Re: Best doubles in T&T

Postby SR » February 6th, 2023, 6:29 am

Correct few places are hit an miss and all overpriced

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 6th, 2023, 7:55 am

Sunil's doubles in Eddie Hart does rel lash

Just he pepper REEL hot , so be wary of a slight even.

Sauces nice too

Postby mero » February 6th, 2023, 8:00 am

Had Sauce on the Avenue Saturday morning after a lil steam .

Was surprisingly well and I doh really rate Sauce.

Then again my head was bad, so could be that. But that was delicious. Will try again sober

Postby Dizzy28 » February 6th, 2023, 9:03 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:Sunil's doubles in Eddie Hart does rel lash

Sauces nice too

There's something about Sunil, doesn't matter the time of day you buy his doubles it does be on the cold side.

Postby MaxPower » February 6th, 2023, 9:15 am

Sauces nice too

U find so?

Typical inconsistent vendor to me.

But yeh, pepper was lil stingy the few times i went

Postby mero » February 6th, 2023, 9:27 am

Sauces nice too

There's something about Sunil, doesn't matter the time of day you buy his doubles it does be on the cold side.
You are actually quite right.

Dipped by there hungry af a day. Only eat one and press. Not acceptable at all

sheit real stink later that day too.

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 7th, 2023, 8:14 am

Meeno if is the type of pepper or what na. But not all pepper does siddong right.
I could eat some people doubles and drink supligen and be okay.

Then I'll eat some other people doubles with slight, and have shittings for 36 hours.

Same with KFC spicy/jamaican patties/Spicy Thai Tuna, it's not that hot, but is a 36 hour belly wuk after for some reason.

Postby Dizzy28 » February 7th, 2023, 10:12 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:Meeno if is the type of pepper or what na. But not all pepper does siddong right.
I could eat some people doubles and drink supligen and be okay.

Then I'll eat some other people doubles with slight, and have shittings for 36 hours.

Same with KFC spicy/jamaican patties/Spicy Thai Tuna, it's not that hot, but is a 36 hour belly wuk after for some reason.

I could eat real pepper and be normal but Kelvin and Rose one does a number on me. Been that way since they were by Valpark.

Dunno why them specifically.

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 7th, 2023, 10:58 am

Hadda be the type of pepper I feel or other ingredients synergizing to enhance the belly wuk. Or the brand of channa?

Meeno na dawg.

Singh's doubles by maritime roundabout.... I could eat that with heavy pepper and drink a Supligen and be normal :|

It a hit or miss yes

Nexus

Postby Nexus » February 7th, 2023, 12:34 pm

Recently had by the vendor outside medford gas station on chaguanas main road (by trial street), afternoon time. A lady wrapping and young dude collecting cash.
Was pleasantly surprised! Thin barra, well seasoned channa (not only salt) and kuchela and coconut chutney to. Around that spot have like 3 vendors; kyle use to be my go to but the standard seems to have fallen since he passed

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 7th, 2023, 1:09 pm

Nexus wrote:Recently had by the vendor outside medford gas station on chaguanas main road (by trial street), afternoon time. A lady wrapping and young dude collecting cash.
Was pleasantly surprised! Thin barra, well seasoned channa (not only salt) and kuchela and coconut chutney to. Around that spot have like 3 vendors; kyle use to be my go to but the standard seems to have fallen since he passed

Flyover doubles?

Yeah dem does LASH

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » February 7th, 2023, 3:33 pm

Nexus wrote:Recently had by the vendor outside medford gas station on chaguanas main road (by trial street), afternoon time. A lady wrapping and young dude collecting cash.

Definitely that doubles over the others around there, especially if the channa just come out. Real cool fella from Felicity. Doubles does lash.

zorced

Postby zorced » February 9th, 2023, 9:33 am

About a year and more ago there used to be 2 brothers who used to sell doubles as soon as you enter the food market just off the Couva flyover, which is where the "gourmet" :skurred: doubles is now.

Anyone knows if they still operating somewhere else?
It was top 3 for me.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » February 10th, 2023, 5:17 am

saw d persad (opposite mt hope hospital on the PBR side) doubles on youtube and it look good. i aint taste it as i lock of doubles for a lil while. anyone in here tried it?

Postby pugboy » February 10th, 2023, 7:25 am

a $3 doubles open on the ave by crobar corner
but like the price ain’t helping them

Postby Rovin » February 10th, 2023, 11:45 am

triniterribletim wrote:

Definitely that doubles over the others around there, especially if the channa just come out. Real cool fella from Felicity. Doubles does lash.

see my post on d previous page, pretty much same thing i said .... :|

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » February 17th, 2023, 1:30 pm

If u go by d doubles man an he say he dont have pepper will u buy?

All dem fast food places saying no pepper,some no mustard or ketchup an nobody seems to mind.

Postby Rovin » February 17th, 2023, 1:35 pm

doh fraid to call royal castle name with d pepper sauce cause everybody knows it , they hitting u dat shot since late last year

if their supplier playing d fool with d pepper sauce it must have others who will be glad for d business ....

dogg

Postby dogg » February 17th, 2023, 1:40 pm

You could get some decent consistent doubles in front of Neighbours supermarket on El Socorro road. I dunno about best, that's subjective. But they're good and consistent.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 17th, 2023, 4:22 pm

dogg wrote:You could get some decent consistent doubles in front of Neighbours supermarket on El Socorro road. I dunno about best, that's subjective. But they're good and consistent.

I bought there already once, not good.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » February 18th, 2023, 3:34 am

Rovin wrote:doh fraid to call royal castle name with d pepper sauce cause everybody knows it , they hitting u dat shot since late last year

if their supplier playing d fool with d pepper sauce it must have others who will be glad for d business ....

everybody know about royal castle but i was talking about hot sub in grand bazar. i order telling the cashier to put pepper sauce to the side and she never said they have no pepper until food ready an i seeing no pepper they go say it dont have any pepper and them aint want to give me back my money. doh feel sorry when bad things happen to business that rob an be dishonest.

rexsmith

Postby rexsmith » February 22nd, 2023, 9:03 am

That is why you suppose to ask if they have pepper before you pay

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » February 22nd, 2023, 12:10 pm

rachael's doubles. caroni roundabout. not bad. 7/10

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » February 22nd, 2023, 1:57 pm

What would a doubles Report Card look like?

Maybe this?

Code: Select all

1. Bara          [5 marks]
2. Condiments    [5 marks]
3. Channa        [3 marks]
4. Service       [3 marks]   
5. Speed         [3 marks]
6. Setting       [2 marks]
7. Presentation  [2 marks]
8. Cost          [2 marks]

TOTAL: 25 marks

adapted from https://allian.medium.com/a-comprehensi ... de9e4bb859

So maybe,

Code: Select all

THUNDER DOUBLES, CHIN CHIN (had this a few weeks ago)
1. Bara          [3/5]
2. Condiments    [3/5]
3. Channa        [3/3]
4. Service       [2/3]   
5. Speed         [2/3]
6. Setting       [1/2]
7. Presentation  [1/2]
8. Cost          [2/2]

TOTAL = 17/25 (68%, B)

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 22nd, 2023, 2:06 pm

add another line item for arse bun the day after

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » February 22nd, 2023, 2:14 pm

Postby redmanjp » February 22nd, 2023, 2:20 pm

rexsmith wrote:That is why you suppose to ask if they have pepper before you pay

yeah but he made a request about pepper which she should have responded that they dont have any.

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 22nd, 2023, 2:26 pm

Boy you preaching to the choir here.

Green butterfly is the best solution for arse bun. It tastes horrible, by itself like straight up soybean oil flavored milk

But it quells a future arse bun ASAP

Tums also works too.

triniboi49

Postby triniboi49 » February 22nd, 2023, 2:49 pm

My ranking
1. Frank’s by UWI
2. Red Cap airport
3. Penitence street San do
4. Sando round about by the hardware
5. Sauce (depends on location)