Quitting Smoking!

Shooter_boy_J

Quitting Smoking!

Postby Shooter_boy_J » May 29th, 2009, 3:40 pm

Any body here quit smoking and was successful! You know how long i trying share allyuh stories nah! Maybe i could take some of your advice!

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » May 29th, 2009, 3:44 pm

i'm not a quiter

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » May 29th, 2009, 3:49 pm

Bacon

Postby Bacon » May 29th, 2009, 3:50 pm

Just be a man and do it........I stopped...had 1 a couple weeks after (1.00am) and that was it, that was 10 years ago.

I recently saw the cancer images in my grandfather which he got from smoking, just the sight of those big black circles inside of him is enough to make anyone stop smoking.

My grandmother now lives by herself, with no spouse.

This is the reality of this smoking thing.........you HAVE to stop it NOW for your health and for your family.

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » May 29th, 2009, 3:52 pm

if they legalize the herb alot of people will stop smoking cigs.

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » May 29th, 2009, 3:52 pm

so if u stop,,,will the black circles inside u go away after a while?

like all the tar inna yu lungs?

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » May 29th, 2009, 4:12 pm

Smoking cessation timeline - the health benefits over time

* In 20 minutes, your blood pressure and pulse rate decrease, and the body temperature of your hands and feet increase.

* Carbon monoxide in cigarette smoke reduces the blood’s ability to carry oxygen. At 8 hours, the carbon monoxide level in your blood decreases to normal. With the decrease in carbon monoxide, your blood oxygen level increases to normal.

* At 24 hours, your risk of having a heart attack decreases.

* At 48 hours, nerve endings start to regrow and the ability to smell and taste is enhanced.

* Between 2 weeks and 3 months, your circulation improves, walking becomes easier and you don’t cough or wheeze as often. Phlegm production decreases. Within several months, you have significant improvement in lung function.

* In 1 to 9 months, coughs, sinus congestion, fatigue and shortness of breath decrease as you continue to see significant improvement in lung function. Cilia, tiny hair-like structures that move mucus out of the lungs, regain normal function.

* In 1 year, risk of coronary heart disease and heart attack is reduced to half that of a smoker.

* Between 5 and 15 years after quitting, your risk of having a stroke returns to that of a non-smoker.

* In 10 years, your risk of lung cancer drops. Additionally, your risk of cancer of the mouth, throat, esophagus, bladder, kidney and pancreas decrease. Even after a decade of not smoking however, your risk of lung cancer remains higher than in people who have never smoked. Your risk of ulcer also decreases.

* In 15 years, your risk of coronary heart disease and heart attack in similar to that of people who have never smoked. The risk of death returns to nearly the level of a non-smoker.
Last edited by pimptacular on May 29th, 2009, 4:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

richiepooh

Postby richiepooh » May 29th, 2009, 4:13 pm

Stopped Seven Years Ago and still going strong.

Postby DFC » May 29th, 2009, 4:52 pm

just stop it cold turkey man....wen u feel the need for a smoke...chew some gum, or suck a mint, or if you really really craving it, drink a coke. i dont smoke, and never did, but i help alot of my uncles stop smoking by constantly nagging them. U need family support too man. Dont stay around anyone who is smoking....tell your family to clean out and get rid off all cigarette butts or cigarettes in the house.

drink coffee wen u wanna smoke, and in two weeks time..man u goodd to go!

be brave n be strong man!

remind urself that u gonna dies horribly, and die young, and have bad sex ...and re-affirm WHY u wanna stop it..

Bacon

Postby Bacon » May 29th, 2009, 5:03 pm

Rahtid wrote:so if u stop,,,will the black circles inside u go away after a while?

like all the tar inna yu lungs?

The big black things were the Cancers that eventually killed him.

The last time I saw him alive I had to lift the frame that was left of him (a once very stong and fit guy) out of a wheelchair and put him into the back seat of a car.

Just stop it.

Bacon

Postby Bacon » May 29th, 2009, 5:05 pm

pimptacular wrote:Smoking cessation timeline - the health benefits over time

* In 20 minutes, your blood pressure and pulse rate decrease, and the body temperature of your hands and feet increase.

* Carbon monoxide in cigarette smoke reduces the blood’s ability to carry oxygen. At 8 hours, the carbon monoxide level in your blood decreases to normal. With the decrease in carbon monoxide, your blood oxygen level increases to normal.

* At 24 hours, your risk of having a heart attack decreases.

* At 48 hours, nerve endings start to regrow and the ability to smell and taste is enhanced.

* Between 2 weeks and 3 months, your circulation improves, walking becomes easier and you don’t cough or wheeze as often. Phlegm production decreases. Within several months, you have significant improvement in lung function.

* In 1 to 9 months, coughs, sinus congestion, fatigue and shortness of breath decrease as you continue to see significant improvement in lung function. Cilia, tiny hair-like structures that move mucus out of the lungs, regain normal function.

* In 1 year, risk of coronary heart disease and heart attack is reduced to half that of a smoker.

* Between 5 and 15 years after quitting, your risk of having a stroke returns to that of a non-smoker.

* In 10 years, your risk of lung cancer drops. Additionally, your risk of cancer of the mouth, throat, esophagus, bladder, kidney and pancreas decrease. Even after a decade of not smoking however, your risk of lung cancer remains higher than in people who have never smoked. Your risk of ulcer also decreases.

* In 15 years, your risk of coronary heart disease and heart attack in similar to that of people who have never smoked. The risk of death returns to nearly the level of a non-smoker.

Good info.................

Postby buzz » May 29th, 2009, 5:14 pm

Zeriam wrote:if they legalize the herb alot of people will stop smoking cigs.

damn right 8-)

and because its a "controlling substance" i wont smoke and drive either

hell i'd just take a smoke b4 i go to bed every night :?

but can the gov't tax herb ?

Postby buzz » May 29th, 2009, 5:16 pm

oh yeah i once just stopped for 3 yrs

jus so jus so woke up one morning and said

fcukit :|

Olive

Postby Olive » May 29th, 2009, 6:27 pm

real men doh smoke. good for you!

Postby cinco » May 29th, 2009, 6:30 pm

quitting is for losers!

Tar Baby

Postby Tar Baby » May 29th, 2009, 6:49 pm

Removed by user
Last edited by Tar Baby on September 17th, 2023, 8:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby buzz » May 29th, 2009, 6:51 pm

Olive wrote:real men doh smoke. good for you!

men who use lubricants are cats

FallenFromGrace

Postby FallenFromGrace » May 29th, 2009, 7:01 pm

Tar Baby wrote:
Do some other retarded sheit instead...like have kids :wink:

are you crazy? i say legalize d herb and smoke that, or smoke hemp i think that is less damaging tha cigarettes ( i could be wrong) but so ive been told

Postby buzz » May 29th, 2009, 7:02 pm

smoke jry shyt

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » May 29th, 2009, 7:08 pm

buzz wrote:
Zeriam wrote:if they legalize the herb alot of people will stop smoking cigs.

damn right 8-)

and because its a "controlling substance" i wont smoke and drive either

hell i'd just take a smoke b4 i go to bed every night :?

but can the gov't tax herb ?
i think they should tax it, make it an offence for smuggling it into the country. have drug blocks register and pay tax on their earnings every few months, allow people to grow a tree or 2 for personal use but tax them if they selling. but i'm sure better ideas then these are out there.

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 29th, 2009, 7:39 pm

It takes tons of mental strength.
I stopped smoking 7+ months ago and I did NOT look back.
I used to smoke close to a pack and a half a day for 14 years.
The first month i could not sleep, needed sleeping pills. Eating got thrown off, i was hungry every couple hours. Tried coffee as a substitute, but it was making my nervousness/agitation worse.
Let your family/coworkers know that you are stopping, because you will be edgy for a while.
GOod Luck.

FallenFromGrace

Postby FallenFromGrace » May 29th, 2009, 7:56 pm

alos on the marijuana talk they shud just de criminalize possesion up to a certain amount and tax the drug blocks

bean_head

Postby bean_head » June 1st, 2009, 7:50 am

quit 3 weeks ago.. the first week will be the toughest. try to stay away from ppl that smoke and get rid of everything that might make it easy to take just one pull.. your lighter, secret stash etc.

Shooter_boy_J

Postby Shooter_boy_J » June 1st, 2009, 9:11 am

i try everything jed but it does all with end up with that one last cigarette! if is one thing i wish i never start smoking!

Postby buzz » June 1st, 2009, 9:21 am

guess everyone's method is different :?

these days i' just naturally cutting down 2-3 a day :shock:

but as i said b4 i just stopped one morning but that method hardly works for anyone. someone stated earlier that it takes ALOT of mental strength and its the damn truth

btw my take on mastery is to be in the company of smokers and not feel the slightest urge to smoke....

Postby tr1ad » June 1st, 2009, 9:29 am

yup

also i suggest getting the alan carr - stop smoking audio book

it will really have you thinking

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » June 1st, 2009, 10:13 am

Shooter_boy_J wrote:Any body here quit smoking and was successful!

I smoked for over 26 years... 1½ packs/day... 2 packs/day sometimes.
Only stopped when I got frightened enough... When QUICK inhale = Hacking cough... ALL the time! :roll:
VexXx Dogg wrote:...Tried coffee as a substitute, but it was making my nervousness/agitation worse...

IMHO the "habit" of drinking coffee (caffeine) and "lighting up" (nicotine) make the two drugs very complimentary to each other. So stop drinking Coffee... or Green Tea... or Coke for a few (6) months! ALL contain caffeine!...
Drink Milo or cocoa for a while instead... Milo tastes AWFUL with cigarettes!

If your habit is "drinking alcohol and smoking"... Swap to LLB/Malta/Schwepp's Bitter Lemon etc. instead.

Ease up on the "liming" for the first few weeks. Less association = Less temptation!

TRY TO SCARE THE SH!T OUT OF YOURSELF!... That helps too!
Find some graphic pix of lung cancer victims... and TARRED-UP LUNG TISSUE on the net.

Walk with plenty tissues / handkerchiefs... Your nose will "run like a tap" for weeks.
Try inhaling salt water to clear sinuses... That helps!

Try to get your wife... kids... girlfriend to "ride shotgun" on you... and nag you to "put it out." That helps too!
Been there!... Done that!... and itz ah B!TCH :!: ... but... IT WORKS!
I stopped smoking over 13 years ago!... Thank God! :wink:

My $0.02¢
Last edited by Sanctifier on June 1st, 2009, 10:26 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » June 1st, 2009, 10:25 am

the_DFC wrote:just stop it cold turkey man....wen u feel the need for a smoke...chew some gum, or suck a mint, or if you really really craving it, drink a coke. i dont smoke, and never did, but i help alot of my uncles stop smoking by constantly nagging them. U need family support too man. Dont stay around anyone who is smoking....tell your family to clean out and get rid off all cigarette butts or cigarettes in the house.

drink coffee wen u wanna smoke, and in two weeks time..man u goodd to go!

be brave n be strong man!

remind urself that u gonna dies horribly, and die young, and have bad sex ...and re-affirm WHY u wanna stop it..

Your uncles in a mess....
Bad sex too?

while i agree very much with cold turkey as the ONLY APPROACH to stopping, bad sex, good sex, - At least its still sex! 8-)

silver

Postby silver » June 1st, 2009, 1:21 pm

sanctifier has some good points...
even though you crave the nicotine, you will probably realise it is very habitual,
when you drive to work in the morning...that first cigarette, probably one after or during the coffee break, after lunch or any meal...and while liming/drinking etc.

for me, once i could somehow force myself not to smoke during the times i habitually smoked i would get over the craving until the next 'reminder'

now i smoke on occasion..i.e every couple months ..usually when alot of alcohol has been consumed :lol: which i don't recommend doing...but usually i can't remember that i smoked the next day..so it doesn't kick start the habit again

weaning off (smoking less per day) or smoking 'lights' seems like the worst way to go...either try a gum or cold turkey...the brain is a helluva powerful thing...use it

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » June 1st, 2009, 1:43 pm

^^Well said.