Best doubles in T&T

Re: Best doubles in T&T

Postby paid_influencer » February 22nd, 2023, 5:34 pm

problem with that report card is that doubles ent a uniform dish.

channa for example, some channa have heavy geera flavor (like blue shed in debe), some channa bland AF (like singh's in debe, next door to blue shed). i would consider them different genres. classifying them the same would be like saying a stew chicken is the same as a curry chicken.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 22nd, 2023, 7:00 pm

Any of y'all ever ate a chicken or shrimp doubles?

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » February 22nd, 2023, 7:15 pm

DMan7 wrote:Any of y'all ever ate a chicken or shrimp doubles?

Had a chicken one once in Felicity by Jubilee Ground on the main road. It wasn't too bad, but I wouldn't call that a doubles, more like some sort of halfway between doubles and roti.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » February 23rd, 2023, 4:35 am

DMan7 wrote:
dogg wrote:You could get some decent consistent doubles in front of Neighbours supermarket on El Socorro road. I dunno about best, that's subjective. But they're good and consistent.

I bought there already once, not good.

worst doubles in the area an since the prizzen ossifer leave she kant it taste worst. she lun to make the doubles from he. i does pass and watch that line an study that is how the country in this state that all them people can buy that sheit an be happy. dat lady aloo pies have no aloo in it.i remember in 2021 i waiting a 4am in the grocery yard and watching them cooking and sneezing over the food and basin fall an d lady pick it up and continue. man i never buy they again.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » February 23rd, 2023, 7:45 am

I like the doubles by Pliskomart (formerly Eros cinema for the old folks) in tunapuna. Tastes great and it's still $5. I does try to support the $5 men

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 23rd, 2023, 8:02 am

triniterribletim wrote:
DMan7 wrote:Any of y'all ever ate a chicken or shrimp doubles?

Had a chicken one once in Felicity by Jubilee Ground on the main road. It wasn't too bad, but I wouldn't call that a doubles, more like some sort of halfway between doubles and roti.

issa doubloti? Doti? Roubles? Rotoubles?

Anyhow, chicken doubles does lash, and is a VERY good wholesome meal minus the fry bara.
A cup of channa + chicken would be a very good morning meal if you doing hard wuk...

Shrimp however, is just sea cockroach, and is disgusting in any dish.

Postby Dave » February 23rd, 2023, 9:04 am

I always see a stead stream of ppl by him. Always wanted to try it.

There's a girl by Presentation College in Chaguanas who isn't that bad.
metalgear2095 wrote:I like the doubles by Pliskomart (formerly Eros cinema for the old folks) in tunapuna. Tastes great and it's still $5. I does try to support the $5 men

Postby mero » February 23rd, 2023, 9:22 am

triniboi49 wrote:My ranking
1. Frank’s by UWI

Lol, Frank's doubles is the first doubles I throw away. Taking 2nr advice again. Doubles subjective but Frank's shouldn't be #1 on anybody list

dogg

Postby dogg » February 23rd, 2023, 9:44 am

For real though.

I used to live in the St Augustine area, and would never buy doubles from Frank. Cuz it was just bland.
Just goes to show.
There's no best doubles. Its a matter of personal preference.

mero wrote:
1. Frank’s by UWI

Lol, Frank's doubles is the first doubles I throw away. Taking 2nr advice again. Doubles subjective but Frank's shouldn't be #1 on anybody list

Postby Dizzy28 » February 23rd, 2023, 11:40 am

Which one...the morning one or evening one?
Never had the morning one, the evening one meh!!
metalgear2095 wrote:I like the doubles by Pliskomart (formerly Eros cinema for the old folks) in tunapuna. Tastes great and it's still $5. I does try to support the $5 men

hindian

Postby hindian » February 23rd, 2023, 4:06 pm

The white Kia van outside of the Piarco gas station is my go to. Not the absolute best but it ain’t bad. Red cap doubles and pies very bland for me. Sleepy doubles in St Helena okayish too although last week he had some extremely salty doubles I had to throw it away

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » February 23rd, 2023, 5:08 pm

dogg wrote:For real though.

I used to live in the St Augustine area, and would never buy doubles from Frank. Cuz it was just bland.
Just goes to show.

mero wrote:
1. Frank’s by UWI

frank still around? i remember he used to have line in the last 90's when i was in uwi. he used to have about 5 chutney and sauces that made it taste good hot.

Postby pugboy » February 23rd, 2023, 7:37 pm

i also tasted frank a few years ago, was not impressed, just like how I was not impressed with uwee doubles
seems the scratchy coconut chutney was popular for some reason or another but bleh.

if ppl relying on condiments to make a doubles taste good...........

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 23rd, 2023, 7:50 pm

pugboy wrote:i also tasted frank a few years ago, was not impressed, just like how I was not impressed with uwee doubles
seems the scratchy coconut chutney was popular for some reason or another but bleh.

Postby Chimera » February 23rd, 2023, 8:37 pm

pugboy wrote:i also tasted frank a few years ago, was not impressed, just like how I was not impressed with uwee doubles

giphy.gif
giphy.gif (190.21 KiB) Viewed 1027 times

Postby MaxPower » February 23rd, 2023, 8:53 pm

hindian wrote:The white Kia van outside of the Piarco gas station is my go to. Not the absolute best but it ain’t bad. Red cap doubles and pies very bland for me. Sleepy doubles in St Helena okayish too although last week he had some extremely salty doubles I had to throw it away

Yes toppy, they not bad i find.

Bara nice a thin, lil oily though, not many sauces but the channa taste good.

They have a brutal roast pepper though. When they see me it’s to blacken up my order with da roast.

Postby Chimera » February 23rd, 2023, 8:54 pm

By daisy's in chaguanas in the night does have a bess doubles

Postby *KRONIK* » February 24th, 2023, 6:35 am

dogg wrote:For real though.

Just goes to show.

mero wrote:
1. Frank’s by UWI

Correck

This thread isnt about the "best doubles"
Its actually "the doubles that i like"

And it can go on forever, everybody has an opinion.....

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » February 24th, 2023, 7:24 am

mero wrote:
1. Frank’s by UWI

Is that on the corner opposite the car park/ coconut man?

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » February 24th, 2023, 7:26 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Which one...the morning one or evening one?
Never had the morning one, the evening one meh!!
The morning one. He also sells in tunapuna obliquely opposite the police station. Had to drop some channa up the road for him once

Postby pugboy » February 24th, 2023, 7:33 am

forever in circles

*KRONIK* wrote:

Postby *KRONIK* » February 24th, 2023, 8:08 am

Well....keyboard warriors does need a battlefield...

So...carry on

Postby adnj » February 24th, 2023, 8:46 am

^^ the smartest posters on tuner have just dropped a free six piece box of knowledge nuggets.

The most active tuner posters won't be eating them.

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 24th, 2023, 11:00 am

pugboy wrote:forever in circles

*KRONIK* wrote:

Fickity fax

It honestly hard to make the best doubles in the world because There's only so much you can do when you have to keep the price at $5-7 (which is damn cheap)

But I could tell you the WORST very easily :lol:

I see a man with dutty dutty BLACK fingernails literally holding the bara jusso jusso.
I doh mean under he fingernails black, i mean he fingernail.....BLACK.
(he had long dutty fingernails too on top of that)

Was somewhere on Munroe road outside a grocery, cant remember anything other than that

dogg

Postby dogg » February 24th, 2023, 11:07 am

There was a man on Independence sq, maybe a decade or so ago.
I line up to buy doubles, well in them days, you gathered around, no line.
The man taking money with his bare hands, then grabbing bara with the same bare hands to make doubles.
And ppl watching that and eating normal.... not me, I skeedadle out one time.

ruffneck_12 wrote:
pugboy wrote:forever in circles

*KRONIK* wrote:
But I could tell you the WORST very easily :lol:

I see a man with dutty dutty BLACK fingernails literally holding the bara jusso jusso.
I doh mean under he fingernails black, i mean he fingernail.....BLACK.
(he had long dutty fingernails too on top of that)

Was somewhere on Munroe road outside a grocery, cant remember anything other than that

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 24th, 2023, 11:13 am

Yeah dawg, I throw away a doubles a time due to the hygiene of the vendors.

This was like last month where it had that nasty cough flu going around. And the Wrapper woman turned her head and cough a very wet cough while wrapping my ting..... They were also selling from an old Van , plus they themselves were old and not too healthy looking.

I just take my ting to the car, take one bite, then was like na firetruck dis..... Spit it out and put it back in the bag.

I aint getting belly wuk or sick for $6 dawg

triniboi49

Postby triniboi49 » February 24th, 2023, 2:26 pm

1. Frank’s by UWI
2. Red Cap airport
3. Penitence street San do
4. Sando round about by the hardware
5. Sauce (depends on location)

In my defense i did not have Franks in years - but back in the day I recall it being good, his sauces made the difference. I stopped as his lines were long and slow.

Redcap still solid imho. My goto is Sauce Chaguanas- very consistent. Never had a bad exp with them The guys by KFC in Maraval decent and Fats by Tatil POS has a decent doubles.

Supra GT-FOUR

Postby Supra GT-FOUR » February 24th, 2023, 2:28 pm

mero wrote:
1. Frank’s by UWI

Agree with this.
Woft doubles.

Postby gastly369 » February 24th, 2023, 2:51 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Well....keyboard warriors does need a battlefield...

So...carry on
Ah go take 6 with slight

Postby MaxPower » February 24th, 2023, 3:15 pm

Doubles vendors need to take more pride in themselves and their product. Many people depend on them as it’s affordable, quick and supposed to taste good.

Park up a day and observe most doubles vendors set up. They don’t wash their hands before they start serving. They need to take a step back to home to clean and groom themselves. Yuh cannot be dealing doubles and looking stink stink. The nasty finger nails with Trinis is a typical issue like omg….it’s food we’re dealing with. And for heavens sake, cut out the long single finger nail…it is disgusting and a haven for germs.

Come on T&T, we need to do better. And throw allyuh wrapper in the bin after allyuh tongue glide off it to get every last bit of sauce out.