Bezman

Trini's Next Pro Surfer - Chris Dennis - Video etc

Postby Bezman » October 8th, 2009, 4:16 pm

Chris Dennis - Between Worlds

Introduction
The world of competitive surfing, like so many sports, is generally dominated by those who can afford to play; afford to win; afford to lose. It's a money thing. Yet every so often there comes an athlete who, by sheer determination and natural talent, steps outside of the boundaries and shatters the prerequisites to success. When I first sat down with Chris to discuss this project we made some very serious notes, had some laughs and then thought that maybe we should call the film: "What's the Big Deal?".

read more from the link and check out the video

http://vimeo.com/6266564

edit: realized the iframe was just jumping you to the site

Bezman

Postby Bezman » October 8th, 2009, 4:23 pm

recent tobago session (i was luckily in the water that day :)

http://vimeo.com/6872038

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » October 8th, 2009, 4:29 pm

Can't really criticise as I'm not into it, BUT! his story is encouraging and he's clearly talented. Well put together story and vid.
All the best to him.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » October 8th, 2009, 4:34 pm

just good to see other going pro in sports other than those with a ball ;)

jeft

Postby jeft » October 8th, 2009, 7:07 pm

this guy is amazing saw him a couple times in sans souci :shock: :shock: :shock:

Dragist

Postby Dragist » October 8th, 2009, 7:26 pm

Chris is a Boss

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 8th, 2009, 7:58 pm

great work from jtography as usual

Postby pugboy » October 8th, 2009, 8:10 pm

all the videos are first class

W2J

Postby W2J » October 8th, 2009, 8:18 pm

Met chris recently real cool guy, he even took the time to come across and give me some tips.

AYE_SOLDIER

Postby AYE_SOLDIER » October 8th, 2009, 8:37 pm

really nice vid
:shock: wow

flat 100

Postby flat 100 » October 8th, 2009, 8:43 pm

Nice to see this topic reach on tuner.
Great vid and all the best to Chris, he is a talented surfer...

Postby Ignorant Ignis » October 8th, 2009, 9:13 pm

very talented down to earth guy ....... great stuff

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 8th, 2009, 9:18 pm

W2J wrote:Met chris recently real cool guy, he even took the time to come across and give me some tips.

yuh mean tips like "look both ways before crossing the street" because you cyar be trying to surf! :lol:

Postby 16 cycles » October 8th, 2009, 9:23 pm

excellent filmography...

Postby noshownogo » October 8th, 2009, 9:48 pm

not gonna lie, the guy has skill but the video quality is topnotch :shock:

W2J

Postby W2J » October 8th, 2009, 9:55 pm

W2J wrote:Met chris recently real cool guy, he even took the time to come across and give me some tips.

yuh mean tips like "look both ways before crossing the street" because you cyar be trying to surf! :lol:

like you forget where I does be!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 8th, 2009, 11:05 pm

W2J wrote:

like you forget where I does be!

They have surfing in Brooklyn Bar? :lol:
new meaning to wipe out yes!

cornfused

Postby cornfused » October 8th, 2009, 11:42 pm

Bezman wrote:recent tobago session (i was luckily in the water that day :)

http://vimeo.com/6872038

I guess he is as talented as you all say but this video shows he is smooth , i am unsure of all the talent .

In my days at bathseba , seeing international guys who came to that break , usually the parlor but sometime the soupbowl , i was exposed to some amzing stuff, floaters at will on 10 footers , taking the drop fins first and them catching it to ride the tube , perfect cut backs with vertical boards. I not sayin i could have done these moves but when someone says talented , that is my expectation of talent.

Mind you i hardly ever saw an international sufer look beter than the locals , they were few.

But as i said he seems smooth and in control

W2J

Postby W2J » October 8th, 2009, 11:45 pm

^ marlon you losing focus of who and what we enjoyed when we were younger.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » October 9th, 2009, 5:56 am

W2J wrote:^ marlon you losing focus of who and what we enjoyed when we were younger.

but we enjoyed the ocean as much as anyone should w2j, but all i am saying if he is a good- great surfer its not shown here , not bashing dennis at all

Anton

Postby Anton » October 9th, 2009, 8:52 am

Lovely vid!!

civic070

Postby civic070 » November 10th, 2009, 12:16 am

Big Respects to chris he is a boss surfer d man dus mash up in the local comps...CANT WAIT for the vid to dun...blessss

Re: Trini's Next Pro Surfer - Chris Dennis - Video etc

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 26th, 2010, 11:27 am

More on "Between Worlds" from jtography.com

Behind the scenes - added 6 days ago
http://vimeo.com/15135715

Check out more here
http://www.jtography.com/jtography/ChrisDennis.html

The film’s official trailer is in the link above. Release date is January 2011. 8-)

The world of competitive surfing, like so many sports, is generally dominated by those who can afford to play; afford to win; afford to lose. It's a money thing. Yet every so often there comes an athlete who, by sheer determination and natural talent, steps outside of the boundaries and shatters the prerequisites to success.

Born and raised in Rampanalgas, Balandra, Chris Dennis (31) has gone against all odds to ride the tide of competitive surfing internationally. Chris is currently ranked 310th in the world, which is impressive considering the extraordinary circumstances that Chris has faced doing the world tour and getting financial support for his competition.

hot blue

Postby hot blue » September 26th, 2010, 12:09 pm

been patiently waiting for this to be completed and released !!

Postby shogun » September 26th, 2010, 4:21 pm

Good stuff.