Painting of rims

Postby X2 » August 25th, 2009, 2:08 pm

Looking for a good place to re-paint rims. Somewhere that has a good range of colours and can also do colour matching for OEM colours.

Any recommendations ? In the East is good.... preferably staying on the north side... don't feel like crossing GB.

Postby tr1ad » August 25th, 2009, 2:12 pm

d pan place opposite angostura compound

Postby X2 » August 25th, 2009, 2:14 pm

Aren't they doing powdercoating, not painting ?

Postby bluesteel29 » August 25th, 2009, 2:17 pm

^
dem iz only paint orr dey does do powder coating too??

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » August 25th, 2009, 2:18 pm

would stand up better than painting. painting sems to flake in time and not as resistant to stone chipping etc.

Thnking of getting my valve covers fromthe 2 cars sent there to be done...

Postby tr1ad » August 25th, 2009, 2:19 pm

if is really paint ....united auto...not too far from angostura compound :|

Postby bluesteel29 » August 25th, 2009, 2:19 pm

MC...cah mumford meh post now..

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » August 25th, 2009, 7:15 pm

so if u just use automotive paint,,,,

that will flake easily?

Postby Hook » August 25th, 2009, 8:07 pm

proper surface prep is the key yo

not to hijack ur thread eh X2, but on that note, anyone know of a place that can do proper pinstriping of rims? just a quarter inch stripe right around the edge...I'm going for a time attack look

plan B would prolly be to make vinyl decals of the stripe and clear coat to seal it

Postby 7143 » August 25th, 2009, 8:10 pm

yup once the surface is prepared properli and enough coats of paint and clear is added it should stand up good....but powder coating is still superior....

area6

Postby area6 » August 25th, 2009, 8:59 pm

vinyl ninja in princes town can do the pinstriping of the rim

Postby Hook » August 25th, 2009, 9:01 pm

nowhere north of the Caroni Bridge can't do it? :(

weedja2

Postby weedja2 » August 26th, 2009, 1:49 am

price for this?

Postby X2 » August 26th, 2009, 11:37 pm

powdercoating does not have the diverse selection of paint that I may need.

Please stay On Topic.... good places to PAINT rims ?

DF1_2nR

Postby DF1_2nR » August 27th, 2009, 1:55 am

Sully

Postby Sully » August 27th, 2009, 7:02 am

You could check Ventura Auto Body Works. A friend of mine had some rims painted there, and it's holding out nicely.

Postby cinco » August 27th, 2009, 11:26 am

honestly do it yourself
once you sand and remove the old paint/finish properly hit em up with some wheel paint you have no worries and costs you less.
<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/z3s4nMR0yxk&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>
i did mine myself and they have been holding up for over 8000 miles or HARD driving

Crazymofo

Postby Crazymofo » August 27th, 2009, 11:50 am

I can attest to the good quality of work done by Faiz in St. Augustine (behind UWI, highway side, the street opposite Gateboys bar). His contact # 645-1296.

Before:

After:

Cost me $600.

Postby X2 » August 27th, 2009, 2:02 pm

woi... nice work and price by that guy crazymofo. Will consider him for sure !

cinco... just don't have time to do the works these days so I need to get it done by someone else.

smokeyjoe

Postby smokeyjoe » August 27th, 2009, 3:14 pm

check dSPEEDLAb auto body shop in st joseph. call 714-5000 ask for bounty

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » August 27th, 2009, 3:27 pm

X2 wrote:woi... nice work and price by that guy crazymofo. Will consider him for sure !

cinco... just don't have time to do the works these days so I need to get it done by someone else.

shoemaker wearing slippers again???? :lol: :lol: :lol:

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » August 27th, 2009, 7:15 pm

I can attest to the good quality of work done by Faiz in St. Augustine

how long have u had it for? my bro had his car there after an accident..he did a great job generally but after a few mths there were little defects in the paintjob popping up...

Crazymofo

Postby Crazymofo » August 27th, 2009, 9:56 pm

^^ For about a year or so, and I have not noticed any degradation of the paint.

The initial paint job was not 100% perfect, there were a couple paint drops/ small bubbles on one (or two) of the rims. I didn't fuss about said paint drops or bubbles since they were only noticeable if you inspected the rim closely (I guess the colour worked in my favour as well). However, I still think that the job was a good one for the price I paid.

If you're looking for a perfect paint job then Faiz may not be the best option for you.

Postby SR » August 27th, 2009, 9:58 pm

rustoleum

talk dun

Postby X2 » August 27th, 2009, 10:41 pm

I want a specific OEM colour.... can't get that from my slipper shack with out spending plenty $.... and rustoleum just doesn't have the shade I want... I will call a couple of the ppl mentioned.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » August 27th, 2009, 10:52 pm

^Faiz is realy good in that sense...mixed an old Toyota OEM colour for my bro and it matched perfectly...as said, quality isnt the best but for the price he's very good

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » August 28th, 2009, 8:02 am

bumpty bump

adri 2nr

Postby adri 2nr » August 28th, 2009, 8:05 am

richi

TechArt

Postby TechArt » August 28th, 2009, 9:09 am

A little side note, I noticed alot of ppl whom painting their rims not taking off the weights n insects which later down the line gonna take away from your $$$ paint work. Clean your rims, remove all weights, all caps and insects because your paying fuh sum so why not do it right?

Postby Dave » August 28th, 2009, 9:13 am

^^good stuff

i recently did mine and on advice, choose a good brand of paint that would stand up

all research and advice led me to sikkens