Re: The | Apple Inc.  | Thread

Postby paid_influencer » January 17th, 2023, 6:21 pm

next level workflows (???)

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 17th, 2023, 6:28 pm

paid_influencer wrote:next level workflows (???)

it's marketing

but yeah if you working 80% faster then that's a better workflow

Postby maj. tom » January 17th, 2023, 6:36 pm

Expect better cooling designs and solutions from Apple too on their laptops?

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 18th, 2023, 9:44 am

maj. tom wrote:Expect better cooling designs and solutions from Apple too on their laptops?

probably. which will have an impact on battery.

When I'm running heavy cpu workloads on my 2020 intel mbp, the cpu starts cooking, the fans sound like a Boeing spinning up.
Never tried running the stats models on. my wife's M1 but I'm curious. Doh have time again to experiment tho

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » January 18th, 2023, 10:25 am

Apple releases new, 2nd gen full size Home Pod.
https://www.apple.com/homepod-2nd-generation/

Apple resurrects full-size HomePod with updated acoustics

Almost two years after it discontinued its original HomePod, Apple has launched a new version in the same size, with the same form factor, but improved audio and better Siri integration.

Apple dropped the original HomePod in March 2021, saying that it intended to focus on the then-new HomePod mini instead. Now the new HomePod will be available in stores and online from February 3, 2022.

"Leveraging our audio expertise and innovations, the new HomePod delivers rich, deep bass, natural mid-range, and clear, detailed highs," Greg Joswiak, Apple's senior vice president of Worldwide Marketing, said in a statement. "With the popularity of HomePod mini, we've seen growing interest in even more powerful acoustics achievable in a larger HomePod."

Preorders for the HomePod begin Wednesday. It retails for $299.
Watch the Latest from AppleInsider TV

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » January 18th, 2023, 10:31 am

Was never really interested in the Home Pod when it first launched, nor the later Home Pod mini.

But I was gifted a mini for xmas 2021 and must say I was quite surprised at the sound for such a small thing, and always pondered what the now defunct original Home Pod sounded like. It also comes in handy with some of my homekit automations, adding to lists, etc.

Just because of the sound of the mini I may consider this upgrade.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 18th, 2023, 12:21 pm

dredman1 wrote:Was never really interested in the Home Pod when it first launched, nor the later Home Pod mini.

But I was gifted a mini for xmas 2021 and must say I was quite surprised at the sound for such a small thing, and always pondered what the now defunct original Home Pod sounded like. It also comes in handy with some of my homekit automations, adding to lists, etc.

You use cameras and lightswitches with HomeKit?

Postby maj. tom » January 18th, 2023, 3:58 pm

Apple Has Begun Scanning Your Local Image Files Without Consent
15 January 2023

https://sneak.berlin/20230115/macos-scans-your-local-files-now/

To recap:

+ In 2021, Apple said they’d scan your local files using your own hardware, in service of the police.

People got upset, because this is a clear privacy violation and is wholly unjustifiable on any basis whatsoever. (Some people speculated that such a move by Apple was to appease the US federal police in advance of their shipping better encryption features which would otherwise hinder police.)

Apple said some additional things that did NOT include “we will not scan your local files”, but did include a confirmation that they intend to ship such features that they consider “critically important”.

The media misreported this amended statement, and people calmed down.

+In late 2022, Apple shipped end-to-end encrypted options for iCloud.

Today, Apple scanned my local files and those scanning programs attempted to talk to Apple APIs, even though I don’t use iCloud, Apple Photos, or an Apple ID. This would have happened without my knowledge or consent if I were not running third-party network monitoring software.

Postby pugboy » January 18th, 2023, 4:03 pm

no wonder a computer with itunes always have an update every another day

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » January 18th, 2023, 10:32 pm

dredman1 wrote:Was never really interested in the Home Pod when it first launched, nor the later Home Pod mini.

You use cameras and lightswitches with HomeKit?
Mainly smart plugs - fans, lights, kettle, set timers for them etc. Nothing major.
But its much easier to say "Siri turn on/off X" than go on my phone, open the Home app, and then do it from there when I need something on/off. To me also the mini actually works much better with voice commands than my phone (hears commands much easier and seems to understands my trini accent better) *shrugs*

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 7th, 2023, 2:28 pm

jsm1985 wrote:bmobile hasn't had voice roaming in place since AT&T stopped using 3G around June 2022. Only 4G data roaming is available.

As a business user, I need to have my local number connected for voice calls while traveling the US. My bmobile plan includes unlimited data/voice roaming for the US/CAN/CAR/GY/UK so it's not a matter of saving cost.

This is their advisory:

"As per our latest Roaming Advisory, The US Networks have shut down their 3G Networks and as a result only 4G Roaming Data is available at this time. The user has to select 4G on his phone. There are no changes just yet.

Our preferred partner is once again AT&T and customers will no longer be able to roam on T-Mobile. The user has to select AT&T manually.

Regular Voice Calls would not work at this time and customers are advised to do App based calling (Whats App, Skype etc).
We are working with our roaming partners toward a speedy resolution, but cannot give a definite time frame.

Our apologies for the inconvenience."

It's working again
https://bmobile.co.tt/advisory/volte/

INDAVID WORKSHOP

Postby INDAVID WORKSHOP » February 8th, 2023, 8:18 am

Guys I used this service the last vacation abroad and it worked seamlessly using my Bmobile number

https://www.airalo.com

JaiTech

Postby JaiTech » February 15th, 2023, 11:33 am

Help my mother I cloud locked her I pad and can't remember the password and email anyone can assist with unlocking it ?

xtech

Postby xtech » February 15th, 2023, 12:22 pm

JaiTech wrote:Help my mother I cloud locked her I pad and can't remember the password and email anyone can assist with unlocking it ?

Walk-in to a Apple Store show ID and proof of purchase they will help you get back in.

Postby MaxPower » February 15th, 2023, 10:59 pm

JaiTech wrote:Help my mother I cloud locked her I pad and can't remember the password and email anyone can assist with unlocking it ?

Is the owner of the device aware that you are asking for their email and password?

Or is it they left their device unattended?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 6th, 2023, 4:27 pm

Apple iPhone 15 Ultra?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 5th, 2023, 1:12 pm

WWDC 2023 going on now!

Just announced the 15" MacBook Air

f-2ee3faa99e328969f1d0859d0b82c2fd1e04101a.jpg

Also announced is the M2 Max and M2 Ultra Mac Studio AND the Mac Pro M2 Ultra with PCI expansion

Postby st7 » June 5th, 2023, 1:17 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:WWDC 2023 going on now!

Also announced is the M2 Max and M2 Ultra Mac Studio AND the Mac Pro M2 Ultra with PCI expansion

those prices cheaper than i imagined for the macbook air lol

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 5th, 2023, 1:24 pm

st7 wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:WWDC 2023 going on now!

those prices cheaper than i imagined for the macbook air lol

yeah the 13" M2 MacBook Air at $1099 is a good deal!

f-03f6e6fb84545039c03bb550402bd581f6fd5d3b.jpg

Re: The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2023

Postby st7 » June 5th, 2023, 1:36 pm

i see they're getting some android features with iOS17

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 5th, 2023, 2:35 pm

Look at those prices, thank god I stick to PC.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 5th, 2023, 2:48 pm

DMan7 wrote:Look at those prices, thank god I stick to PC.

If you like to torture yourself - sure

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 5th, 2023, 2:50 pm

Apple Vision Pro

f-df3c81c20056cb7a08833d71c5a72576252ae187.jpg

Postby st7 » June 5th, 2023, 3:01 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Apple Vision Pro

f-df3c81c20056cb7a08833d71c5a72576252ae187.jpg

it's quite a long presentation for this product.... but i get it... plenty things to cover, and it looking amazing.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 5th, 2023, 3:03 pm

Oh damn

f-2d162b0e2378e17f1c131dbac2188aea3e2babe0.jpg

Postby st7 » June 5th, 2023, 3:04 pm

lol nah dred.... quest 3 for it XD

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 5th, 2023, 3:11 pm

DMan7 wrote:Look at those prices, thank god I stick to PC.

If you like to torture yourself - sure

My wallet isn't tortured tho. :wink:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 5th, 2023, 3:12 pm

st7 wrote:lol nah dred.... quest 3 for it XD

After all that hardware and capability they just showed I don't think Quest 3 is even comparable to the Apple device

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 5th, 2023, 3:21 pm

Apple Vision Pro ad