Lets talk CNG

jerry88

Re: Lets talk CNG

Postby jerry88 » August 29th, 2020, 8:18 pm

nismotrinidappa wrote:Exactlyy... my cng acceleration is almost as good as petrol. As I said earlier. Clean your tb. In my case i installed a catch can to prevent blowby from fouling it again.

Is that with the ac on?
Because my car works great when the ac is off but when ac is on that is where i get lazy accelaration.

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » August 29th, 2020, 9:53 pm

Yea with or without a.c. no noticeable drop in performance

hindian

Postby hindian » September 2nd, 2020, 6:22 am

Guys I have 2 cng tanks to get rid of from a 280c I bought a few years ago. The scrap iron man don't want to take it for some reason and it hasn't been inspected for a long time. They taking up space I have use for. Any takers?

nivek

Postby nivek » October 2nd, 2020, 8:07 pm

I have a complete kit from burmac in a 03 camry....5days now..and want to sell it..hmu if interested

leelad

Postby leelad » October 23rd, 2020, 7:04 pm

honest question here guys.

Not everyone is fortunate enough to have 12k+ lying around for a new kit.
I've seen kits online way cheaper than what's offered locally.
I've also seen a few used kits for sale locally

Can I buy a kit and have it installed locally, anyone ever did this?
Any recommendations for a tech who capable of installing said kit?

Its intended for a c25 serena and I'm bracing from supposedly higher gas prices in 2021

Postby nervewrecker » October 23rd, 2020, 11:15 pm

leelad wrote:honest question here guys.

Its intended for a c25 serena and I'm bracing from supposedly higher gas prices in 2021

I'd strongly suggest that you get it installed by a reputable place (my choice is dumore and always will be). They are planning to chip the system or put some sort of digital id tag that the pumps need to communicate with in order to dispense fuel.

http://www.dumore.co/index.php/rentals/about

677-7910

All your questions will be answered, all your concerns be addressed and any doubt you had laid to rest. I can assure you the waiting room is nice and cold.

Can just tell them lyndon send yuh and if the room eh cold enough gimme a call :mrgreen:

Hwells

Postby Hwells » November 2nd, 2020, 12:31 am

so anybody still converting to cng now that electric hybrids just about everywhere and becoming more main stream?

Hwells

Postby Hwells » November 2nd, 2020, 12:31 am

so anybody still converting to cng now that electric hybrids just about everywhere and becoming more main stream?

Postby sMASH » November 2nd, 2020, 6:56 am

leelad wrote:honest question here guys.

I'd strongly suggest that you get it installed by a reputable place (my choice is dumore and always will be). They are planning to chip the system or put some sort of digital id tag that the pumps need to communicate with in order to dispense fuel.

http://www.dumore.co/index.php/rentals/about

677-7910

All your questions will be answered, all your concerns be addressed and any doubt you had laid to rest. I can assure you the waiting room is nice and cold.

Can just tell them lyndon send yuh and if the room eh cold enough gimme a call :mrgreen:

i hadda say techs there very helpful. they sorted some 'unique' issues with my car/system.

Postby 3190 » November 27th, 2020, 9:00 pm

cck2 wrote:i have a toyota fielder cvt tranny with cng and it jerks alot
went back bermac they telling me after the put it in
o yes cvt does do that and they dont know why

I have the same problem with my fielder. Installed by dumore. It's so bad even the axles jerking. I went back twice, they can't seem to get a handle on it. I'm afraid it damage my transmission too.
Has anybody with this problem tried anything that actually worked?

BIG BLUE

Postby BIG BLUE » November 27th, 2020, 9:56 pm

Good night guys there is a guy in Penal who tunes cng kits to over come issues like these he is the guy that dumor and bermac send there problem cars to and his fee is quite reasonable his name is Sunil and his number is 3556691 give him a call

dtopshottas

Postby dtopshottas » December 12th, 2020, 12:22 pm

Good day 2nrs,
Getting 200Km on a CNG tank 1nzfe engine. Is this normal or more CNG installer tuning is required?

Postby sMASH » December 12th, 2020, 1:25 pm

i got 100km on a $16 refill. hr16

Rockram

Postby Rockram » December 12th, 2020, 2:36 pm

dtopshottas wrote:Good day 2nrs,
Getting 200Km on a CNG tank 1nzfe engine. Is this normal or more CNG installer tuning is required?

That's a fair milage if it's a 70l Tank installed.. I get between 210 to 240 per tank qg18 engine.

NR8

Postby NR8 » December 12th, 2020, 8:14 pm

What size tank?
Rockram wrote:

That's a fair milage if it's a 70l Tank installed.. I get between 210 to 240 per tank qg18 engine.

killercow

Postby killercow » December 12th, 2020, 8:45 pm

That's pretty decent. The average mileage I was getting with the Honda City was 191KM.

Reddis

Postby Reddis » December 13th, 2020, 5:16 pm

Good day,
What type of Spark plugs to use in a Tiida after doing the conversion.?
My coil packs are not lasting long and I am only getting a misfire.

Postby Dave » December 13th, 2020, 7:16 pm

Typically a heat range colder and a lesser gap.
More heat typically is introduced with a CNG system and also requires more intense voltage so hence the closer plug gap.

Reddis

Postby Reddis » December 14th, 2020, 9:26 am

Dave wrote:Typically a heat range colder and a lesser gap.
More heat typically is introduced with a CNG system and also requires more intense voltage so hence the closer plug gap.
Thanks for info.
But
I would appreciate knowing what brand of spark plugs and or part number that has been used in a tiida conversion that actually works good.

Postby Dave » December 14th, 2020, 11:14 am

You stick to the manufacturer plug and in the case of NGK was a heat range 5 you use 6. In the case of Denso if OEM was 16 you use 20. Of course ask the tuner what is there experience also.

Reddis

Postby Reddis » December 14th, 2020, 8:20 pm

Thanks again

Postby Dave » December 14th, 2020, 8:24 pm

You welcome. Apart from possibly a failing coil pack the plug gap might be too wide and also may be plugs on their way out.
Good luck.

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » December 16th, 2020, 1:35 am

As Dave said. Buy some new plugs and regap them. Make sure air filter clean and throttle body clean as well. Also there is a service schedule for your cng filter.

Postby sMASH » December 16th, 2020, 6:03 am

Dave wrote:You stick to the manufacturer plug and in the case of NGK was a heat range 5 you use 6. In the case of Denso if OEM was 16 you use 20. Of course ask the tuner what is there experience also.

where u getting the higher heat range plugs?

Postby Dave » December 16th, 2020, 6:12 am

Most out of the ordinary plugs may be an import item.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » December 16th, 2020, 7:16 am

So just to clarify for persons who don't know, in Denso and NGK, the higher number indicates a colder plug.

I haven't looked extensively, and I don't know what plugs you use but I have easily found bkr6e-11 plugs. That dash 11 might be too large of a gap though
sMASH wrote:
Dave wrote:You stick to the manufacturer plug and in the case of NGK was a heat range 5 you use 6. In the case of Denso if OEM was 16 you use 20. Of course ask the tuner what is there experience also.

where u getting the higher heat range plugs?

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » December 16th, 2020, 1:26 pm

I was chosen as a winner for the free CNG NP competitions. I have an xTrail t30 and they indicate that I will have to pay 2000.00 extra. 900 for the install fee and 1100 for a 'bracket for the tank' when it is placed in the xTrail trunk area.
The competition , as they explained, is for the CNG tank free. Anyways, come time to install it...orginally I was excited about it but I have had this xtrail at least 7-8yrs now and it has served me well. now I have seen xTrails of this model with the CNG installed so I know people use it but I am just worried I am going to mess up a good thing. Car working, the CNG benefits may be useful yes, but the problems that may arise is a big concern to me.
So right now, I thinking of passing on that offer...
Unknown.jpeg
Unknown.jpeg (9.06 KiB) Viewed 3710 times

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » December 16th, 2020, 1:55 pm

My advice, don't do it. As a previous winner it ruins the van. Ull be having to change suspension and for vans you only get 100km range if lucky. I regreted it and sold my van not long after.

Rockram

Postby Rockram » December 16th, 2020, 2:21 pm

Had 3 vehicles with cng, i have a traveling job so the savings were great.. Honest advise from my experiences

1 your suspension will not necessarily be affected because the excess weight is like transporting a person or goods which the vehicle is designed for

2 if the fuel savings aren't important for you, or you don't cover much distance daily then don't do it because the caveats of the conversion might not make sense.

3 the range you get with a car is approx 220 to 260km, but the xtrail is heavier and I'm guessing it's a 2.0 so your range will be approx 150 to 180km.

Basically you'll save about 60% of your fuel bill, check your annual fuel bill if the savings is significant then go for it, if it's not that much then it will not be worth it for you. Another consideration is the fuel prices going forward next year, remember if oil prices raises so to the prices at the pump.

Postby De Dragon » December 16th, 2020, 3:14 pm

christopherwilliams2 wrote:I was chosen as a winner for the free CNG NP competitions. I have an xTrail t30 and they indicate that I will have to pay 2000.00 extra. 900 for the install fee and 1100 for a 'bracket for the tank' when it is placed in the xTrail trunk area.
The competition , as they explained, is for the CNG tank free. Anyways, come time to install it...orginally I was excited about it but I have had this xtrail at least 7-8yrs now and it has served me well. now I have seen xTrails of this model with the CNG installed so I know people use it but I am just worried I am going to mess up a good thing. Car working, the CNG benefits may be useful yes, but the problems that may arise is a big concern to me.
So right now, I thinking of passing on that offer...

They have to stop this sheit now, and post a disclaimer or something. I know someone who "won" a CNG kit and was given all sorts of stupid, unnecessary runaround because it couldn't easily fit their vehicle (Subaru Legacy). No cash value, no kit to install yourself, but a long slow wait to get a "Subaru kit" :? :?