A question about religion and relationships

urabus

A question about religion and relationships

Postby urabus » January 15th, 2009, 9:06 am

Should religion get between relationships, more so a marriage?

Bearing in mind, both parties are strict believers in their own religion, however the guy insists that the girl must convert/practise his religion if they are to get married?

What must the girl do?

plz discuss maturely, thanks.

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » January 15th, 2009, 9:07 am

^^^^ hmmm sounds like trouble in paradise..... :mrgreen:

doh tell me... he muslim and u hindu....

wha i go say u all will make great 'muslindu' chiren...

Postby crazybalhead » January 15th, 2009, 9:10 am

The girl must do what it is told.

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » January 15th, 2009, 9:10 am

my wife was muslim and she converted to hindu but i still consider her a muslim, i think it's not fair to make someone change their religion, but, as i guess is the case with cute corolla, pressures from the higher authorities makes it a fawked up situation.

Postby eliteauto » January 15th, 2009, 9:12 am

repost

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » January 15th, 2009, 9:14 am

she should run away and find a rastaman and live happily ever after

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » January 15th, 2009, 9:14 am

however the guy insists that the girl must convert/practise his religion if they are to get married?

If your religion is not your conviction and belief then accepting to convert means nothing.
At first it may seem ok but it gets tricky down the line. Either person of the couple may not practise their religion and be staunch right now but as kids come into play and age hits both of you want to instruct the kids in your own beliefs and msot tiems they clash. This then puts added pressure on the marriage.
Even for religious occasions and holidays , entertaining the other's family etc.

Postby RASC » January 15th, 2009, 9:17 am

Zeriam wrote:she should run away and find a rastaman and live happily ever after

Most likely will happen anyway 8-)

urabus

Postby urabus » January 15th, 2009, 9:21 am

i grew up in a similar situation with my father being muslim and mom hindu, however he has had no problems with us going temple

but when this guy said, if we get married, i have to stop going temple and our kids are to also go to mosque, i was like :shock: WTF (just in my head)

Postby crazybalhead » January 15th, 2009, 9:22 am

I say she should fellate as many different religious leaders as possible and then make a decision.

Postby RASC » January 15th, 2009, 9:27 am

cute corolla wrote:i grew up in a similar situation with my father being muslim and mom hindu, however he has had no problems with us going temple

but when this guy said, if we get married, i have to stop going temple and our kids are to also go to mosque, i was like :shock: WTF (just in my head)

Yeah but you're stupid BECAUSE if you didn't realize he had these kinda tendencies before...you really weren't in a relationship...you were just fckin' :wink:

Postby crazybalhead » January 15th, 2009, 9:31 am

RASC wrote:
cute corolla wrote:i grew up in a similar situation with my father being muslim and mom hindu, however he has had no problems with us going temple

Yeah but you're stupid BECAUSE if you didn't realize he had these kinda tendencies before...you really weren't in a relationship...you were just fckin' :wink:

Yes, I revert to my previous statement, one lawnmower spark plug powered.

Postby AllTrac » January 15th, 2009, 9:32 am

more than likely the boy is muslim and the girl is hindu.
99% of the time the girl would convert.

All BS if u ask me.

urabus

Postby urabus » January 15th, 2009, 9:35 am

RASC, but obviously when u get into relationships u not looking for marriage immediately, these things just fall into place after time

alyuh fellas nun ez yes!

Postby eliteauto » January 15th, 2009, 9:36 am

^^but apparently you are

nickie poo

Postby nickie poo » January 15th, 2009, 9:37 am

AllTrac wrote:more than likely the boy is muslim and the girl is hindu.
99% of the time the girl would convert.

All BS if u ask me.

wuh u tryin tuh say, muslim fellas does pull real girls???

anyways back to da point, I find that makes no sense... I'd let my girl be whatever she wants, but at the same time she must respect my religion as well.... the kids can be WTF they want as long as they doin good in school...

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » January 15th, 2009, 9:43 am

crazybalhead wrote:The girl must do what it is told.

:lol: X 1000
Arse!! :lol:

Postby SR » January 15th, 2009, 9:44 am

he is correct being a muslim

the woman msut follow the husbands religion

if you dont like it

get ah next man

badart

Postby badart » January 15th, 2009, 9:51 am

i think ppl shud marry into their own religion because obviously they wud be more compatible and their lifestyles wud be similar..rarely do these types of relationships work out where the ppl involved are in the different religions..at the beginin it isnt a problem because they dont make it a problem but when they settle down n thin these slight differences cause alot of problems especially when the children arrive

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 15th, 2009, 9:53 am

they should both convert to Eckankar and sing praises of Hu

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » January 15th, 2009, 9:58 am

^^ i don't agree....

not because u both practice the same religion, does not mean u will be compatable....

Do you know the amount of divorce in this country with 'same religion marriages', i know ah few muslim ones and same amout hindu ones....

As far as the kids part is concerned.... it can be mutually decided what the kids are brought up knowing... and when they are of age they them selves can decide what them want to follow....

jus my 2 cents.

Postby crazybalhead » January 15th, 2009, 10:03 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:they should both convert to Eckankar and sing praises of Hu

Indeed, the cosmic sound.

silentbaby

Postby silentbaby » January 15th, 2009, 10:21 am

but when this guy said, if we get married, i have to stop going temple and our kids are to also go to mosque, i was like :shock: WTF (just in my head)[/quote]

really chic... that just goes to show that this guy has no level of compromise in him and that means real real trouble down the line for you... no joke and no sheit about that.... .. If your a practicing hindu.. that statements just shows that this guys has no respect for your beliefs...

My boyfriend is muslim and I am a practicing hindu... and there is a mutual respect between the two of us about our religions... I understand he grew up as a muslim and some of those beliefs shaped who he is today and vice versa... I would never stop him from going to mosque and he wouldn't do that to me....

Marriage however is a different story..either one has to convert to do the rituals.... or the next option is the Red House or a pundit or ah imam would overlook the others religion.....

as for the kids.... hello there is something called compromise? why can't the kids be exposed to both religions and when they are old enough choose....

silentbaby

Postby silentbaby » January 15th, 2009, 10:29 am

SR wrote:he is correct being a muslim

if you dont like it

get ah next man

what a pack of BS!

Postby SR » January 15th, 2009, 10:32 am

silentbaby wrote:

if you dont like it

get ah next man

what a pack of BS!

you still have a lot to learn in life and about religions

it also wors vice versa

if the man is hindu and the woman is muslim she is expected to convert to follow her husbands religion

Postby crazybalhead » January 15th, 2009, 10:56 am

silentbaby wrote:

if you dont like it

get ah next man

what a pack of BS!

SR is right, if he is a muslim, when you get married to him, you must convert.

If he says otherwise he just is not a muslim.

Same for all my "muslim" padnas who drink alcohol and eat pork. YOU ARE NOT MUSLIM.

soundboy101

Postby soundboy101 » January 15th, 2009, 11:06 am

And thats the thing, it all depends if you are a true believer and follower of the pillars of your religion or you is a muslim, or hindu or christian by name, and do as you choose. As for the person who said her boyfirend is muslim and she is a practicing hindu, and they going all honky dory, well, my dear your boyfriend needs to learn a lot about his own religion, because the two has so many conflicting beliefs and laws, if he was serious about following the word of his lord, then it could never work. Christianity and Islam is much closer, and hence the reason why permision is given to a muslim man to marry a christian girl, once she is chaste and belives in the oneness of God however it is prefered to marry withing ones faith. All this talk about compromise, how can you compromise the laws of god and you trivialise the things about children saying that you two can come to a compromise, that is nonsense, if you truly belive that god is the one in control, and it is he who gave you the guidelines to live by, then you shouldnt think that you know better than him, and say we will compromise , By the way can someone covert to hinduism?

Postby SR » January 15th, 2009, 11:11 am

orly...........................

goes off to look for a nice christian girl

checks catholic boarding schools for listings

finds out what really goes on

comes back to reality

runs off to the bar to look for some halaaal pork

washes it down with a shot of holy water aka puncheon

puts ash on forehead and goes to mosque on a firday

all is forgiven

back to normal on monday

Postby r3iXmann » January 15th, 2009, 11:13 am

SR, :rofl: :lol:

Postby crazybalhead » January 15th, 2009, 11:17 am

soundboy101 wrote:And thats the thing, it all depends if you are a true believer and follower of the pillars of your religion or you is a muslim, or hindu or christian by name, and do as you choose. As for the person who said her boyfirend is muslim and she is a practicing hindu, and they going all honky dory, well, my dear your boyfriend needs to learn a lot about his own religion, because the two has so many conflicting beliefs and laws, if he was serious about following the word of his lord, then it could never work. Christianity and Islam is much closer, and hence the reason why permision is given to a muslim man to marry a christian girl, once she is chaste and belives in the oneness of God however it is prefered to marry withing ones faith. All this talk about compromise, how can you compromise the laws of god and you trivialise the things about children saying that you two can come to a compromise, that is nonsense, if you truly belive that god is the one in control, and it is he who gave you the guidelines to live by, then you shouldnt think that you know better than him, and say we will compromise , By the way can someone covert to hinduism?

Tell them soundbwoy. That is why I will only marrid a real Muslim girl.