Book Ship (Logos Hope) Coming in January 2017

Postby bluefete » April 25th, 2009, 4:53 am

The Book ship Logos Hope will visit Trinidad from January 12 - February 7, 2017 and Tobago from February 8 - February 21, 2017.

(The new Logos Hope (replacement for Logos 2) will visit Trinidad from September 15, 2009.

It will be in Tobago from September 1, 2009.)

For all you booklovers.
Last edited by bluefete on November 3rd, 2016, 4:24 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » April 25th, 2009, 8:27 am

Great!

Hope this one is a bit cooler

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » April 25th, 2009, 2:08 pm

Notorious Scullman wrote:Great!

Hope this one is a bit cooler

hot blue

Postby hot blue » April 25th, 2009, 3:38 pm

The Hope is supposed to be fully air conditioned

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » April 25th, 2009, 3:39 pm

Oh thank God!

xtech

Postby xtech » April 25th, 2009, 4:32 pm

idlemind

Postby idlemind » April 25th, 2009, 6:24 pm

hallelujah, now wheres the points chart?

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » April 25th, 2009, 6:42 pm

That's bloody HUGE!

Hope the AC works! :lol:

Postby buzz » April 25th, 2009, 6:52 pm

dey gonna sell anything other than christian books and dictionaries this time ?

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » April 25th, 2009, 7:02 pm

buzz wrote:dey gonna sell anything other than christian books and dictionaries this time ?
was just about to ask that...last one that came had little of interest :?

hot blue

Postby hot blue » April 25th, 2009, 7:24 pm

well remember it's a christian organisation... So I guess they will try to promote their own religion. I found some real good medical books for my brother who is studying med in mt hope.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » April 25th, 2009, 7:26 pm

Don't forget they had a lot of science books too. But remember it's a Christian (Ministry) vessel so expect the obvious. Their Values state:

OM Ships has four core values which form the basis of all that they do:

Loving God
We each enjoy a relationship with God, the creator and sustainer of life, and seek to worship and honour him by the way we live and work. We want to reciprocate His love, which has given our lives hope and meaning.

Esteeming People
Valuing the uniqueness and worth of every person, we aim to treat everyone with respect and dignity. We want to have relationships which are characterised by truth and compassion, and to help everyone reach their potential.

Working as a Team
Together we can support, inspire and motivate one another to achieve far more than we could as a group of individuals. We actively engage the knowledge, experience and skills of all team members, and rely on a network of local and global partners.

Serving with Excellence
We aim for excellence in all we do – whether serving our co-workers, partners and visitors, meeting organisational service, environmental and safety standards, or being good stewards of our resources.

(From the website) Twice as big as any previous OM Ship, and totally redesigned and outfitted to suit OM’s ministry purposes and living conditions, Logos Hope provides a better quality of life for crew, as well as a wider range of activities for visitors and guests. The newly created Logos Hope Experience (converted from the original ferry’s car area into two separate decks) will hold up to 1,000 visitors at any time, with capacity to host an additional 700 in the Hope Theatre and Logos Lounge. Almost 500 crew and guests can be accommodated in the ship’s 200 cabins, with better facilities and spaces for catering, health services and schooling.

Logos Hope currently accommodates 350 people from 50 different countries. When the ship is fully outfitted, she will hold up to 400 crew, as well as 100 short-term guests! Most work five days a week in the ship’s kitchen (galley), engine room, deck maintenance or offices, but also use their free-time to participate in the many onboard conferences and onshore teams, sharing their lives with local residents around the world. All are unpaid, from captain to cook, but joyfully volunteer their time in service of God and others.

Seven decks man!

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » April 25th, 2009, 7:27 pm

LOL. Hot Blue posted faster than me!! Sorry for the duplication. :)

Postby buzz » April 25th, 2009, 7:31 pm

hot blue wrote:well remember it's a christian organisation... So I guess they will try to promote their own religion. I found some real good medical books for my brother who is studying med in mt hope.

well yeah but.... :?

i guess most of the good stuff sold out early :?

but tjis one looks promising tho

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » April 25th, 2009, 7:31 pm

hot blue wrote:well remember it's a christian organisation... So I guess they will try to promote their own religion. I found some real good medical books for my brother who is studying med in mt hope.

I have no problem with that, but the sheer quantity and proportion compared to that of other subject areas was not what was advertised...and even then i don't really have a problem tbh; just that there was nothing there otherwise that i fancied at all...

btw i'm also doing med in mthope, and there was only one or two 'decent' medical books i saw worth buying, and only if you were in years 1-2...

Conrad

Postby Conrad » April 25th, 2009, 9:48 pm

Picked up my Porsche "collection" from the last visit and if my memory served me correct there were a few other hard cover motor books that MG Man picked up as well.

Riley2008

Postby Riley2008 » April 25th, 2009, 9:53 pm

can't wait!

Always manage to get a book i could not get in the book stores.

Postby bluefete » August 26th, 2009, 4:25 pm

Now in Tobago

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » August 26th, 2009, 6:22 pm

Norstar:

You left out some of their main core values

:re-colonizing and brainwashing people with their judeo christian literature

: getting a lot of books donated free often with the condition that they are not to be re-sold, and then coming and selling us the books.

It is a good place to get okay discounts on dictionaries, science books, cookbooks, academic books, but apart from that i find it is a big waste.

Postby buzz » August 26th, 2009, 6:41 pm

:re-colonizing and brainwashing people with their judeo christian literature

do lets call all germans jew killers why dont we and all muslims terroists right?

stop living in the past

getting a lot of books donated free often with the condition that they are not to be re-sold, and then coming and selling us the books.

any evidence to support this claim? are the books printed "not for resale" ? :arrow:

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » August 26th, 2009, 6:45 pm

yep, i bought some books ah time, and they had donated, not for re-sale on the back, (or words to that effect)

Postby buzz » August 26th, 2009, 6:45 pm

well ok :|

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » August 26th, 2009, 6:47 pm

so much for CHRISTIAN morality

Postby buzz » August 26th, 2009, 6:47 pm

logos represent ALL christains?

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » August 26th, 2009, 6:52 pm

No they do not, but they are a good example of the typical narrow minded Christian mindset. (Not that narrow mindedness is limited to Christians, but as the thread is about the Christian ship i choose to highlight them.

Postby buzz » August 26th, 2009, 6:53 pm

*sigh*

i bash religion on a whole but i don't generalize :arrow:

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » August 26th, 2009, 6:57 pm

generalizations are inevitable. If they generalization is false, they it should be exposed, if the generalization holds water, well.......

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 26th, 2009, 10:26 pm

TrinbagoMan

u shud really shutup, u sound stupid

back on topic..

anyone has an idea or copy of the points-money chart??

this one looks like its worth a visit!

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » August 26th, 2009, 10:30 pm

Chiney, you are just childish. Me and Buzz maturely exchanged views, you gave no view just a shallow statement : "u shud really shutup, u sound stupid ".

If my exposures offends you, i think i know why: yuh must be have cocoa in the sun.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 26th, 2009, 10:31 pm

ok boss.....