69 ‘slaves’ rescued from a church in Arouca

Re: 69 ‘slaves’ rescued from a church in Arouca

Postby pugboy » October 10th, 2019, 7:16 pm

Real kix yes
One station interviewing persons who had good experiences and the other interviewing horror stories

Postby 88sins » October 10th, 2019, 10:36 pm

pugboy wrote:Real kix yes
One station interviewing persons who had good experiences and the other interviewing horror stories

this is to be expected. the trick is in the tally.
of the 69 persons removed if more than 50% of them have a horror story to tell it will not bode well for him. but his issues are amall potatoes if watching the bigger picture

this thing done gone global fromthe word go. So now the world has further evidence to confirm their views on T&T, many of which views were already quite far from positive.
I expect Trinis visiting or living in other coutries to experience being offered bananas more frequently after this.

coltspeed

Postby coltspeed » October 11th, 2019, 5:38 am

Why nobody seeing this thing is a tt budget distraction. This was played like a timely intentional fake bust.

Postby sMASH » October 11th, 2019, 6:33 am

coltspeed wrote:Why nobody seeing this thing is a tt budget distraction. This was played like a timely intentional fake bust.

is one authority upstaging another authority

Postby aaron17 » October 12th, 2019, 8:06 am

"A necessary evil"

Postby De Dragon » October 12th, 2019, 8:45 am

streetbeastINC. wrote:Ppl who are making statements are non medical the Minister of health gave the correct response

He declare war on caging people against their will?

Postby sMASH » October 12th, 2019, 9:27 am

now GG throwing about that that is criminal in his assessment. and seeing that the MoH did recently observe what was going on there, do they share culpability in allowing it to go on? because they did not shut down the place.

Postby De Dragon » October 12th, 2019, 10:02 am

sMASH wrote:now GG throwing about that that is criminal in his assessment. and seeing that the MoH did recently observe what was going on there, do they share culpability in allowing it to go on? because they did not shut down the place.

GG is technically correct, as detaining people against their will is criminal, but his initial arsery about human trafficking and such, was patently false.

Postby pugboy » October 12th, 2019, 10:27 am

so what about the cages in st anns and the st james poorhouse infirmary ?

sMASH wrote:now GG throwing about that that is criminal in his assessment. and seeing that the MoH did recently observe what was going on there, do they share culpability in allowing it to go on? because they did not shut down the place.

GG is technically correct, as detaining people against their will is criminal, but his initial arsery about human trafficking and such, was patently false.

rebound

Postby rebound » October 12th, 2019, 10:50 am

Ward 1 in San Fernando General is a big cage and everybody (vagrant, slightly mad, very mad) in one. Whats worst?

Postby pugboy » October 12th, 2019, 11:06 am

All the same
None worser than another

rebound wrote:Ward 1 in San Fernando General is a big cage and everybody (vagrant, slightly mad, very mad) in one. Whats worst?

Postby sMASH » October 12th, 2019, 11:13 am

that is what i trying to say, one side saying it criminal the other side saying it not good, but workable. if gg take win, that means MoH guilty of sumting. if MoH position is correct, that mean gg will have egg on his face.... and that not gonna happen with out a media/public release/talk show hurricane being unleashed.

or, they will pull ah email gate and say its criminal, but the MoH officials didnt see the total place, so they were ignorant to the issue.
'ignorance of the law is not excuse' will only apply to the small man, and be the 'get out of jail' card for the big boys and authorities.

Postby Rovin » October 12th, 2019, 11:56 am

since they got funding during 2010-2015 , nobody eh throw in a "blame kamla" yet ? , pnmites sticking ....

Postby pugboy » October 12th, 2019, 12:28 pm

Haha

Somebody need to go and send pics of the cages in other places
That will end all argument

Rovin wrote:since they got funding during 2010-2015 , nobody eh throw in a "blame kamla" yet ? , pnmites sticking ....

Postby De Dragon » October 12th, 2019, 2:03 pm

pugboy wrote:so what about the cages in st anns and the st james poorhouse infirmary ?

Maybe those people are criminally insane? How should I know? What is known is that at least some of relatives of the Arouca "slaves" knew where they were, and why they were there.

Postby mero » October 12th, 2019, 2:23 pm

Ppl in this ched really think mentally ppl deserve to be in cages and shackled? Not surprised.. Xander say based on the info they had at the time of the bust it pointed to the human trafficking and "slavery".

Major fork up but I'm sure lots of these people were being treated subhuman, so still maybe it worked out for the betterment of ppls lives who were cast away

Side note, perfect time for some of you the see The Joker. Really shows the abuse mentally challenged ppl endure, plus it realll bad

Postby sMASH » October 12th, 2019, 2:47 pm

mero wrote:Ppl in this ched really think mentally ppl deserve to be in cages and shackled? Not surprised.. Xander say based on the info they had at the time of the bust it pointed to the human trafficking and "slavery".

Major fork up but I'm sure lots of these people were being treated subhuman, so still maybe it worked out for the betterment of ppls lives who were cast away

Side note, perfect time for some of you the see The Joker. Really shows the abuse mentally challenged ppl endure, plus it realll bad

NO
is not I think that they should be caged. i am no expert in that field. the experts would be fall under the ministry of health. they visited there, and did NOT close the place.

Postby pugboy » October 12th, 2019, 3:01 pm

Nobody said ppl should be caged
It’s just that the double standard somewhat glaring

Postby sMASH » October 12th, 2019, 3:23 pm

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... 1Zq889Lx0U

the leash isnt as long as he think it is....

express wrote:
Police leave, pastor gets back his centre
Leah Sorias

Police have vacated the premises of the Transformed Life Ministry Rehabilitation Centre in Arouca and released the facility back into the hands of its founder, Pastor Glen Awong.

According to Awong, police had been in and out of the compound conducting investigations since their raid on Wednesday.

He said they finally left yesterday.

“The police just carried out their last investigation here and they released back my place in my hands,” Awong told the Express via telephone around 3.30 p.m. yesterday.

He and his wife live on the compound of the rehabilitation centre for the drug-addicted and mentally-ill.

Commissioner of Police Gary Griffith and officers of the Special Operations Response Team (SORT) raided the centre just after midnight on Wednesday.

Griffith said 69 people who were being “held captive” were “rescued” during the exercise.

A few were found in cages, Griffith noted.

Awong said since the raid, families have been calling him and even visiting the centre to ask when they can return their loved ones for rehabilitation.

“Families are crying out and saying they are in a state in St Ann’s Hospital, that they are sleeping on the ground. Families are bringing back people to ask how I can help them but I have to enquire from my lawyers to see how to go about it,” he said.

“I want to get this done the right way. I cannot move ‘vikey-vie’,” he said.

Awong is an ex-prisoner who spent three years behind bars.

Asked why he was imprisoned, he would only tell the Express that it was “for violence”.

“Mandela spent 25 years behind bars you know. Right now my head hot and at a next day I will reveal that to you. For violence...let us leave it at that for now. I was young and did something stupid,” he went one.
Get caught up with news from the news leader
Subscribe now and get access to the Trinidad Express E-paper

He said he was released from prison in 1994 and has been working with ex-prisoners, street dwellers and the mentally ill since then.

The Express also asked him if he possessed any qualifications or training in drug abuse rehabilitation or mental health care.

“I don’t need to have qualifications to hire qualified people, sweetheart. All my years I dealing with mental people and helping them. Those are the same people who police will shoot on the road. It’s the same people whose families bring to me to help. I don’t need qualifications for that,” he responded.
Slaves

Three persons are seen in cages at the Transformed Rehabilitation Life Ministry Centre, where 69 persons were found at the facility in Arouca last night, during a police exercise.

“I have three registered psychiatric nurses working with me right now. I have experienced and qualified health care professionals. We have people right round the clock,” he emphasised.

Responding to continued allegations of abuse and torture, Awong said clients who claimed they were abused at his centre were “a few cantankerous people” making false allegations.

“Somebody said I threw acid on them but that is a lie. If they were abused, where are the marks of violence? They will not be able to show you that because that never happen,” Awong said.

“I know two people who pushing that kind of thing (allegation) because their mother had them here and they wanted their mother to take them out,” he added.

Postby 88sins » October 12th, 2019, 4:35 pm

this arsehole really comparing himself to of all people Nelson Mandela?
nobody ever tell that jackass that Mandela was incarcerated for 25 years for promoting peaceful resistance against a system of oppression that was the direct cause of the deaths of thousands of black people?
Somebody needs to enlighten this old demon that Mandela never detained anyone in any cage or with any handcuffs.

Postby De Dragon » October 12th, 2019, 6:09 pm

mero wrote:Ppl in this ched really think mentally ppl deserve to be in cages and shackled? Not surprised.. Xander say based on the info they had at the time of the bust it pointed to the human trafficking and "slavery".

There is a difference between criminally insane and being a danger to others, and what Pastor Amistad did.

Postby maj. tom » October 16th, 2019, 7:18 am

What i tell allyuh? A set of stink god-righteous uneducated bastards running that place. And taking people money on top of that. They tortured people for having bipolar and depression and addiction. Gary was right!!!! Let the law come down hard on this sheit!

“They are lock­ing me down and do­ing me all kind of wicked­ness. They are cuff­ing me in my bel­ly and telling me that is to take out the demons and thing. They would do this every Thurs­day and Fri­day,” Hay­den said.

Anil was ad­mit­ted to the fa­cil­i­ty some­time in ear­ly 2017 for treat­ment for bipo­lar dis­or­der.
“Soon af­ter I got there, they made me take off my clothes for al­most a year in a cage,” Anil re­vealed.
Anil al­leged that he was abused count­less times and beat­en at times to sub­mit to dif­fer­ent types of abu­sive acts.
“I was re­al­ly stressed out. I was be­ing forced to do these things against my will. I spoke about Je­sus and I told these peo­ple I just want to be calm and have no is­sues but they kept com­ing at me,” Anil claimed.
Try­ing to main­tain his com­po­sure dur­ing the in­ter­view, Anil said the ex­pe­ri­ence shat­tered his emo­tion­al state.
“I felt vi­o­lat­ed. I don’t want the wrong idea to come across that peo­ple could do those things to me. It still hurts and this is my life and self-re­spect.”

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/abuse-an ... dddf3265c0

Postby pugboy » October 16th, 2019, 7:56 am

So gg /stuey setup a mental health unit as yet ?

Postby aaron17 » October 16th, 2019, 9:30 am

I heard about the drinking problem one.. they tried to exorcise the demon out of the person ....wtf

Postby sMASH » October 16th, 2019, 10:07 am

pugboy wrote:So gg /stuey setup a mental health unit as yet ?

one of the arms of the cross functional task force,, ,lol :lol:
they getting a fb/watsapp/ig/snapchat/tuner branch just now too.

Postby The_Honourable » January 2nd, 2020, 10:22 pm

Arouca pastor charged with kidnapping, human trafficking

THREE DAYS after surrendering to police, Pastor Glen Awong, head of Transformed Life Ministry, has been charged with three offences arising out of the "rescue" of 69 people.

Awong was charged on Thursday night at the St Joseph Police Station on instructions from the office of the Director of Public Prosecutions.

He will face an Arima magistrate on Friday charged with falsely imprisoning one of the 69 people and kidnapping and trafficking her brother.

Awong and his wife surrendered on Monday with their attorney Darren Mitchell. Awong’s wife was released without charge.

On October 8, the Special Operations Response Team (SORT) went to Awong’s Arouca “rehab centre,” where police said the team rescued 69 people. Some were naked and locked in cages. Police also found and seized handcuffs, batons and tasers.

Six people, including Awong, were detained at the facility while police removed the patients, who were said to be addicts.

Up to the time of his surrender, Awong was renovating the facility to meet the specifications set out by the State in order to reopen it.

His business received approximately $7.4 million from the State between 2010 and 2015. The last payment was dated August 6, 2015. Church services continue to take place there.

Source: https://newsday.co.tt/2020/01/02/arouca ... rafficking

Postby pugboy » January 2nd, 2020, 10:55 pm

A bad week for pastors

Postby De Dragon » January 2nd, 2020, 11:23 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Arouca pastor charged with kidnapping, human trafficking

THREE DAYS after surrendering to police, Pastor Glen Awong, head of Transformed Life Ministry, has been charged with three offences arising out of the "rescue" of 69 people.

Awong was charged on Thursday night at the St Joseph Police Station on instructions from the office of the Director of Public Prosecutions.

He will face an Arima magistrate on Friday charged with falsely imprisoning one of the 69 people and kidnapping and trafficking her brother.

Awong and his wife surrendered on Monday with their attorney Darren Mitchell. Awong’s wife was released without charge.

On October 8, the Special Operations Response Team (SORT) went to Awong’s Arouca “rehab centre,” where police said the team rescued 69 people. Some were naked and locked in cages. Police also found and seized handcuffs, batons and tasers.

Six people, including Awong, were detained at the facility while police removed the patients, who were said to be addicts.

Up to the time of his surrender, Awong was renovating the facility to meet the specifications set out by the State in order to reopen it.

His business received approximately $7.4 million from the State between 2010 and 2015. The last payment was dated August 6, 2015. Church services continue to take place there.

Source: https://newsday.co.tt/2020/01/02/arouca ... rafficking

See? Kamla fault again!

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 3rd, 2020, 11:05 am

The charge is for "falsely imprisoning one of the 69 people and kidnapping and trafficking her brother."

All that hulabaloo? Man will "get off", then get off.