The | Apple Inc.  | Thread

Re: The | Apple Inc.  | Thread

Postby maj. tom » September 7th, 2022, 9:31 pm

eSIMs have a lot of advantages over sim cards. More security for one, and in a fully working compatible world, much easier to switch networks. Persons traveling internationally would not even need to swap out a plastic nano-sim card. They can just order and play for a plan online through the carrier's website, or buy a QR card plan the destination airport and input a key/scan a QR code which installs the local plan just like that and suddenly the phone works locally like normal. The QR cards look like this.

You can store eSIM profiles and just switch them like switching your wifi network. Smart devices, tablets, even cars can now have mobile data without a sim card, a standard built in eSIM chip will just need to activate a plan and your device has internet.

This move of Apple's on the eSIMs, as a leading force of consumer technology trends, is as good as when they said no to Flash on their devices and forced HTML5 development and universal deployment. It's not like the headphone jack thing. One can only hope the local carriers start moving on this now.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 7th, 2022, 9:53 pm

jsm1985 wrote:
jsm1985 wrote:Canadian Apple retail stores looks like the only option moving forward for buying the iPhone 14 line. Very short-sighted move on Apple's part to do this as they have a large chunk of sales coming from international visitors who purchase while in the US to take their unlocked phones back home.

Also won't be able to buy from Apple US online store and ship with courier.

Anyone has any insight into bmobile/Digicel adopting eSIM soon?

The cellar Apple Watch has been out a while now and no eSIM support locally.
Not that the watch was enough incentive for local carriers to offer it.

Apple caught everyone by surprise with this. The good news is that bmobile and Digicel are going to have to scramble to launch eSIMs soon otherwise they will be losing out on having the new iPhones compatible with their network.

Let’s see how long it takes them

Depends on if they see that as themselves "losing out" on anything.
If one jumps the other will have to follow, otherwise we stuck with older iPhones or very expensive iPhone 14 and up with sim trays.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 8th, 2022, 11:54 am

As someone who gets iPhones from the US this move sucks.

Postby Chimera » September 8th, 2022, 12:49 pm

Time to order from Canada and Hong Kong now

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 8th, 2022, 12:59 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Time to order from Canada and Hong Kong now

Shipping and logistics will mean iPhone 14 prices in T&T will be HIGH!

Postby Chimera » September 8th, 2022, 1:03 pm

it simple enuff to buy from canada or hong kong sites and ship it to a friend there and let them fedex it for you here

the good thing is we have no taxes on phones

Postby S_2NR » September 8th, 2022, 1:18 pm

I not going thru all that stress. I gonna change the battery in my 11 pro and relax myself.

Postby maj. tom » September 8th, 2022, 1:22 pm

SIM
Dual SIM (Nano-SIM and eSIM) or Dual eSIM - International
Dual eSIM with multiple numbers - USA
Dual SIM (Nano-SIM, dual stand-by) - China
https://www.gsmarena.com/apple_iphone_14-11861.php

Postby Chimera » September 8th, 2022, 2:01 pm

wait na
does this mean that if you steal a iphone it will be useless for calls?
it can be locked down easier as it wont be possible to just pop in a sim and use it?

Postby pugboy » September 8th, 2022, 2:35 pm

good question
can a phone which has been screen unlocked be able to esim swapped to any new user just like that or require additional security to do so?

Phone Surgeon wrote:wait na
does this mean that if you steal a iphone it will be useless for calls?
it can be locked down easier as it wont be possible to just pop in a sim and use it?

Postby maj. tom » September 8th, 2022, 3:47 pm

it's carrier-locked based security so it won't work.... but don't doubt that men will soon find a way to flash esim offline and spoof an existing esim that already registered OTA with the carrier. It always have a way for hackers.

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » September 8th, 2022, 4:15 pm

I sure In a bmobile boardroom is a big crisis meeting this morning and somebody on a whiteboard getting cuss for saying “chief it go take a 6 months to put everything in place for d eSim”

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » September 8th, 2022, 4:24 pm

I went to metro by T-mobile here to get an eSim in the S22 Ultra and they were like "what's that?" lol.

xtech

Postby xtech » September 8th, 2022, 4:35 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:I went to metro by T-mobile here to get an eSim in the S22 Ultra and they were like "what's that?" lol.

They probably right you can’t get a esim it should be already in your phone. T-Mobile offered to activate my iphone esim immediately or send me a SIM card in the mail.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » September 8th, 2022, 5:05 pm

xtech wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:I went to metro by T-mobile here to get an eSim in the S22 Ultra and they were like "what's that?" lol.

They probably right you can’t get a esim it should be already in your phone. T-Mobile offered to activate my iphone esim immediately or send me a SIM card in the mail.

They didn't know what an eSim is to even activate it there.

xtech

Postby xtech » September 8th, 2022, 5:09 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:
xtech wrote:

They didn't know what an eSim is to even activate it there.

Oh just noticed you said you went to metro

Of the T-Mobile based networks only T-Mobile Prepaid and Mint support eSIM right now.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » September 8th, 2022, 5:14 pm

ahh ok got it now thanks.

jsm1985

Postby jsm1985 » September 8th, 2022, 5:22 pm

I reached out to my corporate TSTT rep to confirm eSIM availability timeline. Mentioned that they were "in a meeting about it right now" :lol:

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » September 8th, 2022, 7:24 pm

jsm1985 wrote:I reached out to my corporate TSTT rep to confirm eSIM availability timeline. Mentioned that they were "in a meeting about it right now"
That's the power of Apple for you. For better or worse, what they say goes.

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » September 8th, 2022, 8:15 pm

Wah Digicel sayin?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 8th, 2022, 8:38 pm

greggle71 wrote:Wah Digicel sayin?

Postby S_2NR » September 8th, 2022, 8:55 pm

Lol @ bmobile getting esim. They can't even get their network to work consistently.

wingnut

Postby wingnut » September 8th, 2022, 9:22 pm

S_2NR wrote:Lol @ bmobile getting esim. They can't even get their network to work consistently.
And still fighting down porting numbers

Dont want nuttin from dem even if it free

jsm1985

Postby jsm1985 » September 8th, 2022, 9:31 pm

Here’s bmobile and Digicel official responses
0D0F5089-E1F9-4917-87CB-DE2B02CB077A.jpeg
B1C3714A-641B-4B20-91D4-03A22F6C45B6.jpeg

Postby Chimera » September 8th, 2022, 9:46 pm

That esim gonna be real problems down here when it launch.

Digicel fix for everything is to change your sim or reset your apn settings.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » September 8th, 2022, 9:48 pm

^They go put ya out of business padna?

Postby S_2NR » September 8th, 2022, 9:48 pm

wingnut wrote:
S_2NR wrote:Lol @ bmobile getting esim. They can't even get their network to work consistently.
And still fighting down porting numbers

Dont want nuttin from dem even if it free

Yup. Porting your number from bmobile to digicel is a dam nightmare. Worth it in the end to be rid of them and keep your number though.

Postby MaxPower » September 8th, 2022, 10:55 pm

Allyuh Trinis going crazy with this eSim. For heavens sake friends, remain calm.

Everything will happen in timing.

But since my iPhone XS, i love using the eSim option when i travel. It’s so easy to switch between the hard sim and the E.

xtech

Postby xtech » September 9th, 2022, 6:57 am

MaxPower wrote:Allyuh Trinis going crazy with this eSim. For heavens sake friends, remain calm.

Everything will happen in timing.

But since my iPhone XS, i love using the eSim option when i travel. It’s so easy to switch between the hard sim and the E.

Imagine you wake up one morning and your esim only cellphone not working. Can’t switch to your backup phone as easily by switching out your sim card hmmm…

while this might take a few extra minutes with online support in the states I would imagine Bmobile or Digicel will make it even more hard and frustrating as they might make you have to walk in to a store to fix.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 9th, 2022, 7:02 am

Sales tax in Canada is 13%