WTK: Putting a taxi on de road..what do I need to know?

JoeZwalez

WTK: Putting a taxi on de road..what do I need to know?

Postby JoeZwalez » September 1st, 2009, 2:32 pm

Thinking about putting a car on the road as a taxi. Current "P" plates but i want to convert to a legit "H" and have a driver work for me.

Questions:

1. What is involved in converting from P to H?

2. What kinda insurance premiums would i have to pay?

3. What are the current day rates that drivers work for? (I've hear of PH men having to make $150-$200 per day for the owners)

4. How does one get a taxi badge?

Intelligent comments/advice welcome
Last edited by JoeZwalez on September 2nd, 2009, 1:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

nivek

Postby nivek » September 1st, 2009, 2:44 pm

hey i went tru that process.....first u have 2 apply for it as ne other license then they give u a date 2 write ur regulations.....its not the same as normal regs so ask specifically for taxi reg book.........then when ur pass that ur have the option to take the driving test same day or make a date...again not typical driving test but ur instructor will guide u.....when u pass that u have 2 do a reclass from P to H walk w/ur no.plates in H so they doh have to paint ur original license....have to take out a 1day H license....so ur cud drive the car ..............................................as for insurance it depends on the age of vehicle and no. of passengers and also ur age..........................currently taxi workers willing to work the car and give u anything from $150 -$200 a day also what u can look into is work to own make arrangements that after a period of time they can own the vehicle in this way they treat the car better hope that was helpful the reclass and all other fees should not be more than $500 and walk with a sticker from a tint place stating reg for "X" amt passengers because they paint it on like sheit

JoeZwalez

Postby JoeZwalez » September 1st, 2009, 7:08 pm

Thanks a lot nivek,...good info there will follow up!

Jon_One

Postby Jon_One » September 1st, 2009, 9:02 pm

so if i own the car but i dont drive it or work taxi with it i still need a taxi badge?? obviously the driver would have one

JoeZwalez

Postby JoeZwalez » September 2nd, 2009, 1:25 pm

Jon_One wrote:so if i own the car but i dont drive it or work taxi with it i still need a taxi badge?? obviously the driver would have one

^^ Technically no, but suppose you have an emergency and need to drive the car or "repossess" it from the driver then i see it as a definite need-to-have. If u get pulled over or worse, in an accident without a taxi badge you faacked!!

Any others with advice or is this basically all i need??

Postby Monk BANzai » September 2nd, 2009, 2:31 pm

nivek wrote:hey i went tru that process.....first u have 2 apply for it as ne other license then they give u a date 2 write ur regulations.....its not the same as normal regs so ask specifically for taxi reg book.........then when ur pass that ur have the option to take the driving test same day or make a date...again not typical driving test but ur instructor will guide u.....when u pass that u have 2 do a reclass from P to H walk w/ur no.plates in H so they doh have to paint ur original license....have to take out a 1day H license....so ur cud drive the car ..............................................as for insurance it depends on the age of vehicle and no. of passengers and also ur age..........................currently taxi workers willing to work the car and give u anything from $150 -$200 a day also what u can look into is work to own make arrangements that after a period of time they can own the vehicle in this way they treat the car better hope that was helpful the reclass and all other fees should not be more than $500 and walk with a sticker from a tint place stating reg for "X" amt passengers because they paint it on like sheit

Really good info there bob....

Underground Master

Postby Underground Master » September 2nd, 2009, 3:50 pm

nex one to learn is when yuh stop for a passenger, pull to de flicken side ah de pavement, not to de white line in de middle ah de road.

Postby Ignorant Ignis » September 2nd, 2009, 4:17 pm

Underground Master wrote:nex one to learn is when yuh stop for a passenger, pull to de flicken side ah de pavement, not to de white line in de middle ah de road.

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

JoeZwalez

Postby JoeZwalez » October 1st, 2009, 8:27 am

Does anybody have a sample 'taxi' contract that they are willing to share?

trini_ravi

Postby trini_ravi » October 1st, 2009, 10:49 am

^^^ times 2

minipresident

Postby minipresident » October 1st, 2009, 4:22 pm

and walk with a sticker from a tint place stating reg for "X" amt passengers because they paint it on like sheit

as i understand it, the law states that 'registered for 5 passengers' sign has to be painted on. the vinyl thing is a charge. another queer law!

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » October 2nd, 2009, 7:14 am

^^ nope that is like a sticker numberplate... in the MVRT has the exact wording for pasenger and tare signage

V2NR 3.0

Re: WTK: Putting a taxi on de road..what do I need to know?

Postby V2NR 3.0 » January 18th, 2011, 4:52 pm

but at the end od the day - is it worth it ?

A taxi as an investment ?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 18th, 2011, 5:25 pm

nice info nivek....but how many of these taxis actually have that "X" amt of passengers painted/graphic'd onto their doors? haven't noticed of late but I'll observe for this .......

MasterShake

Postby MasterShake » January 19th, 2011, 12:20 am

~Vēġó~ wrote:nice info nivek....but how many of these taxis actually have that "X" amt of passengers painted/graphic'd onto their doors? haven't noticed of late but I'll observe for this .......

only notice this on cars that can accommodate 5 or more passengers

nivek

Postby nivek » January 19th, 2011, 12:42 am

ON A SIDE NOTE WRT TO A CONTRACT.....BASIC THING , MAILING ADDRESS WITH UTILITY BILL ,RECOMENDATIONS IF POSSIBLE, A DOWNPAYMENT (A MUST) LAYOUT A PLAN WRT TO PAYMENT PLAN ETC ETC HAVE 2 WITNESSES AVAILABLE TO SIGN ...I SHOLD HAVE SOME AROUND THE HOUSE BUT BEST THING TO DO IS TO GO BY A LAWYER AND LET THEM DO IT UP....OHH THIS VENTURE HAS ALOT OF MONEY IN IT BUT U HAVE TO BE STRICT FROM DAY ONE AND REMEMBER THERE IS NO FRIEND IN BUSINESS...HOPE THIS HELPED