Petrotrin refinery shut down

sinister_14

Re: Petrotrin refinery to shut down

Postby sinister_14 » September 11th, 2018, 6:51 pm

25 employees from TCL got retrenchment letters today....more to go soon...its a purge...all bad eggs must go...

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 11th, 2018, 7:03 pm

sinister_14 wrote:25 employees from TCL got retrenchment letters today....more to go soon...its a purge...all bad eggs must go...

Maybe put this in a separate thread?

agent007

Postby agent007 » September 11th, 2018, 7:51 pm

The TV6 News confidential Petrotrin report got cut upon the start of the presentation almost 10 or so minutes ago and no update on its return as of this typing by the main news anchor. Interesting...

agent007

Postby agent007 » September 11th, 2018, 8:01 pm

update: news finish and the report was not read. No mention about the status of that particular segment of the news even up till the conclusion. Interesting....

Postby gastly369 » September 11th, 2018, 8:21 pm

Fired?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 11th, 2018, 8:22 pm

Postby maj. tom » September 11th, 2018, 8:26 pm

damn boy, like that was a speed dial call to cut the feed.
Petrotrin scandals have some real big fish. Fish bigger than the Caribbean.

Postby Redman » September 11th, 2018, 8:33 pm

Next time yuh bussing files, make the intro shorter.

What's the explanation for the boards no show?

Any one validat that 25B red herring the govt putting out there?

Postby The_Honourable » September 11th, 2018, 8:34 pm

Like Stuart run in tv6 studio and yank out the tape :lol:

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » September 11th, 2018, 9:03 pm

They probably meant to run it Wed, Thurs and ending Fri.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 11th, 2018, 9:08 pm

Postby sMASH » September 11th, 2018, 9:25 pm

mark bassant or office of the minister of national security?

but, how come when oil price low government does cry, but when oil price good, the economy boost back?
but petrotrin making losses right through?
or is it the sales of the private business, that gain the most profit margins?

Postby nervewrecker » September 11th, 2018, 10:24 pm

But hear nah. If they close down petro, how will TN ramnauth get $1m tax payers dollars a month to run this?
And from what Understand it still not working properly. Image

Postby The_Honourable » September 12th, 2018, 1:11 am

Ramdeen bussing some files about Petrotrin in Parliament...

Postby sMASH » September 12th, 2018, 6:08 am

He not bussing his own files,,,lol

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 12th, 2018, 6:52 am

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » September 12th, 2018, 10:22 am

So when the refinery really closing cuz i see all my family them working as normal?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 12th, 2018, 10:25 am

TurboSingh12 wrote:So when the refinery really closing cuz i see all my family them working as normal?

You sure dem is yuh family?

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » September 12th, 2018, 10:31 am

gastly369 wrote:
car wrote:
lalloboy101 wrote:question for the guys working PAP, would the end of the month be it for the guys there or would they continue with a core staff and decrease as operations cease?

Decrease operations gradually till December.
And then poof!

Thankfully yes. Took too long, this company was killing our economy.

Postby alfa » September 12th, 2018, 10:35 am

randolphinshan wrote:
gastly369 wrote:
car wrote:
lalloboy101 wrote:question for the guys working PAP, would the end of the month be it for the guys there or would they continue with a core staff and decrease as operations cease?

And then poof!

When new gas price comes I hope people say the same thing. Rowley says refer to the board for all details and when espinet was asked about new gas prices he says that's a government decision as he has nothing to do with it. So wait for it. Red and ready go have to take it hard and steady
Last edited by alfa on September 12th, 2018, 10:51 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby gastly369 » September 12th, 2018, 10:38 am

alfa wrote:
randolphinshan wrote:
gastly369 wrote:
car wrote:

And then poof!

When new had price comes I hope people say the same thing. Rowley says refer to the board for all details and when espinet was asked about new had prices he says that's a government decision as he had nothing to do with it. So wait for it. Red and ready go have to take it hard and steady
Lots people life goals is to prob sell water by traffic lights whole day in the sun or rain and run across the highway to wash windshields...why are we to judge

Postby alfa » September 12th, 2018, 10:52 am

gastly369 wrote:
alfa wrote:
randolphinshan wrote:
gastly369 wrote:
car wrote:

And then poof!

When new had price comes I hope people say the same thing. Rowley says refer to the board for all details and when espinet was asked about new had prices he says that's a government decision as he had nothing to do with it. So wait for it. Red and ready go have to take it hard and steady
Lots people life goals is to prob sell water by traffic lights whole day in the sun or rain and run across the highway to wash windshields...why are we to judge

*gas prices i meant lol

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » September 12th, 2018, 10:55 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
TurboSingh12 wrote:So when the refinery really closing cuz i see all my family them working as normal?

Thats why i ask because is only lies does come out their mouth!

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 12th, 2018, 11:27 am

TurboSingh12 wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:

Thats why i ask because is only lies does come out their mouth!

Ah feel dis rounds dem eh lying. No info for workers coming from the top. Nothing feels planned out. People getting their info from social media and news.

Postby Ben_spanna » September 12th, 2018, 1:39 pm

Only thing that I disagree with in this entire scenario is if they would start importing Fuels(gas and diesel) into the country and have to use our Foreign exchange to pay for it.. we already have a serious supposed shortage of U$ and this would literally be the icing on the cake to screw us all into the ground.

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » September 12th, 2018, 5:43 pm

^^^well, they already purchase oil from foreign countries to run the refinery using foreign exchange, so not sure how much might change, since they won't be purchasing the raw crude anymore, but the finished product.

Postby nervewrecker » September 12th, 2018, 6:41 pm

vaiostation wrote:^^^well, they already purchase oil from foreign countries to run the refinery using foreign exchange, so not sure how much might change, since they won't be purchasing the raw crude anymore, but the finished product.
You giving us the forex to constantly buy the finished product?
The refinery earns its own forex by selling finished products.
And we wont have to import if they start producing the wells they drill and capped. How else we will import and preach doom and gloom? How else we will give it away and praise the lease?

Postby Redman » September 12th, 2018, 6:59 pm

Increased local feedstock makes a great foundation for a refinery.

The refinery will be sold once people get their severance

Postby The_Honourable » September 12th, 2018, 11:36 pm

Ramdeen press conference on the Solomon report.

Postby hydroep » September 13th, 2018, 6:07 am

Stress...

Tears at Petrotrin forum
Uncertain future for many

Yvonne Webb

TEARS were shed at a public forum on Petrotrin held at City Hall in San Fernando yesterday as workers of the state oil company spoke of the worry they feel as they face an uncertain future when they are laid off.

Penny George, the unemployed wife of temporary Trinmar employee Daniel George, held her third child Micah in her arms as she pleaded with panellists at the forum to help her understand this “irrational decision” by government to downsize Petrotrin by closing down its refinery.

Through her tears, George spoke about her two daughters, aged four and six, who suffer with seizures. She wondered if there would be enough councillors to deal with the trauma her family will face when her husband loses his job when the refinery closes.

Some 2,600 permanent workers and a similar number of temporary/casual workers stand to be unemployed. George later told Newsday he was employed with Trinmar for just under five years. He said although Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley has promised no worker will leave empty handed, the reality is that this does not apply to temporary/casual workers.

Crystal Bernard another participant at the Lloyd Best Institute public forum on Petrotrin said she wanted to clear up misconceptions perpetuated by Energy Minister Franklin Khan that temporary workers are earning salaries in excess of $20,000 a month.

Bernard, a mother of four of Buenos Ayres, read out her payslip during the forum which showed a net income of $1,845.45 a week, after tax deductions, NIS, Health Surcharge and union dues, $1,000 for her car loan plus a mortgage payment of $825, to a credit union.

She said from that sum, she still has to pay her utility bills, buy groceries as well as purchase the occasional birthday gift for her four children. Her husband is presently unemployed. Bernard said the effect of Khan putting into the public domain a claim that she and other Petrotrin temporary workers are earning $20,000 a month was to, “have people hate me and be jealous of me.”

“My question to everyone including the Cabinet and the Prime Minister is this: did you consider me, did you consider my children or is it that we are just numbers. My children are not numbers,” Bernard said as she identified each by name.

Among those on the forum panel was former head of the Economic Advisory Board Terrence Farrell who denied a claim made by a Petrotrin worker that he was of the people who the Cabinet and prime minister consulted on the issue of downsizing Petrotrin.

https://newsday.co.tt/2018/09/13/tears-at-petrotrin-forum/