The Religion Discussion

Re: The Religion Discussion

Postby MaxPower » December 31st, 2022, 12:00 pm

Hello Team,

Just a reminder to put aside some time for the Big Man above.

All differences aside, keep the faith and keep the love.

Blessed 2023.

Postby matr1x » December 31st, 2022, 12:12 pm

Imaginary sky daddies need attention?

Well for the 6400 migrant workers, a special hell is waiting for Qatar and their abusers. The Hindu community will never forget. 2023 should be an interesting year for Muslim/Hindu relations

Postby redmanjp » December 31st, 2022, 12:19 pm

Well the current pope did say he was seriously ill so no surprise here. There was a rumor how the Church forced him to resign because they wanted a more liberal pope like Francis - not sure if there is any truth to that.

RIP.

Postby adnj » December 31st, 2022, 3:42 pm

redmanjp wrote:Well the current pope did say he was seriously ill so no surprise here. There was a rumor how the Church forced him to resign because they wanted a more liberal pope like Francis - not sure if there is any truth to that.

RIP.
Historically, more Popes have been assassinated or killed than have resigned. There is no mechanism by which the Church can force a Pope to vacate the Holy See.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » December 31st, 2022, 4:06 pm

matr1x wrote:The Hindu community will never forget. 2023 should be an interesting year for Muslim/Hindu relations

Dawg Deepika Padukone unveiled the WC trophy in Qatar.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » December 31st, 2022, 4:46 pm

MaxPower wrote:Hello Team,

Blessed 2023.

why "pray" to an imaginary unseen being that you all call god? you idiots believe in god but ask how praying to god will stop crime and the murder rate. is best you all pray for common sense yes.

Postby adnj » December 31st, 2022, 5:04 pm

daring dragoon wrote:

Blessed 2023.

why "pray" to an imaginary unseen being that you all call god? you idiots believe in god but ask how praying to god will stop crime and the murder rate. is best you all pray for common sense yes.

Why question and complain about what other people believe?

eitech

Postby eitech » December 31st, 2022, 5:12 pm

daring dragoon wrote:

Blessed 2023.

What is imaginary and seen?

Postby MaxPower » December 31st, 2022, 5:55 pm

daring dragoon wrote:

Blessed 2023.

Bless you son.

Postby timelapse » December 31st, 2022, 6:09 pm

daring dragoon wrote:

Blessed 2023.

Bless you son.
Who sneezed?

Postby bluefete » January 25th, 2023, 9:34 am

It amazes me that a religion thread which pounded all religions at some point is still alive, while some woke mod pulled a transgender thread because someone got butthurt.

Anyways - The old Popie is getting people's underwear all up in a bunch!

https://news.yahoo.com/ap-interview-pop ... urce=email

The AP Interview: Pope Francis: Homosexuality not a crime

VATICAN CITY (AP) — Pope Francis criticized laws that criminalize homosexuality as “unjust,” saying God loves all his children just as they are and called on Catholic bishops who support the laws to welcome LGBTQ people into the church.

“Being homosexual isn’t a crime,” Francis said during an interview Tuesday with The Associated Press.

Francis acknowledged that Catholic bishops in some parts of the world support laws that criminalize homosexuality or discriminate against the LGBTQ community, and he himself referred to the issue in terms of “sin.” But he attributed such attitudes to cultural backgrounds, and said bishops in particular need to undergo a process of change to recognize the dignity of everyone.

Postby maj. tom » January 25th, 2023, 9:41 am

That's because God doesn't get offended at any of this, being not real and all.

Postby bluefete » January 25th, 2023, 9:49 am

maj. tom wrote:That's because God doesn't get offended at any of this, being not real and all.

:shock: :shock: :shock: :lol: :lol: :lol:

The older I get ( and I done ole already) the more I think about what comes after this brief life. It would be a hell of a thing (no pun, eh) to wake up dead and discover that you were wrong all along.

Postby maj. tom » January 25th, 2023, 10:01 am

Spoiler: nothing happens. Just like before you were born.

It's a very difficult concept for our higher evolved consciences to simply accept, that all our thoughts and identity can just not exist. I think once humanity can collectively (probably as another species in our evolution with a bigger brain) accept truths and facts like this we will take another step in our social evolution by realizing that life is indeed more precious and unique that we ever thought. And maybe we would treat each other better and stop so many wars and violence.

Postby mero » January 25th, 2023, 10:22 am

What truth and facts you referring to maj Tom?

Postby aaron17 » January 25th, 2023, 10:36 am

I was watching youtube shorts of a lady who works in a hospice and how she talks about dealing with ppl who about to die. She talked about the last moments when someone sees angels or the light. Pets in the room stare at the same location where the person is staring. Also when a person is agitated before dying..as if he/she sees the opening of hell. There is no explanation or is there one?
That sends chills.

Postby maj. tom » January 25th, 2023, 10:39 am

There are 798 pages explaining Russell's Teapot about 600 times. I'm not going over this like so many times before simply because someone wants to argue "well we don't know" and ignore everything written a few weeks/months later and then repeat it all again.

A person's religious belief and faith are the foundations of their psyche. It's very difficult to get someone else to topple it and these challenges are always themselves trying to reinforce and secure those foundations of cognitive dissonance.

Just to be clear, in this thread whoever is reading it, nobody has a problem with your faith and the definition of that very word ends all arguments. Nor am I myself one who is not entangled in cognitive dissonance.

Postby mero » January 25th, 2023, 10:54 am

No, I'm simply asking you to elaborate on that post you made about humanity... "faster accepting these truth and facts"

What is the truth and facts that u refer to?

Its not hard imagining that death is a permanent sleep where u just don't exist anymore and the present is all that matters, so live life to the fullest and be compassionate and show empath and live a good life etc etc. Billions of ppl just choose not to

Postby adnj » January 25th, 2023, 12:13 pm

aaron17 wrote:I was watching youtube shorts of a lady who works in a hospice and how she talks about dealing with ppl who about to die. She talked about the last moments when someone sees angels or the light. Pets in the room stare at the same location where the person is staring. Also when a person is agitated before dying..as if he/she sees the opening of hell. There is no explanation or is there one?
That sends chills.
Here is reasearch into what was measured both just before, and after, death.

Here, we present continuous electroencephalography (EEG) recording from a dying human brain, obtained from an 87-year-old patient undergoing cardiac arrest after traumatic subdural hematoma. An increase of absolute power in gamma activity in the narrow and broad bands and a decrease in theta power is seen after suppression of bilateral hemispheric responses. After cardiac arrest, delta, beta, alpha and gamma power were decreased but a higher percentage of relative gamma power was observed when compared to the interictal interval. Cross-frequency coupling revealed modulation of left-hemispheric gamma activity by alpha and theta rhythms across all windows, even after cessation of cerebral blood flow. The strongest coupling is observed for narrow- and broad-band gamma activity by the alpha waves during left-sided suppression and after cardiac arrest. Albeit the influence of neuronal injury and swelling, our data provide the first evidence from the dying human brain in a non-experimental, real-life acute care clinical setting and advocate that the human brain may possess the capability to generate coordinated activity during the near-death period.

https://www.frontiersin.org/articles/10 ... 13531/full

Postby bluefete » January 25th, 2023, 12:26 pm

What about brain activity in the resurrecting human brain?

Postby ruffneck_12 » January 26th, 2023, 8:19 am

coming up on 800 pages dey fellas

wais d verdict? God exist or nah?

Wasting Duane server space here that could have been dedicated to tobo pics and weather gifs, you know, useful stuff

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » January 26th, 2023, 8:28 am

maj. tom wrote:There are 798 pages explaining Russell's Teapot about 600 times. I'm not going over this like so many times before simply because someone wants to argue "well we don't know" and ignore everything written a few weeks/months later and then repeat it all again.

A person's religious belief and faith are the foundations of their psyche. It's very difficult to get someone else to topple it and these challenges are always themselves trying to reinforce and secure those foundations of cognitive dissonance.

Just to be clear, in this thread whoever is reading it, nobody has a problem with your faith and the definition of that very word ends all arguments. Nor am I myself one who is not entangled in cognitive dissonance.

Sigh; atheists, and their theologies. Regarding this, Russell's teapot 'logic' is a callow attempt at trolling wrapped up in beautified speech. His teapot, and all the spaghetti monsters it bore, comes apropos of nothing. The argument for a Creator however, comes with quite literally a universe of evidence, such that the best of scientific minds of our time cannot explain the nothing-to-something paradox of the creation of matter and energy in the planck epoch. So we don't need faith to believe in a Creator. The evidence is quite literally all around us.

Postby matr1x » January 26th, 2023, 8:33 am

Read astrophysics for people in a hurry. That's the right there.

What kind of barbaric religion bans people from eating pork, demands silly fasting periods, women must look like a covered ghost? Most god based faith that requires attendance is even more baffling

Postby adnj » January 26th, 2023, 9:11 am

matr1x wrote:Read astrophysics for people in a hurry. That's the right there.

What kind of barbaric religion bans people from eating pork, demands silly fasting periods, women must look like a covered ghost? Most god based faith that requires attendance is even more baffling

Your historical perspective lacks sophistication and depth.

All of what you're questioning had a valid benefit for its inclusion in religion. You will eventually find that religion and ritual were precursors to what is known today as law and morality.

Start there.

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » January 26th, 2023, 9:16 am

Regarding death,

1. Every person will taste death https://quran.com/21/35

2. Rasulullah salallahu alayhi was sallam reportedly said: “When the soul is seized and leaves the body, the sight follows it.’ https://sunnah.com/bulugh:538

3, Regarding the differences between how the Angel of Death (Malikul Mawt) gently removes the soul of the Muslim vs. how the soul is violently and painfully removed from the disbeliever, and other related matters, see these series of articles: https://abdurrahman.org/category/islam/death/

WalAllahul Musta'aan.

Postby timelapse » January 26th, 2023, 9:18 am

You seem to be supportive of eating fat laden food and against dieting

Postby ruffneck_12 » January 26th, 2023, 9:21 am

-Pork is disgostan (a proper christmas ham excluded).
-fasting is beneficial and a good test of your resiliance and willpower.
-women rack disiprin and need to be kept in line or else they will turn into the typical Miami club girl.
-how else u expect people to learn the subject if they don't attend the classes?

Meen care what u believe in, but u hadda admit that religion generally keeps people in line..... There isnt a widespread drag queen story hour epidemic in Mecca btw, wonder why.

Postby bluefete » January 26th, 2023, 12:42 pm

FrankChag wrote:Regarding death,

2. Rasulullah salallahu alayhi was sallam reportedly said: “When the soul is seized and leaves the body, the sight follows it.’ https://sunnah.com/bulugh:538

3, Regarding the differences between how the Angel of Death (Malikul Mawt) gently removes the soul of the Muslim vs. how the soul is violently and painfully removed from the disbeliever, and other related matters, see these series of articles: https://abdurrahman.org/category/islam/death/

WalAllahul Musta'aan.

Yuh mean only believers in Allah will die a "good" death (whatever that is)?

And everybody else is doomed to a violent death?

Really?

Postby bluefete » January 26th, 2023, 12:49 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:coming up on 800 pages dey fellas

wais d verdict? God exist or nah?

Wasting Duane server space here that could have been dedicated to tobo pics and weather gifs, you know, useful stuff

Troll. LOL.

When you wake up dead, you will find out for sure.

As you can see, some are still trying to find out.

Postby timelapse » January 26th, 2023, 1:23 pm

bluefete wrote:
FrankChag wrote:Regarding death,

WalAllahul Musta'aan.

Yuh mean only believers in Allah will die a "good" death (whatever that is)?

And everybody else is doomed to a violent death?

Really?
Pretty much the same things Christians say