District 9:- Don't ask Questions, Just go see it.

Postby Cjruckus » August 16th, 2009, 12:02 am

I really dont know what to say about this movie. I dont even know if i should recommend people to go see it because I have never seen anything like it before.

The special Effects are really well done.

As for everything else.... you just need to see for yourself.

I edited the title to something more fitting.
Last edited by Cjruckus on August 16th, 2009, 12:13 am, edited 1 time in total.

richardg1976

Postby richardg1976 » August 16th, 2009, 12:07 am

What do you mean you don't know if you should recommend people to go see it?

Did you like it?

I heard that it's quite different from all of the movies out there.

Where'd you see it? MT?

Postby Cjruckus » August 16th, 2009, 12:11 am

Yeah saw it in MT. Screen 3 to be exact.

You just need to go see the film without knowing anything about it.

The reason I am skeptical about sending people to see it is because you really need like enjoy movies to watch something like this.The more I think about the film the more I want to see it again. At first i just felt like "wtf?" but now that it has set in, it kinda deserves a second viewing.

Typical Trini Mentality would be like "DAIS sheit!" simply because this is the same population that enjoys the Matrix Trilogy and considers it art.

Postby sMASH » August 16th, 2009, 12:12 am

lock dis thread nah,,, doh spoil dis movie.. most trinis and children may not be able to appreciate it

Postby Cjruckus » August 16th, 2009, 12:12 am

sMASH wrote:lock dis thread nah,,, doh spoil dis movie.. most trinis and children may not be able to appreciate it

Thats what im saying.

richardg1976

Postby richardg1976 » August 16th, 2009, 12:16 am

Nah, noone spoiling the movie, sMASH.

Cjruckus, I think that I'll go check it out myself at MT as well. Probably tomorrow.

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » August 16th, 2009, 12:17 am

Cjruckus wrote:Yeah saw it in MT. Screen 3 to be exact.

The reason I am skeptical about sending people to see it is because you really need like enjoy movies to watch something like this.The more I think about the film the more I want to see it again. At first i just felt like "wtf?" but now that it has set in, it kinda deserves a second viewing.

Typical Trini Mentality would be like "DAIS sheit!" simply because this is the same population that enjoys the Matrix Trilogy and considers it art.

LOL

matrix = art lmao

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 16th, 2009, 12:24 am

^ Matrix IS art!

Wachowski Bros created the pinnacle of cult classics when they made that.

Since seeing The Matrix in 1999 I came out the cinema thinking WTF! what a mind job!
I've been like a junkie ever since looking for the next movie to give me the thrill of that first hit. 300 was close, LOTR was just a spectacular production but still no brain orgasm like The Matrix.

Ever since I saw the District 9 teaser I've been hoping this is my first time all over again.

I know, it's sad :(

Postby noshownogo » August 16th, 2009, 12:26 am

district 9 has been getting rave reviews from critics and viewers alike in the US, being hailed as "A late summer sleeper that puts most of Hollywood to shame."

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » August 16th, 2009, 12:26 am

pioneer wrote:now eurogirl jealous cuz u didn't take her to CC8

he'd need u're permisson ..won't he ?

Postby sMASH » August 16th, 2009, 12:29 am

tuesday god willing,,, movie towne,,, transformers finally and the long interested district 9. eurogirl, u could fall in eeeef u want,, as long as u quiet.

*give me the cube, and i may let u live as my pet*

Postby buzz » August 16th, 2009, 12:30 am

Cjruckus wrote:Yeah saw it in MT. Screen 3 to be exact.

fack you matrix one was great :?

but i have to agree on this-was-not-a-vin-diesel-action-packed-senseless-special-effects-bull-sh-it so the movie wasn't good

imagine after coming out of rocky balboa some cnut bawl

"all dat an he still din win?" :?

Postby buzz » August 16th, 2009, 12:31 am

Since seeing The Matrix in 1999 I came out the cinema thinking WTF! what a mind job!

damn fcukin straight :!:

Postby Cjruckus » August 16th, 2009, 12:34 am

Matrix in Globe was pretty hard core, im not gonna lie, it was good, but the other 2 were garbage... they were trying to be a cross between Tarantino Dialogue and John Woo Action, it just didnt work. Then super obvious symbolism, it just was a trainwreck.

Postby buzz » August 16th, 2009, 12:37 am

well yeah it went downhill for the other 2 parts :|

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » August 16th, 2009, 12:38 am

sMASH wrote:tuesday god willing,,, movie towne,,, transformers finally and the long interested district 9. eurogirl, u could fall in eeeef u want,, as long as u quiet.

*give me the cube, and i may let u live as my pet*

LOL nah i cool being another muslim man pet ... I go pass , my pop's might fight u on tht position lol :P

I got a 19th deadline so no can do ..

pios quit talking abt u're fren like tht all he need is some eye straightener and he good as new !

The point of a good movie is to keep u enraptured and matrix just didn't cut it for me ..

Postby sMASH » August 16th, 2009, 12:50 am

the third matrix was like if they realized dat the plot was not adding well so they did a distract with the fighting.. matrix was one of the best movies ever, but sequels failed in comparison.

i was never able to follow the borne trilogy well. too fast paced

Humes

Postby Humes » August 16th, 2009, 1:59 am

BIG BIG SPOILER

[spoiler]Apparently he was dead fuh the whole movie.[/spoiler]

Humes

Postby Humes » August 16th, 2009, 2:00 am

Bruce

Postby Maserati » August 16th, 2009, 2:34 am

Just came from seeing it

damn good, loved it

[spoiler]
I was happy it was for once it was set not in an American city with a bunch of yanks running around.

S.Africa was a suitable setting considering their history.
Shows the private security firms
the company that wants to make revenue off the technology
how $ ultimately dictates everything[/spoiler]

GorgonZuki

Postby GorgonZuki » August 16th, 2009, 7:55 am

District 9 is a great movie. Saw it last night at screen 3 at MT. Won't mind seeing it again though. WARNING!! NOT FOR THE SHALLOW MINDED.

Oleander

Postby Oleander » August 16th, 2009, 8:04 am

^^ yup.. that why the cuople that was making out one seat away had to leave in the middle of the movie... I didn't realise ppl still do that... I can't wait for schoot to re-open :evil:

I still am kinda shocked by this movie... I really didn't expect the it to be like that. Even the location.. waw.. I want to see it again..

Who is the man who think about catfood? :shock:

kiamotors

Postby kiamotors » August 16th, 2009, 10:41 am

GorgonZuki wrote:District 9 is a great movie. Saw it last night at screen 3 at MT. Won't mind seeing it again though. WARNING!! NOT FOR THE SHALLOW MINDED.

G-T

Postby G-T » August 16th, 2009, 11:01 am

Visual effects were mind blowing...for a low budget film, they pull it off very well. :P

Syberfraggle

Postby Syberfraggle » August 16th, 2009, 11:20 am

Saw it last night also...excellent movie..not a hint of hollywood here jus great! also ... gotta love how those South africans cuss

Humes

Postby Humes » August 16th, 2009, 12:04 pm

I read that the visual effects might have cost another film production three times as much. Peter Jackson got Weta to do it for a fraction of the cost to support Blomkamp, who he's bringing up as something of a protege.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » August 16th, 2009, 1:38 pm

I jus like d alien weaponry

15devils

Postby 15devils » August 16th, 2009, 8:11 pm

for real this movie was awesome......for once it didn't occur in america.It is worth a 2nd trip

civic minded

Postby civic minded » August 16th, 2009, 8:37 pm

saw it last nite in MT - really good movie - fav. part is how the young prawn remote activate the robot and it decimated the gang members - that was really frikkin awesome.

I noticed that it rated PG14 - yet there is graphic violence and cursing - supposed to be R- rated.

innovative audio

Postby innovative audio » August 17th, 2009, 3:09 am

its like transformers meet war of the world meet independence day.............thats what it looks like, i've only seen the trailer.... peter jackson too eh.... buh i will go see it