Re: The | US Embassy | Thread

Postby De Dragon » September 25th, 2016, 11:24 am

I never get trouble with US visa. Ollour working for/in the wrong companies

2ndchance

Postby 2ndchance » January 30th, 2017, 8:38 pm

Can anyone recommend a car park for a visit to the US Embassy that would probably have available parking at around 9am on a Wednesday? Hopefully, no more than 10 minutes walking distance to the embassy.

JF.K

Postby JF.K » January 30th, 2017, 8:56 pm

2ndchance wrote:Can anyone recommend a car park for a visit to the US Embassy that would probably have available parking at around 9am on a Wednesday? Hopefully, no more than 10 minutes walking distance to the embassy.

There is a paid carpark just after the embassy on the opposite side.
It usually has park as people come and go.
You can still pass through the day before and find out from the carpark attendant how busy it is around that time.

Postby M_2NR » February 1st, 2017, 9:18 pm

There is usually space since you are not allowed to enter more than 30mins before an interview. Prep for $20/hr in that car park.
Here is the location:
https://goo.gl/maps/nGVJ2cLNfs92

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » February 1st, 2017, 10:05 pm

So why can't you park around the QPS ?

Re: RE: Re: The | US Embassy | Thread

Postby Dizzy28 » February 1st, 2017, 11:56 pm

V2NR 3.0 wrote:So why can't you park around the QPS ?

I parked opposite Sagicor back in 2009 for my interview there. sufficiently close but not close eniugh to get towed.

2ndchance

Postby 2ndchance » February 2nd, 2017, 12:37 am

V2NR 3.0 wrote:So why can't you park around the QPS ?

I figure a car park with at least an attendant if not security cameras would mean less worries about car being towed or stolen, especially as I plan to leave my cell phone in the car while in the embassy.

Thanks for all the helpful answers.

xtech

Postby xtech » February 2nd, 2017, 10:16 am

I parked opposite QRC around the QPS. Sat an relaxed in the shade for a while an walked over just In time to join the line

ADRENALINE KID

Postby ADRENALINE KID » February 22nd, 2017, 1:01 pm

Is it mandatory to have the bank statement directed to the embassy for consideration or can a regular statement be used?

pj15

Postby pj15 » February 22nd, 2017, 6:50 pm

ADRENALINE KID wrote:Is it mandatory to have the bank statement directed to the embassy for consideration or can a regular statement be used?

The statement doesn't necessarily have to be addressed to the embassy but if you request a bank statement at the bank they'll usually ask you who it's for; if it's for the embassy the bank will add the address accordingly. If you have online banking you can save yourself some time and just print out your statements for the last 3-4 months and walk with those instead. Chances are, the visa officer may not even ask to see a bank statement...

Nissan12

Postby Nissan12 » February 22nd, 2017, 7:41 pm

My visa expires next month and made an appointment for next week. Didn't realize that car park was still there after all these years, but good to know. Good suggestion about the online statements - banks are ridiculous asking for $20 odd for a statement. Steups... Lemme see, after decades of having valid non-immigrant visitor visas, I am wondering how Trump's America will look at my app...

ADRENALINE KID

Re: RE: Re: The | US Embassy | Thread

Postby ADRENALINE KID » February 22nd, 2017, 7:52 pm

pj15 wrote:
ADRENALINE KID wrote:Is it mandatory to have the bank statement directed to the embassy for consideration or can a regular statement be used?

The statement doesn't necessarily have to be addressed to the embassy but if you request a bank statement at the bank they'll usually ask you who it's for; if it's for the embassy the bank will add the address accordingly. If you have online banking you can save yourself some time and just print out your statements for the last 3-4 months and walk with those instead. Chances are, the visa officer may not even ask to see a bank statement...

Ok thanks

Postby Gem_in_i » February 22nd, 2017, 9:58 pm

This thread been quiet. Like people not going for Visa these days.

Postby rspann » February 22nd, 2017, 10:03 pm

You didn't read the news on social media, that you no longer have to get visa to go to the US ?

Postby desifemlove » February 22nd, 2017, 11:06 pm

nah, dey don't have felons like yuhsefl.

abbow

Postby abbow » February 23rd, 2017, 12:23 pm

Gem_in_i wrote:This thread been quiet. Like people not going for Visa these days.

hmm my cousin went for canadian visa 2 weeks ago, got 8 years, went for her US this morning and was successful as well.....and she never went further than tobago.....

Postby Dizzy28 » February 23rd, 2017, 12:27 pm

8 years Canadian Visa? On a Trinidadian passport?
Doesn't the Canadians give a max visa as the life span of the passport?

Postby Chimera » February 23rd, 2017, 12:34 pm

since 2016 you can get 10 year TT passports

Postby Chimera » February 23rd, 2017, 12:35 pm

for the longest while, trinis living abroad who had to go to the embassy in their country to get passports, also use to get 10 years

Postby Dizzy28 » February 23rd, 2017, 12:37 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:since 2016 you can get 10 year TT passports

Double the cost of the 5 year?

abbow

Postby abbow » February 23rd, 2017, 2:01 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:since 2016 you can get 10 year TT passports

Correct, her passport expires in 2025...

Postby De Dragon » February 23rd, 2017, 4:14 pm

Not US but still visa related. If your passport/ Canadian visa are expiring in July, can you travel in May with these documents?

pj15

Postby pj15 » February 23rd, 2017, 5:01 pm

De Dragon wrote:Not US but still visa related. If your passport/ Canadian visa are expiring in July, can you travel in May with these documents?

You can use your visa to enter Canada up to and including the date of expiration....it can expire once you've entered and that's not a problem. Some countries require that your passport be valid for at least six months beyond your intended departure date but I 'm not absolutely sure if Canada is one of them; I haven't seen them on the lists that I've looked at. You can call the airlines and find out....

Postby redmanjp » February 25th, 2017, 1:21 am

rspann wrote:You didn't read the news on social media, that you no longer have to get visa to go to the US ?

u go make trump kick out somebody who will then say they feel like a criminal

Postby Gem_in_i » February 25th, 2017, 5:59 am

rspann wrote:You didn't read the news on social media, that you no longer have to get visa to go to the US ?

Yes :shock: and so many people got excited.

IDK123

Postby IDK123 » February 28th, 2017, 6:39 pm

That post just like alot of others is fake. The embassy actually issued a statement saying no changes were made to their policies

Postby rspann » February 28th, 2017, 6:47 pm

No boy, people going without visa.

Postby De Dragon » March 1st, 2017, 8:04 am

rspann wrote:No boy, people going without visa.

Yes, I went NY for Carnival weekend and just got back in. No Visa required.

Postby rspann » March 1st, 2017, 10:43 am

rspann wrote:No boy, people going without visa.

Yes, I went NY for Carnival weekend and just got back in. No Visa required.

See! Proof of what I saying .Why these fellas believe that news on social media is fake?

Nissan12

Postby Nissan12 » March 1st, 2017, 9:20 pm

"If I can't prove you wrong, it doesn't mean you are right..." No way for De Dragon to prove he visited the US without a valid visa on a TnT passport, but as I visited the embassy today to renew mine, I'll err on the side of official State Department policy - Citizens holding a TnT passport require a visa to enter the US.