COVID-19 Vaccine Tracker (News and Updates) (Poll added)

Are you taking the COVID-19 Vaccine?

Yes, I am already vaccinated.
67%
Yes, I am awaiting vaccination.
10%
No, I don't want it.
16%
I am not sure.
7%

Total votes: 121

SuperiorMan

Re: COVID-19 Vaccine Tracker (News and Updates)

Postby SuperiorMan » June 2nd, 2021, 10:41 am

redmanjp wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:Which one is the best one to get if you had the chance? Pfizer?

perhaps or moderna

otherwise AZ. but if sinopharm is the only one u can get take it- 79% or even 50% efficacy is better than 0%.

with hundreds of ppl testing +ve each day it may not be a matter of if, but when u get infected

since i had sign up for mine 3 weeks ago till today when i got the 1st dose 2 ppl in my office went into quarantine, and i know at least 1 said he was +ve. not sure about the other. the +ve one sits 7 feet away from me and hardly wears a mask at work except coming in and going out. good thing we were on rotation for d past few weeks oui.
also last week my mom heard of 2 ppl who died from covid -one was an old retired coworker of hers and the other my cousin-in-law father.

i would have like pfizer but i eh waiting on dat. because if i waited covid might likely get me b4 i get dat shot.

doh pay attention to all of them who say it has a 99% survival rate- sure but it's not all about death either. it's about what can happen to your lungs or other organs. would u want to spend the next several months being short of breath by simply going up a few stairs? or just walking? or not being able to exercise as normal ? ppl fraid clots from d AZ vaccine but u more likely to get it from covid itself.

Thanks dude.....so pfizer or moderna is the best? why you say that?

Postby pugboy » June 2nd, 2021, 10:43 am

i wonder if the “pfizer/moderna” is best mantra
is driven by typical usa propaganda ?

Postby teems1 » June 2nd, 2021, 10:54 am

pugboy wrote:i wonder if the “pfizer/moderna” is best mantra

It's a vaccine which targets the spike proteins on the outside of the virus.

I'm sure you've seen a picture of the virus which looks like a tennis ball with popcorn stuck around it. The popcorn is the spike protein which allows the virus to attach to the human mucous membranes.

The Pfizer and Moderna vaccines are designed to fight off the protein, and thus renders the vaccine virus powerless in your bodies.

At no point in time does a dead/weakened version of the virus enter your body like the other type of vaccines.

What's even more insane, is that the vaccine doesn't inject the spike proteins into your body and wait for your body to fight it off.

It actually injects mRNA, which is like recipe instructions that your body understands.

Your body takes this recipe, follows it and makes the spike protein.

When the protein is created, your body wonders what is this foreign object doing here, and the antibodies fight it off.
Last edited by teems1 on June 2nd, 2021, 11:01 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby redmanjp » June 2nd, 2021, 10:54 am

redmanjp wrote:Just got my 1st AstraZeneca shot.

No side effects so far except slight pain at injection site which is only felt occasionally depending on how I move my arm.

No fever or anything.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 2nd, 2021, 10:55 am

pugboy wrote:i wonder if the “pfizer/moderna” is best mantra

USA propaganda while bad, is no match for Chinese Communist propaganda.

China is firstly Nazi Germany of our modern world, with many many similar parallels. Aside from that point, China can lie and manipulate data fairly easily without condemnation from their scientists.

The USA and western world are far more transparent with data and you can trust more in their science than China.

Now in real-world data countries using Chinese vaccines are fearing much worse than the mRNA vaccines.

Sputnik and AZ seem to be middle of the pack with the mRNA vaccines performing much better.
CleanShot 2021-06-02 at 10.48.02.png

Countries using Chinese vaccines have had real issues when opening up (as seen in the graphs below), and note all those using Chinese vaccines have between 30-70% full vaccinated.

Whereas the countries using mRNA vacines UK (mostly, but a lot of AZ), USA and Isreal have opened up mostly and cases and deaths remain extremely low.

Also, deaths (which are a better indicator) show the same story, with UAE bucking the trend.
CleanShot 2021-06-02 at 10.53.25.png

CleanShot 2021-06-02 at 10.54.42.png
Last edited by Dohplaydat on June 2nd, 2021, 10:57 am, edited 1 time in total.

INDAVID WORKSHOP

Postby INDAVID WORKSHOP » June 2nd, 2021, 10:56 am

redmanjp wrote:

No side effects so far except slight pain at injection site which is only felt occasionally depending on how I move my arm.

No fever or anything.

Same for me got my Astra Zeneca as I work in the Industry and all is well so far no adverse symptoms thus far.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » June 2nd, 2021, 10:59 am

Why is it only 3rd world countries like us using Chinese vaccines?

cornfused

Postby cornfused » June 2nd, 2021, 11:13 am

You Should listen to the briefing when they are broadcast. The supply of vaccines is not a level playing field . Do a little research into who buys what vaccine. Or more correctly who is allowed to purchase what vaccines.

Postby teems1 » June 2nd, 2021, 11:16 am

Mmoney607 wrote:Why is it only 3rd world countries like us using Chinese vaccines?

Because it's all we can get.

The UAE used the Chinese vaccine for a large portion of their population.

2WNBoost

COVID-19 Vaccine Tracker (News and Updates)

Postby 2WNBoost » June 2nd, 2021, 11:22 am

Fear not.
You can use any booster shot after the initial jabs.
Get what takes you over 0%
You can live and bit.. about later

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 2nd, 2021, 11:45 am

2WNBoost wrote:Fear not.
You can use any booster shot after the initial jabs.
Get what takes you over 0%
You can live and bit.. about later

Exactly, we will all get another better vaccine in future but this is what we have now so take what you can get.

Postby bluefete » June 2nd, 2021, 11:46 am

Mmoney607 wrote:Why is it only 3rd world countries like us using Chinese vaccines?

You have been propagandized.

Postby pugboy » June 2nd, 2021, 12:38 pm

is it me or it seems like "vaccine shopping" has an uncanny similarity
to when flat screen tv's became mainstream

everybody looking at how much "p" and "k" this brand and model have over a next model

Postby adnj » June 2nd, 2021, 12:51 pm

WHO approves Sinovac COVID shot in second Chinese milestone

The World Health Organization (WHO) said on Tuesday it has approved a COVID-19 vaccine made by Sinovac Biotech (SVA.O) for emergency use listing, paving the way for a second Chinese shot to be used in poor countries.

A WHO emergency listing is a signal to national regulators of a product’s safety and efficacy and will allow the Sinovac shot to be included in COVAX, the global programme providing vaccines mainly for poor countries, which faces major supply problems due to curbs on Indian exports.

The WHO's independent panel of experts said in a statement it recommended Sinovac's vaccine for adults over 18. There was no upper age limit as data suggested it is likely to have a protective effect in older people.

The WHO's technical advisory group, which began meeting on May 5, made the decision after reviewing the latest clinical data on the Sinovac vaccine's safety and efficacy as well as the company's manufacturing practices.

WHO Director-General Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus welcomed the move, calling the vaccine safe and effective and noting its easy storage requirements make it suitable for low-income countries.

https://www.reuters.com/business/health ... 021-06-01/

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 2nd, 2021, 1:12 pm

pugboy wrote:is it me or it seems like "vaccine shopping" has an uncanny similarity

everybody looking at how much "p" and "k" this brand and model have over a next model

part of the infodemic and the "death of expertise having any importance".
People think because they have access to information, that they are capable of their own meta analysis using fragments of data. It's good to have this information, but listen to the medical experts.

I've been telling people from early, ignore the Karens of the internet and talk to their doctor if they have any medical concerns.

My dad had an adverse reaction to the swine flu vaccine and ended up in a wheelchair 10 years ago. He was pissed when I told him I'm going for this vaccine, but it was out of love and concern. I can see why vaccine hesitancy is a thing, but don't listen to the morons on soapboxes who don't have an inkling of what they're talking about. Talk to your GP. If you don't trust your GP, best of luck with your health.

Postby pugboy » June 2nd, 2021, 2:06 pm

did he recover from that flu shot issue?

VexXx Dogg wrote:
pugboy wrote:is it me or it seems like "vaccine shopping" has an uncanny similarity

People think because they have access to information, that they are capable of their own meta analysis using fragments of data. It's good to have this information, but listen to the medical experts.

I've been telling people from early, ignore the Karens of the internet and talk to their doctor if they have any medical concerns.

My dad had an adverse reaction to the swine flu vaccine and ended up in a wheelchair 10 years ago. He was pissed when I told him I'm going for this vaccine, but it was out of love and concern. I can see why vaccine hesitancy is a thing, but don't listen to the morons on soapboxes who don't have an inkling of what they're talking about. Talk to your GP. If you don't trust your GP, best of luck with your health.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 2nd, 2021, 2:15 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:

Ask him if he ever got the flu though?

j/k, sorry your pops went through that. What type of reaction did he have?

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 2nd, 2021, 2:18 pm

pugboy wrote:did he recover from that flu shot issue?

VexXx Dogg wrote:

it was transverse myelitis, which was an infection of spinal fluid that paralysed him from the waist down literally overnight. He did not recover from that event, and is still in a wheelchair.

Postby pugboy » June 2nd, 2021, 2:55 pm

wow sorry to hear that

Postby De Dragon » June 2nd, 2021, 3:42 pm

redmanjp wrote:

No fever or anything.

Going for mine Monday. Hope any side effects are mild, as here dey eh playing, if yuh only looking sick is home, test, rest, then come back :lol:

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » June 2nd, 2021, 4:03 pm

cornfused wrote:You Should listen to the briefing when they are broadcast. The supply of vaccines is not a level playing field . Do a little research into who buys what vaccine. Or more correctly who is allowed to purchase what vaccines.

So how come Grenada have vaccine to give away? We're they more proactive and caring in their approach?

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » June 2nd, 2021, 4:04 pm

bluefete wrote:

You have been propagandized.

China has no propoganda?

Postby De Dragon » June 2nd, 2021, 4:13 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:
cornfused wrote:You Should listen to the briefing when they are broadcast. The supply of vaccines is not a level playing field . Do a little research into who buys what vaccine. Or more correctly who is allowed to purchase what vaccines.

So how come Grenada have vaccine to give away? We're they more proactive and caring in their approach?

Dem ain't too proud to beg :roll:

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » June 2nd, 2021, 4:31 pm

Postby redmanjp » June 2nd, 2021, 5:14 pm

MOH spoke about Seychelles today. they said the risk of severe covid and death is still very low there. and no one died who was fully vaccinated.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 2nd, 2021, 5:19 pm

Bahrain is starting to give recipients of the Sinopharm a Pfizer booster.

Apparently, 30% over persons over 65 who get Sinopharm have zero immunity to covid.

https://www.wsj.com/articles/bahrain-fa ... 1622648737

Bahrain, Facing a Covid Surge, Starts Giving Pfizer Boosters to Recipients of Chinese Vaccine
Residents who are over 50, are obese or have chronic illnesses are urged to get a Pfizer-BioNTech shot six months after their full Sinopharm vaccination

Published clinical data on Sinopharm’s efficiency among the population groups most vulnerable to severe disease is scant. The vaccine’s main clinical trial involved 40,382 participants in the Middle East, most of them in the United Arab Emirates.

The study’s peer-reviewed results, published on May 26 by the Journal of the American Medical Association, found 78% efficacy against symptomatic disease for one of two versions of the Sinopharm vaccine. However, the cohort was made up mostly of healthy young men—the participants’ mean age was 36—and the study reported only two cases of severe disease, a statistically insufficient amount, in the placebo group.

In a separate, unpublished, real-world study of Sinopharm in Serbia, 29% of 150 participants were found to have zero antibodies against the virus three months after they received the first of two shots of the vaccine. The average age of the people who participated in the Serbian study was higher than 65.

“The Sinopharm vaccine is not immunogenic enough, and it appears that its impact is especially low on elderly recipients,” said Olgica Djurkovic-Djakovic, the doctor who headed the study at the University of Belgrade and shared the findings with The Wall Street Journal. Ten people out of the 150 who received Sinopharm and participated in the study contracted Covid-19, she said.

Based on this we should NOT be giving Sinopharm to over 60s, we should give AZ to over 60s and give the Sinopharm to persons under 60.

Pretty much the opposite of what we're doing right now.

Postby j.o.e » June 2nd, 2021, 5:46 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:

Grenada has some a lot of vaccine reluctance. So they struggling to use their sticks before expiry

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 2nd, 2021, 5:50 pm

Our authorities are not up front with the AZ side effects. Just received info where a very young guy got a stroke after receiving his jab. There are lots more persons with similar or even worst side effects that are NOT being reported!

Postby gastly369 » June 2nd, 2021, 5:53 pm

I woulda like to post.. But u know how 2nr does be... So let it be

I cool with sinopharm that's all
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Our authorities are not up front with the AZ side effects. Just received info where a very young guy got a stroke after receiving his jab. There are lots more persons with similar or even worst side effects that are NOT being reported!

wing

Postby wing » June 2nd, 2021, 6:31 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Our authorities are not up front with the AZ side effects. Just received info where a very young guy got a stroke after receiving his jab. There are lots more persons with similar or even worst side effects that are NOT being reported!
Why aren't they being reported? Are they known only to you? Please share the information for everyone's benefit.