Mountain Biking

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » June 4th, 2008, 2:02 pm

ah have a fuji nevada 1.0 mtb with disc brakes for sale ... pm meh if any ah allyuh interested

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » June 4th, 2008, 4:03 pm

My mountain bike; Raleigh M50 Hardtail, but I never went "mountain biking" with it.
I have serfas road tires 26x1.5. I hardly go on the road these days, since it so dangerous with all those maxis and taxis. But I do use a trainer.

All the mods I have is a Easton carbon handle bar :mrgreen:

GTi Guy

Postby GTi Guy » June 4th, 2008, 9:34 pm

rel like the bikes tht guy had..rel like t ride up chaguramus especially up be the trackinstation but there are so cool trail too especially dry season jus follow the river..ride up t a watrfall 1 time jus hada cross some boulders twas close t the golfcourse.. oh wen i bored to my back yard rel jed t ride mounds of dirt waitin t level so i made so trials in the midst of it lol its a nice way t keep in touch wid ur bike if u cant go regularly!

Postby 3stagevtec » June 4th, 2008, 11:05 pm

where locally sells good bikes reasonable?? always loved biking, but never persued it much..

GTi Guy

Postby GTi Guy » June 4th, 2008, 11:09 pm

mike n geronimo..i'll get the no. later if no1 post it up before me..and they are helpful wen it comes to choosing bikes too

Postby 3stagevtec » June 4th, 2008, 11:16 pm

^is that Geronimo's Cycle and Sports ltd, 15 Pole Carew St. Woodbrook? 622-2453

saw it in the yellow pages..

GTi Guy

Postby GTi Guy » June 4th, 2008, 11:46 pm

yup and silly me i just saw the numbers on the 1st page of this thread lol mike and gene(geronimo)

vinke

Postby vinke » June 6th, 2008, 12:02 am

whats a hash

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » June 6th, 2008, 12:12 am

vinke wrote:whats a hash

Yeah what?

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » June 6th, 2008, 8:19 am

[quote=".:PROZAC:.."]There must be. Last visit I saw some well equipped bikes heading up the highway.

mountain bikes aint for the highway. im one of those guys on the highway, mountain bikes have NO chance.
those are roadbikes you see there

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » June 6th, 2008, 8:42 am

I usually go on the agricultural roads between Sando, Barrackpore, Irie Village Penal and Debe, rode from Sando to Quinam on Easter Monday this year. I do a Sando Hill on a regular basis just to hone my hill endurance. Anyone interested in forming a ride group, put up a post and let's get some names. Put up a schedule of rides and take it from there!?

I ride a Fuji Nevada 3.0 with Tektro Io brakes front and back.

richiepooh

Postby richiepooh » June 6th, 2008, 9:38 am

It's a drinking club with a running problem.

anyway guys for all you mountain bikers, we are doing the 3 sisters tommorow morning at 5:45am sharp.

Meeting at starlite shopping plaza.

1st sister - Moure Coco into maraval
2nd sister - Moka hill to the maracas pillars into Santa Cruz/San Juan
3rd sister - Lady Young over to the savannah

Back to Starlite.

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » June 6th, 2008, 9:46 am

roadbikes or mountain?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » June 6th, 2008, 9:47 am

richiepooh wrote:

anyway guys for all you mountain bikers, we are doing the 3 sisters tommorow morning at 5:45am sharp.

Back to Starlite.

You might get a set of non-geographically inclined 2NRS turning up tomorrow morning without bikes. I just giving you some advanced warning.

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » June 6th, 2008, 11:58 am

richiepooh wrote:

Back to Starlite.

Well we are more in to the 'mountain' part of the mountain biking ... Last weekend was a ride / hike up to Rincon Falls and the "ride" back was more of a, "try not to die while hurtling downhill at breakneck speeds" over and (of course) onto rocks, trees and jep nests.

Took us about 1/2 hr to get back, hurt, bleeding and stung ... It was probably the most fun I've had all year!

Tomorrow morning we'll be at Chaguaramas hitting the bike trails hard 3 -4 laps and probably the trail from the golf course to Macaqueripe beach ... Good all mountian riding there.

Interested partied text 680-0847 around 7 am tomorrow and I'll tell you exactly what time and where to meet us.

It'll be hella fun, but we wait for no one. You cannot get lost so don't fret, just good fun and a decent workout.

Postby RBphoto » June 6th, 2008, 12:35 pm

A question for allyuh, is a mountain bike or a race bike best for the road. I have had a mountain bike for a long time, but I believe that a race bike with thinner tyres will give me less fatigue as there will be less friction with the road. What allyuh think??

richiepooh

Postby richiepooh » June 6th, 2008, 12:48 pm

crossdrilled wrote:A question for allyuh, is a mountain bike or a race bike best for the road. I have had a mountain bike for a long time, but I believe that a race bike with thinner tyres will give me less fatigue as there will be less friction with the road. What allyuh think??

The racer is better for the road. Less fatigue.

Are you coming tomorrow?

the cost is TT40.00

Police escort and support vehicle with light refreshments.

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » June 6th, 2008, 2:50 pm

richiepooh wrote:
crossdrilled wrote:A question for allyuh, is a mountain bike or a race bike best for the road. I have had a mountain bike for a long time, but I believe that a race bike with thinner tyres will give me less fatigue as there will be less friction with the road. What allyuh think??

The racer is better for the road. Less fatigue.

Are you coming tomorrow?

the cost is TT40.00

Police escort and support vehicle with light refreshments.

As my boy said, you ride on the road, get a road / race bike or at the very least, put some skinny slick tyres on your current bike.

Mountain biking can be loosely categorized into:

XC or Cross country riding
All mountain riding
Freeride
Downhill

XC is basically exactly as described, cross country, broken / no roads and light single path trails, drops / jumps less than 2 ft:

All mountain is XC + some light freeride thrown in .. Basically drops & jumps more than 2 feet, less than 10, fast high strung decents, balls to the wall up hill and down (within reason)

That is what my crew does, All mountain riding owns joo!!

Freeride is all mountain with bigger jumps and typically in a bike park setting ... so jumps greater than 10ft, heavier bikes and gear:

Downhill riding is exactly that, barreling down a hillside "track" at maximum speed to get max height. Heavy bikes 40lbs + and gear, big air!

Downhill riders typically ski lift to the top of the run and then bomb down .... Really who want's to ride a 45lb bike uphill? Not I!

richiepooh

Postby richiepooh » June 6th, 2008, 3:03 pm

My GF Marlin is about 21 pounds.

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » June 6th, 2008, 3:13 pm

richiepooh wrote:My GF Marlin is about 21 pounds.

GF Marlin = XC bike that's sounds correct ...

That an actual stock weight? Damn that's light.

I just paid down on a new Giant Trace X2 XC/All mountain ride.

This should be around 28lbs:

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » June 6th, 2008, 3:17 pm

richiepooh wrote:My GF Marlin is about 21 pounds.

You must have done a lot of work to get that bike so light!

They have stock weight at 30.6lbs! : http://www.bikeradar.com/gear/category/ ... -disc-8971

If you don't have disks, then stock would be 29lbs or so ..

richiepooh

Postby richiepooh » June 6th, 2008, 3:20 pm

I changed the Crank from steel to 6061 Aluminium, I change the Casette and my Handle Bar & stem to Bontrager Race :wink: :wink:

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » June 6th, 2008, 3:29 pm

richiepooh wrote:I changed the Crank from steel to 6061 Aluminium, I change the Casette and my Handle Bar & stem to Bontrager Race :wink: :wink:

Very nice, my next purchase will be a lightweight hard tail ... I was thinking of going really different with a 29er (29" wheels) and a single speed, but I haven't made up my mind and I want to see how much I love the Giant ...

Was considering the GF Rig actually:

Postby RBphoto » June 6th, 2008, 3:32 pm

I ain't ride for about three years since my 21 speed mountain bike was stolen. I just bought a big bike to lug all of my books when I was in UWI, not thinking that the bigger/ fatter tyres would mean more pedaling effort. I like the mountian bike, but since I used to just ride through wellington road and thing, do a Esperance to penal, I was thinking about my new bike being a race style bike. I like the idea of the road tyres on the mountain bike... Best of both worlds :wink:

Will revisit ched after I get it (and get back the bottom acoustomed to the seat.)

richiepooh

Postby richiepooh » June 9th, 2008, 7:55 am

THE RIDE WAS EXCELLENT!!!!!!!!!!!!

the 3 SISTERS were CONQUERED

THIS SATURDAY 14th June WE ARE HEADING LAS CUEVAS.

Meeting @ the Maraval Police Station for 5:15am and leaving 5:30am SHARP.

This ride should take about 3.5 hours. to go and get back.

996vtwin
In Memory of George Aboud Jr.

Postby 996vtwin » June 9th, 2008, 2:12 pm

richiepooh wrote:THE RIDE WAS EXCELLENT!!!!!!!!!!!!

the 3 SISTERS were CONQUERED

THIS SATURDAY 14th June WE ARE HEADING LAS CUEVAS.

Meeting @ the Maraval Police Station for 5:15am and leaving 5:30am SHARP.

This ride should take about 3.5 hours. to go and get back.

is this brians's ride?

richiepooh

Postby richiepooh » June 9th, 2008, 3:50 pm

No sir, brian's ride starts from Starlite shopping and is set for Racers. we are Mountain bike riders.

Postby pugboy » June 9th, 2008, 4:02 pm

^^haha, brian's ride is supposedly a controlled recovery ride
but you get all kind of people trying to flex their ego and making
the ride into a very undisciplined ride with unfit fellas falling down and
breaking bones etc

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » June 9th, 2008, 5:56 pm

Have any of you bought from the bike inn in viatabella?

What is the avg. price of a good mountian bike?

richiepooh

Postby richiepooh » June 10th, 2008, 9:35 am

pugboy wrote:^^haha, brian's ride is supposedly a controlled recovery ride
but you get all kind of people trying to flex their ego and making
the ride into a very undisciplined ride with unfit fellas falling down and
breaking bones etc

That's right!!!!!!!!

As far as i'm concern this ride has a bunch of MID LIFE CRISIS individuals whose trying to make up for what was lost :lol: :lol: :lol:

This ride is basically out of control. With these Orange Jersey riders taking control, and they also do not belong to the Spinn Road Team. I heard they call them corbeaux.