ahhh finally dey seeing de light...puncheon...

larafan

ahhh finally dey seeing de light...puncheon...

Postby larafan » August 7th, 2008, 3:23 pm

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl ... =161360457

Young drinkers turn to Puncheon

Darryl Heeralal dheeralal@trinidadexpress.com

Wednesday, August 6th 2008

You know the story? The one about the penny that ended up in the crown of the king next to the diamond? Well, that's puncheon rum.

The Forres Park brand, produced by Fernandes Distillers, rum drinker's choice for the best puncheon, has upped sales six and a half per cent, every year for the past three.

Enough puncheon rum has been sold in the period for you and all your drinking friends to swim in, over 100,000 thousand cases, puncheon to fill nearly three average-sized swimming pools.

That is over 900,000 litres or 237,754 gallons of the potent 75 per cent alcohol by volume rum.

Puncheon Rum is such a big seller now that the original 750 ml bottle is for beginners.

There is, now, the one litre bottles; we call it the family size or megaton. And you know the big 1.75 litres bottles sold in duty-free? Well, you can now get that size of puncheon in the grocery.

We sing about it, celebrate it in our music. How many soca or chutney compositions have paid homage to whisky or cognac? Well, there are many odes to good old 'fire water'.

Brand manager for the rum, Christopher Noel, says he is "very happy with the increase in sales so far."

Traditionally a drink for cane-cutters, farmers, labourers, hunters and fishermen, Forres Park Puncheon Rum is now the choice of young male and even some female drinkers.

No longer is it confined to the shelf above the deep freeze in Lall's corner rum shop down in Barrackpore or by the fishing depot watering hole in Carenage. You can have it in the Zen Nightclub, or at that upscale rumshop in MovieTowne, where it sits next to the bottle of Johnny Walker.

"Puncheon rum drinkers have a look. You know you could tell a man if he is a Heineken beer drinker or Carib? Well usually a barman like me, as soon as a man walk in, if is puncheon he want, they have a look," a rumshop owner in one of the more popular watering holes in Couva says.

"But these days I kinda losing meh touch. Is some young, young fellas drinking puncheon. Every time they come in for a drink I ask if they sure."

"Long time is when a drinker reach a level of experience with the bottle then he go call for a nip of puncheon. Now these days these young fellas starting off with the fire water. They say if you want real head then drink a real rum," another barman observes.

"A few years ago when a young fella come in a bar and ask for puncheon people use to turn around, well not now. They calling for puncheon like the calling for a round of beers."

At one of those upscale bars in the 'West' the reasoning is a bit different.

"I think it's just the kick of drinking puncheon, you know. The rum has a certain mystique, a certain unmistakeable reputation as being for the hardcore, so when you see these well dressed professionals come in and order puncheon, I think its an adventurous thing for them. A kind of bragging right that 'I drank puncheon'."

But the drink is the same whether you buy it by the old 'Chineeman' shop where you could get a bottle on one side and Crix on the next, drink it in an old time peanut butter glass in a rumshop where the urinal is outside, or sit on a teak bar stool and have the bartender slide it across on the spanking counter in a glass that only comes out at Christmas time.

Puncheon has always stayed true to its original character given it by hardcore drinkers.

Whether you're hitting the first shot five o'clock in the morning before the first cane cut or the seine pull, or you trying to impress your partners or that girl who end up in the lime by shotting it like Tequila, the effect is the same.

If you want some true puncheon rum stories ask Singh the old Caroni (1975) Limited watchman.

He get so drunk one night he went to the urinal and when he was done, propping himself on the wall, took out the torchlight from his back pocket, shake it, put it back and walked back into the bar, everything outside.

Or Bumper who stand-up under the street light shouting "allyuh open the door, ah come home, I know allyuh waking I see light on upstairs."

The stories, like the mystique of the puncheon itself, never fail to attract attention.

How about the journalist and his army friend who play fast one night and drink two bottles of puncheon, Supligen Seamoss and Mackeson mixed together and fall asleep under shop when they went to shelter the rain?

But the best is the UWI grad who went Zen, get so wasted that he sit down in the back seat of his car and start to cuss saying how they thief his steering wheel.

Say what you will about Forres Park Puncheon, its still remains the most versatile rum.

Like Crix, it good with anything, name your choice.

Puncheon and the original chaser, cold water. Puncheon is also good with Angostura LLB, Fruta fruit punch, Redbull, Supligen, coffee, coconut water, club soda, Seven-Up, Sprite, Solo Bentley, orange juice, peardrax, ginger ale, Shandy sorrel, Greensands, whatever your taste.

And then there are chasers that only "real men drink with"; Guinness, they call that drink donkey injection; with beer, steel and brass; and with cola-tonic a Laurel so smooth is the ride down your throat.

And as Rattie would say, for the real kick, some good mother in law in the glass.

Have it how you want the outcome is "head like bodi and tight like a small shoes" as they say.

But the best effect of puncheon rum is that super-human belief you get of yourself after having a few and hopefully to remain sober enough to tell the story.

Postby wagonrunner » August 7th, 2008, 3:24 pm

larafan,
i seeing yuh by pat (maraval road) on friday?

larafan

Postby larafan » August 7th, 2008, 3:26 pm

pat?..who is dat?...

wuh it having by pat?

RdRnr

Re: ahhh finally dey seeing de light...puncheon...

Postby RdRnr » August 7th, 2008, 3:29 pm

larafan wrote:But the best is the UWI grad who went Zen, get so wasted that he sit down in the back seat of his car and start to cuss saying how they thief his steering wheel.

[/quote]

that not funny u know

all of allyuh wudda react the same way if someone sprang yuh steering wheel :(

Postby wagonrunner » August 7th, 2008, 3:30 pm

d same thing in the article yuh post. with orange juiced, glasses and ice.

illumin@ti

Postby illumin@ti » August 7th, 2008, 3:33 pm

ah boy ,, heavy duty industrial grade milwaukee powered screwjivah!!!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 7th, 2008, 3:37 pm

puncheon straight.
i tried it once, it felt like flecking lacquer thinners going down my throat.

puncheon and sprite could pass though..

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » August 7th, 2008, 4:06 pm

No longer is it confined to the shelf above the deep freeze in Lall's corner rum shop down in Barrackpore

hahah, Uncle lall famous now. I have to send it to his kids.

Postby tr1ad » August 7th, 2008, 5:38 pm

buh zen doh sell fackin puncheon

an wagonrunner...yuh visitin meh backyard an eh go holla?

Postby wagonrunner » August 7th, 2008, 7:00 pm

tr1ad wrote:an wagonrunner...yuh visitin meh backyard an eh go holla?

BWDMC??!! :? :?

you doh facking lime there!
yuh does only pass een to buy phone card and shark and fries.

larafan

Postby larafan » August 7th, 2008, 7:02 pm

come come...where is this place?!...i go pass dey with a real rum drinker...and show allyuh how to do it...

Postby tr1ad » August 7th, 2008, 7:05 pm

yuh ah nastiness.... ent i leff yuh outside with yuh oj an nip an went back inside>?

plus... meh phone postpaid

Postby wagonrunner » August 7th, 2008, 7:13 pm

tr1ad wrote:wagonrunner

yuh ah nastiness.... ent i leff yuh outside with yuh oj an nip an went back inside>?

plus... meh phone postpaid

because she call yuh for yuh shark.

oho, is d baddis phone card yuh was buying................scene.

Postby joker » August 7th, 2008, 7:15 pm

He get so drunk one night he went to the urinal and when he was done, propping himself on the wall, took out the torchlight from his back pocket, shake it, put it back and walked back into the bar, everything outside.

bwahahah
real men drink with"; Guinness,

:oops:

Postby wagonrunner » August 7th, 2008, 7:32 pm

joker wrote:
real men drink with"; Guinness,

:oops:

if yuh do that there, yuh might end up assaulting a chick from digicel, cnmg, who does evercise in d savannah, or working / liming along that strip.

and if that doh happen, it go be an all out brawl.
remember, puncheon and black bottle results in one of two things, either a F#$K, or a fight.

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » August 7th, 2008, 8:12 pm

head like rahwan

turbonator

Postby turbonator » August 7th, 2008, 8:38 pm

^^ I know that one

But ah like dis one better:

"head like bodi and tight like a small shoes"

RedMenace

Re: ahhh finally dey seeing de light...puncheon...

Postby RedMenace » August 7th, 2008, 9:23 pm

the potent 75 per cent alcohol by volume rum.

Dat is not bein a man...dat is bein a ROBOT. Puncheon is heavy duty WD40! :!: :shock:

larafan

Postby larafan » August 7th, 2008, 9:45 pm

potent 75 per cent alcohol by volume rum.

wagonrunner and joker....de ting i bring dat night had 75.5%... 8)

Postby joker » August 7th, 2008, 9:57 pm

^^ we did stronger already bro .

larafan

Postby larafan » August 7th, 2008, 10:16 pm

rubbing alcohol?... :|

Postby joker » August 7th, 2008, 10:18 pm

138% grenadian :mrgreen:

larafan

Postby larafan » August 7th, 2008, 10:19 pm

stueps....padna....is 138%...or 138 proof???...nuff men get mistaken by that...

the proof rating is twice the alcohol %age....how de hell yuh could have more than 100% by volume....

the thing i brought was 151 proof...

i remember when hondab20b or somebody come boasting bout this 138 '%' thing....

so wuh yuh telling meh...de ting allyuh drink was stronger than rubbing alcohol?...(91%)

Postby joker » August 7th, 2008, 10:28 pm

I JUST VEX AH EH Ask for a nex jink

larafan

Postby larafan » August 7th, 2008, 10:29 pm

I JUST VEX AH EH Ask for a nex jink

yuh chupiddy...

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » August 7th, 2008, 11:12 pm

puncheon...the only rum u cant take on a plane when u flying out

importzxtt

Postby importzxtt » August 8th, 2008, 12:13 pm

So who try moonshine? :twisted:

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 8th, 2008, 12:17 pm

importzxtt wrote:So who try moonshine? :twisted:

moonshine is the equivalent of babash.

but i think trinidad babash will give moonshine a good run for its money

Postby Greypatch » August 8th, 2008, 12:18 pm

bess way to drink puncheon is with water...

me style is to make a puncheon sandwich...

nice thing about the alco is that no headache the next day

but with me dais the case with all drinks..

importzxtt

Postby importzxtt » August 8th, 2008, 12:21 pm

importzxtt wrote:
So who try moonshine?

VexXx Dogg wrote:
moonshine is the equivalent of babash.

but i think trinidad babash will give moonshine a good run for its money