The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - Vision Pro Unboxing

Re: The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - iPhone 12 launch

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 19th, 2020, 11:15 am

randolphinshan wrote:
Anyone updated their phones and unable to receive calls ?

I have an IPhone 8 and updated last night to IOS 14.2 and now I’m unable to receive calls , phone is a bmobile

Try turning off the phone, remove the SIM card, put it back in and start the phone

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » November 20th, 2020, 2:04 pm

Question: Are any tuners taking the plunge and picking up a brand new M1 Mac for Christmas?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » November 20th, 2020, 2:12 pm

2WNBoost wrote:Question: Are any tuners taking the plunge and picking up a brand new M1 Mac for Christmas?

I am super tempted, but I just bought a new intel MPB15 (i5 quad, 16gb, 512).....and it's been amazing.

However, I'll keep it for a year or 2 then get a M2 (hopefully). Right now, due to some of my Linux VMs I won't be able to switch due to compatibility issues.

2WNBoost

The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - iPhone 12 launch

Postby 2WNBoost » November 20th, 2020, 3:06 pm

I bought an entry level MacBook Pro 13 in January.
This sux as the tax concessions make them even more tempting.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 20th, 2020, 3:30 pm

yeah its real sour for ppl who recently bought a MacBook Air in particular
esp after the recent 2020 refresh from earlier this year

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » November 20th, 2020, 3:38 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:yeah its real sour for ppl who recently bought a MacBook Air in particular
esp after the recent 2020 refresh from earlier this year

Air definitely feel it for the Air ppl, what I'm most curious about is the M chips they plan to use on the MBP 16 line.

I'm anticipating industry leading performance there.

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » November 20th, 2020, 4:40 pm

M1 MacBook Air vs MacBook Pro, which should you buy?
https://9to5mac.com/2020/11/19/m1-macbook-air-vs-m1-macbook-pro-which-should-you-buy/

MacBook Air

MacBook Pro

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » December 1st, 2020, 8:46 am

Just got in my iwatch, charged 320 in total, not bad expected worse. Websource placed the value at 120usd lol.
Anyone knows how long the no tax and duty will be assigned to the laptops?
Want to order the M1 macbook but estimated arrival te to skybox is dec23

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 1st, 2020, 10:19 am

jhonnieblue wrote:Just got in my iwatch, charged 320 in total, not bad expected worse. Websource placed the value at 120usd lol.

What’s an iwatch? Maybe that’s why you got charged 320?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 1st, 2020, 11:16 am

jhonnieblue wrote:Just got in my iwatch, charged 320 in total, not bad expected worse. Websource placed the value at 120usd lol.

Probably won't get it in your hand until the end of the first week in the new year

thelem-again

Postby thelem-again » December 1st, 2020, 11:45 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:

What’s an iwatch? Maybe that’s why you got charged 320?

Ent :D . They probably say its a boot and charged accordingly.

Also the order for the exemption of laptops, computers and tablets expires on December 31st, 2020.

I'm personally keeping me eyes out for the mobile devices exemption which should have been announced and declared already.

Postby pugboy » December 2nd, 2020, 7:34 am

Any iphone XS users ?
How is the battery life ?

I am looking to buy one as the 6s I using outdated and battery life sucks now.

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » December 2nd, 2020, 8:15 am

Apple Certified Refurbished
Comes with a One Year warranty
IMG_0316.JPG

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » December 2nd, 2020, 11:51 am

Why did they place a value on it? Isn't pre-alerting and supplying an invoice to them mandatory with them now?
Or did you not just bother to do that and left it up to them/customs?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 2nd, 2020, 4:42 pm

Apple M1X Mac processors were leaked
Much faster 12 cores and only 45w of total system power

Postby Kenjo » December 2nd, 2020, 5:35 pm

2WNBoost wrote:Apple Certified Refurbished
IMG_0316.JPG

64G memory . Most of that might just be taken up by system memory . Prices could be better

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 2nd, 2020, 6:10 pm

Kenjo wrote:
2WNBoost wrote:Apple Certified Refurbished
IMG_0316.JPG

64G memory . Most of that might just be taken up by system memory . Prices could be better

iOS 14 might take up 8-9 gigs on that phone. Plenty of space remaining.

2WNBoost

The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - iPhone 12 launch

Postby 2WNBoost » December 2nd, 2020, 7:18 pm

That’s admission price for an OLED iPhone
The iPhone 12 mini is better buy at $729 compared to the XS but it’s a $90 price jump.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 5th, 2020, 1:29 am

A virtualized Windows 10 on Arm runs faster on Apple's M1 hardware than on Microsoft's own Arm-based Surface Pro X.

https://www.zdnet.com/article/aws-engin ... ace-pro-x/

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 8th, 2020, 10:08 am

Apple introduces AirPods Max

apple_airpods-max_hero_12082020_big.jpg.large_2x.jpg

AirPods Max custom acoustic design features a 40-mm dynamic driver and a unique dual neodymium ring magnet motor.

apple_airpods-max_internals_12082020_big.jpg.large_2x.jpg

Adaptive EQ: AirPods Max use Adaptive EQ to adjust the sound to the fit and seal of the ear cushions by measuring the sound signal delivered to a user and adjusting the low and mid-frequencies in real time — bringing rich audio that captures every detail.

Active Noise Cancellation: AirPods Max deliver immersive sound through Active Noise Cancellation so users can focus on what they are listening to. Each ear cup features three outward-facing microphones to detect environmental noise, while one microphone inside the ear cup monitors the sound reaching the listener’s ear. Using computational audio, noise cancellation continuously adapts to the headphone fit and movement in real time.

Transparency Mode: With AirPods Max, users can switch to Transparency mode to simultaneously listen to music while hearing the environment around them — ensuring everything, including a user’s own voice, sounds natural while audio plays perfectly. Switching between Active Noise Cancellation and Transparency mode can be done with a single press using the noise control button.

Spatial Audio: AirPods Max use spatial audio with dynamic head tracking to place sounds virtually anywhere in a space — delivering an immersive, theaterlike experience for content recorded in 5.1, 7.1, and Dolby Atmos. Using the gyroscope and accelerometer in AirPods Max and iPhone or iPad, spatial audio tracks the motion of a user’s head as well as the device, compares the motion data, then remaps the sound field so it stays anchored to the device, even as the user’s head moves.

https://www.apple.com/newsroom/2020/12/ ... ar-design/

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 8th, 2020, 10:09 am

Anybody order IPhone 12 yet? If so how customs deal with you? Brutal?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 8th, 2020, 11:01 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Anybody order IPhone 12 yet? If so how customs deal with you? Brutal?

Cousin brought in an iPhone 11 from Apple.com two weeks ago via Aeropost and the charge was US$286.40

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 8th, 2020, 11:07 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Anybody order IPhone 12 yet? If so how customs deal with you? Brutal?

Cousin brought in an iPhone 11 from Apple.com two weeks ago via Aeropost and the charge was US$286.40

Is aaaaalllllll your friend and family in bobol or wha? I hope I get thru so too. 12 PM on the way. Pray for me.

Postby mero » December 8th, 2020, 12:19 pm

Is aaaaalllllll your friend and family in bobol or wha? I hope I get thru so too. 12 PM on the way. Pray for me.

286USD to clear a phone is get thru?

Daz real belt dey

Re: The | Apple Inc.  | Thread

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 8th, 2020, 12:53 pm

mero wrote:

286USD to clear a phone is get thru?

Daz real belt dey

Guuuud I see that as TT. Lemme cancel my order yes.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 8th, 2020, 2:17 pm

That's around TT$1,940 for shipping, handling, VAT, OPT and customs duty on a phone.
The cost of a 128GB iPhone 11 sim free is US$649.00 or around TT$4400
So that's TT$6360 for an iPhone 11
What is it selling in the stores here for?

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Lemme cancel my order yes.

Or wait until 2021 when smartphones are tax free
If that is actually happening or not I dunno

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 8th, 2020, 2:53 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:That's around TT$1,940 for shipping, handling, VAT, OPT and customs duty on a phone.

44% tax. Ouch.

I hear you. I thought they said December 2020 for tax removal. They meeting Wednesday to talk about it. Looking like tax removal from January 2021 to December 2022 is the initial proposal.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 8th, 2020, 3:46 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:That's around TT$1,940 for shipping, handling, VAT, OPT and customs duty on a phone.

44% tax. Ouch.

Not 44% tax
The charge includes shipping and handling from the US by your skybox
For a cellphone VAT is 12.5%, Duty is 20% and OPT is 7%

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 8th, 2020, 4:24 pm

44% tax. Ouch.

Not 44% tax
The charge includes shipping and handling from the US by your skybox
For a cellphone VAT is 12.5%, Duty is 20% and OPT is 7%

Semantics. 44% on top of what was paid in the US. For me to ship an iPhone to Trinidad the shipping cost would be US $6.30. Majority of excess is the combination of taxes.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 8th, 2020, 4:47 pm

^ yeah that's the tax structure though
20% duty, 7% OPT and 12.5% VAT on a $649 smartphone is US$288 in taxes and they were charged $286