Meteor shower visible in northern sky tonight

Yeo

Meteor shower visible in northern sky tonight

Postby Yeo » August 11th, 2009, 8:00 am

A meteor shower will be visible today and tomorrow, says head of UWI’s Physics department at the St Augustine campus Dr Shirin Haque. Haque said earth was entering a stream of dusty debris from Comet Swift-Tuttle which was the source of the annual Perseid meteor shower. The shower will peak today and tomorrow making it possible to see dozens of meteors per hour after nightfall today and this will continue into sunrise Wednesday.

To see the meteors, Haque suggested, “Unfold a blanket on a flat patch of ground in a dark site. Lie down and look up. Perseids can appear in any part of the sky, their tails all pointing back to the shower’s radiance in the constellation Perseus. “For Trinidadian observers, that would be in the northern part of the sky, not far from the Cassiopeia constellation (the ‘W’constellation). This is best enjoyed by naked eye.â€

Cooper

Postby Cooper » August 11th, 2009, 8:55 am

Good info, thanks Yeo :!:

sexy_ke70_chick

Postby sexy_ke70_chick » August 11th, 2009, 9:20 am

thanks for reminding me :D

nismo_crossbreed

Postby nismo_crossbreed » August 11th, 2009, 9:44 am

sweet. ill be looking out for it :D

W2J

Postby W2J » August 11th, 2009, 9:59 am

now only if I could go to dark place to go and observe with my meade without the worry of being rape, rob or murdered.

GReddy23

Postby GReddy23 » August 11th, 2009, 10:23 am

yuh forget kidnap

W2J

Postby W2J » August 11th, 2009, 10:24 am

^ did not forget I ent worth sh!t alive

neoise

Postby neoise » August 11th, 2009, 10:42 am

Oh Gad we gon ded ........... yet again

Virus

Postby Virus » August 11th, 2009, 6:13 pm

W2J lay on your roof i planning to do something like that but then again i fraid i fall suggestions for safe look out besides streaming internet

Postby buzz » August 11th, 2009, 6:22 pm

any particular time? :| :oops:

slick

Postby slick » August 11th, 2009, 6:23 pm

Good info...thanks Yeo

Bacon

Re: Meteor shower visible in northern sky tonight

Postby Bacon » August 11th, 2009, 6:26 pm

Yeo wrote:To see the meteors, Haque suggested, “Unfold a blanket on a flat patch of ground in a dark site. Lie down and look up.

Await the arrival of gunmen in b11-15...................................

Postby buzz » August 11th, 2009, 6:28 pm

Postby gt4tified » August 11th, 2009, 6:29 pm

W2J wrote:now only if I could go to dark place to go and observe with my meade without the worry of being rape, rob or murdered.

:shock:You gots meade??? Where can I get some butterbeer?

slick

Postby slick » August 11th, 2009, 6:33 pm

Canadian Bacon wrote:
Yeo wrote:To see the meteors, Haque suggested, “Unfold a blanket on a flat patch of ground in a dark site. Lie down and look up.

Await the arrival of gunmen in b11-15 / almera..........................

fixed :lol:

Bacon

Postby Bacon » August 11th, 2009, 6:35 pm

Tnx :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Postby Damien » August 11th, 2009, 6:36 pm

Canadian Bacon wrote:

Await the arrival of gunmen in b11-15...................................

Postby buzz » August 11th, 2009, 6:55 pm

buzz wrote:any particular time? :| :oops:

theblitz

Postby theblitz » August 11th, 2009, 7:02 pm

buzz wrote:
buzz wrote:any particular time? :| :oops:

night-time :?

Postby buzz » August 11th, 2009, 7:03 pm

thx :|

theblitz

Postby theblitz » August 11th, 2009, 7:11 pm

fleck u aite.... i sour cuz I hear is in the northern sky.... an I from south :|

Postby buzz » August 11th, 2009, 7:12 pm

damn that sucks :|

slick

Postby slick » August 11th, 2009, 7:13 pm

theblitz wrote:fleck u aite.... i sour cuz I hear is in the northern sky.... an I from south :|

shux :|

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 11th, 2009, 7:14 pm

this is an informative read if you plan to watch it tonight

The annual Perseid meteor shower is expected to put on a good show this week for those willing to get up in the wee hours of the morning and wait patiently for the shooting stars.

In North America, the best time to watch will be between midnight to 5 a.m. on Wednesday, Aug. 12, but late Tuesday night and also Wednesday night could prove fruitful, weather permitting.

The Perseids are always reliable, and sometimes rather spectacular. The only things that puts a damper on the August show are bad weather or bright moonlight. Unfortunately this week, as the Perseids reach their peak Tuesday and Wednesday nights, the moon will be high in the sky, outshining the fainter meteors.

Still, skywatchers around the globe will have a good chance of spotting the brighter meteors. Some already are enjoying the show.

Already underway

The Perseids are bits of debris from Comet Swift-Tuttle, which has laid down several streams of debris, each in a slightly different location, over the centuries as it orbits the sun. Every August, Earth passes through these debris streams, which spread out over time.

"They are typically fast, bright and occasionally leave persistent trains," says Joe Rao, SPACE.com's Skywatching Columnist. "And every once in a while, a Perseid fireball will blaze forth, bright enough to be quite spectacular and more than capable to attract attention even in bright moonlight."

Low numbers of Perseids, including some bright fireballs, have already been reported as Earth began entering the stream in late July. Seasoned observers have counted up to 25 per hour already, or nearly one every two minutes.

Most meteors are no bigger than a pea. They vaporize as they enter Earth's atmosphere, creating bright streaks across the sky.

The Perseids appear to emanate from the constellation Perseus, which rises high in the sky around midnight and is nearly overhead by dawn. Like most meteor showers, the hours between midnight and daybreak are typically the best time to watch, because that's when the side of Earth you are on is rotating into the direction of Earth's travels through space, so meteors are "scooped up" by the atmosphere at higher rates, much like a car's windshield ends the lives of more bugs than does the rear bumper.

Astronomers expect up to 200 meteors per hour in short bursts of up to 15 minutes or so. But many of the fainter meteors will simply not be visible due to moonlight, and rates will go down even more for those in urban areas. More likely a typical observer under reasonably dark skies might hope to see a meteor every couple minutes when the bursts come, and fewer during lulls.

When to watch

The best time to watch is between midnight and dawn Wednesday. Forecasters say the best stretch could come between 4 a.m. and 5 a.m. ET (1-2 a.m. PT), which would be after daybreak in Europe. Some Perseids might be visible late Tuesday night, and Wednesday night into Thursday morning could prove worthwhile, too.

Meteor forecasting is still in its infancy, however, so the best bet for anyone truly hungry to spot shooting stars is to get in as much observing time as possible from around 11 p.m. Tuesday night until dawn Wednesday, and if you miss that show, try the same time frame Wednesday evening into Thursday morning.

Meteors should be visible in the pre-dawn hours, weather permitting, all around the Northern Hemisphere.

"Earth passes through the densest part of the debris stream sometime on Aug. 12," said Bill Cooke of NASA's Meteoroid Environment Office. "Then, you could see dozens of meteors per hour."

Viewing tips

The best location is far from city and suburban lights. Ideally, find a structure, mountain or tree to block the moon. Then scan as much of the sky as possible. The meteors can appear anywhere, heading in any direction. If you trace their paths backward, they'll all point to the constellation Perseus.

People in locations where any chill might occur should dress warmer than they think necessary to allow for prolonged viewing.

Seasoned skywatchers advise using a blanket or lounge chair for comfort, so you can lie back and look up for long periods. Allow at least 15 minutes for your eyes to fully adjust to the darkness. Then expect meteors to be sporadic: You might see two in a row, or several minutes could go by between shooting stars.

Avid meteor watchers might want to try scanning the northeastern horizon from 9 p.m. to 11 p.m. local time (your local time, wherever you are) for Perseids that graze the horizon.

"Earthgrazers are meteors that approach from the horizon and skim the atmosphere overhead like a stone skipping across the surface of a pond," Cooke explained. "They are long, slow and colorful – among the most beautiful of meteors." He notes that an hour of watching may net only a few of these at most, but seeing even one can make the whole night worthwhile.

http://news.yahoo.com/s/space/20090811/ ... tedtonight
Last edited by Duane 3NE 2NR on August 11th, 2009, 7:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

bonzo.specb

Postby bonzo.specb » August 11th, 2009, 7:17 pm

hmm great post,....

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 11th, 2009, 7:20 pm

no clouds tonight... :idea:

Reyos

Postby Reyos » August 11th, 2009, 7:22 pm

anyone know of a safe place to go to check this out tonight?

Postby buzz » August 11th, 2009, 7:24 pm

your back yard :|

Reyos

Postby Reyos » August 11th, 2009, 7:26 pm

not possible.....too much lights right around me...

any other suggestions?

Postby Maserati » August 11th, 2009, 7:30 pm

Quiksilver wrote:not possible.....too much lights right around me...

any other suggestions?

go in d bush