need some professional help.

Postby meccalli » January 20th, 2017, 9:32 am

Those in favour of child marriage need to go live in those cultures that enshrine it. It's an antagonistic idea with the lifestyle in this country that children are encultured. If it were to go on, it's no doubt that the majority of children married at that age would be forced or compelled into the institution. Personally, I have no issues with post pubescent couples in cultures that embolden children at that age into adulthood and the responsibilities they have as well as the inclusion of structured periods in which young men and women must prepare for making provision for independent living. The rest of the world has moved away from that. These grandfather age gaps unions are altogether another matter.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 20th, 2017, 12:38 pm

teems1 wrote:
bluesclues wrote:

You are talking about Romeo and Juliet laws, whereby both persons are young/under age of consent, but still within a reasonable age of each other, they would not be charged with felony crime.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Statutory ... uliet_laws

The child marriage act allows big hardback 50 year old men to marry 12 year old girls. If you can't see how that is reprehensible, you need some professional help.

It is a bit reprehensible from a promiscuous lustful point of view. But at the end of the day both are in the 'sexual activity' category. I find ppl that hold cockroaches as reprehensible as the roaches themselves. But they dont find so. Even for me 50 and 12 is really extreme.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 20th, 2017, 1:12 pm

What about this. If they raise the minimum age in the act by 2 years to 14. U cant make sudden massive moves like that and just eliminate all under 18. Cultural adaptation has to take place. U cant just shock a whole culture with a drastic adjustment one shot.

Postby sMASH » January 20th, 2017, 2:01 pm

bluesclues wrote:

Hoss, that is what I want to say.
And put things in place to ensure that they are not being forced into it. Like mandatory social worker counselling.

The issue is forced marriages, not under-aged marriages.
No person should be able to force another person to marry. But if they chose to do so, they should have that available no matter what age

bluesclues

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: Child marriage in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby bluesclues » January 20th, 2017, 3:11 pm

sMASH wrote:
bluesclues wrote:

Hoss, that is what I want to say.
And put things in place to ensure that they are not being forced into it. Like mandatory social worker counselling.

The issue is forced marriages, not under-aged marriages.
No person should be able to force another person to marry. But if they chose to do so, they should have that available no matter what age

Well i kind of agree n the forced marriage. Its just that, say if by culture a family arranges marriages to wealthy or better-off men, they help the girl gain a better life than they can provide her. Husband would send her to school etc until she can work herself or whatever the arrangement is. If the girl used the strong arm of the state to disobey her parents intentions that could bring more hardships for her in the family.

For that culture its just like the state helping kids block their parents from sending them to college. Most parents intend that their child go to college but sometimes the child dont want to. And if they refuse and not go the family might give them a hard time, cut them off etc. Social societal impact.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 20th, 2017, 3:17 pm

Remember these cultures different eh. When you married the family will gift the newly wed couple whole house, land, car and sometimes a business to run also to maintain themselves and children. Is nuh like we poor black ppl wedding lol. They have different attitudes towards each childbirth as well. They always encourage their daughter nephew niece etc to make children and every child is a gift to the family.

abducted

Postby abducted » June 12th, 2017, 10:41 pm

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2017-06- ... rriage-act

Sat Maharaj to fight new Marriage Act in court

Secretary General of the Sanatan Dharma Maha Sabha Sat Maharaj is continuing his fight against The Miscellaneous Provisions (Marriage) Bill, 2016 which increases the legal age for marriage in T&T to 18. Two days after legislation was unanimously passed in the House of Representatives outlawing child marriages, he said he is exploring his legal actions.

Maharaj described the new law as a travesty which destroys family life. He claims politicians are inviting themselves into citizens’ bedrooms by deciding at what age to get married and have sex.

On Friday, 35 Government and Opposition MPs voted in favour of the legislation which first went to Parliament last December and has been the focus of extensive debate.

Maharaj said the right way for a Hindu child to be raised is with the support of its parents, teachers and religious organisations.

“We also believe that the worst role models in the world are the politicians.

“You study the history of the world and you notice that some of the most immoral people across the world are politicians,” he told the T&T Guardian in an interview at Maha Sabha’s headquarters in St Augustine yesterday.

Maharaj said he is totally opposed to increasing the legal age of marriage to 18.

Previously, under the Hindu Marriage Act, girls could marry at age 14 and boys at 18. He said that law, which had existed for almost 100 years, was adequate for the Hindu community.

“I do not support any interference by any politician in how we raise our family and the values we teach because many of them have no values of their own,” he said.

He said the Maha Sabha had a team following developments with the legislation and is awaiting their advice.

“If they tell us to go forward with legal remedies we will go forward because we believe that under the Constitution the right to practice your religion is guaranteed,” he said.

“Once we start at the initial stage remember we are going to go straight up to the Privy Council.”

Maharaj said the Maha Sabha’s position is that Government is interfering with its religious affairs.

“And we resist that from any politician. At this stage in the development of the Hindu community we cannot find a Hindu girl that is getting marriage under the age of 18.”

These girls, Maharaj said, are now interested in pursuing secondary and tertiary level education.

“Society is correcting itself...the families are correcting themselves. We don’t need the politician to tell us how to conduct our family life.”

Maharaj said Attorney General Faris Al-Rawi, who successfully piloted the Bill through both house of Parliament, “believes that it is all right for a 16-year-old girl to hold a big gun to shoot, but not to get married with parental consent. That is his belief. My belief is different.”

Maharaj said in 49 states in the United States, a child can get married at age 11.

Where is Sat getting his information from?
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Age_of_ma ... ted_States
This says 18 years in all states except Nebraska which is 19.

Postby timelapse » June 13th, 2017, 7:29 am

If they think that this law is going to stop big hardback men from molesting little girls, then they more naive and outright stupid than I thought.I propose that in keeping with the intentions of this law, that some sort of fines be imposed upon the parents of minors involved in sexual activity.I've seen many instances of teenage pregnancy and schoolgirls shacking up with men be it other minors or older men and they parents fully support it.Charge all of them I say, especially teen pregnancies.
I not working hard to pay taxes to support welfare for people that having children and can't afford it.What say you?

Monkey Man

Child marriage in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Monkey Man » June 13th, 2017, 7:35 am

wa d frig, bess he go back indiana yes and mess on the road and ride train whole day.

Cooloh

Postby Cooloh » June 13th, 2017, 8:29 am

abducted wrote:http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2017-06-11/sat-fight-new-marriage-act

Sat Maharaj to fight new Marriage Act in court

Secretary General of the Sanatan Dharma Maha Sabha Sat Maharaj is continuing his fight against The Miscellaneous Provisions (Marriage) Bill, 2016 which increases the legal age for marriage in T&T to 18. Two days after legislation was unanimously passed in the House of Representatives outlawing child marriages, he said he is exploring his legal actions.

Maharaj described the new law as a travesty which destroys family life. He claims politicians are inviting themselves into citizens’ bedrooms by deciding at what age to get married and have sex.

On Friday, 35 Government and Opposition MPs voted in favour of the legislation which first went to Parliament last December and has been the focus of extensive debate.

Maharaj said the right way for a Hindu child to be raised is with the support of its parents, teachers and religious organisations.

“We also believe that the worst role models in the world are the politicians.

“You study the history of the world and you notice that some of the most immoral people across the world are politicians,” he told the T&T Guardian in an interview at Maha Sabha’s headquarters in St Augustine yesterday.

Maharaj said he is totally opposed to increasing the legal age of marriage to 18.

Previously, under the Hindu Marriage Act, girls could marry at age 14 and boys at 18. He said that law, which had existed for almost 100 years, was adequate for the Hindu community.

“I do not support any interference by any politician in how we raise our family and the values we teach because many of them have no values of their own,” he said.

He said the Maha Sabha had a team following developments with the legislation and is awaiting their advice.

“If they tell us to go forward with legal remedies we will go forward because we believe that under the Constitution the right to practice your religion is guaranteed,” he said.

“Once we start at the initial stage remember we are going to go straight up to the Privy Council.”

Maharaj said the Maha Sabha’s position is that Government is interfering with its religious affairs.

“And we resist that from any politician. At this stage in the development of the Hindu community we cannot find a Hindu girl that is getting marriage under the age of 18.”

These girls, Maharaj said, are now interested in pursuing secondary and tertiary level education.

“Society is correcting itself...the families are correcting themselves. We don’t need the politician to tell us how to conduct our family life.”

Maharaj said Attorney General Faris Al-Rawi, who successfully piloted the Bill through both house of Parliament, “believes that it is all right for a 16-year-old girl to hold a big gun to shoot, but not to get married with parental consent. That is his belief. My belief is different.”

Maharaj said in 49 states in the United States, a child can get married at age 11.

Where is Sat getting his information from?
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Age_of_ma ... ted_States
This says 18 years in all states except Nebraska which is 19.

Anything Sat say does make sense????

Postby Dizzy28 » June 13th, 2017, 9:25 am

Monkey Man wrote:wa d frig, bess he go back indiana yes and mess on the road and ride train whole day.

:?

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » June 13th, 2017, 9:34 am

i mean INDIA!

gundeleroy2k

Postby gundeleroy2k » June 13th, 2017, 10:55 am