Police cracking down on Illegal drags and spectators thereof

Naka

Police cracking down on Illegal drags and spectators thereof

Postby Naka » June 11th, 2009, 11:12 pm

Somebody say it was on the news? Is this true?
What are your predictions for Sarurday?

Postby joker » June 11th, 2009, 11:18 pm

last nite bout ten ppl geh clout from popo :lol:

turbosnail

Postby turbosnail » June 11th, 2009, 11:19 pm

yeah cracking down on illegal drags and spectating gonna reduce the crime in the country :| :|

Postby Sky » June 11th, 2009, 11:54 pm

joker wrote:last nite bout ten ppl geh clout from popo :lol:

Where this happened?

People don't start bashing what they're doing, because it's illegal. It all adds up to the state of this country. From litterbugs to men who shoot up the red house. We all have a part to play. If they doing it then let them be. It's illegal.

Postby Cjruckus » June 11th, 2009, 11:56 pm

wallers drags will still happen.

Postby janfar » June 12th, 2009, 12:15 am

And Omeara, i pass their every evening and their are at least 50 cars hanging around and one police vehicle. What they should do is put some speed bumps to stop these clats from trying to kill someone... or me.
Last edited by janfar on June 12th, 2009, 12:16 am, edited 1 time in total.

§ephiroth

Postby §ephiroth » June 12th, 2009, 12:15 am

now ppl specatating on the shoulder and they runnin them i can understand, but from what i hear they goin all in side streets and threatening ppl and ting.....my question is this can the police run you from a side street juss so, because how i seein things is that is public road

Postby joker » June 12th, 2009, 12:19 am

my question is this can the police run you from a side street juss so

depends on the time

§ephiroth

Postby §ephiroth » June 12th, 2009, 12:21 am

ok so, what's the time?

Postby joker » June 12th, 2009, 12:25 am

now is 12:25 am

§ephiroth

Postby §ephiroth » June 12th, 2009, 12:26 am

LOL thanks joker :lol:

Postby janfar » June 12th, 2009, 12:27 am

joker wrote:now is 12:25 am

No eh, its 12:26am

Vinesh

Postby Vinesh » June 12th, 2009, 12:36 am

joker, funny jred

Postby joker » June 12th, 2009, 12:38 am

Posted: Fri Jun 12, 2009 12:27 am
Post subject:
janfar wrote:
joker wrote:now is 12:25 am

No eh, its 12:26am

LOL yuh internet breed with snail? :lol:

Postby RBphoto » June 12th, 2009, 6:55 am

joker wrote:
my question is this can the police run you from a side street juss so

depends on the time

Not really. As I have said before, anyone who is in a place, even in a public place, with no reason to be there is loitering, and can be charged/ forced to remove themselves from that place.

Postby Team Loco » June 12th, 2009, 7:52 am

Hope this initiative continues. Something like this is a good start to at least remove the stigma and stereotype the average trini has about "drag racing" we all know to the average joe, drag racing on the whole is illegal. Anything to do with motorsports in this country is considered illegal drag racing by the general public.

They should also look at businesses that encourage illegal street drags. We all know the one pub in cross crossing. But that guy seems too high to touch.

Kudos to the police. Keep up the good work

adri 2nr

Postby adri 2nr » June 12th, 2009, 8:17 am

Team Loco wrote:Hope this initiative continues. Something like this is a good start to at least remove the stigma and stereotype the average trini has about "drag racing" we all know to the average joe, drag racing on the whole is illegal. Anything to do with motorsports in this country is considered illegal drag racing by the general public.

They should also look at businesses that encourage illegal street drags. We all know the one pub in cross crossing. But that guy seems too high to touch.

Kudos to the police. Keep up the good work

exactly... this is utter nonsense

There should also be education of the difference between motorsports and Illegal Drags

Postby bluesteel29 » June 12th, 2009, 12:29 pm

illegal drags will never end :?....if ya have ah fasup car and ur ah drivah, how de police gonna ketch ya???
N.B i do not partake in these illegal activities :D
Last edited by bluesteel29 on June 19th, 2009, 10:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Zim

Postby Zim » June 12th, 2009, 12:32 pm

Hope it reduces the number of road fatalities & collisions yes

Yea Police wukkin, daz a great sign, let's hope the continue...also saw they had a road block in Couva last night, very nice :)

Computerman

Postby Computerman » June 12th, 2009, 12:47 pm

All we ever asked for was enforcement of the laws, in a fair and unbiased manner.

I would like to see more police patrols. There are too many new police vehicles always being 'serviced' due to misuse and abuse or being used for 'private' purposes. Officers have to be held accountable for the vehicles they use. If the vehicles are damaged in the performance of their duties fine. But carelessness, irresponsible use and just plain stupidity should result in a portion or all of the repair, be charged to the user(s) of the vehicle.

Postby Aaron 2NR » June 12th, 2009, 12:49 pm

they should start the repossession cars as well....from the time u are caught in the act of there is evidence of you taking part in street racing.....do like canada and crush the vehicles...

im sure there is enough video evidence all over about street racing in trinidad.....thats enough evidence to revoke driver's permits etc

Zorak

Postby Zorak » June 12th, 2009, 2:24 pm

if i go on d cross for a corn soup, a shark broff, a burger and a gyro and it happen to have drags goin, d po po guh rough me up still??

Computerman

Postby Computerman » June 12th, 2009, 3:36 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:they should start the repossession cars as well....from the time u are caught in the act of there is evidence of you taking part in street racing.....do like canada and crush the vehicles...

im sure there is enough video evidence all over about street racing in trinidad.....thats enough evidence to revoke driver's permits etc

The expectation is some laws will be updated soon based on the wishes of a few, whether it is fair or not is hardly relevant... so video evidence might actually carry some weight. However, I not too big on the merits of Klingon law, I still prefer the adage "Innocent until proven Guilty".

Zorak wrote:if i go on d cross for a corn soup, a shark broff, a burger and a gyro and it happen to have drags goin, d po po guh rough me up still??
Yes.

Naka

Postby Naka » June 12th, 2009, 4:57 pm

**** t h e p o l i c e.

Well, at least some of them, not all are sheit heads.

I heard it had drags on the cross since 90% of us tuners were sheiting in diapers(the 80s). That's true?

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » June 12th, 2009, 7:53 pm

As far as i can see, some people i've seen in police uniform, are ALSO there spectating, some racing! Yet they have mind to come and say "GET THE F*CK OUT OF HERE" on a side road where the car was OVERHEATING? stupes

_moti_

Postby _moti_ » June 12th, 2009, 8:51 pm

DETROIT -- A man was charged Monday in the death of a woman killed in a deadly street race in November.

Troy McRae, 40, was arraigned at 36 District Court on second-degree murder, involuntary manslaughter with a motor vehicle.

Police said McRae was street-racing a Mustang on Dequindre Avenue, just north of Eastern Market on Nov. 11 when he barreled into a Saturn Ion.

"I seen the two cars racing down the street. All of a sudden I heard the one screech. I knew the one flipped because I seen a ball of flames," said witness Ken Warmuskerken. Image
Delthea Bryson, 56, was the passenger inside the Saturn and died at the hospital.

Bryson's 26-year-old daughter was driving the Saturn and was also injured in the crash.

The driver of a green Suburban pulled McRae from the Mustang and took him to a hospital and left, police said.

Woman Killed By Street Race Accident Remembered

Local 4 has learned Bryson was an employee at Burton International in Detroit.

Teachers said Bryson worked at the school for more than 20 years and said she was the backbone of almost every special project. "The world is a better place because of her," said friend Ann Turner.

"It seems so senseless because she was very civic minded -- and to have something like this happen to her just because someone was having a good time," said friend Sandra Martin.

Turner told Local 4 Bryson was a strong woman and if she were here today, she would have told her to "suck it up."

McRae will be back in court for a preliminary exam on May 7 at 1:30 p.m.

www.streetracenetwork.com

Postby X_Factor » June 12th, 2009, 8:58 pm

all u guys who against the street racing...u all drive within the speed limit of 80km rite?...u may not be racing, but ur still breaking the law..soo dont have double standards plz

_moti_

Postby _moti_ » June 12th, 2009, 8:58 pm

Street Racing to be legalized in Ukraine
Published on Mon May 11, 2009

Street Racing may be legalized soon in Ukraine. It may appear firstly in Kharkov and Kharkov Region, reported deputy chief of Traffic Police Department in Kharkov Region Alexander Azatsky.

According to proUA.com, Traffic Police has already reached an agreement on cooperation with organizers of Street Racing. Officials are planning the nearest time to determine special places for Street Racing. Interior Ministry, Traffic Police, Emergencies Ministry and doctors are presupposed to secure law and order and security.
According to Azatsky, in other cities official racing is being held in special places.

As a reminder, on May 18 2008 a driver took part in street racing and rammed into the crowd of spectators on the road Korotich-Vodyanoe (Kharkov Region), Kharkov-Simferopol. As a result, two people died, 8 people were injured. On the next day driver of VAZ-21063 (male was born in 1984) told militia that he was driving the car with power of attorney and was drunk.

now this is what we need to arrange here :|

Naka

Postby Naka » June 12th, 2009, 9:00 pm

that story reminds me of the ppl who park up behind the burger carts in south. I see a man drinking onthe side while cars zooming coming down? hahahaha

anybody on the cross saturday?

_moti_

Postby _moti_ » June 12th, 2009, 9:03 pm

X_Factor wrote:all u guys who against the street racing...u all drive within the speed limit of 80km rite?...u may not be racing, but ur still breaking the law..soo dont have double standards plz

i agree with you there but what about the following:

shoulder drivers
overtaking on the left
not using your signal
driving with a broken taillight
etc etc etc

i could go on and on but we need to start some where
street racing is illegal and no matter what any one says i will still be illegal.
so no matter how many plasters / band aids on the sore it will still be a sore