The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

MonsterPower

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby MonsterPower » May 30th, 2012, 6:52 am

geo u will have to buy the same cafrrier frequency as to what we have in trini ..
Sprint and verizon works on somn called CDMA while At&T works on GSM

I believe digicel and b-mobile work on GSM so u might wanna look into that

at least this is what i was told when i was buying my phone

mojosodope

The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby mojosodope » May 30th, 2012, 7:05 am

geometron wrote:I saw online on the Apple Store U can get the 4s for 199 with a 2 yr contract or just buy it stand alone for 500 bucks. if i were to buy an Iphone 4s and take the two year contract from sprint, hence saving me 300 us if i were to buy it stand alone, can the phone be unlocked and used in Trinidad and function accordingly with either bmobile/digicel networks?

anyone who bought their iphone from abroad and unlocked it here...whats the avg cost to do so Phone & Unlocking/gevey sim/ jail breaking?

So what you planning on doing with the sprint contract hoss you do know every month you have to pay right and there's a early termination fee.

Buy it factory unlocked from the apple store or doh buy it at all, in fact the new iPhone is expected in the Aug-Oct timeframe so you shouldn't be buying a 4S right now anyways.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » May 30th, 2012, 8:52 am

While the S in iPhone 3GS stands for speed, according to Phil Schiller’s 2009 announcement, Apple CEO Tim Cook says that the “S” in iPhone “4S” stands for Siri. Speed would have made sense for the iPhone 4S because of its dual-core A5 chip.

------

While agreeing that Apple has to do more social network-type features, CEO Tim Cook noted at the D10 conference in California tonight that the company will consider killing the Ping social network feature baked into iTunes due to a lack of interest among users. He did mention that social has to be a focus despite Apple not necessarily having to own a social network, and he noted upcoming Twitter, Game Center, and iMessage integration in Mountain Lion bring new social elements:

What happened to Ping?

Tim Cook wrote:Apple doesn’t have to own a social network, but does Apple have to be social? Yes…You’ll see us integrate Twitter into the Mac OS as we introduce Mountain Lion. Game Center and iMessage could be thought of as social… We tried Ping and I think the customer voted and said this isn’t something that I want to put a lot of energy into… Will we kill it? I don’t know. We’ll look at that.

rbtnt

Postby rbtnt » May 30th, 2012, 11:53 am

quick ques to you guys as i am nut sure abt it.
My 4S is factory unlocked and on IOS 5.0.1 and Jailbroken can i use iTunes make a backup, update the phone to 5.1.1 re-jaibreak and then re-sync my backup will this get be backa ll my cracked apps etc. I know i may have to reinstall all my cydia twaeks etc but i dont wanna go thru the hassle of reinstalling apps etc if this is the case i'll just leave the phone on 5.0

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » May 30th, 2012, 2:23 pm

rbtnt wrote:quick ques to you guys as i am nut sure abt it.
My 4S is factory unlocked and on IOS 5.0.1 and Jailbroken can i use iTunes make a backup, update the phone to 5.1.1 re-jaibreak and then re-sync my backup will this get be backa ll my cracked apps etc. I know i may have to reinstall all my cydia twaeks etc but i dont wanna go thru the hassle of reinstalling apps etc if this is the case i'll just leave the phone on 5.0

Yes you can, Make sure to install your tweaks before you reinstall the backup for the crack apps to be reinstalled.
Last edited by iM@st@1 on May 31st, 2012, 1:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » May 30th, 2012, 9:39 pm

Tapatalk users, how do you get/enable push notifications?

rbtnt

Postby rbtnt » May 31st, 2012, 6:37 am

Parvin wrote:Tapatalk users, how do you get/enable push notifications?

From within the app Settings ---> Advanced --> Notifications and Sync

also check Settings ---> Notifications ---> Tapatalk and make sure something other than none is selected

i believe however that the website/forum also has to have push support for Tapatalk someone correct me if i am wrong

Parvin

Postby Parvin » May 31st, 2012, 8:46 am

rbtnt wrote:

also check Settings ---> Notifications ---> Tapatalk and make sure something other than none is selected

i believe however that the website/forum also has to have push support for Tapatalk someone correct me if i am wrong

Did that.

The second part I guess is the problem

When I set up TT I got some prompt about having some plugin updated but I didn't read it properly.

@ Duane ... any info?

Postby TRAE » May 31st, 2012, 10:19 am

Users with an iPhone 4 on Firmware 9B208 can now use Absinthe to jailbreak their iPhone 4 and enjoy a multitude of iPhone 4 jailbreak apps.

Absinthe 2.0.2 now supports jailbreaking the iPhone 4 with 9B208 firmware.

This new version of Absinthe is helpful for iPhone 4 owners who received the new iOS 5.1.1 build for the iPhone 4 GSM version.

http://www.gottabemobile.com/2012/05/28/absinthe-2-0-2-arrives-with-iphone-4-jailbreak-for-9b208-firmware/

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » May 31st, 2012, 12:51 pm

Parvin wrote:
rbtnt wrote:

Did that.

When I set up TT I got some prompt about having some plugin updated but I didn't read it properly.

@ Duane ... any info?

I have all the push settings enabled and my push works fine for other apps so I'm guessing its disabled by the forum, I know signatures are disabled when posting from an iPhone.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » May 31st, 2012, 1:42 pm

Samsung’s predilection for shamelessly ripping off Apple’s design is well documented at this point.
    Here’s Samsung shamelessly ripping off the iOS homescreen.
    Here’s Samsung shamelessly ripping off the iPod touch.
    Here’s Samsung shamelessly ripping off the Smart Cover.
    Here’s Samsung shamelessly ripping off the iPhone 3G
    Here’s Samsung even ripping off an actress from an iPhone commercial.

If Samsung’s ever going to quit ripping off Apple’s design team and make their own damn products, they show no sign of abating, as the latest product design to be ripped off by Samsung is their new Chromebox, which looks almost identical to the Mac mini: a tiny aluminum box with a black circular opening at the bottom. Unbelievable.

Postby TRAE » May 31st, 2012, 2:00 pm

SRASC wrote:Image

Samsung’s predilection for shamelessly ripping off Apple’s design is well documented at this point.
    Here’s Samsung shamelessly ripping off the iOS homescreen.
    Here’s Samsung shamelessly ripping off the iPod touch.
    Here’s Samsung shamelessly ripping off the Smart Cover.
    Here’s Samsung shamelessly ripping off the iPhone 3G
    Here’s Samsung even ripping off an actress from an iPhone commercial.

If Samsung’s ever going to quit ripping off Apple’s design team and make their own damn products, they show no sign of abating, as the latest product design to be ripped off by Samsung is their new Chromebox, which looks almost identical to the Mac mini: a tiny aluminum box with a black circular opening at the bottom. Unbelievable.

facebooking dis now

casper

Postby casper » May 31st, 2012, 2:13 pm

samsung is trolls lolz

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 31st, 2012, 5:42 pm

Parvin wrote:
rbtnt wrote:

Did that.

@ Duane ... any info?
We are currently running the latest version of the Tapatalk plugin on our servers 3.2.0. We've been running this latest plugin since January 2012.

It seems push is only supported for vBulletin so far (trinituner runs on phpBB)
Here is a post on the Tapatalk support forums from one of the developers:
Currently only vb4 plugin released with push notification support. We'll add push support in phpbb later as soon as we can.
However, we do have tapatalk to tapatalk push support for all forum system which means only pm or reply from tapatalk app will be pushed to related users.

casper

Postby casper » June 1st, 2012, 9:14 am

d new JB super easy boi waw.... :?

did it last night...i thought was like the ones i did before where u hadda do using itunes to restore etc and put device in DFU mode an ting...was feelin rel lazy to do all that so i didnt mind paying...didnt know the 5.1.1 is basically touch ah button nah vybz

i guess i just saved myself sum cash yo!! :D

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » June 1st, 2012, 6:33 pm

I have an iPhone 2G sitting doing nothing in my drawer..I'm in need of a spare phone now and I think this would be perfect except the top half of the screen ain't working -__-"

Where is the CHEAPEST place I can get a screen and digitizer replaced? The screen is cracked and the top half of the digitizer is unresponsive. I won't repair it if it's too much, however.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » June 1st, 2012, 8:39 pm

The new JB it's so easy a cave man can do it . I did like 20 devices already for FREE. Can't charge for this . I did not wanted to jailbreak my 4S but since I put Digicel 4G I bought MyWi and using my phone as a hotspot. I also bought a next app to force Wifi Apps over 3G so now I can use FaceTime over 3G. Everything works flawless .

One question thro anyone knows exactly when the iPhone 5 will be out I hear it's July or ending August cause I'm seeing a lot of IOS 6 leak on the Internet .

Parvin

Postby Parvin » June 1st, 2012, 8:51 pm

All that iOS 6 rumors and iPhone 5 will be rampant for the this week as the WWDC is next week.

After that, we will know what to expect for sure :)

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 1st, 2012, 10:22 pm

WWDC & E3 - June is a good month ain't it?

6th gen iPhone renderings based on leaked schematics

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » June 1st, 2012, 10:30 pm

looks longer.. camera in the middle..any other rumoured difference?

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » June 1st, 2012, 11:24 pm

Ok cool . We will wait and see .

rbtnt

Postby rbtnt » June 2nd, 2012, 9:22 am

jus this morning i received a tapatalk update and the first point in the change log said improved push notification support so idk exactly what it is they fix is just to wait and see if phpbb support has been added .... oh and on a side note i heard that radio shack have ipad2 16gb selling for 2800 now!!!

Parvin

Postby Parvin » June 2nd, 2012, 9:44 am

Doesn't seem like phpbb was added :(

I had to manually open the app to see your post as I subscribed to this thread

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » June 2nd, 2012, 10:04 am

RadioShack getting on.

rbtnt

Postby rbtnt » June 2nd, 2012, 10:52 am

Well idk i the website plugin was updated as well since the client has received an update maybe an admin can check and let us know i saw dat duane stated that they were using the latest version of the plugin but idk if that version has since changed as the client has just been updated

Parvin

Postby Parvin » June 2nd, 2012, 11:23 am

Well well well, I got the notification of your reply @rbtnt

rbtnt

Postby rbtnt » June 2nd, 2012, 11:54 am

nice 2 bad i just subscribed as well so i waiting to see if it go pop up for me. Now we wait......

Parvin

Postby Parvin » June 2nd, 2012, 12:54 pm

Like I talk too soon. Got nothing after my last post.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » June 2nd, 2012, 1:02 pm

Neither me.
Got excited and subscribed. But nothing . Meh

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 2nd, 2012, 1:58 pm

the latest tapatalk forum plugin is still 3.2.0 which we installed in January 2012.

they've updated the tapatalk app quite a bit since then, so it seems they don't need to update the plugin each time they update the app - but phpbb push support doesnt seem to be included.

I think the phpbb push works from Taptalk to Tapatalk only at this point.
so if you are subscribed to a topic via tapatalk and someone posts in the topic via tapatalk, you will get a notification.