Water Taxi

Postby UML » January 20th, 2009, 8:15 pm

which tuners from south took it so far?

How was it?

Is it convenient and how is it on timeliness?

How is it on time saving?

Would u recommend it?

Also, POS drivers has traffic improved minutely sine the inteoduction of the water taxi (I doubt.... Had to ask)?

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 20th, 2009, 9:07 pm

nah same traffic

TK!

Postby TK! » January 20th, 2009, 9:20 pm

this stoopid govt wont realise that adding a water taxi or rail WONT help reduc traffic by much.. ever!

people need to be forced to take it... how?

1. taxes! inner city congestion taxes are the norm in most big cities.
2. high parking fees

cause i kno, that me aint tekking no public transport and rub shoulders with smelly ppl etc. i rather take 1 hour traffic and ride in meh own car, fart when i want or talk on meh phone to any1 anytime.

any1 else feel dat way?

nismo_crossbreed

Postby nismo_crossbreed » January 20th, 2009, 9:30 pm

^ X1000

wackaman

Postby wackaman » January 20th, 2009, 9:32 pm

^X10000

Postby equipped2ripp » January 20th, 2009, 9:59 pm

the gov't needs to realise people in trinidad like to use their own car to travel... we don't need a water taxi or railways for travel... what they need to do is build new roads and expand the road network in trinidad, and not depend on the existing highways as a way of travelling from north to south and vice versa.

greatbear

Water Taxi

Postby greatbear » November 5th, 2017, 4:59 pm

Good Sunday tuners,

Bumping Thread for info.

I got a new job in POS starting tomorrow. I live in San Fernando, I’m not driving in that traffic.

Are there any water taxi users here?

Can i buy a ticket in the morning? Is it clean? Relatively reliable?

Is the bus a good option to consider?

My hours would be from 8-430, i checked the info on nidco website but it doesn't give info on tickets.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated. Political jokes also welcomed, iz Sunday.

ttphilip

Re: Water Taxi

Postby ttphilip » November 5th, 2017, 5:40 pm

Getting tickets at short notice can be a challenge, but the boats are clean, toilets and wifi.....great option especially if your employer is downtown near the water taxi terminal

greatbear

Postby greatbear » November 5th, 2017, 6:06 pm

ttphilip wrote:Getting tickets at short notice can be a challenge, but the boats are clean, toilets and wifi.....great option especially if your employer is downtown near the water taxi terminal

Thanks for the response,

I’ll go early and try for any of the sailings. Would have to organize the ticket situation better this week. Hopefully I would get one tomorrow.

Postby bluefete » November 5th, 2017, 6:32 pm

Congratulations on your new job.

Water taxi = $15.00 one way.

San Fernando Bus = $6.00 one way

San Fernando Luxury Bus = $10.00 one way.

Postby sMASH » November 5th, 2017, 7:15 pm

Water taxis is so popular it soaks up the parking in sando. What u can do, is leave very much ahead of time, try the water taxis for a week, bus for a week and if u like, normal taxi.

That way u will have a good sense of how to move with all.
So if ur chosen medium is not possible for that day, u would be sale to adapt and compensate in time

Specialist Baboons

Postby Specialist Baboons » November 5th, 2017, 7:41 pm

Man them bus always shutting down and then there’s the issue of them not running as per schedule. Sometimes you have to remain hours waiting for the bus.

Water taxi is the better deal

daron

Postby daron » November 5th, 2017, 7:44 pm

You can eventually link with someone who carry up people with them to work (at a cost )

Specialist Baboons

Postby Specialist Baboons » November 5th, 2017, 7:45 pm

But that will be real traffic on the highway

greatbear

Postby greatbear » November 5th, 2017, 9:46 pm

Yea I would check out all the options. Even now if I have to go to POS I usually just take a bus. But that’s random times during the day.

I does always see those coaches shut down on the highway too so the bus is second choice for now.

Regular taxi, honestly if I end up in one and he taking shoulder I might end up making a jail for hitting the driver some clout and cuss. But I really wanna avoid the traffic.

I know the water taxis tend to have delays also but 20-30mins travel time I could handle a lil delay.

Postby RedVEVO » November 5th, 2017, 10:36 pm

Women on that Water Taxis .. Epic :D

Just need swag :P

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » November 6th, 2017, 7:54 am

The 6.30 sailing is like only Bollywood injun 8-)

greatbear

Postby greatbear » November 6th, 2017, 8:16 am

Yup real Eye Candy.

I got there for 5:15am, was able to get tickets for the 6:30am sailing for the entire week with 5:30pm return for the entire week also.

For the 6:30am Departure, they started boarding around 6am, closed boarding at 6:25, left about 6:40am. Took about an hour, which wasn't too bad. Not too unstable, didn't go exploring the boat, but it is clean, up to the terminal.

Real nice option, instead of driving. Just for them to acutally use it to its full potential and develop the Public Transport industry to include some form of efficiency.

Postby Dizzy28 » November 6th, 2017, 10:07 am

greatbear wrote:Yup real Eye Candy.

I got there for 5:15am, was able to get tickets for the 6:30am sailing for the entire week with 5:30pm return for the entire week also.

For the 6:30am Departure, they started boarding around 6am, closed boarding at 6:25, left about 6:40am. Took about an hour, which wasn't too bad. Not too unstable, didn't go exploring the boat, but it is clean, up to the terminal.

Real nice option, instead of driving. Just for them to acutally use it to its full potential and develop the Public Transport industry to include some form of efficiency.

If you have to reach beforehand for a 6.30am sailing then take one hour would driving still be slower at that time slot?

greatbear

Postby greatbear » November 6th, 2017, 10:14 am

Well, i've driven before,

Especially over the last couple weeks.

To Get to POS from SFDO driving. if i leave at 5am-530am it takes 2 hours in stop and go traffic. so i have to be up by 4:30am latest.

This still takes an hour, but i don't have to be up until maybe 5:30am. I live 10 mins away from the terminal. Plus i could take a lil sleep on the way up.

greatbear

Postby greatbear » November 6th, 2017, 10:16 am

I realized with ticket in hand, once u reach before boarding closed, u safe. So i just had to go very early to day because it was my first time.

Popped that water taxi cherry.

GOAT

Postby GOAT » November 6th, 2017, 10:20 am

Yeah once u reach by 10 mins before sailing time and u have a confirmed ticket in hand u will get it.
So for 6:30 u could reach 6:20 so as long as u have a 6:30 ticket.
From 6:20 (10 mins before sailing time) they can take Standby ppl infront of confirmed passengers so just be aware of that.

Sailing takes about an hour boat leaves 6:30 and u get out back around 7:30.

And once u get used to it, by the time boat start moving u fall asleep. Those be a nice relaxing 45 mins sleep on morning and evening.

Postby sMASH » November 6th, 2017, 10:56 am

U guys thinking the water taxi ting could work for pt fortain to either sando or PoS?

GOAT

Postby GOAT » November 6th, 2017, 11:04 am

Doubt there'd be enough ppl.
A Water Taxi holds 400 passengers

greatbear

Postby greatbear » November 6th, 2017, 11:14 am

I think with smaller, more efficient boats and a well planned schedule, they could do it. Also they should be using these boats to do the Tobago run for passengers only. From what i found out so far, they just sail morning and evening. Midday sailing is just to return the boat to SANDO for the evening return trip.

greatbear

Postby greatbear » November 6th, 2017, 11:16 am

Even if they use these big boats, properly planned and executed service with multiple stops would be feasible. Imagine a Sando to Tobago.

greatbear

Postby greatbear » November 6th, 2017, 11:16 am

Public Transport in our country have a LOONNNGGG way to go.

Sundar

Postby Sundar » November 6th, 2017, 11:42 am

Still at times there can be delays and the real problem is the terminal can't hold that many ppl. But that's random so no worries.

greatbear

Postby greatbear » November 6th, 2017, 11:46 am

Of course there would be delays in any operation, but with a well managed & planned operation, this can be minimized.

Sundar

Postby Sundar » November 6th, 2017, 9:21 pm

greatbear wrote:I think with smaller, more efficient boats and a well planned schedule, they could do it. Also they should be using these boats to do the Tobago run for passengers only. From what i found out so far, they just sail morning and evening. Midday sailing is just to return the boat to SANDO for the evening return trip.

They have done Tobago runs on occasions and is level vomit cause the boat jumps like a speed boat on the Bocas. That's what my friend told me.