When bad customers strike

saxman642

When bad customers strike

Postby saxman642 » July 24th, 2008, 8:00 am

It is nonsense when a customer tells you that TT$150 (VAT Inclusive) per hour is too high for computer repair services!!

Especially when the customer is a foreigner, namely the Indian embassy.

After doing service for them for a long time, I am now fed up of their complaints about my fees.

Enough is enough. I've already prepared my letter to the Ambassador stating that "Due to irresolvable disputes over the cost of computer repair services rendered" they can go find someone else.

I am to conclude that while operating in Trinidad they seem to think that I should charge them as though they and I were in India.

Now TT$1.00 = Rs 7.00 (7 rupees) approximately

The minimum wage in India according to this document is minimum Rs 80.00 (TT$11.43) a day. Assuming 20 work days per month, the average national of India (I can't say "Indian" as that was instantly be labeled as a racist statement against the Indian descendants here) hopefully makes at least Rs 1600, or about TT$228.57 a month. So, um you're expecting me to charge some figure based on what a computer technician in India would charge, say like Rs 150 flat?

I'm sorry, but

That means, you follow and live, buy and sell according to the market in the foreign country in which you reside. AND THIS GOES FOR EVERY SINGLE SERVICE OFFERED in Trinidad.

If you find the cost of labour in Trinidad is too high (compared to India), too bad. That is just how it is here. As far as computer services are concerned, I say tell the Indian Government to send a computer IT specialist to the embassy permanently instead of wasting my time. I know that most other Trini PC repair companies and even freelance techs charging more than me, up to Rs 1750 or TT$250/hr, maybe even more. And those more expensive companies don't even offer on-site service!!

But I KNOW you would NEVER go to the USA and talk that kind of crap, not even for a minute, service rates and cost of living on the whole are even higher there.

By the way Indian diplomats, I should point out that you are not spending your money from your own pocket when conducting business from the High Commision, but the Indian Government's money. I highly doubt that the Indian Gov't will offer you rewards or medals for saving them Rs 1000 a month. Spend the flipping money nah!!

It was nice working for you, but you obvious delusion that you are still in India is enough to finally turn me off.

It is especially sad considering that the person singlehandedly responsible for my decision has only in Trinidad for about a year now...and I been rendering my services to them for over 4 years.

Oh you should hear the customer horror stories i have to tell... :?
Last edited by saxman642 on July 28th, 2008, 12:34 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby crazybalhead » July 24th, 2008, 8:07 am

I think a lot of us share your angst when dealing with Indian cunstomers/ consultants. I think your fee sounds perfectly reasonable.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » July 24th, 2008, 8:07 am

All of those Indian international companies are like that.

When I submit a proposal to any client, I always give them my best price, unless I purposely don't want the job but want to stay on their bidders list.

Every Indian client has always made a point of explicitly requesting in post tender meetings to see if I can revise my prices. They use that same tactic about the same service would cost much lower in India.

I politely tell them that we are not in India and that these prices are based on current market costs and they are my best prices.

If I don't get the job from the Indians, I really don't lose any sleep over it.

Freelander

Postby Freelander » July 24th, 2008, 8:20 am

dats a good price IBM was chargin us 200 Canadian to change a power supply an hr

Skanky

Postby Skanky » July 24th, 2008, 8:21 am

Aye rich people doh get rich by spending their money badly.Indians will always try to beat down your price.It's the nature of the people.If you doh fix it they will find somebody else to fix it.

But I know what you saying....it has been used by many a worker in the oil industry before..mostly to no avail.

Postby r3iXmann » July 24th, 2008, 9:16 am

That's a good price... I usually charge $60-150 for home users and $300+ for corporate clients..let them HDMC!

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » July 24th, 2008, 9:22 am

namely the Indian embassy

dem does ask discount on any fricking thing....thing on sale and they still asking for discount..frick dem yes last time i check this aint fricking india

Postby AllTrac » July 24th, 2008, 9:28 am

thats a good price, its actually very competitive.

Postby honda hoe » July 24th, 2008, 9:30 am

take payment in goat, land and jewelery boy

make sure is dem big thick gold bera eh

Postby crazybalhead » July 24th, 2008, 9:33 am

I remember when Ispatt had just started, a padner was working there and one of the managers came in and said "Who's cars are those?" Ans: "the workers" Mgr; "WHAT???!!!!!! They don't ride bicycles???!!!!!"

I sheit you not.

And then there was a well educated Indian consultant, living in the US for a long time looks at me and says "So, all the indians in Trinidad are educated and all the blacks are responsible for all the crime?"

I nearly cuss that fcker yes. Would have probably gotten fired if I did.

Postby AllTrac » July 24th, 2008, 9:35 am

crazybalhead wrote:And then there was a well educated Indian consultant, living in the US for a long time looks at me and says "So, all the indians in Trinidad are educated and all the blacks are responsible for all the crime?"

I nearly cuss that fcker yes. Would have probably gotten fired if I did.

see yuh use yuh brains dey, ah black man might ah probably kill him 8-)

wait..... :shock: :shock: :shock:

Postby Ignorant Ignis » July 24th, 2008, 10:02 am

^^^^lol

Yeo

Postby Yeo » July 24th, 2008, 10:09 am

Freelander wrote:dats a good price IBM was chargin us 200 Canadian to change a power supply an hr

IBM FTW! :lol:

Freelander

Postby Freelander » July 24th, 2008, 10:17 am

^^^ aye download twinkle boy its like loopt i think

saxman642

Postby saxman642 » July 24th, 2008, 3:21 pm

well I popped in the Indian embassy today and delivered my severance letter:

The original letter to the ambassador's personal assistant
copy #1 to the guy in charge of processing passports,
copy #2 to the 3rd in command who signs all cheques, and
copy #3 on the desk of the accountant - the wife of the 2nd in command - who just started working there.

Well it didn't take long for a reply. The accountant just called me expressing shock and why i am taking such an action. She now finds herself suddenly in a bind where she now has to report my letter and the very angry feelings I have expressed to the senior staff.

I managed to avoid saying that "this is not India you are living in", but I did make sure to tell her to ask them on what basis that they claim that my service rates are too high. I even mentioned that I was told that I built my business on working for them (the person who said that only living in Trinidad a year now. Can you say "FARSE AND OUT OF PLACE"?)

She repeatedly begged me to reconsider my decision saying that I do excellent work. I told her my decision is ultimately based upon the response of those senior staff members who said my fees are too high.

The ball is in their court now: Your move, India.

Postby Maserati » July 24th, 2008, 3:27 pm

saxman642 wrote:
I managed to avoid saying that "this is not India you are living in",

yuh should ah tell them that :evil: .

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » July 24th, 2008, 5:26 pm

waiting to see the outcome of this

RichieRich
2NR MILF Hunter

Postby RichieRich » July 24th, 2008, 6:03 pm

honda hoe wrote:take payment in goat, land and jewelery boy

make sure is dem big thick gold bera eh

dais how you get yours? :shock:

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » July 24th, 2008, 6:04 pm

Dude your fee sounds more than reasonable. For hardware or waht service though?
Our Cisco fee is 175cdn /hr ,1hr minimum for scheduled work and
375cdn/hr 4 hr minimum emergency, remote.

RichieRich
2NR MILF Hunter

Postby RichieRich » July 24th, 2008, 6:08 pm

honda hoe wrote:take payment in PS3, games, wifebeaters and boys

make sure is dem big thick piggy eh

LOL

OH NO :shock:

saxman642

Postby saxman642 » July 24th, 2008, 7:38 pm

.:PROZAC:.. wrote:Dude your fee sounds more than reasonable. For hardware or what service though?
Our Cisco fee is 175cdn /hr ,1hr minimum for scheduled work and
375cdn/hr 4 hr minimum emergency, remote.

Typical computer repairs, and troubleshooting software like word, excel, outlook. Some network troubleshooting. Nothing fancy at all.

Now is only certain persons in there that forced me to take this position. IF those persons come to reality about the cost of my services and agree to my fees in writing, then I can consider doing service for them again. BUT if after that, they slip up with nonsense like a second time, I'm out for good.

honda4life

Postby honda4life » July 24th, 2008, 11:19 pm

honda hoe wrote:take payment in PS3, games, wifebeaters and boys

make sure is dem big thick piggy eh

LOL

:wtf:

saxman642

Postby saxman642 » August 4th, 2008, 2:33 pm

cheese pie wrote:waiting to see the outcome of this

Well it looking like the embassy say "fine by them". Not a word since.

However the Ambassador himself has had need for my services at least once since. LOL

I did specifically state that ONLY the Ambassador could call me for service.

Bu it was really nice to get a call today from the very person who say my fees too high ( thus causing me to sever ties) saying the Ambassador needs my services. Why is that nice? Because now she CANNOT challenge my fees. If the Ambassador says to pay it, they pay it.

HA! take THAT!

noobie

Postby noobie » August 4th, 2008, 5:29 pm

saxman642 wrote:Bu it was really nice to get a call today from the very person who say my fees too high ( thus causing me to sever ties) saying the Ambassador needs my services. Why is that nice? Because now she CANNOT challenge my fees. If the Ambassador says to pay it, they pay it.

That was all sort of immature.

You should have tried sending a letter justifying your fees against the present market rate, noting the services you provide and the good work you have done etc. When they begged you to reconsider, that was your chance to negotiate.

Instead of trying to wave your dick around, which is what it sounds like you did.

With the stance you took, whether they wanted to keep you on or not, they would have no choice but to tell you to hol yuh mc.

Next time post to 2NR *before* you f*** up so maybe someone could advise you differently. :roll:

just my humble opinion.

Hope you get another client like the Indian Embassy.

Do you mind if I call them to offer the same services for TT$150.00?
:twisted:

saxman642

Re: When bad customers strike

Postby saxman642 » August 4th, 2008, 6:47 pm

saxman642 wrote:It is nonsense when a customer tells you that TT$150 (VAT Inclusive) per hour is too high for computer repair services!!

Especially when the customer is a foreigner, namely the Indian embassy.

After doing service for them for a long time, I am now fed up of their complaints about my fees.

Enough is enough. I've already prepared my letter to the Ambassador stating that "Due to irresolvable disputes over the cost of computer repair services rendered" they can go find someone else.

I am to conclude that while operating in Trinidad they seem to think that I should charge them as though they and I were in India.

Now TT$1.00 = Rs 7.00 (7 rupees) approximately

The minimum wage in India according to this document is minimum Rs 80.00 (TT$11.43) a day. Assuming 20 work days per month, the average national of India (I can't say "Indian" as that was instantly be labeled as a racist statement against the Indian descendants here) hopefully makes at least Rs 1600, or about TT$228.57 a month. So, um you're expecting me to charge some figure based on what a computer technician in India would charge, say like Rs 150 flat?

I'm sorry, but

That means, you follow and live, buy and sell according to the market in the foreign country in which you reside. AND THIS GOES FOR EVERY SINGLE SERVICE OFFERED in Trinidad.

If you find the cost of labour in Trinidad is too high (compared to India), too bad. That is just how it is here. As far as computer services are concerned, I say tell the Indian Government to send a computer IT specialist to the embassy permanently instead of wasting my time. I know that most other Trini PC repair companies and even freelance techs charging more than me, up to Rs 1750 or TT$250/hr, maybe even more. And those more expensive companies don't even offer on-site service!!

But I KNOW you would NEVER go to the USA and talk that kind of crap, not even for a minute, service rates and cost of living on the whole are even higher there.

By the way Indian diplomats, I should point out that you are not spending your money from your own pocket when conducting business from the High Commision, but the Indian Government's money. I highly doubt that the Indian Gov't will offer you rewards or medals for saving them Rs 1000 a month. Spend the flipping money nah!!

It was nice working for you, but you obvious delusion that you are still in India is enough to finally turn me off.

It is especially sad considering that the person singlehandedly responsible for my decision has only in Trinidad for about a year now...and I been rendering my services to them for over 4 years.

Oh you should hear the customer horror stories i have to tell... :?

Learn to read. Maybe then you won't talk from Uranus and sound exponentially more stupid/illiterate/dumbass than your "noobie" nickname already implies. I mean, it has already been proven that my experience with ppl from that country is hardly an isolated case.

If THIS thread is what you call "waving your dick around" then you need .. GOD. The rest of us call it standing up for yourself, venting, common sense response, etc.

By the way, "waving your dick around" is an arrestable offense.

roshan01

Re: When bad customers strike

Postby roshan01 » August 4th, 2008, 9:25 pm

By the way, "waving your dick around" is an arrestable offense.[/quote]

lmao
:D

villain

Postby villain » August 4th, 2008, 9:52 pm

ah i question...why do comp. tech charge by the hour and not per job....i've had the unfortunate experience of comp. techs dicking around and letting the time extend unnecessarily...forcing me to learn a thing or two about repair and maintenance...yes it can sometimes be a stressful job and your rates may be justified, but i just want to know why per hour instead of a solid price for the job?

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » August 4th, 2008, 10:43 pm

saxman642, dude you should crash their whole system.....and lets see what will happen.....

every time she mentions your rate......... increase your fee by $50........

saxman642

Postby saxman642 » August 4th, 2008, 10:53 pm

villain wrote:ah i question...why do comp. tech charge by the hour and not per job....i've had the unfortunate experience of comp. techs dicking around and letting the time extend unnecessarily...forcing me to learn a thing or two about repair and maintenance...yes it can sometimes be a stressful job and your rates may be justified, but i just want to know why per hour instead of a solid price for the job?

I can't talk for other techs, but I used to charge by the scenario. After years of doing it I found it quite bothersome to have to juggle in my head whether to charge $250 $300, or $350 for redoing windows. Then have to haggle with the customer over the charge.

Charging by the hour for me is a lot easier. I have a listing that I am to give to my customers describing various scenarios and how long they can expect me to do the job. if I say the job will take 3 hours and end up taking 4 to do it, most likely I will still charge for 3 hours unless something really happen that makes a solid case for charging for 4 hours. I want to make a profit, but why kill the customer for a dollar? That kind of thing would never last long. It'd definitely put me out of business.

You can also say is a reflection of your supposed skill level. after a number of years my customers seem to think I am that good. And there is the increased cost of living factor.

I am sorry to hear that techs have abused the hourly rate and you had to pay unnecessarily. I never like to hear those things. I will also quickly state [on the flip side] that it is just as hard when you dong a good job with a clean conscience and to be told to offer better a price than $150/hr, or even $150 flat. Over and over again, when your transport money coming out of that $150 and even VAT. You will get fed up when you've reiterated to the customer that your rates are very competitive, yet they still want 'discount'. You will get fed up eventually.

This thread came to exist when I got fed up.

But again I can only speak for myself. The trolling "Noobie" person sounds like he/she will make a 1 hour job take 4 hours.

bluespeed wrote:saxman642, dude you should crash their whole system.....and lets see what will happen.....

every time she mentions your rate......... increase your fee by $50........

Nah, I not of the sabotaging people system. At worst I revert it to the state it was before I fixed it. But increasing the rate to $175/hr at least will certainly happen.

I hope they don't croak when MBM tells them TT$330 for an on-site diagnosis and TT$225 to diagnose a printer.

Postby RASC » August 4th, 2008, 10:57 pm

Ask the entire business community in the western United States what they think about Indian's...The worst rep of any foreign nationality!