Info on Eye Surgery?

vimal_vs

Info on Eye Surgery?

Postby vimal_vs » September 3rd, 2007, 12:00 am

Can anyone give me information on the eye surgery that corrects shortsighted ppl? cost? how safe is it? etc.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » September 3rd, 2007, 5:55 am

I believe its called Lasik.
My advice? If you can live with it,don't do it. Me eint letting no man woman or doctor
near my eyes just so at all, same goes for meh spine.

Fuzz Master

Postby Fuzz Master » September 3rd, 2007, 10:27 am

well actually i had the lasik procedure done. and actually its one of the best investments ive ever made. procedure was easy and painless. just for about a month after u cant rub ur eyes and ull need sunglasses for a bit but after that its like u never had glasses to begin with.

xtrail

Postby xtrail » September 3rd, 2007, 10:44 am

Lasik is offered in trinidad at Laservision Grand Bazaar.
Cost is Approx 19,000 for both eyes.
A state of the art lasik laser machine is used.

You will get better vision than you do WITHOUT your glasses presently. You will not get as clear vision as you would WITH your glasses though as a small degree of 'haze' is left due to mild scarring of the cornea(the clear part of the eye that is lasered)

This you wont notice unless you need high resoloution vision like microsurgeons, pilots etc.

Success rates are >95% depending on your actual glasses prescription strength.

Postby De Dragon » September 3rd, 2007, 10:50 am

Dinesh wrote:I believe its called Lasik.
My advice? If you can live with it,don't do it. Me eint letting no man woman or doctor
near my eyes just so at all, same goes for meh spine

Ent is medicine you studyin'?

noobie

Postby noobie » September 3rd, 2007, 3:16 pm

Hang on...

Success is not 100%. So you could be the one poor guy that gets blinded for life.
Do they make you sign a waiver, so that if something goes wrong they not to blame?

Not that any amount of money will make up for a loss of vision though.

Postby tr1ad » September 3rd, 2007, 5:04 pm

nope it's not 100% success

one person in the office needs glasses to read, but then again their glasses were really thick

noobie

Postby noobie » September 3rd, 2007, 5:05 pm

So you know more than one person who had the procedure done?

Postby tr1ad » September 3rd, 2007, 5:11 pm

yea a few
most of the people that did it, went to either miami or cuba, they don't need glasses anymore

i'm holdin out on doin this thus far, esp the girl from the office did hers two months ago and like i said she needs readin glasses now

Postby De Dragon » September 3rd, 2007, 5:18 pm

noobie wrote:So you know more than one person who had the procedure done?

yea a few
most of the people that did it, went to either miami or cuba, they don't need glasses anymore
Eh heh! I always know u and Patos is pardna!
[/b]

Postby De Dragon » September 3rd, 2007, 5:22 pm

noobie wrote:So you know more than one person who had the procedure done?

yea a few
Eh heh! I always know u and Patos is pardna!
[/b]

Postby X2 » September 3rd, 2007, 6:15 pm

older people are not recommended to get it as it can 'wear off' (older ppl only) and not everyone is eligible for the surgery.

Most people do not need glasses at all after surgery and your vision is excellent.

One of my best friend's run the Laser Center in Miami and they have a top notch machine, the surgery is not very risky if you have a good doctor... dunno about the local optometrists, but the price seems decent.

vimal_vs

Postby vimal_vs » September 4th, 2007, 1:00 pm

i guess ill do it miami later on in life then.. thanks for the info tuners!

shady23

Postby shady23 » September 4th, 2007, 1:06 pm

well i actually asked my optometrist about doing it and she said don't even think about doing it down here.. just go away and get it done :| :|

then too i'm 3/4 blind :(

Postby pugboy » September 4th, 2007, 2:53 pm

you will still need glasses to read later on in life though like all old people

Postby RASC » September 4th, 2007, 3:00 pm

Manning need some for his shortsightedness...I blame Manning again :x

Postby Maserati » September 4th, 2007, 3:07 pm

So you could be the one poor guy that gets blinded for life.

there is always a risk with everything man..going down the road in your car you taking a risk

. Me eint letting no man woman or doctor
near my eyes just so at all, same goes for meh spine.

lol and u studying med. well dental.. :lol:

Postby X2 » September 4th, 2007, 5:30 pm

pugboy wrote:you will still need glasses to read later on in life though like all old people

not 100% true... sometimes it 'wears off' but that's not guaranteed... still a blessing to live quite a few years without needing glasses.

Guys... the surgeon does alot, but the machinery is also very advanced and tracks you eye ball movement... just make sure the machinery used is the new style I guess.

Fuzz Master

Postby Fuzz Master » September 4th, 2007, 5:31 pm

well age also has something to do with it also... the younger the better (just have to be over 18 ) because my mother in law got it but the results were not the same for her as it was for me.
Last edited by Fuzz Master on September 4th, 2007, 6:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » September 4th, 2007, 6:39 pm

^^yeah, they say the cornea and lens in the eye get more rigid as you get older,
which affects the healing results and which is why older people start to need reading glasses

bunny

Postby bunny » September 4th, 2007, 8:22 pm

i did both eyes at laservision.got back 20/20 vision. [though i'm still not seeing manning's version of that!] however my mother did hers and lost total vision in one eye! if you have to do it ,dont do it here! can you see the big law suit? :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Postby tr1ad » March 24th, 2009, 4:16 pm

im seriously looking into this once again

any further advice seeing this is an old thread?

996vtwin
In Memory of George Aboud Jr.

Postby 996vtwin » March 24th, 2009, 6:50 pm

i got it done when i was younger. I can say that it was worth it but unfortunately your vision will fade as time goes by. About 6-7 years later I now wear a mild strength glasses. Bf the lasik I was pretty blind.

nightwolf

Postby nightwolf » March 28th, 2009, 2:13 pm

Is it ordinary Lasik or Z-Lasik they perform in Trinidad ?

robarri

Postby robarri » March 28th, 2009, 6:42 pm

I did mine in Venezuela, it cost about 4000TT and was the best investment i ever did, after 8 years i still have 20-20 vision, the operation is painless, you go in and within 15 minutes you are out, the 1st night is a bit painful as your eyes are sore, but the next day you are fine, you are not allowed to go to the beach for a month as they dont want your eyes to be exposed to sand or any danger after that you need to wear good sunglasses when you go into direct sunlight for about 6 months.

again however i recommend doing it, just remember it is not permanant as your vision will decrease with age, but then again never having to squint or put on glasses to read a sign or see a movie is worth it!!!

Postby M_2NR » March 28th, 2009, 6:56 pm

i always thought about it. But after reading this thread...

1) im not seeing myself even walking into a place in tnt that does this.
2) can anyone who did it away, robarri included, give more info, eg. where they did it (like address and number)

i say if God permits, maybe later on in life.

Hotxspicy

Postby Hotxspicy » March 28th, 2009, 7:06 pm

I NOT GOIN TO DO THIS EVER......

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/Y-TUMw1FTmY&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

bunny

Postby bunny » March 28th, 2009, 9:23 pm

Dont be fooled. I had my eyes done at laser vision and it was a success,however when my mother did hers ,something went wrong and she remains 95% blind in one eye. Legal action still pending.

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » March 28th, 2009, 9:30 pm

i know a chick , she was a -12 and she did it twice because of how bad her eyes was .. but now she has 20/20

I'm a -6 i like glasses , and i use contacts if ever needed , my optmertist said i took to the contacts really good and my eyesight is improving rather than degrading .. So a lil later on i might do it depending on the new technology ..

Venezuela for 4kTT isn't tht bad eh I wonder wat's the price now . :?:

staticreply

Postby staticreply » March 28th, 2009, 10:07 pm

I did my eye surgery thru TLC Laser eye center in the US. tiger woods got his vision corrected by this same company. I went from being almost blind to 20/15 vision, which is better than 20/20. I was already seeing better the minute i came off the operating chair.

The good thing is they did all sorts of test, (free of charge) to see if i was a candidate for the surgery. i don't know if other companies practice this but TLC I can recommend.