3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

Re: Photographers..whey allyuh? (Share yuh shots here!)

Postby ismithx » November 20th, 2011, 7:58 pm

prop wrote:
UssKidd1.jpg
Cathedral1.jpg

Taken on my trip to New Orleans and Baton Rouge...

daz HDR (bracketed exposures) orwha?

Postby sMASH » November 21st, 2011, 3:54 pm

taken earlier this year, now decided to take it from the cam.... sunrise from my back yard btw, with no processing,

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 22nd, 2011, 3:31 am

Breakfast

The lighting in this room makes everything look yellow, no matter which white balance is used and I was too hunger to play around with flash lighting so excuse me plez lol.

Postby shogun » November 22nd, 2011, 5:35 am

^pic turned out good anyways....breakfast looks good too, might ask for the same, this morn.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » November 27th, 2011, 8:00 pm

Hey, selling my 50mm prime if anyone interested. Coming Trini on Tuesday for the day so if anyone serious, PM me by tomorrow evening.

shyne00

Postby shyne00 » November 28th, 2011, 7:18 am

Vacation pics @Coconut beach resort, St.Lucia
IMG_0511.JPG
IMG_0502.JPG
IMG_0496.JPG
IMG_0493.jpg

Lucian-2nr

Postby Lucian-2nr » November 28th, 2011, 12:06 pm

^ Beautiful! :D

Postby shogun » November 28th, 2011, 8:17 pm

Just how tough is your average DSLR memory card?

Apparently tough enough to survive a year at the bottom of the ocean. Naturalist and aspiring photographer Markus Thompson was scuba diving in Deep Bay near Vancouver, British Colombia, when he found a Canon EOS 1000D. Curious, he brought it to the surface and took ut the SD card, and was actually able to recover about 50 photos.

With a bounty of pictures and a desire to find the camera's owner, Thompson took to social networking for help. He posted his find to Google+, including pictures of the camera itself as well as the photos he was able to recover from the SD card. "Approximately 50 pictures on the card from a family vacation. If you know a fire fighter from British Colombia whose team won the Pacific Regional Firefit competition, has a lovely wife and (now) 2 year old daughter - let me know. I would love to get them their vacation photos," he posted.

The social network's hive mind then went to work. Details on just who the camera belonged to were slim at first, but after social network sleuths began scouring the photos, more information began to surface. The camera contained images that were shot at a region firefighting competition, and appeared to suggest that the camera's owner was on the winning team. After comparing faces to those on various websites that covered the event, the possibilities were narrowed down.

The owner, a firefighter from British Colombia, was finally identified. His station was then contacted, bringing an end to the pricey camera's unlikely journey. The waterlogged Canon - which can cost upwards of $500 in new condition - made its splash in August of 2010, and had been soaking ever since. Unfortunately, not further details are available on just how the device managed to find a home on the ocean floor, but we imagine a bump off the side of a leisure boat is a likely explanation.

We've seen the power of social media to spread information about important events and natural disasters, and it's nice to see it work on a much smaller and more personal scale. And while obviously the camera is a total loss, the family was able to secure their vacation photos, not to mention a story they'll be able to share for a lifetime.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 28th, 2011, 10:35 pm

B&H has the Canon 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM at a discount price until Dec 2nd
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/search?Nt ... es/BI/4906

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 28th, 2011, 11:08 pm

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Sunpak+-+Ul ... cp=1&lp=19

considering this, what you guys think?

Postby RBphoto » November 28th, 2011, 11:28 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Sunpak+-+Ultra+4STM+61.25%26%2334%3B+Tri-Monopod/2534916.p?id=1218334639460&skuId=2534916&st=tripods&cp=1&lp=19

considering this, what you guys think?

Better than nothing.

Postby Chimera » November 29th, 2011, 1:29 am

how's this for a point & shoot?

http://www.amazon.com/Canon-PowerShot-S ... 915&sr=8-1

really want something with good optical zoom, only downside I see is no panoramic shooting

Postby RBphoto » November 29th, 2011, 6:32 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:how's this for a point & shoot?

http://www.amazon.com/Canon-PowerShot-S ... 915&sr=8-1

really want something with good optical zoom, only downside I see is no panoramic shooting

This is a great camera if zoom is what you want.

The canon S95 which is the top of the line powershot camera before the "G" series has been heavily discounted since they brought out the S100, which is a minor update to the S95, with a slower lens. Low light performance trumps zoom for normal pictures of people and places, so I am suggesting that anyone getting a P&S get the S95 while stocks last.... it just makes sense.

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 29th, 2011, 8:45 am

i think my 70-200mm may need cleaning and calibrating.....at full zoom im getting a bit of over exposure and some of the pics arent as sharp

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » November 29th, 2011, 10:19 am

me trying a ting again

miguel granville

Postby miguel granville » December 1st, 2011, 7:33 am

IMG_0001 by A.M Production, on Flickr
IMG_0044 by A.M Production, on Flickr
IMG_0064 by A.M Production, on Flickr
IMG_0078 by A.M Production, on Flickr
IMG_0168 by A.M Production, on Flickr
IMG_0144 by A.M Production, on Flickr
IMG_0090 by A.M Production, on Flickr
IMG_0179 by A.M Production, on Flickr
IMG_0210 by A.M Production, on Flickr
IMG_0211 by A.M Production, on Flickr
IMG_0225 by A.M Production, on Flickr
IMG_0264 by A.M Production, on Flickr
IMG_0291 by A.M Production, on Flickr
IMG_0332 by A.M Production, on Flickr
IMG_0337 by A.M Production, on Flickr
IMG_0430 by A.M Production, on Flickr
IMG_0432 by A.M Production, on Flickr
IMG_0458 by A.M Production, on Flickr
IMG_0464 by A.M Production, on Flickr
IMG_9988 by A.M Production, on Flickr
IMG_9992 by A.M Production, on Flickr
IMG_9999 by A.M Production, on Flickr
IMG_9995 by A.M Production, on Flickr
IMG_9998 by A.M Production, on Flickr
IMG_0251 by A.M Production, on Flickr

Postby DVSTT » December 1st, 2011, 11:29 am

hey great shots guys. Anyone know where i can get a 58mm circular polarizing filter???

Postby pugboy » December 2nd, 2011, 5:02 pm

you got the white balance dialed in perfect,
no overblown whites at all

Postby shogun » December 2nd, 2011, 7:00 pm

miguel granville wrote:

:shock: @ that R34....lovely!

great pics as usual Miguel.

miguel granville

Postby miguel granville » December 2nd, 2011, 8:47 pm

thanks guys

CANON USM and MicroUSM

Postby DVSTT » December 6th, 2011, 5:30 pm

CANON USM and MicroUSM
Hey tuners, just wanted to know your thoughts on Canon's USM and MicroUSMs, are they reliable?? and is the MicroUSM as good as the usual or is it doomed to die on me like some reviews suggest?

Postby DVSTT » December 6th, 2011, 5:31 pm

Canon 50mm f1.4 USM vs Canon 85mm f1.8 USM

Postby DVSTT » December 6th, 2011, 6:25 pm

Canon 50mm f1.4 USM vs Canon 85mm f1.8 USM
hey tuners, which would you recommend???

Re: Canon 50mm f1.4 USM vs Canon 85mm f1.8 USM

Postby meccalli » December 6th, 2011, 6:52 pm

DVSTT wrote:Canon 50mm f1.4 USM vs Canon 85mm f1.8 USM
depends on your needs, what field of view you'd like, how much of a low light lens you need it to be also whether your going for portraits or you want to include more of the environ element (like a 35), even a 50 is too tight for confined spaces also, your crop factor/ or if your full frame will interfere with field of view. honestly they're both good lenses it depends on whether you need both or just deciding on an overall type" of lens for a situation..both can do portraits good, 50 even more so on a cropped sensor(non full frame).

Re: CANON USM and MicroUSM

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 6th, 2011, 6:57 pm

DVSTT wrote:CANON USM and MicroUSM
Hey tuners, just wanted to know your thoughts on Canon's USM and MicroUSMs, are they reliable?? and is the MicroUSM as good as the usual or is it doomed to die on me like some reviews suggest?

Ring Ultrasonic Motor
Beginning in 1987 with the 300/2.8, Canon has been slowly equipping its best lenses with the ring ultrasonic motor, in which the rotor and stator are big circles around the optics. These are incredibly fast and silent. Even more important, they allow simultaneous use of autofocus and manual focus. You can leave the lens in AF mode all the time and override the camera's decision at any time (or move AF to a separate button as with the EOS 5 body).

This is the "right stuff."

Micro Ultrasonic Motor
If you were a big company and figured out how to make something for 1/3rd the cost but still sold under the same name, wouldn't you? Well, that's what Canon did. The micro ultrasonic motor is a tiny little motor that they stick in the lens and then connect with gears to the focus mechanism. It is tough to see how this is any better than the Minolta/Nikon AF method of driving the lens focus mechanism from a motor inside the lens mount.

A micro USM does not allow simultaneous AF and MF. Thus, the largest user-interface advantage of the ring USM is gone. Much of the noise of a standard motor is back too. The micro USM is noticeably quieter than a regular motor, but not silent like a ring USM.

Canon puts the micro-USM mostly into its new cheap zoom lenses.

cornfused

Re: Canon 50mm f1.4 USM vs Canon 85mm f1.8 USM

Postby cornfused » December 6th, 2011, 6:59 pm

DVSTT wrote:Canon 50mm f1.4 USM vs Canon 85mm f1.8 USM

DV this is question more likely to get an answer on phototrini. I am not qualified but I recently got the 50mm and that is my first prime lens and yeah it pick up light like that and is crystal clear and it has a motor while the 85 mm seem to be full manual.

A better review can be found here

http://www.dpreview.com/products/compare/side-by-side?products=canon_50_1p8_ii&products=canon_85_1p8

Re: Photography Thread... whey allyuh? (Share yuh shots here

Postby DVSTT » December 6th, 2011, 7:14 pm

ok thanks alot guys!!! i tink im goin wid an 85mm f1.8. suposedly "L" performance. the 50mm 1.4 has too much bad reviews with the microUSM dying on alot of people. anyone uses this 85mm f1.8???

Postby DVSTT » December 6th, 2011, 7:15 pm

need it for lowlight and better bokeh, moving up from a kit lens.

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » December 6th, 2011, 7:24 pm

Phone cam shot... power plant in La Brea....
uploadfromtaptalk1323213826404.jpg

miguel granville

Postby miguel granville » December 6th, 2011, 7:39 pm

DVSTT wrote:need it for lowlight and better bokeh, moving up from a kit lens.

even the 50mm f/1.8 is a really great lens i have it and trust me i don't have anything bad to say